Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Societal Corruption---Is Nollywood To Blame?

Thursday, May 02, 2013

Societal Corruption---Is Nollywood To Blame?

I got a call from an 18yr old  and she pleaded with me to introduce her to Nollywood so that she can become an Actress and...........Buy an SUV!

I asked her why she wasn't thinking about school and she asked why she should waste time going to School when Nollywood Actresses are using their body to get the good things of life.

I wanted to know if that was what the Movies she watched had taught her and she said plainly

''I want to live big,buy cars and own houses and I don't mind giving out my body for it,look at all these actresses,what are they acting?they are rich,they travel the world and some of them didn't go to school...I am already sleeping with my boyfriend and theres no material gain.I want to be an Actress so that I can meet men and have all the good things life has to offer..''

She also boasted that she is more beautiful than all these Actress parading themselves now..she mentioned the names of governors she heard gives out easy cash and said the only way to connect them is to become an actress.

I listened until she ran out of call time and since then i have been thinking.....If Anyone in Nollywood reads this,let it be food for thought.

have the movies meant to teach our society poisoned the minds of our youth?

How many more  young girls are walking around thinking they will become rich by becoming an actress and sleeping her way through?

Please let us keep this clean..If you have any solution or argument,keep it clean..I am sure those reading and not commenting will learn a thing or two...especially the young lady who is confused and thinks being an Actress is the easy way out!

''Do you think Nollywood movies have corrupted the younger ones?....What can be done to save the situation?
Has Nollywood failed to educate the youth?

Who is to blame?The Actors?Movie Producers? Parents or The Church??

52 comments:

1. The parents suld b blamed cos charity dey say, begins @home. Some of us parents don't even care abt wot our kids watch on TV especially cable tv, we r so busy making money 4 d family wch isn't so bad but our kids suld b our utmost priority. Wot will it profit a parent 2 hv d whole moni in naija n hv useless, wayward, disobidient etc children #justsaying# less I 4get SDK u r doing a gr8 job, I luv ur blog.
    MG

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:23

*Should* not *suld*
      *Lest I 4get* not *Less I 4get*

2. I think the media is to be blamed. Imagine an actress acting a role where she wears bump shorts and skimpy things to class. Before I gained admission, I thought that was how it happens (wearing odd wears to class) but it's wrong! They instill negative thoughts in younger peoples mind. People who are celebrities should live a life that can be emulated. Omotola is just one of such people. A beautiful woman with a suscessful marriage and a successful career.

3. Busybody correcter. English teacher. I hear u o. If given a sheet of paper to write u go show urself. Alway so easy to correct what someone has written than to write ur own. On d issue at hand d society is to blame.

4. BUSYBODY CORRECTER4 May 2013 at 17:06

Anon 10:39 *ALWAYS so easy...* not *ALWAY so easy..*

2. The easy answer is to blame nollywood stella. Truth be told stella our families are reaponsible for instilling values in us. Let us stop blaming external
    Factors and look to our homes. If u want big things in life then work for it. Women no longer have self worth. The problem is values in society and the fact that the powers that be have shown that they dont work for what they have and that mentality is tricklimg down

3. Stella don't ask me dz ? Agan. U no who's 2 b blamed here. Its A societal problem 4rm d parent 2 d government @ d top so she go back 2 school n mak ha lyf useful cos nothing gud comes easy n lyf

4. the government has failed us ! and our value system has been washed down the drain. the role of the family in stamping good moral behaviour has been compromised! i no fit shout a beg.. # back to my table biko. lol

5. If your parents didn't give you good home training why blame nollywood...its either her parents actuaLly gave her some training or she is just a grEedy child...learn contentment.

1. Well said dear... Charity dey say begin at home....

2. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:25

Anon 10:28 *begins* not *begin*

6. Its d home...if u are been trained @ home u will kw dat giving urself out to men will not get u anything but doom, is it only d actress/actors dat are driving SUV??? We have doctors, lawyers, economist, bankers and lots more making it big...now come to think of it dose ministers dat helps dem aquire all dose things can't u aspire to be a minister too one day. Must u be an actress??? Dere lots of pple making it big and they aint no actress, pls even if u want to become one go to skul, get in and keep it clean, its d love of God that maketh rich without adding any sorrow. Its not d fault of nollywood, not d fault of d government aswell stella, u determine wat u want to be in life.

