Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Meet Estella - Monalisa Magazine's Fashion Editor

Monday, December 23, 2013

Meet Estella - Monalisa Magazine's Fashion Editor

Seven years ago Estella was an IT personnel. She later moved to the US to enhance her passion for fashion. It’s been many years, now Estella is a well-known fashion designer, crossing international markets and creating some unique designs that stay embedded in the hearts of fashion lovers. She’s back to Nigeria to enjoy the sun, take her business to the next level, and also wear the professional sash as fashion editor of Monalisa magazine- the new product from Nollywood actress, Monalisa Chinda. Meet Estella Ogbonna…

How would you describe the feeling of being part of Monalisa’s magazine?
I would describe the feeling as good; it is nice being part of the magazine crew, we have a wonderful and creative crew and the success of the magazine was our joy. So the only way to describe the feeling of being part of Monalisa magazine is good.

Tell us a bit about your typical work day in the office?
It depends on what you have planned for the day. It could be a photo shoot, it could be writing articles…various events can come in a day. Getting content for the magazine is quite a busy schedule so no two days are the same; nothing predictable.

What has been the high point since the launch of the magazine?
I think the high point is actually the launch, even though I saw the magazine before everyone else, the feedback so far has been wonderful, people love it and gives me joy; it makes all the sleepless nights worth the while.

You have been consistently involved with fashion, both home and abroad. What does it take to excel in the business?
Just like every other business- persistence, having in mind what you know how to do best. Fashion is a God-given talent; my success story is not complete without God. I moved from IT to fashion. And the ride has been amazing; patronage is incredible. I am flattered by life’s many opportunities!

As a fashion editor, what do you bring to the table that is different from the usual?
When you see a copy of Monalisa magazine, you will see that everybody on our crew did something different. Our magazine is the first luxury magazine in Nigeria and in West Africa. 336 pages of high fashion, luxury, styles, etc so I say our crew members are wonderful considering the number of us that put that project together.

What inspires you to get up every day?
I am a go-getter that is my nature. I detest lazy people, I detest people that don’t have goals. My inspiration every day is to achieve something great. I have life, that is a gift from God; He has giving me the talent so it is up to me to use it.

Which fellow designer do you admire home and abroad?
If you are creative and know the technicality of couture…everybody is inspired differently, that is the kind I would admire. I love certain designs that might not appeal to some other designer, so our tastes is different. I meet top designers every day, they all do amazing things.

What’s the best accessory a woman and a man should have?
Every woman should have earrings, of course. And then for guys, if you ask me I would say a cute wrist watch would do. But it all depends on people’s style and preference; personally, I don’t wear necklaces, maybe only for a special occasion. I am not a fan of accessories. I love big bold earrings though; and that’s because my hair is low and coloured so I put statement earrings.  

What should we expect from your private brand in 2014?
A lot. From all indications, I’m likely going to be staying in Nigeria now so expect a lot. I’m geared up to do a lot, channeling my energy to making the most of the opportunities and skill I have been blessed with.culled

*sigh*

64 comments:

1. Where are her works?

1. Had2go bak2her pix several tymz.... In fact stil goin bak. Her makeup s jst soooo nt wat she needs.

2. Had2go bak2her pix several tymz.... In fact stil goin bak. Her makeup s jst soooo nt wat she needs.

3. Had2go bak2her pix several tymz.... In fact stil goin bak. Her makeup s jst soooo nt wat she needs.

4. Had2go bak2her pix several tymz.... In fact stil goin bak. Her makeup s jst soooo nt wat she needs.

5. She looks like ojuju calabar

6. Ok then STFU will you?!!! You sound like a broken record repeating yourself. Nagging biatch

2. Hi
    I am not galore
    Will be back.

3. Hi
    I am not galore
    I'll be back.

4. *tongue out to stella*

5. What's this over ripe Mango look,Madam fashion editor?

1. Now am begining to think your case is spiritual. No normal being will comment d way U do most times. Go Ovie River for serious cleansing.

