Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Squandered Opportunites.

Monday, March 25, 2013

Nigeria's Squandered Opportunites.

This makes a very sad but interesting read...I hope as usual Reuben Abati will go on twiiter or issue  PRESIDENTIAL defence on behalf of his boss.

This is an #epic read and makes me sad...so so sad.

The writer Joel Brinkley is the Hearst professional in residence at Stanford University and a Pulitzer Prize-winning former correspondent for The New York Times.
SEE ORIGINAL STORY HERE

Joe Fearlessly writes

''Just outside President Goodluck Jonathan's office sat 17 ambulances, just in case he or one of his aides fell ill. They were seldom if ever used.

No actual health-care facility nationwide had as many, and in fact a few still have none at all. But as soon as a Nigerian newspaper took a photo of the ambulances and published a story about them, they suddenly disappeared -- probably to an underground garage.

Jonathan is president of Nigeria, which should be among the world's most prosperous nations. After all, it produces an estimated 2.4 million barrels of oil each and every day. With oil now selling at $93.61 a barrel, that's $224 million in income daily. And yet many hospitals can't afford to buy an ambulance. The reason, in my view: Nigeria is the most corrupt nation on earth.
Sure, Transparency International lists almost three dozen states as more corrupt -- Chad, Haiti, Laos, Yemen, Cambodia and the like. But are any of those nations as wealthy as Nigeria -- taking in $81 billion annually, just from the sale of oil? No, not even one of them. So Nigeria steals and squanders more money than any other nation, making it the world's most corrupt, by that measure.
Nigerian journalist Musikilu Mojeed finds all this so discouraging.
"With its geopolitical power, economic resources and middle class," he laments, "no country (with the possible exception of Saudi Arabia and Egypt) has the power to change the course of black/African civilization like Nigeria." After all, Nigeria is Africa's most populous state -- and large, twice the size of California.So Nigerians are living an opportunity squandered -- particularly now. Egypt is in turmoil. In just the last few days, in fact, many Egyptians have been calling for a military coup -- anything to rid the state of its widely despised Muslim Brotherhood government. And a new report by the World Economic Forum ranked Egypt the least safe and secure tourist destination among 140 tourist nations evaluated.

Egypt has lost its place as the Arab/African worlds' leader, and Saudi Arabia never had it.
So for Nigeria, the time is ripe. But its leaders seem interested only in stealing the state's money to make themselves rich beyond imaging. Think about it: $81 billion a year just from the oil, while most every local government official still tells his people the nation just doesn't have enough money to fix the roads, schools or hospitals. (Roads are in such terrible shape that government officials generally travel any distance by helicopter.)

And Nigeria's people -- well, they are as mistreated as any on earth.
In only nine nations -- among them Liberia, Sierra Leone and Somalia -- do more mothers die during childbirth. And in only 10 states, including Chad, Afghanistan and Zimbabwe, is the average life expectancy lower. Right now the average Nigerian's average life span ends at 52. That may be why the median age of Nigerians is just 18.
A few months ago, the Economist Intelligence Unit published an evaluation of the best places for babies to born in 2013, given their probable welfare as children and the chance for a safe, comfortable, prosperous life. Switzerland, Australia and Norway were the top three. The United States came in at 16th, largely because "babies will inherit the large debts of the boomer generation."
Dead last: Nigeria. "It is the worst place for a baby to enter the world in 2013," the report said.

Even with all that wealth, only just over half the population has access to clean drinking water, and one-third to a toilet, UNICEF says. Two-thirds live below the poverty line. Only one child in four who contracts pneumonia is given antibiotics, and only about half the population is literate.

