Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FOOD FOR THOUGHT:Pastor Denied US Visa

Sunday, May 19, 2013

FOOD FOR THOUGHT:Pastor Denied US Visa

THIS STORY IS NOT A FABRICATED ONE

A pastor went to Abuja to the American Embassy to try and get his visa renewed and in the Interview hall,the pastor was attended to by a young Chinese American.
The young American asked the Pastor his application forms and other document...she noticed that the Pasotr had been to the US twice and his last visa still had two months on it.
She asked the Pastor what he does for a lving and the Pastor replied

''I am a Pastor full time''
The Interviewer appeared alarmed because she noted that the pastors credit reference account had N5miilion on it.
The interviewer told the Pastor she had to first cancel the two months visa before she could re-issue another one.
After cancelling the visa on the Pastor passport,she rejected the application and refused him visa saying

''Sir I am not sure how you earn so much money since you don't work,except for being a pastor''

The shocked Pastor caused a little scene but later left angrily''

What is wrong with being a Pastor full time?

32 comments:

1. Is it a salary earning job? No. They like salary earners or even business people who are making money.

2. Na thief e be. Red alert, that money should have been in the churches account not his personal account. Hell fire

1. So pastors are ment 2 b poor, are u okay? Whts 5m 4 a man of God? Do u kno hwmany people who has bin blessed through him? To slap u jus dey hungry M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥. Cow

3. Hahahahaaa....Please, pardon me for having a laugh. But, I think the reason he was denied visa is pretty simple to decipher. You know how in Nigeria, Churches have become avenues of enrichment but it is not the case with the more developed countries like America, where the Interviewer apparently hails from. So, it's no wonder she was trying to imagine how come a Pastor, who is supposed to be working for God (which should be like an unpaid service) and probably sustaining himself with the little money that comes in, could possess such a huge sum of money. Eyaaa...poor Interviewer! She saw 5m and she was freaking out, what if it was one of our top 'rich-list' Pastors....I'm sure she would have handed him over to the police...heheheheee...May God Help Us.

4. nothing is wrong been a full pastor , but something is wrong when pastors earn money like professionals..only God know how much money he has .
    if America reject am tell him to visit canada .i go host am lol .

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER19 May 2013 at 11:57

@Xty, *nothing wrong with BEING a full time Pastor* not *nothing wrong BEEN a full Pastor*

2. I swear, the day you gbagaun, trust me, na me go correct you...

3. BUSYBODY CORRECTER20 May 2013 at 06:17

Lol @ Temiloluwa.
      ONE LOVE

5. Hmmm dilemma. This is a clear case of being 'unfavored'..by virtue of one's spirituality...well, if there's any such descriptive sentence. Firstly I wouldn't fault the visa clearance officer because he/she was doing his/her job. The first criteria needed to qualify for any visa application is proof of sponsorship/ source of living, as the case may be. What the 'Pastor' failed to do is to proof beyond doubts that infact..in Nigeria, you can be a pastor full time and still be as rich, or even richer than a person who works 9-5 in any office capacity..(And I don't mean fraudulent Pastors). Therefore it is in the place of this pastor, or perhaps in the place of the rest of his church executives, to gather their lettered church financial support as proof that he's their presiding pastor..if at all. And that the church as an entity is responsible for him financially whether in or out of the church or country, especially if its a mission tour.

There's nothing wrong in being a full time pastor if it is a unanimous decision by the church executives/congregation that they would rather their pastor be in service full time. And in most cases a pastor is put on a monthly salary, though we all know that they get monetary gifts from appreciative members sporadically. These facts may be somewhat difficult for non Nigerians to relate with, but a few consulars/ambassadors/embassy officials who are conversant with Nigerians and our ways will understand this already, except of cause if they just want to be difficult. Each applicant to his individual merits or demerits. Well as for this pastor, I hope he wasn't rude or arrogant when he tried to explain himself, cos that may be another reason he may have been refused. But he can reapply in 6months again if he was refused without prejudice... He may find favor before another official who may not have time to stress over it. But the pastor should do the needful by returning to the embassy with necessary documentations to avoid further embarrassments.