Princessfummite

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:29

*if u HAVE been trained @ home* not *if u ARE been trained @home*
      *Ministers that HELP* not *Ministers that HELPS*

7. You can't blame Nollywood in any way. The Censors Board properly rate a movie with an age tag. I particular support "G" and "18", it gives a long rope on moral watch on d populace. The real problem is from the home. You go to most homes and see 5-year-olds watching "18" tagged movies. You don't need to be a genius to know that the tales and desires of the easy and reckless life starts at that tender stage. So, the problem of this 18 year old, and her age group, is from the environment she was raised. Her orientation is already damaged.

8. SDK,I have heard girls talk like dat.They want to act so bad so that politicians and all can buy them all the luxury they want. Truth is that if at the age of 18 she doesn't knw wat is right for her,she shud take a deep dive into d Red sea.No one is to blame.I kinda agree with Anon.9.21,her parents take a lot of the blame.What kind of upbringing did she have? She shud be careful oh,b4 she ll find her head greeting a dirty oracle........SONIA

9. Which parents are to blame? Abeg pikin wey wan spoil na from Belle,if u like give her all the training she go still spoil. See as this one dey take hand find spoil? I see another Stella Damasus Ojukwu Aboderin Nzeribe Ademinokan etc etc in the making.Men,BE AWARE!!!

1. U better worry abt urself and ure sisters. Judgemental idiot. I see ure parents didnt bother raising u

2. Anon 12:09,asko#undermycapacity#. I an worried for you,this 18year old and Stella Damasus Ojukwu Aboderin Nzeribe Ademinokan etc etc Benin Asaba Lagos Abuja Newyork.

10. Abeg stella,no 18year old called you. u only fabricated this story to buy time.

1. Buy time for what?is SDk owing u?why are people so envious?her blog is now doing well and u r coming here under anon to try and pull it down. Show your face and tell us what time she is buying. She owe u?my dear go get a life and stop being bitter. SMH

2. SMH or JMK or SDK!! Am a fan, no hate intended,anxiously waiting for correct gist jor.

11. Let not forget social media exposure... they paint this actress like they live in gold.....
    With all expensive dressing...one actress shopping in America another having fun time in dubai....My dear teenagers all these things u see are FILM TRICK just like in d movies... Be careful..
    Be an actress becos u are talented or have passion for it not to Sleep with men????? Danny we need more orientation for this girls.... una no see girls working in oil company,banks etc to emulate????@

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:35

*lets not forget* not *let not forget*
      *They paint THESE ACTRESSES like they..* not *They paint THIS ACTRESS like they..*
      *We need more orientation for THESE girls* not *we need more orientation for THIS girls*

12. Please do some research to weigh the factors. It cannot just be one. I suggest you dimension the following:
    1. Absentee parenting
    2. Bad parenting
    3. Societal decline in morals
    4. Peer pressure
    5. Bad child factor
    6. Influence of money
    7. Influence of corrupt society
    8. Nollywood
    9. Music Industry
    10. Others,please specify

My thought - Nollywood is a factor, may be not the only factor. The girl may be right. There are shameful things happening once people have the opportunity to appear on screen. You see many actresses shamefully advertising their boobs and buttocks.

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:38

I suggest you dimension the following ke? Eewoooo.

2. Deronke toh make sense4 May 2013 at 17:12

@ ij baby,u jus dey show ursef sha, u wan popular for blog bah? Ozuo,na so dem curse u for anoda post. You no dey shame? Abeg go give your shildren breast for house and leave BUSYBODY CORRECTER alone.

3. ​lol. Popular ke? Will I take it to d bank? I'm sure ure d busybody correcter cos u jst acted like one. Abeg I'm tired of coming bak to dis post cos of replies frm retards like u. Demented deronke! *tongue out* ciao!

