Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ARE ALL CHURCHES LICENSED TO CONDUCT MARRIAGES IN NIGERIA?

Wednesday, December 18, 2013

ARE ALL CHURCHES LICENSED TO CONDUCT MARRIAGES IN NIGERIA?

Are all places of worship licensed to conduct Marriages in Nigeria?

I am just wondering also if all 'men' of God are licensed to conduct marraiges?

Does anyone know anything about this?

51 comments:

1. Not all churches.. its the orthodox churches that are licensed & for the gospel its only redeem

1. You were right with the fact that you said not all churches, you went foul when you said only redeemed church! There are certain requirements that churches mmust meet before certificates can be given to them. If the mother body or the headquarters of the church meets the requiremments and pay the necessary dues to the govt,they will be given Certificate to conduct marriages. I know of Redeemed, Deeper Life,Apostolic faith,Winners and a host of others..

2. Hy stella,,not all churches are licensed to conduct marriages oo..they have to pass some requirements like havin a standard toilet,enough space and all..first time commenter y'all..yippieee!!!

3. This is a serious question,that I dnt have an idea about

4. Nah. All churches re nt lincensed to conduct marriages. Most of the churches re not known

5. I dunno Stella. I follow wan know o!

A friend of mine from a strong catholic background was to get married to her fiance who happens to be a strong mfm member. Both refused to be joined in either his or her church.

Serious issue. At the end of the day they decided to play neutral and wedded at a pentecostal church with less than 200 church members in total who attends the church.

The church sef, me no jus understand. Guests were just murmuring...

Hmnnnnn.....

6. I don't care tbh. Ashley Moore send me an email. I can't see it on your profile.

7. Not all churches are licensed places of worship, therefore those that are not licensed cannot issue a (valid) marriage certificate. However, any "man of God" can bless a marriage, as long as the couple submit themselves to blessed by him in his church, licensed or not. The key thing to note is that a marriage blessing is quite different from solemnization of holy matrimony/marriage ceremony. While almost any church leader can perform the former, the later can be performed by a priest/pastor/leader only in a licensed place of worship.

8. No SDK, not all churches are licensed to conduct marriages in Nigeria. What most pastors do is to bless marriages and call it "wedding" without the couple(s) involved knowing that their "wedding" is not official or legaly recognised because the church they wedded in is not licensed.

I know that Catholic and Anglican churches have license to conduct marriages in Nigeria. There are others o but these 2 are the ones I'm very sure of.
    I am a Catholic and I wedded in a Catholic church, We were made to go to Ikoyi registry by our parish priest to register. Our names were pasted there for about 3 weeks, after which we now received a go ahead from the court to do our wedding within a given period of time. We also had to submit a copy of our marriage certificate to the court after the church wedding. #dazall

1. And for your mind now you made complete sense??? I wedded in Living faith and passed through all these registry processes you wrote here. I and my hubby's names were on the registry board for 21 working days before my wedding as well. And i signed a court marriage certificate at the church on my wedding day. Copy of it is at d church while d 3rd duplicate of the certificate is back to the registry as well. Christ Embassy i worshiped with before my marriage does same as well, i have friends that married in Christ Embassy and they signed court marriage certificate as well. So its not only catholic and Anglican. FYI.

2. My dear you may be right but if you submit those documents for regrouping your family in case of visas outside Nigeria it will be rejected. Both redeem and so on.Don't mean to upset you but that's true. It may be recognize in Nigeria but western world No.

9. I don't know oh! Lemme learn from the experts

10. Lolzz, if u ask mi, na who I go ask

11. Replies
    1. Lol... Not all churches dearie.

2. Section 33(2) of the Marriage Act, says, your marriage shall be null and Void if its not in a licensed place of worship or the office of a registrar of marriage.

3. Lol... Not all churches dearie.

4. Lwkmd.....u r so funny....

12. Stella why this marriage thing dey bother you forsomedays now? Abi mr.Dimokokorkus want new Naija babe? Abeg load us the gist

13. No to both questions. For your marriage to be recognized it must be conducted in a place approved/registered to be used for marriage.
    Also, the man of God must be a fully ordained MOG.

14. celestial and cherubims in d ouzz...never seen a white garment wedding b4....

15. No, they are not. Your church needs to get a license from the Federal Marriage registry to do that. To get the license, your church needs to be registered. Most churches are not but they issue certificates and join couples anyway. Some churches are just registered in their local government so the certificates are not globally accepted.
    If you do not need your marriage to be recognized by global regulatory bodies, no wahala, but if you do certificates you receive from such churches are null and void.

Met one lady at Ikoyi then and she was forming papas on top say her church na hip church. She was shocked when she found out her certificate no go pass Onigbongbo LG by her pastor.

Advice: Ask your Pastor, if they are not registered, do your thing jeje for Ikoyi any day of the week and then do your church thing on the day you like. Marriage ceremony no be by just wearing white and dancing scatter on your wedding day!

16. Nope not all churches licensed to conduct marriages but even seedy churches in Nigeria now do so because of the crowd pull. I doubt if the certificate they issue is even recognised.