2. See this almighty witch of Benin Kingdom called Manna Bee. You think you can initiate me by directing me to the river u usual have meeting with your members?
      You have failed!

6. What's this over ripe Mango look,Madam fashion editor?

7. ...but she no wear earring for the pishure naaa...

E clear say she dey talk A dey do B.

BTW..this pic is gross! *covers face*

Okbye

1. Madam BLODWHORE! Where have you been?
      Did your husband seize your phone again? Stella missed you so much

2. @ lepa shandy,get out of ere...mad woman!!!

8. She has a square shaped head/ face. Oya, let me go and read the post, I'll still come back and comment... Again. LoL. Got so much time today. *mischief mood*

9. I heard Monalisa's got money for her magazine from that her rich bobo in port.:) But this one wen the wife don know :)

1. Shut up! You did not hear anything. You are just looking for what to say.

10. Retweeting Stella's *sigh*

11. She looks like that girl that sent in her selfie yesterday. See her lips...buhahahahaha

12. Is she a transgender???*JustAsking..

13. Issorai..
    *African Barbie..

14. "I don't wear necklaces...I love big bold earrings though; and that’s because my hair is low and coloured so I put statement earrings." yet u were wearing necklace without any big bold earrings.

15. Replies
    1. u fine pass am? Unglorified Okpo

16. Hian!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hail the woman O,na wa *lips sealed

17. Hian!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hail the woman O,na wa *lips sealed

18. Hian!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!! Hian!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hail the woman O,na wa *lips sealed

19. Stephanie said:

Tapping from every positive blessing coming in here, Amen!

20. I didn't see any earring on her sha. A na-akosasi.

21. hmmm stella whats on your mind ,i don't trust this your post ,walahi

22. Lmao...I can only imagine the bashing she is going to receive here. Goodluck dear, the sky is ur startin point.

Aeegurl

23. Stella stella, No comment sha!

24. She probably escaped from the zoo! idc idc

25. her fashion sense is lame to me... she designs some nice things... but most times its a miss....

26. Buahahahahaaa@ a na akosasi. I de tell u.

NNE chop knuckle.

27. Lol see face *gorimakpa* stella pple wey dey ur worwor league plenty o bt u try pass dis 1

1. SDK,u don coach us for badmouth,now we don get am pass u.

28. I dnt knw y stella actually sighed but if its bcos of estella's look den am sorry 2 say 2 u n all d blog visitors dat tnks she's not fyn ur not different from her as a point of fact most of u r far ugly.

29. I dnt knw y stella actually sighed but if its bcos of estella's look den am sorry 2 say 2 u n all d blog visitors dat tnks she's not fyn ur not different from her as a point of fact most of u r far ugly.

1. Thank u my dear! Her style is her choice..

30. Estella is a hardworking and goal driven lady.however,she needs a publcity like yesterday.no need to keep exposing ur self on blogs dat attracts hate comments

31. Estella is a hardworking and goal driven lady.however,she needs a publcity like yesterday.no need to keep exposing ur self on blogs dat attracts hate comments

32. Aunty yi o fine rara.

33. Is that a sneer or a smile? Is ugly the new pretty? For the life of me,she could ve done berra!

34. Estella Ogbonna appeared in the Washington Post earlier this year. She designed an outfit for Oge Okoye the Nigerian actress. Oge Okoye wore the designed outfit by Estella Ogbonna to an award ceremony held in the United States of America.

1. Thank you. What does it mean, I'm not Yoruba. Merry Christmas.

35. Lol. Nna meen,nwanyi nkea di ka nwanne OBJ and Mr Ibu. How will she look like wen she's coming?

36. Stella U don do ojoro for this matter oo. Na ur personal person abi? Cos if na anoda person naa, U go don highlights all d yabis for d picture. God is watching U on 3D oo. Abeg, why her hair come be like yello garri wey dem nor fry well? Jus askin

37. na wa for this sdkers una mouth fit kill

38. Fashion editor?Im sure that Monalisa magazine will be a very low standard fashion magazine.Estella dat can't even dress to save her life.As a fashion designer,she wears the most stupid outfits to events.