Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Teenagers Gripped By Stowaway Fever?

Wednesday, October 02, 2013

Nigerian Teenagers Gripped By Stowaway Fever?

These three young boys are the newest entries into the book of 'stowaway-ism' .They have allegedly attempted to do what DANIEL did......Yes stowaway and be celebrated.

13year old Daniel Oikhena has set a new trend and may probably need to be named 'Stowaway pioneer'. because this will be the second reported case since his celebrated stowaway attempt where the governor of Edo state Adams Oshiomole offered the young man a scholarship and a better life in return for attempting suicide........oh Daniel visited government house,had on probably clothes and became the star of the moment......click here to see pics of the celebrated stowaway kid in a pose with the smiling governor of Edo state
Punch is reporting that ''The Airport Command of the Nigeria Police Force has arrested three teenagers for allegedly attempting to illegally board some international flights in Lagos.
Commissioner of Police for the command, Salahu Waheed, said the suspects, Lateef Popoola, 13; Amadi Joshua, 14; and Ukpabio Onyedikachi, 14, were arrested at different times at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Ikeja.
Waheed, while handing over the suspects to their mothers, said there was a need for their respective state governments to rehabilitate them like the Edo State Government did with teenage stowaway, Daniel Ihekina, who was arrested on August 24, 2013 after sneaking into the tyre compartment of a Lagos-bound Arik plane.

He said “These boys were found at different times at Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos. Their aim was to get into any plane and travel out of Nigeria.
“I decided to hand them over to their parents so they will be well taken care of and stop dwelling on the fantasy that you can just come into the airport, enter a plane and travel.
“Their state governments should try to rehabilitate them just like Edo State did for the stowaway in Benin.
“Lateef Popoola is from Ogun State; Amadi Joshua is from Ebonyi while Ukpabio Onyedikachi is from Abia State.
“The airport is not a place that you can just come into and travel. There are formalities. We don’t want to see these children here again.”

The teenagers, who spoke to PUNCH Metro, said they had been nursing the idea of travelling abroad, adding that they were not ready to execute their plans yet........culled

*This is just the beginning..Celebrating Daniel was probably wrong?

12 comments:

1. Yeah, even the children are feeling the hardship. Imagine children whose only worries in life should be games, food and school, busy planning their escape route out of problem infested Naija.

Shame on GEJ and corrupt other leaders past and present.

2. Naija una dey over do things. Some parents will now encourage their children to do what Daniel did. Celebrating him was totally wrong.

Dee

3. Lol......I laugh in espanol.
    Hehehehe

4. Celebrating Daniel was so wrong,all the paparazzi and all was so not called for. It is well.

5. I said this when the Edo and Osun state government openly celebrated Daniel, am not saying they shouldn't have helped him but could have done that without announcing it or rather politicizing it,what can we say of these teenagers they followed suite cos Daniel their hero succeeded.

6. I said this when the Edo and Osun state government openly celebrated Daniel, am not saying they shouldn't have helped him but could have done that without announcing it or rather politicizing it,what can we say of these teenagers they followed suite cos Daniel their hero succeeded.

7. thank you dee and Iyawo officer!

I said it when I read about the scholarship award and celebration of Daniel.

I said it that much as it was good he was given a scholarship, all the paparazzi and razzmatazz that came with it was unnecessary as it would only encourage others to follow suit.

it would have been done quietly and a stern warning given to the boy. #datsall but No!

Ngwanu! here we are! here......we....are!!!

(in a sarcastic tone) what are they waiting for to give these ones scholarship and publicize it??????

mtchew!

8. They should lock them up in a teenage remand home or something,then there will forever be no stowaway cases in nigeria!
    Nigerians capitalize on every situation,its not unlikely that their parents even sent them to do this.
    Smh

9. Am nt suprised though. I was expecting dis. I said it b4 and sum people cussed me out. Daniel was nt supposed to be celebrated openly nw other children are following d trend. Dey want to be heroes like daniel too. More will still kom.

10. They should be flogged and sent to a remand home. Nonsense.

11. You all should shut up! Why is it peppering you that Daniel was given scholarship and celebrated? He deserved it for being courageous and beating the inefficient security operatives.

So what if copycats are turning up daily? The Govt should continue to give them scholarships because its their right to be educated and live well. The entire school fees of 100 kids is not up to what Aunty Peshe spends on earrings.

12. i still maintain and support everything done for daniel.everyone has their own individual destinies,so maybe it was through that medium GOD wanted to bless daniel.that doesn't mean others should do the same expecting same reward.
    looking at the kids they dont look rough,dirty or malnourished in any way like daniel looked when he was captured.
    if any other child/children are caught it is down to their state Govt on what to do with them