17. Since it is God that joins together,so I think all representatives of God should be able to perform the ceremony. However,some churches are affiliated eith the registry court to be able to issue certificatates to their memebers altho d registration and a part of d fee is paid to the registry body.

18. Not all churches, a particular branch of a church must be specifically licensed by the minister of internal affairs before it can conduct marriage, dat is to say, if Christ Embassy Ikeja branch is licensed to conduct marriage ceremony it does not cover their Egbeda branch, Egbeda branch must also get their own license. etc. Also any known reverend of a licensed church can conduct d ceremony. Shikena..

19. Hi Stella, Not all churches are licensed to conduct marriages in Nigeria. The church requires a license in order to be able to conduct a marriage ceremony.However a Minister does not require a license. Once the church is licensed a minister from that church is able to perform the ceremony.

According to Section 21 of the Marriage Act of Nigeria, "Marriage may be celebrated in any licensed place of worship by any recognised minister of the Church, denomination or body to which such place of worship belongs, and according to the rites or usages of marriage observed in such church, denomination or body."

20. Not all places of worship are licensed to conduct marriages. And not all "men of God " are licensed to conduct marriages. A man of God is licensed to conduct a marriage when the minister gives him the authority to do so, by way of a license. Most churches in Nigeria are not licensed to conduct marriages, and anyone who gets married in such church doesn't have a valid legal marriage, instead its just a mere customary marriage. But from research, I found out that the catholic church and Anglican church are licensed places for celebration of marriage(though some parishes are not). Most married folks who got married in some of this new generation churches without license,are deemed under the law not to be married under the Act, though it is a valid customary marriage.
    Prospective couples should enquire if their places of worship is licensed to conduct a marriage. Failure to do this , might erode either spouse in future to enjoying the gains of a marriage contracted under the Act. (to be on the safe side, couples could go to a marriage registry and do a formal Marriage under the Act, because your pastor might be lying about being a Licensed person to conduct a marriage).
    Barrister lawyer

1. Barr u try shaa, I am barr too and I concur wt all u said.. However a church blessin is diff frm a customary law marriage.. Therefore when u gt a church to bless ur marriage I.e. When an unlicensed church perform ur weddin.. It remains wt it is . An illegal marriage.. There is nothin customary abt it.. A customary law marriage is a marriage according to the customs of a particular place.

2. I shldnt even have said an illegal marriage, cos dias natin lik dt. Barr let's jst say, its no marriage or a void marriage.. As the marriage is void ab initio..

21. Not all churches. Initially, it was just Anglican/Catholic/Methodist churches. Now, RCCG, etc have also gotten the licence. You need to find out.

1. Do you think that the RCCG certificate go beyond Nigeria? .The answer is No.

22. To avoid trouble in the future.... drag yur hubby to be to court for. a formal LEGAL registered marriage......... whn the Shit hits the fan, do not cry had I known.....

23. Stella dis is a very good question.... It baffles me why some pentecostal pastors will go ahead n wed a man or a woman dat is a divorcee.... Pls is dis proper, i need answers..

24. Have you forgotten that 70% of Nigerian men don't register their marriages, and some churches don't even care. What they do is join the couple, issue them the church marriage certificate and not the federal government.

And dem go mumu dey go think say dem don marry. If you are married and your marriage is not registered, you are sitting on a long thin.

25. @ Stella Dimoko-korus, I understand you are talking about government licence. What of God's licence? Is there any scripture (from the Bible read in these churches) where the Lord God has asked the church to conduct marriage? The marriage that Jesus attended in Cana in Galilee (John 2), we were told that he was "invited with his disciples" ("invited" not "he officiated". You will never see where Jesus or his apostles officiated at a wedding). See, Just like in Cana (a village but not a synagogue), marriages hold in the family and bride price is paid to the father of the bride. The churches hijack marriages because they make money and control their members in it; truth be told. PLEASE LET SOMEONE TELL ME WHERE IN THE SCRIPTURE BOTH OLD AND NEW TESTAMENT THAT MARRIAGE WAS CONDUCTED IN A CHURCH OR SYNAGOGUE. If the couple so wish, they can then register their marriage with the state; just like Mary and Joseph obeyed to register at the population census.

It pains the Lord to see couples go for abortions because "they've not done church wedding". Maybe Stella you need to make this a topic to educate people. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG IN WEDDING IN A CHURCH but folks should not make issues out of it. Once the lady's dad receives her bride price in a ceremony, a lady is married; the marriage is finished. Just like Jesus said "it is finished" once he paid for his bride on the cross. And the Lord taught us in Paul's writings that "marriage is . . . like Christ and the Church . . ."

1. Once ur dad receives ur brideprice wtout more all u ave dne is a customary law marriage, ds willnot allow u to enjoy d benefits of a legal marriage.. My one piece advice also gt d man to marry u legally.. Either in a court or in a licensed place of worship. Both re d same, as d certicates issued re d same.. My dear only den are u statutorily or legally married...

