Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Survives 3 Days Under Water In Air Bubble!

Wednesday, December 04, 2013

Nigerian Man Survives 3 Days Under Water In Air Bubble!

In what has been described as an incredible feat, a team of South African divers, including at least four from Durban, has rescued a man who spent almost three days in an air bubble – 30m under the sea – after the tugboat he was on capsized off the coast of Nigeria.

Ten other crew members died and one went missing. Many of them were locked in their cabins as a precaution against pirates.
But Nigerian Harrison Okene had just got up when the ship rolled. He was able to get himself into an air bubble just 1.5m by 3m, where he perched on a table to keep himself alive, drinking softdrinks out of cans that were floating around him.

What was meant to be a body recovery mission for the South African divers turned into an underwater rescue when, after 60 hours alone in the wreck, Okene grabbed a diver as he swam past, having earlier failed to attract the attention of the first diver down.culled

Divers were shocked to have found Okene alive and said they were amazed by how calm he was during the rescue. Because he had been 30m underwater his body had filled with nitrogen and divers had to put him into a decompression helmet before he could be safely brought to the surface.
Okene’s incredible feat and the divers’ effort to bring him to the surface safely has caught the attention of maritime experts and international film-makers who want to turn the rescue into a documentary.

47 comments:

1. Hian! Thank God he is still Alive. Am happy 4 him oooo. I can't imagine what he would av gone tru during dat 3days.

1. This wrickle, phringes or pickles, u are becoming so irritating like Galore if am not sure u r d same person. Attention seeker. Ugly razzite.

2. We thank God for his life..

3. Stella, dis thing happened in april oo...ahn ahn!

2. Stella it's 60hrs it was shown on cnn on Tuesday on Aisha Sessay show

3. God first. Then he undertook Safety Training.

4. Stella it's 60hrs it was shown on cnn on Tuesday on Aisha Sessay show

1. Na wa o 4 u.....Must it b 72hrs b4 u term it 3dys?.....Oversabi, jus tank God 4 his life n move on jare!

Yaron Allah

1. Lyk seriously u type hi ist bfor ur message?are u kidding me u must b very jobless

6. lord be praised

1. Yes Galore it's ur Tm n i like u for it, those beefing get urs jare,

7. Dats gudnews o....I jus hope he won't 4get 2 give tanks 2 God....!

8. Wow....incredible...EEE!!!

9. it is God's doing & we thank the Lord.

10. God is faithful, he never changes and cannot change not minding our situation. may His name be praised and forever IJN..

11. Wonderful God, thanks for your safety.

12. Watched it on 360 degrees, I thank God for him oh, kai his family will be celebrating it is well,

13. Stella, this news is old nau.

14. With God by urside nothing is impossible! Thank u lord.

15. Prince Clinton Uba4 December 2013 at 17:16

All praise to Jesus...Okene is now a living testimony.

16. Nigerians are quite becoming historic figures at home and in diaspora. Its d Lord's doings and its marvellous in our eyes. All thanks to him

17. This is old story, the man testified himself but we can never stop thanking God and being awed at His mercy!

18. And some people will say their Atheist's say dem no believe say God dey

19. I watched d video yesterday on CNN and I was amazed and thankful to God.

20. It is the Lord's doing!

21. I saw d video yesterday on CNN and I was amazed and thankful to God. My Nigerian brother on CNN for a good reason..lol

22. This news Is very old abeg

23. Stephanie says:

This is absolutely a great miracle, don't forget to do a thanksgiving on that.

24. Abegi leave matter! Man wey don balm himself wella traditionally, you dey talk miracle. You nor see the guy middle name? Fish dey drown inside water? Petrol dey quench fire?

25. Idiots complaining that d news is old..so?...it was even only on CNN last night...so sharing good news has a time limit?...

26. Idiots complaining that d news is old..so?...it was even only on CNN last night...so sharing good news has a time limit?...

27. THE DEAD!
    Imagine the fear of the other divers drowning in their cabins. Imagine their panic states of mind as the water rushed and gushed in.

Submerging them in it's infinite powerful abyss. Choking them one by one.

Imagine their helpless state Knowing this is the END! Sinking alive with a sinking ship. This is it. The end.

Imagine their fears and tears submerged in the ocean water. Imagine . Just imagine. May their souls rest in peace.

THE LIVING!
    Imagine the fear when Okene realised he was alone in the middle of nowhere!

Imagine the fear he felt for 2 days and some hours. Did he cry? Did he pray? Maybe he even remembered some jokes and laughed.

Imagine the fear of unknown creatures coming for him. Imagine the disappointment when the first diver passed him. Imagine the heart wrenching pain he felt.

Imagine his JOY when another diver came around him. Maybe he yelled and Screamed . No results. He then made a move.

He made that BOLD move like the Woman with an issue of blood in the BIBLE. He GRABBED a diver. Imagine his gratitude when they acknowledge him. His tears! His relief! His gratitude! His joy!

THE RESCUERS

Imagine the fear when Okene grabbed the diver. Did he freak out and yell? Maybe he thought an aquatic creature caught him as dinner. Did he resist him or try to swim away. Who knows.

Imagine when he discovered it was a HUMAN. A man. Alive. Imagine the surprise. Imagine his expressions. His love and joy. What a SURPRISE!

THE MISSING

may you be found too!

THE SUMMARY
    There is God!
    Patience pays!
    Be bold and grab that opportunity now!
    Enjoy your life everyday like it's your last!
    Always watch out for air bubbles instead of pirates in every sinking situation ( all due respect).

* I am captivated by the story, forgive me and my gbaguns*

1. You have been officially added to my friends List. Best comment ever.