Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Facebook And When Your Partner Tells You To Delete.

Tuesday, September 03, 2013

Facebook And When Your Partner Tells You To Delete.

Have you ever had to face the option of having to delete your social media handle for peace to reign in your home?
Ever had your partner (male or female) ask you to delete facebook,twitter,instagram or be deleted from their lives?

Someone on my facebook friends list was wishing her friends goodbye and said she was deleting her facebook account and that she would miss everyone.
I asked her why and we got into private chat and this is what she said.I am quoting what she said with her permission.

''He said I'm addicted to fb and I don't give him attention anytime I'm on fb...He kept complaining till he asked me to deactivate for now to concentrate on our family and I have to let peace reign for now,though it hurts.
My BB doesn't leave my hands...I open facebook any minute,any time.I can be cooking and browsing..D only time I'm not with my phone is when I'm bathing cos I don't want water to touch my phone.. I'm addicted...I don't blame hubby''.

Do you have a story to share?
How did you feel when this happened?what was your partners reasons for asking you to delete?

how did you survive not browsing these sites after you deleted?

Share with us.

Thank you.

59 comments:

1. I have to delete mine because of my ex-boy friend,because he keep on sending I still love u!!! Message to me.

1. My fiance always complains abt me being wit my bb. He says I shld stop usin a bb dat he'll get me a galaxy tab. He jst hates d fact dat am always pinging. He doesn't mind how much he spends on gadgets for me but he hates d bb thingy

2. Haba. Hers is even small. I even go into toilet with my phone. Alwaz browsing with tab. That's how I relax and unwind after a hard days work, joor. Hubby hates all my blogging and browsing. But dats my time. After preparing dinner for all, i curl up with my tab. Yay!

1. Hmmm if I tell u what fB has done in my life u will just laugh. Lost my fiancee cos of fB. The unending drama was tooooo much. Well, I think it wasn't God's wish for us to be togeda. Else no amount of FB chaos could have separated us. But guess who stood the test of time? My dear FB is still here, while he is gone for good. Yayyy!! Besides FB has rubbed off on me in a good way. I don't do anything on it but positive networking. My new beu is very ok with it now tho. Good riddance.

2. Hmmm if I tell u what fB has done in my life u will just laugh. Lost my fiancee cos of fB. The unending drama was tooooo much. Well, I think it wasn't God's wish for us to be togeda. Else no amount of FB chaos could have separated us. But guess who stood the test of time? My dear FB is still here, while he is gone for good. Yayyy!! Besides FB has rubbed off on me in a good way. I don't do anything on it but positive networking. My new beu is very ok with it now tho. Good riddance.

3. Hmmm if I tell u what fB has done in my life u will just laugh. Lost my fiancee cos of fB. The unending drama was tooooo much. Well, I think it wasn't God's wish for us to be togeda. Else no amount of FB chaos could have separated us. But guess who stood the test of time? My dear FB is still here, while he is gone for good. Yayyy!! Besides FB has rubbed off on me in a good way. I don't do anything on it but positive networking. My new beu is very ok with it now tho. Good riddance.

3. A friend had her phone smashed against the wall on 2 occasions bcos her husband didn't like who she was chatting with,my husb do warn me at times but I guess he trusts me that what I do on fb is harmless

1. But I bet he is on Facebook talking to his girlfriends... Mtchewww

4. Me as a lady i do not like it either...i can't imagine how some pple do that 247 a day. For me it's disrespectful when u do it all the time especially in from of someone whom u claim u love. I guess that also contributed to why i dumped my ex. I can't imagine trying to spend some quiet time with whom i love, in the middle of discussion, BB is on his hand...either tweeting or facebooking. mtscheww....IF IT'S GETTING TOO MUCH THEN YOU NEED HELP

5. I made my wife delete hers because she kept posting pictures showing off timelines of our marriage to everyone on facebook. I like my privacy and would rather remain anonymous. Ladi

1. You FO̶̲̥̅̊Я̩̥̊ no do wedding at all na. Since U̶̲̥̅̊ wnt Τ̅☺ remain annonymous. Nonsense!

2. Immedaitely my husband started using BB, our marriage died a terrible death. He will lock the phone and at every opportunity ping from morning to night like it was going out of fashion. He was always facebooking, whatsapping and i complained and let him know of what his phone was doing to our marriage. His excuse was "make i no talk to people again"?
      He would even neglect our toddler son and just concentrate on his chatting with the girls. He had no self control.

