Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ASUU Members Disgrace Reverend Father At Iyayi's Burial For Advising Them To Sheath Their Sword.

Saturday, December 07, 2013

ASUU Members Disgrace Reverend Father At Iyayi's Burial For Advising Them To Sheath Their Sword.

LATE PROF IYAYI

A cross-section of members of the academic community, joined by members of civil society organisations, booed one the officiating clergymen, during the lying-in-state ceremony held for late former President of the Academic staff Union of Universities, Prof. Festus Iyayi, which held on Friday, at the Akin Deko main auditorium of the University of Benin.

Rev. Fr. Andrew Obiyan, one of the seven officiating priests at the ceremony, which was attended by a record that continued to swell as the programme wore on, drew the ire of the virtually all in attendance, when he veered of his main business, to tell ASUU about having a rethink about their over five month-old strike.
The priest said many of the lecturers were already wary of the “fight.”

Reading from portions of the bible, Obiyan praised Iyayi’s tenacity of purpose, courage and sense of dedication to duty, all of which he said contributed to the “hero” he became, both in life and in death and went on to call on ASUU members to consider their position in order that they not continue to be at the receiving end.

He said, “The death of the faithful is precious in the eyes of God, so I want to admonish the family not to think of the pain of death, but think about the bright promise of immortality.”
Threading on what was to irk the crowd, he said, “Finally, I want to thank God because (ASUU) you have become the voice of the voiceless today. May that voice never die. But I want to remind you that there is no success without sacrifice; for Jesus to gain the whole world he had to give up his life. We give up to go up.
My humble appeal to you as a minister of God is to kindly request you in the name of God to please surrender the tool of power. Do not give the federal government the privilege of satisfaction of fighting and defeating you. I encourage you to surrender first in this fight. You have made your point eloquently and clear enough.
Sincere and intelligent Nigerians will consider will consider what you have done and will forever appreciate you for it. Your surrender at this time as a tool of power is the sign of strength, it’s not a sign of weakness. Our relationship with God our father shows that faith and trust navigate.
We may not trust the federal government owing to their antecedents, but I humbly request you to please trust them now.”
Speaking with journalists at the end of the ceremony, ASUU President, Dr Nasri Fagge said reaction from the crowd was enough attestation to the mood of majority of union members on the matter''
He said, “We were told here at this gathering there were some fundamental issues that bother the mind of our late comrade, as to the future of the struggle. For me, it is left for us to rally round those ideals and advance his legacies. You saw the reaction of the crowd to what was said about suspending the struggle, and that to me said it all.”

Recalling some of his past encounters with the late professor of business administration, Governor Adams Oshiomhole said, “Iyayi spoke truth to power, just as much as he spoke truth with his colleagues.”

Oshiomhole offered to support in building of ASUU secretariat at UNIBEN, as a way of immortalising Iyayi.culled

44 comments:

1. D reverend father was right!
    E go be dem like film for eyes by d time d fg replaces all them lazy asses if they fail to resume on d said date!

1. Rough diamond!
      Broken english sef, HARD?!
      Hian, all my teeth wan fly comot as I try reach, to read wetin u type oo!
      E be lik say u be butty!

2. Shut d f**k up wt does d government know about struggle,they can't do shit abi na you dey wan employ useless Olodo like u.

2. So it means Asuu won't call off d strike on mon. *sighs*

3. Fr obiya o that's mylove his a very powerful priest in benin he became popular in auchi,bfor transferd to benin people stil go to benin frm auchi to see him,just that smetyms his over sabi plenty

1. Ashawo, see your Avi. Still giving him pussy or seeing him for what?

2. I dnt trade words with irresponsible peepe like you,may the good lord hv mercy on your wretched soul.amen

3. By their fruits u shall know them... take a good look at ur picture and yet u still using swear words... u sure u representing the good lord... if u are deceiving ursef. Well the good lord knows his people.. change your ways before its too late. . Cheers

4. Hahahaha y are you so pained you sound frustrated anyway,y shld I reply a lifless anonymous lyk you,wen u hv a profile then I ll talk to you,I guess probably u gv him pussy and he dumped you,cos dnt see you shld say a tin lyk dat about a priest,xcpt u knw smetin more,am looking dapper go drown your fucking anon self,may the good lord rest and abide wit your soul now and for evrmore,amen.

4. That's unfair. There is nothing wrong with him telling them to consider calling off the strike.

5. Rev father Andrew couldn't have said it better. I believe his message was inspired by God. At this point, I will advice asuu to listen to the voice of wisdom.

1. They will regret this things they are doing imagine booing a man of God

2. Lmaoooo @ chop e-hug... Amaka no mk my baby pop out abeg!!!!

6. Oh My Fr Obiyan,d fearless man of God!!!u made me trust God during my time in benin!ST patrick's catholic church Ugbowo,heard u are in St.Albert inside Uniben now!

7. I'm proud of the lecturers for rejecting such subterranean motives. This shows that they are learned men. Religion has always been used to hoodwink the feeble members of the society especially in Nigeria where the masses are made to shun revolution and believe in an everlasting '2mw go beta' mantra. Societies progress by the collective will of the people surging forward against the oppressive tendencies of politicians and people who wield power. Let the right thing be done by the FG towards ASUU as they agreed. If it were to release mega funds for a dubious and useless Centenary City, the FG wouldn't hesitate to do so. **nonsense!!!
    *Teez.