The CIA also cites endemic "soil degradation; rapid deforestation; urban air and water pollution." All this in a county whose gross domestic product stands at $236 billion a year, in the same league as Denmark, Chile, Israel and the United Arab Emirates -- prosperous, successful states to be envied.
Goodluck Jonathan is certainly aware of all of this. After all, taking the oath of office, he swore to "devote myself to the service and well-being of the people of Nigeria. So help me God."
Well, just last week he demonstrated who he really is and what he stands for when he pardoned a former state governor who'd been convicted of embezzling state funds and laundering the money. That pardon triggered a broad, angry uproar.
Good luck, Mr. Jonathan. It's time you were impeached.

8 comments:

1. But who will impeach him? Wen all d senators and house of reps members are thieves. We can only but pray to God for divine intervention.

2. He must rily b impeached,i dislyk him nd his govt,dey re jzt bunch of idiots..... Dodo.......

3. stella,what do u want Reuben Abati to say,everything is so true and our suffering is glaring to the world.I love that journalist,i love him for doing what journalists in Nigeria will never dare to do.

4. but stella didnt you praise goodluck for pardoning alams?no be people like you dey encourage goodluck to continue dey fuck up?

5. but stella didnt you praise goodluck for pardoning alams?no be people like you dey encourage goodluck to continue dey fuck up?

6. This dude is an idiot to open his epileptic mouth an say that Nigeria is the most corrupt nation on earth. he's a fool. what happens to the US mismanagement of public funds which normally goes down to the carpets. the crime, corrupt practices and psychological problem being suffered by many of the US citizens. They claim to be the best yet suicide, crime and immoral act is on the rise in the US.
    how can you live in a country where almost every body is suffering from low self esteem which normally results to depression and suicide. too many mental deranged patients all over the US. kids killing people because of unhappiness and Low self esteem.

Joe Brinkley on his recent article on Nigeria stated that Nigeria is the worst place for a child to be born. forgetting that the United state was recently banned against adopting Russian kids by the Russian govt because of their bad reputation in child upbringing which has resulted in US being one of the most populous nation for mental deranged patients.
    How many United state mothers can go through child bearing? rather they prefer to suffer not the flesh and adopt anthers child.
    How many United states mother can take care of their kids like African women? they would prefer to dump them in creche and go about their daily business.
    How many United states mothers would be as supportive and caring as pure African women?
    I think it's time we wake up as Nigerians and clean our mess. too much ranting has resulted to us being insulted by all this Albinos. Just few months after the Christine Amanpours insult to GEJ of which am still waiting for a reply from the Federal govt, this little spoilt brat came out from no where to mess around with Nigeria.
    We have our flaws. YES. same as you. clean yours while we clean ours. The American govt is been Over hipped by the displaced blacks who control their economy.
    might seem corrupt and helpless yet we've never had the heart to assassinate any of our leaders like you people did in many occasions.
    We are happy people and satisfied with what we have. you people can call the shots for other countries and cause confusion within their Govt but you can't do that with us.
    Mind your business, Nigeria is not your country. if corrupt leaders are the only thing that will keep Nigeria together as one nation so be it.
    All this pressure you and your Govt are trying to mount on Nigeria citizens is to justify your prediction of Nigeria's Division come 2015 by your corrupt Ambassador Campbell. we're one and not even your write-up or your Govt can trigger another coup in Nigeria. this is 21'st Century baby. No one is falling for your tricks, so get a life and leave Nigeria alone. We're not Libya neither are we Iraq. get this into your Goddamn brains. We may be the most corrupt nation on earth but we still remain the happiest people on earth. check your statistics loser. No one is falling for this your senseless article and for the Pardon of Alamisiegha, where's Johnny Gravanno. The American crime boss who killed many people and committed so much crime yet you let him of the hook. please Joel Brinkley or Bricklayer or whatever they call you abeg get a life and stop being a nosy son of a bitch.

1. You absolutely share my opinion, Its time this odiots control freaks let us be and mind their problems. If they think they can push us like the Egyptians , Iraqis they will fail. My 2cent thoughts.

7. Both of you are fools, but guess what? What ever you sow today will reap, am sure your generation will come and meet the ruins that this government have made and will take part in the suffering!!!