Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: True Confession...Patience Jonathan Traces The Genesis Of The Rivers State Crisis

Thursday, July 18, 2013

True Confession...Patience Jonathan Traces The Genesis Of The Rivers State Crisis

Contrary to her earlier denials of involvement in the political crisis rocking Rivers State, wife of   President Goodluck  Jonathan,  Patience,  on Wednesday opened up on the  matter.

She told 16 bishops from the South-South, who visited her at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, that her misunderstanding with Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, started about four years ago in Anyugubiri in Okrika when she appealed to him  to engage  her people in dialogue instead of  demolishing  a part of their community.

Mrs. Jonathan  said the governor, whom she described as   "hot tempered," did not only ignore her advice,  he went  a step further  by  sacking the chairman of  the  local government for holding a reception in her honour.
According to her, Amaechi did not only stop at those, he imposed a   curfew on the community, which is where she hails from She said all her pleas with the governor to lift the curfew fell on deaf ears.

Although the President's wife told the visiting bishops that  she had since committed the Rivers  crisis to God,  she  decided to open up for the first time on it so that they  could pray to God to touch Amaechi's heart.

She said, "Rivers State issue is one thing I have  committed to prayer because I believe there is nothing God cannot do. God restored me and I will do His work without the fear of man. The truth will always remain the truth and what God ordains must come to pass and so Rivers issue is something we have handed over to God.

"This matter started four years ago at Anyugubiri in Okrika when I begged him not to demolish a part of Okrika but that he should dialogue first with the people. After that incident, he called the chairman of Okrika Local Government and sacked him for holding a reception in our honour; that boy was the first victim.

"He also put my people under curfew for nine months. I called him and pleaded with him but he refused. Then I began to hear all sorts of propaganda in the media against me; this is not the way.

"I have never spoken about this issue but as men of God, I believe you will say the truth always because there are a lot of conflicting interests; some will hear one thing and say the exact opposite.

"I also want you to know the genesis of this problem and pray that God touches Amaechi's heart as per his hot temper because when two elephants fight, it is the grass that suffers.''

Mrs. Jonathan urged the governor to sheathe the sword and allow peace to reign in the state.
She said as her son, she could not be fighting the governor.
She also urged the governor to avoid being used by outsiders to fight "his own blood."

She added, "I appeal to Amaechi to sheathe his sword so that we can defend our state and this country with love, unity, patriotism and truth at all time.

"Hebrews 12:14 urges us to embrace peace with all men without which, we cannot see God. Amaechi is my son, I cannot fight him and I cannot kill him. He shouldn't be used by outsiders against his own blood because this seat is vanity.

"One day, no matter how long it takes, we will leave this seat. Power is not forever. This seat is vanity, others sat here and left, so one day I will also leave and we will meet at home; so why should I fight him?

"Let's take it easy and  face issues. Let's stop magnifying lies; we must    respect our leaders and people in authority. Let's give peace a chance."

Earlier,  the leader of the delegation, Bishop God-Do-Well Awomapara, said they  decided to visit the wife of the President to unravel the mysteries surrounding the crisis in the state and mediate in order to find a lasting solution to it.

"Our  visit is significant in view of emerging situations in our region. We are on a quest to unravel the mysteries surrounding the Rivers issue and mediate where necessary," he said.

Mrs. Jonathan's spokesman, Mr. Ayo Osinlu, later issued a statement  in which  she again called  on  all those involved in the   crisis to sheathe their swords  and find ways to restore peace to the state.

The statement reads in part, "Dame Jonathan particularly appealed to Governor  Amaechi to fly the olive branch, and resist being used by outsiders against his own people.

"While giving an insight into the genesis of the crisis in the state, she reiterated the need for the warring factions to employ dialogue as a means of resolving the contending issues amicably.

"The First Lady urged those who are crying more than the bereaved to stop magnifying the misunderstanding, while reiterating that Governor  Amaechi and Mr. Nyeson Wike (Minister of State for Education) remain her sons, brothers and kinsmen, and would do anything to protect both of them.