1. I love dis comment

2. You are a very big idiot, anon 11.45,these Asuu he goats should call of the strike, alot of people are against their greed and stupidity

3. A lot of he goats like your father. ASUU is fighing for their right. The Govt should do the needful. Mumu. Do you read newspapers at all? You are so ignorant. Olodo.

4. If the FG is to be trusted,what's the big deal in putting ur. Verbal promis in ink??????...what's d big deal???? ASUU should stand firm please...

5. So among all the revolutionists and intellectuals u talk about, there are none who worship God, abi? See ur reasoning level.

8. At this point, I think there's more to the strike than meets the eyes. ASUU should learn to bow when the ovation is loudest!

9. Booing him was Neva a betta response sha!!!!........Asuu shd drop dia sword n face oda realistic issue.cos let for me dis strike has gone political n is no more for d interest of student at home.

Saint Zizee

10. In as much as we all want ASUU to call of the strike, the gov't too must fulfill dia promises bfr dat.Thumbs up Lectures

11. I support the father, enough of this strike already!!!

12. i really wish the spirit of these Asuu lecturers can be replicated in the hearts minds and soul of the average Nigerian they are what we should be kudos to them and their resilience
    the pastor will know what to say next time

1. I wish the whole of Nigeria is as united as Asuu, the country would be a better place. They always use religion as cover up.

2. Gbaaaam!!! The deserve encouragements not tearing down...all they ask is for AGF to sign the agreement...what's the big deal?...its our money not Jona's money!!!

13. Father obiyan,mind your biz only him na priest and politician,na govt house ehn dey dey 247 naa haba what is his own must you talk haiiiiiiiiinnnnn assu should be treated rite Dier demands should be met,if na private uni dem go meet d staffs demand shaperlyy

14. Hmmmmm fr obiya hav said it all ASUU u bletter hav a retink of wat u people ar doin ooOooo so dat at d end u people wil nt be disgrace

Pale

15. Asuu enough of your nonsense,you people should call.of the strike,thank God a lot of universities are opening

16. Wonderful! A good man lost his precious life fighting ASUU problem(s) and you expect ASUU members to quite now so that what Prof Iyayi laboured/stood for go in vain. I don't just know why i feel this strike will change a whole lot.
    Paragon7ven

17. Wonderful! A good man lost his precious life fighting ASUU problem(s) and you expect ASUU members to quite now so that what Prof Iyayi laboured/stood for go in vain. I don't just know why i feel this strike will change a whole lot.
    Paragon7ven

18. I don't think it was out of place for the priest to appeal to the striking lecturers. They just didn't take it well. He's done his bit,so it's up to them.

19. ASUU,Abeg we don tire. No salary n hUnger dey wire us. If no be my Gov friend,I for no know wetin I go do ooooo. Thanks CRA

1. Bloody famzer. CRA asin Amechi?

2. Lol. CRA is CRA. If you add Amechi,na u sabi.

20. Anon 1:33pm. U must be a petty low-lifer. Why go all to way to insult me? U need to be trained on how to push your points without sounding like an unrefined entity. Inasmuch as the Strike is nasty, the Govt should keep whatever bargain they had with ASUU and if they are suspected of enriching themselves from the released funds, I believe the Govt's attack dog(EFCC) can deal with the criminals...if any. For Nigeria to progress and escape from the choking effect of our dubiously corrupt leaders cum politicians, we need the mindset and resolve of the 'stubborn' ASUU members. God bless Nigeria.
    *Teez*

1. God bless u. Well said.

2. There is really no excuse for FG's failure. I also wonder why people are so ignorant. Asuu had no clue about the false 200billion FG is talking about until Doyin Okupe came on channels ranting. Okupe said FG opened an account with CBN and 200 billion is in the account. Asuu president was on air too and said he was just hearing it for the first time. He said the government should communicate to Asuu in writing. Is that too much to ask for? Both upper and lower house are busy passing stupid bills on how to operate foreign account and various other silly bills. Nigeria is messed up. Failed. I am vexing. Asuu ride on.

21. Abeg all of una just shift biko! Hana kwuyeli! Shioooor!

22. D rev shld keep his opinion to wat he kws.some body shld mak the good rev understd the fact dt if asuu shld call off now wit out achieving d purpose then we shld b ready for another strike next year which is wat asuu is tryin to avoid,cos de kw d fg will alwz fail on its commitment to education.gov tell a lot of lies imagine doyin comin on air to say authoritatively dt d 200b has been paid into an acct wit cbn for asuu meanwhile he kws dt notin like dt has happen,ngozi okojo told us at d start of d strike dt gov has no 90b to giv to asuu dt if dey do dt d 9ja economy will crash so hw come de are clamin to had made a deposit of 200b and d economy has not crashed.gov no gt one truth for mouth asuu must continue d struggle for d sake of our eduction gov has no true interest in the educational sector

23. why all dis much talk. Those in support of FG should be ashamed of themselves. Why can't they sign an agreement that they negogiated. It is a big shame that nigerians can't stand for what is right. Most person shouting for resumption are students.You are all concerned about graduating at the stipulating time even without having anything in your head. All students graduating from nigerian university are half baked believe it or leave it. No practicals, no good hostels, the lecturers are also from the system, so our future generation will be quarter baked and so on. Lets do the right thing. lets support the struggle. It won't last forever!