Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Monopolizing Of Federal/State And traditional Appointments By Nigeria's Political Class

Tuesday, September 24, 2013

The Monopolizing Of Federal/State And traditional Appointments By Nigeria's Political Class

Dear Stella.

Though you operate a 'gossip' website, I have noticed over time that considerable attention has been given to political, governmental and societal matters that concern the average Nigerian. Which is why I want to plead with you as a well meaning Nigerian to use your world renowned media and cyber prowess to make known an issue that has bothered me for a while now.

The issue of monopolizing of federal, state and even in some cases traditional appointments by our nations political class. Some Nigerians might feel that this issue does not affect them or like some people say ' change the price of garri in the market'. I believe this is an issue of utmost importance that every ambitious Nigerian should consider as we all wish to better our lives and one day you could be opportune to be shortlisted to serve the nation only for the spot duly and rightly deserved by you to be given to a well known politician and in Nigeria today, already exhausted minds of elderly politician, former government appointees etc who feel they still need to be relevant in the society or feel they are not done 'contributing' their quota to the nation. what they could not do in their youthful and vibrant days.

Strategic positions where new ideas and minds should come into play are being rotated amongst a fraction of our populace, imagine a former Governor going to serve in the Senate and still holding appointments even after leaving the Senate as if the country was made for only a few to prosper in. These people are meant to know that Nigeria is for Nigerians and not a few of them.

Some countries employ their average citizens to be legal system as members of a jury whereas in our beloved Nigeria, when a committee to improve the policy or 'investigate' another committee is set up it can only include former ministers, and other former public office holders. Who would continue to collect and sit upon opportunities that should be available to all Nigerians. 

Giving the average Nigerian a chance in such appointment also means well as it would help with the redistribution of wealth. Imagine a former Governor who serves for two terms and goes to the Senate to serve another two terms after which is appointed as a Executive Director for a Federal agency. Instead of he/she to retire after serving as a governor and allow three other of his fellow Nigerians of which two could serve as single term Senators and the other as the Executive Director of the concerned agency to implement new and fresh ideas that would benefit the nation and even the greedy politicians children.

One area I really do not agree with the government and I believe in this modern democratic Nigeria I have the right to say is the appointment of Ambassadors / Head of Missions. It has gotten to the very degrading level where politicians and even wives of politicians and former leaders are being 'compensated' with such a critical and delicate role while the career civil servants who after years of toiling for this great nation would be delayed and denied their birth right and are retired due to mandatory years in service or coming of age.

Political Ambassadors in my opinion cannot put in the same work ethic as a career Ambassador who has probably for the last twenty years of his life, sleeping, eating and breathing the job. It is a pity when politicians see these foreign missions as means to embezzle money disregarding the welfare of Nigerians in these foreign land. Imagine a Local Government Chairman or House of Reps member who just finished his/her tenure and could not adequately represent somewhere as small as a local government being sent out by the Federal Government to represent the nation. I think that is absurd, idiotic and stupid thing to do. No wonder Nigerian embassies abroad are in shambles and are barely running.

I do not know the criteria for selecting Ambassadors and other political appointments but I believe as humans with common sense we should not be sending a banker on a diplomatic mission or appointing an accountant as the Minister of Defence. When one Nigerian can collect retirement benefits of being a Governor, Senator and Ambassador when two other Nigerians can be appointed and in turn help their families and reach more lives.

I call on anybody who has means of communicating with any one who can make my feelings known to any one in any office who can do something about it because this country is for all Nigerians and if the masses are happy every one and every thing in our country would prosper.
But of course in a country where politics is the full time occupation of some people. In developed nations whom we should be emulating, legislators and some other positions are part time jobs and even in some cases voluntary. Imagine a Nigeria, where any one can schedule and get an appointment and be part of the House sitting, contributing and giving ideas on how to better their local government, state and nation at large.

A Nigeria where politics is not do or  die because apart from politics everyone has their source of income, no killings during electoral periods, no rigging, this would automatically mean that anyone going to work in these sensitive offices is actually going to work and serve his fatherland.

BUT WHAT DO THE MASSES KNOW RIGHT???!!!! THAT IS MY TWO CENTS..

Average Nigerian.

26 comments:

1. Thanks for visiting buh pls we dnt do dat here.

2. Hmmm, fantastic write up. However, our Government never listens. PDP is the worst thing that has ever happened to Nigeria. Appointments are based on your connections with Aso Rock and not on your qualification. Its really sad. When Nigeria appoints professionals, who are experts in their field, you would see the difference. Not appointing a lawyer turned beautician as an Ambassador or a petrol marketer as Aviation minister because they "helped you win and hold the purse" This whole thing is affecting the whole country regardless of class. Even the very rich are frustrated. If you do not play the PDP game, you are shown the way out and frustrated.Nigeria is not an extension of PDP, but a sovereign country where every citizen is a stake holder

3. That's just the way it is *in tupac's voice*
    When we were kids,we used to sing:we are the leaders of tomorrow' but till today the leaders we grew up hearing of are still the leaders!smh
    All we need is a revolution!thru who and when? .....dats the big question
    *walks away sadly*

4. Madam Stella,if you receive more than 16 comments for this post,i'll go back to religion.Nigerians hardly read long articles because we're intellectually lazy.By the way,its "Political Elite" not "Political Class"-Mightysparrow

1. Looolz...Anon 11:46. u caught me on this one. I couldn't read 2 finish but when i saw ur comment. I ran up 2 read. Seriously it was long no doubt but the message is worth reading!!! 10x.

