Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: God And Nigerians.......If You Are A Nigerian Please Read This.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

God And Nigerians.......If You Are A Nigerian Please Read This.

One of the very first things that surprised me when I first came to the “WEST” long ago was when a white boy said to me “I don’t believe there is God”! I could not believe my ears, and no matter what I said to him he just wouldnt change his mind or belief, he simply said “I don’t believe there is God, but I am not a bad person and I treat people right” This bothered me a lot because I came from a very religious country called Nigeria and my people love God so much that we mention his name in nearly every situation.

Yes Nigerians don’t joke with God, because he means everything to us. As a youth in Nigeria, if you want to know if someone is telling you the truth, you simple say “True to?  Once the person answers “GOD!” you know that person is telling you the truth so it is very common to hear Nigerians use the name of God in basically everything.

Now i am older and i re-examine our love for God compared with the reality of things happening around us, I begin to question myself. 

As Nigerians, do we truly believe there is God?  
The share evil and wickedness among-st our people?
 The greed?
 Envy?.

.. Yet the name of God has never ceased from our lips. Armed robbers pray and call on God before they go and wreck havoc on people’s lives. 

The politician loots the treasury to the tune of billions of dollars and he goes to church to celebrate and do thanks giving! 

A so called prophet was caught with a human skull and he said “Actually I have two professions, I am a native doctor and also a prophet”

We see  evil happening before us and instead of correcting or doing something about it, we simply say “God day!”  Meanwhile the very ones who tell us they visit GOD in heaven and regularly communicate with him directly are not left out, a lot of them are now celebrities flaunting their wealth at the poverty stricken public while competing with the likes of Jay Z and Kanye West. Yet, the name of GOD is constantly on their lips…….. so I begin to ask and question myself, as Nigerians, do we truly believe there is God? Not the God we made up in our minds, but the one we read about in the scriptures! 

Honestly I truly can’t say we believe there is GOD because he doesn't reflect in our hearts or lifestyles. GOD is just a name we love to mention to either defraud or impress others that we are pious and holy, or simply because we are used to the name. 

Saying “Baba God I praise your name” won’t stop us from betraying our friends, It won’t stop us from hating our fellow man/woman, It won’t stop us from being jealous of our fellow man/woman, it won’t stop us from lying against them, it won’t stop us from back-biting and backstabbing them, it won’t stop some pastors from bringing out new theories every day to enrich themselves at the expense of their church members, and it definitely won’t stop politicians from killing and looting the country.

Presently I don’t see any difference between the white boy (that said to me so many years ago “I don’t believe there is GOD” and so many of us, the only difference is he doesn't allow his unbelief affect the way he treats his fellow man/woman. Maybe if we treat our fellow men/women right instead of calling the name of GOD every time, we will be fine. 

Our actions are far more important than the name of God that we call on every single minute, because action truly speaks louder than words. Be the change you seek in this world.

Lenny .A. Khiran writes in from the Netherlands.

85 comments:

1. U're right stella.one of my employee a Portuguese don't even want to hear about God but yet his the most truthful of them

1. Stella,I'm beginning to suspect u o.
      My comments on beautiful girls get swallowed just like that.
      Is it bad me singing words of praise on beautiful things?
      Pls let me know if it's u or my browser.
      But if it's u,u shld know that freedom of speech is included in Nigeria's constitution.
      Better still give us dos n donts of ur precious blog.
      I promise to abide.
      I still cherish u.

2. Employee?did u mean employer or co-worker?U get company wey u hire foreigners?if so,u be big madam o

3. @eje,de minister of education in a lonely land.,ewu

4. M-amie Stella should be given an award for patience for still posting your comments despite your retarded responses.....go and do thanksgiving in church instead of complaining......Stella thank you for your tolerance.God bless you

5. @M-amie now i tink u are either not normal or u are an attention seeker, any time serious issues are raised that is when u bring up issues that does not relate to the matter being raised. If u don't have any thing to contribute just shut up.