Reacting, the State Commissioner for Information and Communications, Mrs. Ibim Semenitari, said the governor did not demolish the houses around a school in Angubiri, Okirika, as advised by Mrs. Jonathan.

Semenitari, who recalled what happened in Okirika when the President's wife visited, said the school shown to Mrs. Jonathan by the governor had no playground, adding that a playground and other facilities could only be provided if some houses around the school were demolished.

"The First Lady advised against it and the governor did not demolish the houses. The school is still there without a playground. This issue happened a long time ago. What I don't understand is that she still bears that in mind," the commissioner added.

On the allegation that Amaechi imposed a nine-month curfew on the people of Okrika, Semenitari disagreed with Mrs. Jonathan, saying, "Even the First Lady had said several times that one of the achievements of the governor was that he (Amaechi) brought peace to Okrika and that people could sleep with both eyes closed."

On her description of Amaechi as hot-tempered, the commissioner pointed out that she could not say anything about it since it was the President's wife's personal opinion.

Semenitari, however, expressed satisfaction with Mrs. Jonathan's warning to those using her name to forment trouble to desist from such act.

"What I think is good to hear is that she has no problem with the governor (Amaechi) and that those using her name to cause crisis will stop doing so," the commissioner stressed.

"She expressed her commitment to ensuring that peace returns to Rivers State soon, stating that as the President of African First Ladies Peace Mission, her desire is to have peace in her home base."

Also, the  state government  has raised the alarm over a strange posting of policemen on Wednesday to the Government House in  Port Harcourt and the Governor's Lodge  in Asokoro, Abuja.

Secretary to the State Government, Mr. George Feyii, in a statement, said the postings were done without notification.

He claimed   that security operatives, whose identities were unknown, said  they got a directive to remain at the gate of the   governor's lodge.

Feyii explained that it was aware that an official of a state, especially the governor, had the right to choose the security personnel he could entrust his safety.

The statement reads,  "The Rivers State Government notes with distress, what is now an apparent attack on the person of Governor  Amaechi. This (Wednesday) morning, two policemen, one of who is Inspector Bawa, reported to the Rivers State Governor's Lodge at Justice Mohammed Bello Street, Asokoro, FCT Abuja.

"They claimed to have been posted by Nigeria Police Force Headquarters to monitor the Rivers State Governor's Lodge. Earlier, four intelligence officers had been posted to the Government House in Port Harcourt by the Rivers State Police Command.

"These postings were done without any notification or deference to Governor Amaechi.  We are aware that on issues of personal safety, an official reserves the right to pick the security personnel to whom he or she may entrust their safety. This is more so in the case of a state governor.

"The policemen this (Wednesday) morning said that they had directives to remain at the gate of the Rivers State Governor's lodge. Not only is the Rivers State Government uncertain of the true identity of these gentlemen, we are worried as to the true intent behind this latest posting."

He  recalled that events around the governor in recent times had been suggestive of deliberate nonchalance, adding that  the situation had continued even with an appeal to the highest authorities.

"In recent times, events in Rivers State and especially around Governor Amaechi have been suggestive of deliberate nonchalance at best  and complicity at worst in the security breaches that have occurred. This trend has continued despite a passionate appeal to the highest levels of authorities. We are worried that we can no longer guarantee the safety of Governor  Amaechi and wish to reiterate our call on all relevant authorities to ensure  his safety   and the peace and security of everyone in Rivers State," the statement added.

*Abuse of power.........hisss*
*Na my peshee speak all these big grammar?*

36 comments:

1. Peshee can speak correct English now ooo

We thank God

2. The Governor is the chief security officer of a state and if Amaechi decided to demolish a particular area, no other person should interfere. Patience displayed her crass illiteracy by begging the Governor to reverse his decision because of her selfish interest. Imagine every wife of an elected official going around begging for one favour or the other. Imagine if Oshodi was not restored because of some powerful people's selfish interest.

