Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arik Flight To London Re-routed As Woman Gives Birth On Board.

Monday, September 16, 2013

Arik Flight To London Re-routed As Woman Gives Birth On Board.

Arik-Air-A340-500-1102.jpg - Arik-Air-A340-500-1102.jpg

An Arik Air flight with over 100 passengers en route to London Sunday was forced to make an emergency landing in Palmas, Spain, as a woman went into labour and gave birth while the aircraft was airborne.

The pilot was said to have requested the emergency landing on the advice of two doctors who were on board the aircraft and had helped the mother deliver the baby. After the birth of the child, the mother, whose identity has so far been withheld, was said to have experienced excessive hemorrhaging, necessitating the emergency landing.

At the time of this report, both mother and child were said to have been stable but were left behind in Palmas for monitoring by medical personnel, while the flight continued on its journey to London.

On enquiry, THISDAY learnt that the airline was trying to ascertain if the woman had presented a false medical report from her doctor on the true duration of her pregnancy or she had gone into premature labour while on board the flight.

Women with full term pregnancies are not allowed to travel by air, according to International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) regulations. As such, intending pregnant passengers are required to present medical reports certifying that they are less than 32 weeks pregnant before they are allowed to fly.

instances where women have given birth on board, the aircraft would continue its flight to its final destination. However, the Arik flight was forced to make an emergency landing following the advice of the doctors that the woman was bleeding excessively.--culled

*I hope she is okay.I wonder why she didnt travel earlier before her EDD was near.

39 comments:

1. While am relieved she and baby re stable,this incident will bring about a new policy.Expectant mothers,when you are taking off abroad,don't be shocked when the crew whips out "clear blue digital device" to know if you re fit to board. Naim be say na second trimester person go run go yankee o. Signed:wide eyed!

2. Thank God mother and child are okay. She's lucky she didn't bleed to death. Afterall, airplanes won't start packing oxytocin for impromptu births.

I'll like to know what possessed her to make such a risky journey. If it was US now, one would say she was struggling for citizenship.

Imagine all the people she delayed unduly.

1. Yea my hubby was on the flight. They arrived london 10:30pm. Waooo but they didn't announce the reason for the stop over...he said. They were good at keeping the news of the medical situation. Wish mom and child better o. I thot my hubby was lying. Lmaooo!!

3. Naija people, we just have a knacker for flaunting rules. Why would a woman close to get tenure board a long-haul flight.

It was even dangerous for her and the baby.

4. Hope the woman has health insurance o! By the way, does that make the child a Spanish citizen? :D

1. Nope, Atlantic ocean citizen lol!!!

5. Thank God they are fine. I wouldn't say she wanted d baby born n d UK for citizenship cuz babies born in the UK re not automatically qualified citizens except one of the parent is a citizen. Can imagine the fear of other passengers. Thank God for life. .....

1. Some people dont know that. 1982 was the dealine for that free pass. Well mama and pikin dey do well, good for them.

6. So the child will be spanish citizen right?t

7. How was a full term lady allowed to fly?

1. Before you and other blog visitors crucify this lady or the airline, no one knows if she was full term or if she went into premature labor. Thank God mother/baby are doing fine.

2. Best comment. Hugs

8. Thank God for life. ..... By d way aunt Stella my birthday is on Wednesday the 18th of september all September children are special. Lol we re all special regardless. God bless have a nice day everyone. ...

9. Thank God it ended well.

10. Pls was d plane taking off frm Naija?

1. Yes. Plane took off from naija

11. congratulations to her, if it's a girl, she should be called ARIKA and ARIKANG if a boy

12. dose dis mean dat d child will not b a citizen of any country as na for air dem born am.lol

13. Am short of words really. If you consider it a must to have a baby in US or Britain, make adequate preparation and leave well in advance, I mean what if in God's sake she required emergency ceasarian or something? Is this how she would have put her life and that of her baby in jeopardy?

I am glad they both made it in one piece, God be praised.

14. She wan born for UK na. Abusing the NHS is not good at all

15. thank God for safe delivery...this attitude of i must born abroad must stop...do i hear u pple say govt should equip our hospitals? yes they should but our forefathers born most of una mama and papa for village home not hospitals...Govt pls give us better medicare ohhh Nigerians make una learn to siddon one place...

16. if i tell you she was enroute London to America now, you will say i am lying. Naija people and desperation.

17. Anon#13 got me laughing my ass off.Lol!
    Honestly why did she wait that late? is this another case of Arik not paying attention to details? I thank God mother and child are fine anyway..

18. Why was this not my mother? I wanted to be born mid air or at sea that way i can always have a story to tell about my birth:) Where were you born? On the ferry crossing over to France from England or over the Atlantic Ocean flying from Nigeria to the US cool stuff!

19. Yea. The baby's name is Arike. As to Arik. LooL

20. Yea. The baby's name is Arike. As to Arik. LooL

21. Yea. The baby's name is Arike. As to Arik. LooL

22. My thoughts exactly o. As say dem born the baby for mid air before dem reach Espania, the child wasnt born on spanish/EU territory. Therefore, the baby isnt eligible for spanish citizenship also as either of the parents must be a citizen or be in the country legally.By legally, i mean in a capacity which is legal and recognised by the spanish govt. Except if morocco or chad offer citizenship to the children born mid air, then na there the child belong.

23. The mother must likely be a banker in a nigerian bank!
    They are the ones with that silly attitude of 'I must born for UK' not dat they are citizens or the child will be o!just for posing:take pics post on FB and BB.fake ass life!i know cos iv been there.
    Well at least d baby will be citizen of Arik air *rme*
    Thank God for doctors on board!

24. Silly cow! you think its everyone who can't afford to pay?? You just sat down there and described your personal tendency! mkpi!

25. Its easy to judge the woman o! But until you hear the stories of people who lost their babies or husbands who lost wives during childbirth due to negligence on the part of medical pros in Nigeria, you will never understand that "desperation".

1. My dear,u spoke my mind,na God's grace to born in 9ja!
      Vee

26. Karma, you are so right! I just lost my classmate in Uni on saturday over CS gone bad. This happened in Benin, and I wonder, does this still happen? Patients paying with their lives for negligence or carelessness on the part of the medical personnel. So so sad, such a young,jovial and kindhearted lady#set of 2011#
    That person in d other post who said Kefee needs to start making babies. You think it's bean cake abi?
    My advice to all expectant mothers, pls be closest to your God this period,pray fervently without season for the safety of your baby and you. God's wish is for His children to give birth like the Hebrew women in the Bible but the enemies will not want that to happen.
    How can a baby who is supposed to bring joy end up causing pain and unending sorrow. So sad...

27. I thank God for the lives of mother and child. If you have never been in a medical emergency, you will never know.

Wishing them all the best.

28. Thank God for them.