At a point, i stopped caring and lost all love for him. Though there are other issues but the issue of the phone worsened the situation.

6. Ha...d worst is that I'm addicted to porn. I need help. I'm always with my phones so nobody would see my porn stash. Its so bad. My mom and sister complain all the time about being with my phone always.. God save me. Once my phone is charged Na straight to porn site....

7. that instagram is the worst now, all the sluts in lagos are now looking like super models

1. Oh damn, y u exposing dem Lagos sluts dat way.

8. My husband always tells me to have fun with Stella's blog... He even refers to it as 'gossip blog' hehehe.

I generally have no problem with my husband over the use of social networks. I only use them to connect with friends and family, and him too when he travels for work. He just surprised me with BB Torch3 as my bday gift to complement the Samsung Galaxy Tab2 I already had; and he makes sure I don't lack internet data cos it makes me happy.

In as much as I'm addicted to this blog, I don't trade my husband's attention with the internet. I set my priorities right, that way, there won't be 'katakata' (chaos).

1. Then its right to say congrats for getting the right formular to deal with this ish.. U've said it all. All d best in ur marriage

9. Facebook? Who still goes to that dead place?

If this your friend is active on twitter nko, her family will suffer.

The key is to do everything in moderation. If her addiction is that chronic, then she should really get off FB. Going as far as deleting her FB account confirms her helplessness and indiscipline.

On the other hand, men that ask their partners to delete Social media accounts have a serious case of low self esteem

10. Ladi, I feel your pain.

I'm always admonishing my friends who post everything about their lives, marriage and kids on Facebook. You can summarize their entire lives from their timelines.

Such indiscretion!

But why ask her to delete? Sounds so dictatorial. Couldn't she just stop the annoying habit.

11. My hubby doesn't have issues with me so long as I don't do it while we're together. We have lunch/dinner dates regularly and sometimes in d middle of a meal, I would respond to a ping or email. I stopped doing it the day I realized that he leaves ALL three of his phones in the car or at home when we go out together. That was a big deal for me cos he's a super busy person and all sorts of important pple call him. When I asked why, he said I'm the only person he expects to hear from and since I'm home, the phones can wait.

I just had to reciprocate...

1. Very sweet...u av a lovely man

2. Na lie. It's cos his girlfriends will keep calling and ul b wondering y he's not picking

3. Not true, dear anon. No girlfriend's call is more important than his business calls and trust me, he is a super busy man. I have ALL the passwords to his gadgets and even answer his calls when he's busy.

Besides, is it dinner or lunch of 1hr that will make any difference? When his 'account officers' call at odd hours, he gives me the phone to answer and discharge them promptly. Sometimes he puts them on speaker while we laugh our asses off.

I have a good guy, he wasn't always like this though. He's made all the mistakes in his first marriage and is trying to get it right with this one. Nothing is more important to him than moi.

12. I was a BBQ addict before marriage. My 2 ex bf at the time complained about me always on my phone and laughing to myself whenever we are togeda. Well I didn't take them seriously cos dey hadn't put a ring on it. Smhow we always quarreled about it.
    Fast forward , I got married. Even on my wedding day I was pinging and face booking it was that bad. During honeymoon my hubby realized how entangled I was with my bb, he just mentioned it in passing "e bi like say na u and ur phone marry o", I took it as a joke, one month after, I didn't change. My husband complained bitterly. I had to gradually restrain myself, I left some group chats, gradually, I stopped responding to pings, then I bought a small phone, then gradually leaving my bb at home intentionally.
    Today, I am off bb, off Facebook. My hubby is happy. He didn't ask me to leave but I had to respect his feelings and make sure d marriage works. It's 9months now, I hv nt been on bb and FB. Life couldn't be sweeter. On bb I had fracas with friends, cos communication was misinterpreted, FB people ask wrong questions on ur wall. Post stupid pics and tagg u, meanwhile ur Mother inlaw is your friend on FB, seeing such sends d wrong signal abt u. I sha left.
    Now my newly found addiction is SDK blog, 3months now non stop on my galaxy. Hubby no go complain cos nor be every second Stella dey post gist.