Is he an illiterate? The clearance officer 419ed him by stylishly revoking his existing visa o. Shuooo..ah ah ah..one chance! He can take him up on that too, cos he misled him. He didn't have a right to do that. Worse case scenario would have been to red flag him on the system for future scrutiny upon renewal. And why did the pastor go for renewal when he still has a valid visa? Perhaps he planned to stay longer than when it would expire? If that's the case he would have been stamped and allowed 6months upon entering the U.S even if his visa is to expire the same day he arrived. Duhhhh!!! ℓ☺ℓ 

1. Abeg is this a comment or an article?

2. Search me oh!
      I didn't even read the thing sef.
      Some people are just bleh...

6. I dnt belıeve dıs sTory bcos US does not stamp refusal on d passport. If d refuse you, d dnt go ahead stampıng on ur passport. It ıs UK dat does dat.

1. Ode. Where did u see refusal was stamped on his passport? Or u have a problem reading with understanding?

2. Can't you make a point without insulting? Why d use of "ode"?

3. Bad breeding

7. lol

come share your US visa experience here
    usimmigrationdiary.blogspot.sg

8. No be here... Just passing by. Happy sunday by the way.

9. I visited several blogs except the audio feature for audio songs current at this
    website is in fact superb.

My web page :: christian louboutin shoes

10. Even if he had 20million, shldnt be a prob if he could show how and why that money came in. D pastor had d opportunity to gather support documents and evidence of how that money came in! You don't just wake up and show 5m in d account bc you wanna travel to America. Do you think d flamboyant pastors do not have more than that in their personal accounts, still, they get visas? Na packaging. Prob low salary, then 5m from no obvious legal source. Nah. Sit down pastor, God has bigger plans for you :)

11. hehehhhe! please the pastor should go to Anon 7.
    *I no fit laugh abeg

12. Anon 7 Please ensure the pastor shares his testimony with you k? thanks hon! lol

13. Prıttychy or ugly whatever ur name ıs, u dnt ve to ınsult bcos u are d maın Ode here, after readıng my comment Stella edıted her post and removed where she saıd d stamped refusal on d pastor's passport. U are d greatest Ode bcos u're now d one beıng fooled by SDK.

14. apparently, you have not applied for any visa before..

15. Hehehehehe... I can't shout... hmm church Na big business now oo.. Hmmmm Na wa

16. Whatever you call yourselves, Prittichy Abj is not ugly. Yes, the use of ode is a bit harsh.

17. Hmmmm laughin in greek! Hp d scene he caused he wasn't arrongant n rude bcos some of them can be so pompous.Empress!

18. he has 5m with him hmhm.and if u go to his church u wil see ppl dat can hardly afford 2square meal a day.tank God dia is a judgement day for every one.if dem nor change dia way as nation don dey reject dem na so heaven go denial dem.

19. being a full time pastor with such amount calls for attention but bieng a pastor wit sometin doin,like writing books and other form of personal business is allowed..just that the tot of nig scares pple away not to think of personalities..

20. Anon, May 19, 2013 at 6:00 AM. The INS officers cannot give you leave to enter for a duration longer that your visa validity. Secondly, these days the one thing you do not want to do is overstay your visa or leave to enter duration especially if you plan to go back to Naija and reapply for a visa renewal from the USA.
    Thank me later if you so feel like.
    Kena.
    Lake Forest, CA.

21. Hahahahaha....can't stop laughing...I thought it was only British people that were dodgy....so he cancelled the old visa and then denied the new one...hahahahaha... I remember watching Dragon Den ( a programme where some rich people sit on a panel and interview wanna be inventors/business entrepreneurs and then invests in their business if they think its viable) and in walked this Nigerian man. Well dressed and looking pretty sharp. I was really happy to see him repping my motherland until he started his presentation! He wanted the dragons to invest in a church business! I am sure you can find the video on YouTube..seeing they say is believing.
    BB

22. Anon May 22, 2013 at 12:25 PM; re-Dragon's Den, luckily a Nigerian, MKO's daughter won the last series. Even they will know there are good and bad people everywhere.

23. An outstanding share! I've just forwarded this onto a colleague who was doing a
    little homework on this. And he actually ordered me dinner due to the
    fact that I stumbled upon it for him... lol. So allow me to reword this....
    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss
    this matter here on your web site.