6. as in eh. i need to apply sharp sharp

7. @eje my dear, I meant my *my employee*

2. So help us God Amen

1. 9ja peeps ar religious nt spiritual,dere s a stark diff btwn d two,buh we ar al nt dt bad,ts cos of our undying faith n determinatn dt mks us strong n go-getters

3. Making sense, I have been thinking the same tthing for a while. U KNOW SAY NA WE PRAY PASS. SMH

4. Abi o
    Just be MAD.make a difference..

5. You have said it all. I am very cynical about the Nigerian brand of "God" because surely, with the amount of Churches, Mosques and "Godly" passion we see in Nigeria, there shouldn't be so much misery and maltreatment coming up everyday

6. WE KNOW HOW TO CALL THE NAME OF GOD,BUT WE DON'T KNOW GOD.

7. First it was the 'mad' post, now 'God dey' and they all make sense in their own way; God dey sha, lol

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes

8. THere is God oh,he exist among us,he who hv ears shld hear

9. All these attack on us these days is just cos we said we are not supporting homosexuality. All these oyinbo people should leave us alone. Crime and bad people are everywhere in the world. U can watch discoveryid or Crime on dstv to get my point. We are just not yet civilised about our own crime. Love my country! God bless Nigeria.

1. Gosh shut up already, read process, think then type....simple......dopemu

10. We profess luv f God in words but our hearts r far frm him! We call ourselves christians yet we dnt live christ like lives! If nt f d grace of God, many of us wud b gone by now!

1. Your brain don dey correct! I like your comments.

11. Nigerians believe in myths, traditions, religions but not in God. To believe God you must know him, and to know him, you have to take time to study him i.e read the bible ( not listen to sermon, attend holy ghost fires etc) and from the knowlege you start to renew your mind and then the fruit will show, cos its from inside out, but our ignorance point to exhibition and showmanship. Both the GOs and congregation.

12. Yet another open letteer, at least ths one didn't call us Mad to makee hhs point, almost the same content though but ths one is strictly from the religious point of view.
    Ok! Now am confused s this a question or a statment?? Since I can't remember I will just say I believe in God and only a fool will say there's no God! Even when i do things i ought not to do. Stll believe in his supremacy.shikena!

13. "God" is HIS title, Jehovah's HIS name! That's my own God!

"JESUS" is Jehovah's son and my personal Lord and Saviour!

Dunoo about you cos there are so many gods anyways!

"As For Me And My House We Will Serve the Lord. . . . Joshua 24:15.

@SDK I think this article is meant for those who call the name of Jehovah in vain, and not other gods! Y'all know we don't serve the same God/god anyways!

14. There is God and he exists, am a Christian and according to my Bible he sent his son Jesus Christ to save the world from our sin.That was where grace started, that was where he gave his son power to save the world and if you believe in him you will not perish but have evalasting life.Most times grace is always abused,like you called said people commit crimes and call God,yes they will call God because that is the name that gives you grace, that is the one who doesn't judge you but forgives you,people have died while during wrongs and yet we pray for their soul to go to heaven that is grace,you might choose to start saving yourself now or later but the truth is there is life after death,and the right questions will be asked,like what did you do with your grace? you were stealing and i kept saving you, committing adultery and i kept saving you, did you finally change? and he might say get thee behind me i know you not,use your grace well now you have the time.

1. You are drifting away from the topic!do Nigerians know God?u can write dis epistle over and over again!are u good 2 ur fellow human being?u have grace yes!hw are u sure that armed robber isn't touching ppls lives positively more than you the church goer?let God shine thru u!stop reading bible and arguing with Muslims when there hungry ppl in ur street and u av a bag of rice and kant share!abeg

15. You got it. We call God in all situations n still steal,maim,kill and backbite. Check out our Nigerian Pastors,hey acquire wealth,stupendous wealth at that and go around with fierce gun-toting policemen. They have universities which only the rich kids attend. They still milk the poor ones dry by proclaiming bogus prophecies to them. I am a Xtian and sometimes I wonder what is going on.
    I AM PROUDLY CATHOLIC but I have Pentecostal pals n I hv attended functions in those churches too. They Call God always but they serve Him Not.

1. So u think d catholics serve God in spirit n in truth? Why then is d pope in support of gay?u'l say human rights abi?why did he say dias nothin like heaven or hell?dat pope will lead millions of people to hell.