Mrs Anon

13. =))º°˚˚˚°ÂºÐ½aĦaнaº°˚˚˚°Âº‎​=)) my fiance (now husband) always go behind my back to read my chats and messages and he saw what he was not supposed to see, that was hw problem started o, so he told me to delete certain frds on FB and contacts on my fone. I also changed my password so that such won't repeat itself

14. I am not addicted to Facebook (it's an annoying and immature place lol)but I love going on Google and doing loads of research..I research everything and anything its kind of my hubby now..and another thing I do is take pictures cos I am so infatuated with my face lmao... N hubby hates it, but if he wants me to stop he has to delete his Facebook, watsapp and emails.he will also have to delete everything...

15. Fortunately or should i say unfortunately my baby doesn't stay in Naija. So i use d internet any time of d day but once he's in town every gadget goes under d bed cuz he complains whenever I'm on it. He likes an undivided attention. Don't blame him tho.

16. Get busy in your lives, you won't have time for all these things trust me

17. When my boyfriend nd I are together, we pay less attention to our phones, at times we even seize each others phone so dat we will ave time for each other.

18. My bf once asked me 2 deactivate my fb acct,i did but couldn't bear not to see wot was happening in d world,i had 2 block him and reactivated acct. He knew later but I apologised and we re gud now. The only person he doesn't wanna see on my list right now is my ex and he's so off my list for gud

19. Rather, i quietly delete people giving me unnecessary issues.
    For peace to reign of coz!
    Some people are just troublemakers!
    And of coz I have to stay sane.

Eve

20. Hehehe â„“̊ deactivated ♍Æ´ Facebook page 2months ago. Plenty monitoring spirits checking up ur pics nd profile. I'm ok with just bbm alone. Not a fan of twitter or instagram. Opened another Facebook page with a fake name just for news updates.

21. It only take understanding. Am single and most of my friends are either engage or married. I just use FB to get the latest gist about them, cos some people have d habit of posting evry little success or failure, deir movement on FB. Me no kuku coment.

22. Am not use to bb pinging & facebook but I got both.I don't av time 4 pressing phone.I gives my time to my hubby & d kids.I love knowing latest gist in town.wen ever I av d time I always b on blogs,(linda ikeji & stella dimokokorkus )shikena

23. My hubby asked me to delete my maiden name on my fb profile, because I'm married to him. Imagine o!. I refused and he deleted me from his account. Its fine by me. Less wahala that way. I'm never o fb sef o. He is just arrogant and over controlling. Why has everything got to be about them?

24. The key to everything is moderation. Personally I'm not a big fan of social network and keep my social media usage to the bare minimum. I just don't have the energy!

VALERIE.

25. i lost my bb since last year November and intentionally didnt get a replacement, it has really helped me to be focus. even all those my monitoring spirit friends self no sabi wetin dey again unlike b4 wey them dey monitor person progress, i was already getting addicted to social media than the real life, was losing focus and chating/browsing away destiny. i ping one day so tale food burn for fire, even forgot my N400 change wt lagos conductors lol, my mum always complain whenever i go visit her. the only time i spend on social network naa is btw 10am-6pm(mon-friday)at work. i told myself, no browsing phone,ipad,tab etc except laptop at work btw 10-6pm for now! so people can browse inside fire self. no idea, no inspiration, no ambition, nothing nothing, just browsing and chating away destiny

26. This social media thing is actually an issue now!
    Thou I tot I was addicted,but from ur post,am just a learner!
    what I do when I am with my hubby is just to drop the pone cos as long as BlackBerry is in ur hands,its like a spirit,something will get ur attention and the next minute,u are lost!
    Sometimes I use malice as excuse to be lost in my BB,lol!
    The social media addiction is bad!
    Cos going by the rules of social behaviour,its actually rude to keep pressing pone while talking with pple.
    But what more can we say,'na civilization cause am o!