26. @ Stella Dimoko-korus, I understand you are talking about government licence. What of God's licence? Is there any scripture (from the Bible read in these churches) where the Lord God has asked the church to conduct marriage? The marriage that Jesus attended in Cana in Galilee (John 2), we were told that he was "invited with his disciples" ("invited" not "he officiated". You will never see where Jesus or his apostles officiated at a wedding). See, Just like in Cana (a village but not a synagogue), marriages hold in the family and bride price is paid to the father of the bride. The churches hijack marriages because they make money and control their members in it; truth be told. PLEASE LET SOMEONE TELL ME WHERE IN THE SCRIPTURE BOTH OLD AND NEW TESTAMENT THAT MARRIAGE WAS CONDUCTED IN A CHURCH OR SYNAGOGUE. If the couple so wish, they can then register their marriage with the state; just like Mary and Joseph obeyed to register at the population census.

It pains the Lord to see couples go for abortions because "they've not done church wedding". Maybe Stella you need to make this a topic to educate people. THERE IS NOTHING WRONG IN WEDDING IN A CHURCH but folks should not make issues out of it. Once the lady's dad receives her bride price in a ceremony, a lady is married; the marriage is finished. Just like Jesus said "it is finished" once he paid for his bride on the cross. And the Lord taught us in Paul's writings that "marriage is . . . like Christ and the Church . . ."

27. Pls I need to ask this question. What of if the couple go for court marriage and then go to the unlicensed church to do the wedding ceremony? Isn't it valid?

I am planning on dong only traditional and court marriage so licensed and unlicensed church does not matter

1. My dear, the law recognises only 2 type of marriage.. A statutory marriage or a customary marriage.. Nw only one is enuf, bt becos we in naija like party, we do the 2.. Nw to ansa ur question. A statutory marriage can eida be dne in a court, a licensed place of worship or anyoda place approved by d minster.. So my dear, if u go to court, fyn, if u go to a licensed place of worship, still ok..in both places u ll stil be given d same cert..both re same.. So if u choose court. Its ok. U wil stil be legally married.. U cn go 4 a church blessin afterward

28. Stella stealla ds is d ist tym I am commentin. I can't believe I spnt ds much tym replyin to comments.. Anyway I really lik family law, it ws one of my best course in sch.. And it also pain me to see women suffer after marriage becos they didn't und what they entered into.. For instance sme pple marry legally and wen they gt tired of the marriage, they get dia family to return the bride price and assume they ave divorced dia husband.. My dear friends a legal marriage can only be dissolved in a high court.. It is nt even neccessary to pay bk d brideprice. From the ansas too, seems mst of u re lawyer anyway.. My learned colleagues, I greet y' all.

1. Sdkers need to learn how to write!!!19 December 2013 at 09:23

Are you really a lawyer? or you are a court clerk or cleaner? Heck, even court clerks speak and write better.
      If indeed you are a graduate of a Nigerian University and a Lawyer for that matter, a big shame on you. You are a disgrace to your colleagues and the school you graduated from.
      You need to go back to to JSS 3.

And to all of you lazy SDKers who can't write in proper English, always abbreviating every single word; YOU DON'T PAY EXTRA FOR WRITING PROPERLY. TEXT SPEAK WORDS ARE MEARNT FOR PHONE SMS.
      Stop being stingy with words!!!

29. Lolade Pinky, I had my white wedding at C&S eternal sacred order. It was very fun.

30. That's a massive No for Me!!!.....@i_ChoPtas_Not

31. Not all churches are licensed to conduct marriages but i know of CHRIST APOSTOLIC CHURCH (CAC) cos i had mine dere.....the certificate issued is similar to the one issued at marriage registry(i know cos i did both).....and d process is just d way Genny babe explained......

32. All pastors can conduct. All churches can perform the ceremony.

But only registered churches with some requirements (like their own building etc) can actually issue a certificate.

Eg. House on d rock before they moved to their own building. The pastors can perform the ceremony, join you, but you have to go to d registry and do court /get ur certificate first. Then

1. Yes house on the rock often used christian gospel chapel a military church in air force camp and the church often presented d military certificate as certificate! Most if not al military churches have a license to conduct and officiate weddings!

33. @Anon 3.35PM
    Please,what University did you attend? People like you give OUR noble profession a bad name.
    Did you read what you typed???

1. Jodie dear, I dnt need to tell u my uni, bt all u need to no is dt, I attended one of d best uni in Nig, I made 2.1 in uni and in law sch. And fam law is my area. By bad name, wt xctactly do u mean, wat ave I said dt is nt rit.? Did u even offer family law?? Lay ur facts ist b4 challenging me dear.

2. If u re refering to sme of my errors. My dear I typed dt insyd a bus, didn't ave time to proof read.. Its nt my seminar paper joor. Why wld I waste dt much time..

34. Yes, @ sleekreek I wedded in CAC too. And registered it with the federal high court. But now hubby wants divorce, and he magumagu went to customary court (reason that my marriage is not legal), as side chick is already waiting to marry him sharp sharp.