13. Oh SKD, I've read these comments and I think so many of us are missing the point here. Nollywood has done ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG!!! In fact these movies always carry an underlying message, they potray a make belief situation rather than real life, so what has nollywood done wrong here?? If these children don't watch nollywood won't they watch worse off hollywood X & XX movies?
    Parents also do their best to raise responsible children but is is really possible to tell what goes on in a child's head? Is it possible to monitor what a child does after you have dotted the "I" & crossed the "T"? I ask earnestly is it?
    At this point I put all the blame on THE MEDIA!! They are the ones who have celebrated and potrayed as glamourous prostitution! They report these stories as trendy and juicy. The media potrays virtue as old fashioned and unacceptable and makes everyone believe that the end justifies the means!
    Now if as a parent you can control absolutely what your child watches what about what they read?
    Earnestly, I fear for my 2lovely girls, we can only hope and pray!
    Sparkles speaking!

14. first and foremost she is a stupid girl without sense of direction. is she a child? an adult is classified as 18.

S to D K, I do not think the problem is the movies because those movies tell us of happenings in the society. the girl is beginning to crave so much for the personal lifestyles of our actors and actresses who unfortunately have started exhibiting what was meant to be a script.

I wouldn't even blame her parents as ive seen lots of cases where kids with good parental unbringing turns out as a disgrace. In my univ days (iuo) there were cases of kids getting into school all calm, good attitude n behavior and bammm! 2nd year, girls are smoking weed, govt plate number tinted cars are coming to pick 'em from school thurs evening thru sunday evening. who are you blaming here?

pikin wey wan spoil wan spoil. maybe ashawo na her calling.
    #not interested#

1. I dey feel u bloglord.u r right on point.SDK I think she has said it all

15. The actors and actresses plus the producers are to blame! Cos they now do SEX for a ROLE! Its so bad!

The girl is also another fool in the making!

16. She thinks awkward, shows Ï„̣̣Ñ’Ñ‘ kind of home she came from. Her upbringing, can't she aspire to be like those ministers nd Governors.. Low mentality!

17. I have the same names with one of the most popular nollywood producer and you need to see the traffic on my facebook account I removed my number from facebook cos the pressure is much,worst of all is that they are ready to give their body,but for Gods sake I tell them its not me... Nollywood has no moral and they are nowhere near hollywood they try to copy,zero creativity and its trending...
    Its so bad

Sommie

18. ...there is something my mum use to say: Do good, you do for yourself, Do bad, you do for yourself.
    meaning any step you decide to take, be ready to bear the consequences it brings - good or bad.

19. Have bin visitng dis blog for months now...haven't found a reason to comment,bt this I will say...I love you sis stella...u r a realistic

20. The girl only wants to get spoilt. Like someone has put it, the media also has a major role in this. when teenagers read post titles such as:
    Tiwa savage shopping in London
    Rihanna looking glamorous in nude pic
    Beyoncé bares it all - Hot!
    Cossy wants you to fuck her
    Rich man buys 2013 BMW for girlfriend
    Now tell me why teenagers will not start having silly ideas in their little head.
    See me running to read bloglord's comment and she never disappoints. lol. so you studied at Igbinedion university?

21. Post 10; thank you. BlogLord; useful comment as usual. Don't blame any parents. I know so many people from good homes who are as bad as hell. I know so many people from dysfunctional homes who in a bid to avoid treading the same path are on the straight and narrow. Like we all say, we are all adults! Carry your cross. As for me thank God for my upbringing. There are so many things I cannot take home and I cannot do. Even living alone with all my freedom, there are some things I don't do. I self-monitor myself. This girl looks like if they tell her to bath in blood to make money she will do it. If they tell her to go to Abuja to meet a man/woman for sex she will do it. Let her do what she wants. Money spoils everything. To your tents oh Israel.

22. Post 23; so what if we read all these things. You must have a good value system to read, see and gloss all over them. My mantras are don't envy anyone and there's time for everything. I know people who were poor yesterday and rich today. I know people who were rich yesterday and poor today. I know people who hustle like mad, floss and some have died (RIP Dana victims) so in this life just take it easy. People will not learn and I also say I leave people to their devises.