She had the capacity to help resettle those affected but she prefers to use her power to cause trouble in her own state. Shame on her. One would have expected her, having recovered from a major illness, to dedicate her life to good deeds.

@SDK, whosai? Fear no go catch you if Peshe blow this grammar?

3. What of when she slapped him? These principalities should stop calling God please. If they don't know God is angry with their evil ways and has turned his backs on them. God gave her a second chance to live and she hasn't changed. She may not be lucky next time. They can all go to hell for all I care. Thieves.

1. When did patience slap him ode? In your dream abi oloshi, liar

2. When was he slapped?

Don't say what u don't know abeg! PP can quarel(even brothers from d same womb do) so wats d big deal?

4. The truth of this matter be say na thugs full our govement.If they have any misunderstanding(which i agree might be unavoidable considering varied interests),as educated representatives and adults wey suck dem mama breast well, they should sit down and dialogue.No be these same people wey dey preach "Dialogue" sotee dem even extend am give BOko Haram.My people say "being tall is no sign of maturity". Grow up.

5. So the wife of the president instructs governors on what To do? This woman does not know her place at all. Nigeria is in big trouble!

1. Did you read, instruct or beg?

2. Sharap! If na Turai or mrs abacha u 4 no talk oh!

What is wrong in asking d governor not to demolish?
      Do u know that the whole of her community cried out to her to intervene!!!

6. @ July 18, 2013 at 3:45 PM, were you there when the slapping too place?

Has Amaechi said he was slapped?

Even Patience is not that crazy yet, to slap a sitting Governor? Na lie

7. First comment if you think she wrote that then you need to wear your thinking cap. Speak indeed.

8. people can lie oooo,Patience did not slap Amaechi ooooo,people should stop this hatred on this woman,none of you will be at the position and allow your governor to torment your people..
    Amaechi is arrogant....

9. Big Mummy Patience, pls don't use your hand to destroy what you have build. Imagine, almost hundred millions of Nigerians were saying yes to your government and that is what got you on top. Pls, re-build it again.

10. pls hold it. Y should ameachi want to demolish houses built wt d sweat of d people jus becos he wants to create a playground for children why! If he sincerely wants d best for dis kids den he should move dem to a bigger site dt wud accomodate a playground
    aside, ii believe pechee has not totally opened up on d strife btw she n d governor. There is sooo much more to dis.

11. Ok Stella this is too long...I'm not comprehending! Sielewi...kwa heri.

Lucinda

12. I don't understand her pic ohhh 4a 1st lady.I don't think Mrs Obama will take a pic with dat kind of pose.probally she was dancing wen d pic was been taken

13. Amaechi is so arogant. He is sturborn and very rude. Considering were he came from and how he got to power I expect him to be humble

14. Since when does the wife of the president now openly address the issues affecting a state? What a sham and they aired it on network.

1. @ Anon 5.27....is it dat u guys don't read or pay attention.....its her village in question....if as a president's wife, u can't have a hand or say in wat goes on...won't u guys still be d 1st 2 say rubbish...........its her villa...if d gov wants 2 do smtin dere,n she doesn't like it or it won't benefit her people,she has every rite 2 tell him off...this one,she even come beg ontop d matter,d man say no......with d power she has,she can deal with him,or who ever as she likes jor..............

2. So the bishops visited her as what? The only one who can mediate?

15. RUBBISH, ALL RUBBISH. IGNORANCE IS BLISS. WE R IN TROUBLE IN THIS COUNTRY.

16. I pity the Rivers State Commissioner of Info. The lady just dey release statement upon statement. True ones n lie lie ones. If u see am eh,she dey like Eniola Badmus times 2. Very fat. To talk sef na heavy work for am cos fat don block em tthroàt.

17. story.............mehn dame don turn to pastor ooooh dats interesting mak she enjoy

18. patience or amechi no one gud."when two elephants fight, it is
    the grass that suffers.''