2. Madam,its not about the church,I av catholic roomates dat straff reverend fathers well and dey don't hide it.....mtcheewww

3. It's not about church,it is about your relationship with God. Chikena. Catholic oo,Pentecostal,Apostolic,AmaJehova,DeeperLifer,all that matters is God.

4. The alleged Pope statement is a satire written by a blogger in USA. Kindly open link below. All his posts are satires.

http://diversitychronicle.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/eustar.jpg

Scroll right down until you get to "Pope's" post

5. Keep worshiping Mary and hell awaits you...

6. Irene you have spoken the truth, this pentecostals pastors are the the ones destroying christianity

16. Nigerians are the most sentimental and religious people on earth. Yet so wicked n full of evil.

CeeCee

17. OMG! Just viewed this blog from a desktop, trust me, you are missing if you have not. It is banging! super sexy...

18. I thought about this particular Topic in the bath this morning,the way they speak in tongues(same tongue languages,different prayer points),the way pastors replace their wives less than a year after their death /flaunting materials when some of their members are so poor.An average Nigerian pastor's child now school abroad then goes back to be ordained by the dad for continuity simply bcos the senior pastor cannot trust his associate.G0D will help us

19. I have since concluded that the 'Nigerian God' is different from the rest of the world. Please our Nigerian pastors are collecting first fruits this month, abeg no spoil their market.

1. =))º°haha°Âº=a&a=aº°haha°Âº=)) =))º°haha°Âº=a&a=aº°haha°Âº=)) @no spoil market. Jim, u've summed it all up!

20. Tell dem....misuse of Gods name!!!am guilty as charged tho..

21. Na wa ooh. #trutalk. Sugar mummy's call me if you need young dude 28A8A848 07065976782. Alpachino

1. Oh dear! Has it become this bad in Nigeria?

2. Ode desperado

3. Buhahaha, lekwa nu advertisement o. Odiegwu!! Ngwa nu, over to the sugar mummies.Alpachino or whatever, take a chill pill, wud u?

22. Nigerians re the highest hypocrites in d world#sipsMoetnChandon#

23. Well if you tell people there is a Policeman round the corner who watches you and would arrest you everytime you steal,you are gonna believe that the first time you hear it and try as much as possible not to steal cos you dont wanna be arrested and go to jail.But when you see your neighbour stealing and the Policeman sees this but overlooks it,you start thinking hmmm..maybe this Policeman wont arrest me after all..so you join in..and you steal everyday..nothing happens...you steal and it enriches you and nothing happens..instead the innocent man down the road gets accused wrongly for the theft and is arrested,taken to jail and rots there...with all these why would you fear the policeman? This is what is happening in Nigeria.If people in power had to go and take their swearing into office oath in front of a traditional god,there will be less corruption and evil .People fear the traditional gods more than the actual God they believe in.

24. M'amie, e na nu? 'Jesus is my bestie', from one side of ur mouth, 'wicked yoruba ppl, ndi ofe nmanu' from d oda side of ur mouth. To u especially, to me n to us I say, before u comment, think about the response u r about to give, ask yourself 'what would Jesus do? '. Then mk that comment. Especially if u r a christian. The negativity is too much. Lets be the change we want to see. Thanks Stella for this piece. Little by little, the change will come.

25. True talk,only if they wuld listen.I mean I see religious leaders buying jets,building mansions,living d very good life and d pple that worship with em get poorer,homeless,dying etc and this same pple never question dia wealth or challange them...Oh and what about d private schools owned by d so called religious households?D schools are simply made for d rich people that worship with them,what does that tell yu? They don't care about d poor,and they don't want the poor in dia circle...Stell the list is endless and yu know what really baffles me?Whenever this topic is raised and someone and critisizes this so called religious leaders,u wuld see some crazies come out and say:Touch not my annointed and do my prophet no harm...I just feel sorry for them,cos most of them have been brainwashed.

26. Best post EVER! You just took the words right out of my mind.. Nigerians can call God like they have met him but most of them are just too evil and wicked to be called humans..when I discuss issues like"God" with any Nigerian, come and see the way they will vex like "terminator".. SHM but they are not allowed to preach to me either... So...