23. Gov.Akpabio is to be blame....is he not the one giving jeeps to people for wedding..

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:44

*is to be BLAMED* not *is to be BLAME*

24. Hi aunty stella, i wish to be a actress in future so that i can get access to fame and money, any time i read that any actress buy jeep, shop abroad what comes to my mind is when i get the opportunity to act i will flaut my big ass and boobs so that i can date governors, senator and swim in millions. Post my comment o this is my first time to comment but am a regular reader of your blog if not eh me and u go put leg for one paent oo lol. I luv u stella FROM SHARON B

1. BUSYBODY CORRECTER3 May 2013 at 08:47

*i wish to be AN actress* not *i wish to be A actress*

25. Joyeux La Vie2 May 2013 at 18:46

The girl already has ashawo work on the brain! She know sabi where Surulere dey? She should go there and hang out! Wetin concern you, SDK with Nollywood? Are you her agent? Tomorrow now when yawa don gas, she go tok sey na you carry go dere! ABEG ABEG tell her to go find a pimp daddy or a pimp mama or what we call a Madame here in the States to help her with her nonsense goal in life.

Nollywood is NOT TO BLAME for anything! This grown ass mugu knows RIGHT from WRONG! Now, granted there are some parents these days who pushed their kids to become quasi prostitutes, I can bet you this girl is just one of those LONG THROAT agbaya with big eyes looking for big big tings because she spends her life envying other people's fortune not caring how they got it as long she can get the same things. Like this is all life is about, acquiring designer labels.

The casting couch has existed in the film industry for as long as it has been around whether in Hollywood, Bollywood or Nollywood. You can't escape that fact! Have there been people who have used it to get places in their career? Sure, some women AND men have used it strategically and some have just rubbished themselves with no great results. AT THE SAME TIME, there are those who have REFUSED and have worked hard to make it on their own terms and with their God given talents. It can be done and has been done.

This she-goat ain't no actress! This is an ashawo looking for a way to ligitimize her ashawo work by sticking a respectable label on it. She should be ashamed of herself for not only degrading hard working, learned actors/actresses around the world BUT her parents and her community! Tomorrow, she will be in church raising her hand crying about not finding husband, not being able to have a child because her hands are dirty from doing things she should not be doing!

Ashawo work easy? Many have died not just from diseases but some of these men out here are C.R.A.Z.Y. Women are nothing but disposable THINGS!

In fact, I just want to SOUND this girl! How did this EWU get your phone number sef?

1. Shuo! Dis is too long na,are you commenting on behalf of ur village? Haba! PARROT

26. U think say ashawo work easy? For every 1 actress living a flashy life 99 have fallen by the way side. Elemi lo ma last.......

27. both her and some nollywood people think the same. she is a lazy girl, who will end up hating herself. and if she thinks she's beautiful nollywood is not for er, she should model or become a prostitute/runs girl.

28. The bloggers should share part of the blame. You all hype these things to mpressionable youth. What about dedicating blogs to something positive and value adding instead of fuelling this craze

29. Bloglord biko abeg no expose our school o

30. Hahaha at Omotola. Let her say coded please if not you will faint.

31. it has nothin to do with nollywood..and has everything to do with nigeria...theres too much money in dat country men and governors dont knw wat to do with it they spend it on whores and women that r ready to spread for them as long as u r a woman...men will coerce u with money.its left for u as an individual to hve principles,and to reject them or accept them,its not a nollywood thing.

32. Sometimes I wonder how we nigerian thinks,so what you all are saying here is that the best way to deal with crime is to patronize it?come on people we all know that the country is corrupt so it is their responsibility to produce movies that will at least put it in the mind of the people that such act should be avoided. That girl has only expressed her mind and in this case what they should do is to produce a movie that will advice the public on what to do. that is it essence,apart from entertaining,movies also educates. I may not say they are the cause but they are contributors to these act since they refuse to preach against it

33. Do you want to become a movie star in the Nigeria movie industry_Nollywood. If you know you can do it better Forms are out then contact us now!!!call 08103056525 or email [nollywoodmovieindustr@gmail.com]