19. 1st of all as the wife of the the president, she is first and foremost a Nigerian citizen. So what is all this outsiders insiders issue? As the president's wife, she has no state. So her argument is flawed even from the beginning. 2ndly, her role is honorary the 1st lady has no right to ask a Governor to do anything. This is all blatant rubbish. When will we stand up and do the right thing?

1. Idiot why won't u talk rubbish.She is the presidents wife and the governor she and her husband helped to reclaim his mandate that obasanjo gave to omehia bcos obasanjo knew the person of this stupid Amaechi and called him a kleged candidate.The governor is demolishing a structure in her own village and she begged Amaechi not to and he went ahead and did so,the local government chairman that was against what Amaechi did got punished.Peoeple like u talking rubbish about her asking help from a stupid ingrate she called a brother is the type that will have a long list of demands if u are in her shoe.The first quarrel Jonathan has with obasanjo is cos of this stupid Amaechi.Cos his wife was on his neck to restore amaechis mandate to him.She asked for a favour for her people and stories filled everywhere.After the demolision she went to a function saw him and ignored his greeting and the story was that she slapped him.Who is she not to anwser amaechi greetings?Like if its u people u will be opening teeth with him.She is the first lady of the federal republic of nigeria u guys should go and hug transformer.#

2. Idiot why won't u talk rubbish.She is the presidents wife and the governor she and her husband helped to reclaim his mandate that obasanjo gave to omehia bcos obasanjo knew the person of this stupid Amaechi and called him a kleged candidate.The governor is demolishing a structure in her own village and she begged Amaechi not to and he went ahead and did so,the local government chairman that was against what Amaechi did got punished.Peoeple like u talking rubbish about her asking help from a stupid ingrate she called a brother is the type that will have a long list of demands if u are in her shoe.The first quarrel Jonathan has with obasanjo is cos of this stupid Amaechi.Cos his wife was on his neck to restore amaechis mandate to him.She asked for a favour for her people and stories filled everywhere.After the demolision she went to a function saw him and ignored his greeting and the story was that she slapped him.Who is she not to anwser amaechi greetings?Like if its u people u will be opening teeth with him.She is the first lady of the federal republic of nigeria u guys should go and hug transformer.#

3. Best comment .....u just typed my miñd @ ànon 10.0 9pm..u deserve better palm wine n bush meat......Amaechi deserves more dan wat d 1st lady is doin 2 him...I support my 1st lady.Gbam!

20. Amaechi is a big fool

21. Its a lie...I dnt believe this story mainly because patience aint that smart!

22. Amaechi is in big trouble, I was with a rivers government person two days ago from what I heard Amaechi is a traitor and right now his own people hate him

23. Stella I have never commented on your blog before though I read it. I just can't refrain myself by telling u to stop all these amaechi this amechi that rubbish. Its very obvious that u were paid by amaechi or his agents, but for christ sake I know you are a christian and u know a lot of pple read ur blog, plssss stop taking sides wen reporting or writing esp wen u did not investigate.

I noticed dat amaechi started using u in his propaganted esp wen u kept on hammering on how he gave ojb money 4 his suggery nd nw dis political buhaha in ph. Pls stop killing ppl's gd image all in d name of journalism of which I knw ur own journalism is biased,bought,forged,vindictive its just a pity.

When I read ur oda reports on sm actors n actresses I always giv u benefit of doubt believing dat u hav proof/evidence but obviously am wrong. U just find it just/fun killing oda ppls images,their homes, lives its so sad but remember God knows evry tin esp those hidden u hav a family too.

Viva....

1. Viva ko,daviva ni.
      Sharrap ur mouth there.its not by force.stop visiting dis blog.
      Oshisko

24. I ve told her to investigate this Amaechi and Jonathan thing,but I can see she is biased about it.

25. Foolish commentattors, as if whatever u say will make any difference or change anything. Shio!