27. Aaah...am addicted to my fone.always surfin d net for d slighest of tins cos I lyk bn upd8d nd visitin blogs 4 gist..I rememba 1 nyt I had to evn google 'hw to apologise to a frnd'.lols..mostyms I jus â„“ÇŽ̜̣̍U̶̲̥̅̊G̶̲̥̅ђº¤°`Æ U̶̲̥̅̊Tº¤°`â„“Æ U̶̲̥̅̊D̶̲̥̅̊ lyk a stupid prsn whyl pressin fone..as 4 social ntwks,only bbm takes my tym nd dts cos of my besties...fb is alive but dead..amnt evn interestd in twitter sef....I remember den,my ex nd I wil b 2gda o but d 2 of us go jus dey press fone.#lols#

28. I was With somebody last week...he said something and I was laughing..only for the poor guy to realise I was actually chattin awAy nd laughing...had to say sorry 4 courtesy sake shaaa..

29. Chatting away your destiny? loool, wetin pesin no hear for SDKB

1. I say. D ting funny me die ehn. + monitoring spirit

30. I deleted fb 2009, twitter 2012, instagram i had it for a few months deleted it after i came back from miami may 2013. I dont have any social media because I prefer to talk to frnds on my fone & i dont like internet friends. One lagos babe i made friends with showed me pepper das the reason i deleted my instagram. I dont miss social media. My husband to be has all social media but he is so inactive i have told him whats the point lol. I dont even have whatsap. My life is simple call me or tx me! Too much monitoring spirits & ex-boyfriends snooping for info.

31. abeg,ho do i delete self from facebook,thx

32. We should do everything with moderation and common sense. I use facebook mostly for my business and to read jokes by Funny pikin and Kemi Omololu's crazy stuffs.

I hardly post updates or new pics. I just hate it when i see people talking about their personal life ( a friend in UK used to write his every moves on facebook. It was sooooo bad i had to tell his mum who then cautioned him. Since then, he stopped).

My gfriends marriage is nearly crumbling now because of BBM and facebook! Her hubby is terribly addicted.

Facebook is what it is: Facebook.

33. It's annoying my boyfriend of 6months want my Facebook password.

34. very bad habit...i do sotey lecture go dey go on i go dey ping or play snake game 4 dat small nokia...smh...d tin no cum make me get 1st class#sadface#.bt in marriage?? Pa chiboy no get am por froblems..,....yinkus

35. very bad habit...i do sotey lecture go dey go on i go dey ping or play snake game 4 dat small nokia...smh...d tin no cum make me get 1st class#sadface#.bt in marriage?? Pa chiboy no get am por froblems..,....yinkus

36. I asked my husband to delete his FB on the eve of our introduction last year and he did. I found it irritating he still had pictures he took with his exes and they all tagged him. Infact he's had engaged status with one and I didn't want him replacing it by married to me. Now he's off FB. He's in his 40s sef so he should go rest.

37. Good for you, you will soon know what's up.

38. My hubby complains when I chat with my friends which I must say is minimal. I'm not a gadget person. But he spends all day pinging his girlfriends. He almost injured himself one day lunging for his phone and he's complaining. Mscheeeew. I don't bother listening when he complains.

39. Lol! I'm not on any social network, not interested! D only thing I do is to read blogs, and my bf complain. Instead of him to be happy dot I'm not on any time consuming and addictive social network . Mtsheeeew

40. I agree about fb monitoring spirits, years ago I was always showcasing every move I made on fb, when my plans went awry as a result of people bad eye, nobody told me to tighten my security settings, all you see now is my page and name, no picture, no nothing. Twitter I nor get, Instagram ni, social media is a blessing but more of a curse. Me I am addicted to my beloved SDK, I can post all I want whilst still protecting my privacy. Nosey

41. My own be say I do most of my biz on FB. So I have every reason to be there. And that's why my beu won't blink an eye. I don't care about the monitoring jobless peep on there, trust me. I hardly notice anyone anyway. I don't do instagram, twitter or anyother thing but FB. And of course BB! Which I am very selective with whom I chat. I rarely do chat in recent time. The only active chat is always my bobo. Am good at ending chats without reading them LoLz. Can't be asked! Pple whom u don't wanna chat with, na dem go monitor weda u update ur DM or DP, them go come begin ping again say y u ignore them. Like seriously, duhhhh!! I don't do that shit

42. may GOD help u...I break u away from that bondage in JESUS NAME,AMEN!