5. Him no lie....eg kenya.. The nigeria office there did not even make a statement to say ok no nigerian was hurt o...total bullshit....biko where is ma coke make I sip jeje...stella when would dey make u adviser???

6. Thanks to this "average nigerian". This is a strong submission which should be given voice .
    Stella please add voice to it
    It is for the good of all and the circulation of wealth ,knowledge and resources .

7. To get into this small clique, you need a Godfather. If you don't have one, be ready to follow them wherever they take you. Can you do it? Therein lies the problem.

I can give several examples of people outside of the clique who have tried to get involved but they were frustrated because of a lack of a Godfather and/or the refusal to follow them to places.
    I'm not sure I have the time to be specific.

Appointing people in wrong roles = square peg in a round hole.
    I said it on another post that the "heads" hardly do any work. Their Permanent Secretaries do all the work and the heads take most of the glory. That's why they have time for parties, ajala travel and shop openings.

Same old.....

8. I love dis piece. U said it all. What more can I add. Nigeria will be great one day, bt dat day is still very far away.

9. The House of Assembly is made up of people who are supposed to be "Our Voice" in this country. How did they get there? Through the sentimental support of their people and state governors in most parts. They've been active since 1999. Our frustrations are less seriously addressed by them. The only other effective way of expressing your frustration is through peaceful protests. But beware of the likely substitute of fresh air the police will unleash on you. The best thing that can happen to this country is if youths, interested in politics, decide not to become Reuben Abatis of tomorrow. Then we can have a realistic vision. For now, even vision 2040 seems like a pipe dream with the rate at which Nigerians show less interest on the Health of their dear Nation.

1. This is exactly what I wanted to write,I smell a rat.lol

2. @ Eze,can't smell any rat.

10. dat hausa girl that blogs24 September 2013 at 13:41

well constructed write up but the truth is no God father no appointment for you even the least civil servant job,it's you either know someone or you pay if you r convinced that either paying u will get the job.the whole situation is messed up,been greedy to the core.i keep on saying it our talking dosent matter unless u put it into action.but average nigerians fear death so who will start.still sitting n observing what will b d country's turn out in 2015.sefini!

11. So true, So sad, when would we the youth be given our chance? Are the youth even better by the way. Hmm.

12. zizi you are so dumb you made no contribution to this.

13. @ anon September 24, 2013 at 11:46 AM see you correcting someone, both of them are correct. Check your dico.

14. I thank the author of this article. Good write up. First of all, how many people know thier senators and representatives. I for one do.
    Mine is Hon. Adun Jim Aiku. Born 1944. Married.
    Sen Uzamere Ehigie Edobor is my senator. Born 1955. Married.

Now do you know that Hon Yusuf Biliyaminu Shinkafi. Born 1976. From Zamfara is the youngest ? 37 years old. Impressive.

Hon. Ajiboye Robinson Gbadebo from Ekiti is one of the oldest. Baba is 75. Born 1938.

Just a year older than Sen. Emeka chukwumerije Uche, who was the former minister of information. Hian! Born 1939.

How about that very pretty single sister from Abia? Hon. Ukeje nnenna Ifeoma. Born 1969. Her only experience was in Hotel consultancy. But has retained her position since 2007 till 2015. Ok.
    Wikipedia got her story.

Sen Nnaji Gilbert Emeka is a very handsome man from Enugu. Married. Even Hon. Chukwumerije Nkem ihediaoha has a website.

Did you also know that

15. Did you know that sen. Ewherido Akpor from Delta state has deceased on his profile?

Culled from www.nassnig.org

I believe it is time that Nigerian youth use the power of emails and Facebook to write thier senators, reps., councilors, govs. Commissioners etc.

We all have a voice, it is right at our finger tips.

SDK can I suggest we have a section called " guess this politician " to enlighten a lot of people.

Whoever cuss me, I return it back to you in 3D 1080p Bifocal!

16. Sdk where is my part one ? Shebi you have disclaimer. I beg post am.

17. Why should anyone cuss u on this hun?u just gave us info into what many won't bother knowing, increasing our knowledge base.
    I support the move for the section called 'guess the politician'
    Intellectually increasing topics are gud,cos knowledge is power.
    El Rufai was right about us youths,some only care abt fast cars,fashion and how to hammer' before graduating from univ?huh?lol!,and dats what makes these evil men continue to do as they want!cos what u don't know u can't fight!
    Okbye.

18. @anon 11:46... you must be a big fool... u better go back to religion because you need it

19. @ anon September 25, 2013 at 9:11 AM biko why the abuse?

20. @stella asemota,the youngest rep is saheed fijabi from oyo state,born a year later than this honourable u mentioned.

21. Anon 11:46. U r a stupid fellow. Grow up bitch

22. Is that oredipe morike from Babcock CIS ??