*am out*

27. God on thier lips.
    Satan on thier mind.

* Government officials stealing billions.
    * Pastors stealing from the masses
    *Citizen burning citizens.
    *Husbands beating wives.
    *Men raping children
    *First ladies building hotels
    *officials flown out for medical care
    *men inserting weapons into women's privates.
    *people taking pictures during accidents instead of helping.

28. Food for thoughts! Well written piece... SDK today na letter reading day oo #hugs

29. Yea I belive their is God in heaven who seeth through the heart of men. All this things happening all over d world especially our country Nigeria are signs of endtime. If u read d bible very well u will know that this occurances are noted in it ie
    Fake pastors deviating from things of God to achieve their own selfish motive.
    Homosexuals
    Increase in immorality
    Muders
    Stealing, cheating, lying
    Pride n arrogance.
    Wen u see all this know that the end is near. I have been reading some revelational books n the bible of recent n I was so shocked cos of some discoveries I made, pls we should really be mindful of wotever we do in life cos we all me must give account someday whether by death or rapture. No one knows wen he or she will die cos death is no respecter of man be u who n no one also know wen rapture will take place. Pls trully give ur life to Jesus christ, he is so merciful enough to forgive and to accept you.

1. Queen Amy.....i wish i could click a love button for dis comment........u said it all...*endtimethingz*

30. The name GOD is just a formallity to many Nigerians. Those clergymen who claim to be men of God actually knows nothing about God, so how can their hearts be true? How can they teach people about who they don't know?

They are only interested on how to accumulate wealth by deceiving followers who answers 'Amen' to everything they say.

Any way sha 'God dey!'

~HOLLYROBB~

31. The person that call on God do sin (bcos he is human) and the one that say theres no God also sin. That does not stop God from existing and being GOD. The heart of man is wicked but God will still remain who He is :
    A Good and Merciful God.

32. nigeria for me has the largest congregation ,nigeria can worship God in truth and in spirit ,yet same nigeria ,compared to nations that don't even go to church ,sometimes i weep for nigeria ,one time i was in nigeria for six months i refuse to go to church .,nigeria is the only country in the world that pastors brag about their wealth and luxury cars .stella abeg make dis my garrri and beans i chop no finish for my body where i dey vex.I rest my case .

33. Blah blah blah....
    Yes there is God...
    Believe it or not...
    Your faith keeps you going...
    You should focus on yourself and not Nigerians....
    You ain't going to be anyone's mouthpiece on the judgement day......

1. Tnk u. Everybody on ur own, u guys shd stop dis rubbish belief of Obama said, Pope said, Tb joshua said. During judgment u all must give account on ur own n ur pope obwma tb joshua n Reuben abati will not be thr ooh. O wish u all will have a taste of hell to know how it feels. Dnt fgt dt God is real, witchcraft, occultism, demonic n all atanic practice are real, pls choose wisely cos am gone.
      From spiritual word.

2. Tnk u. Everybody on ur own, u guys shd stop dis rubbish belief of Obama said, Pope said, Tb joshua said. During judgment u all must give account on ur own n ur pope obwma tb joshua n Reuben abati will not be thr ooh. O wish u all will have a taste of hell to know how it feels. Dnt fgt dt God is real, witchcraft, occultism, demonic n all atanic practice are real, pls choose wisely cos am gone.
      From spiritual word.

34. The kingdom of GOD is within us...But most Nigerians seek GOD on the outside...

So many Mystery schools started in Europe, especially in German...Those Mystery schools believe in the existence of GOD..They explore nature, the physical and the spiritual....So many renowned scientist, natural philosophers, Astronomers and doctors belong to those Mystery school...Men like Johannes Kepler, Isaac Newton, Francis Bacon, Spencer H.Lewis e.t.c.

Great men of Europe believe in the existence of GOD in a higher dimension...Most Nigerians don't worship GOD in truth and in spirit...they are just hypocrites ..."God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows"

35. The kingdom of GOD is within us...But most Nigerians seek GOD on the outside...

So many Mystery schools started in Europe, especially in German...Those Mystery schools believe in the existence of GOD..They explore nature, the physical and the spiritual....So many renowned scientist, natural philosophers, Astronomers and doctors belong to those Mystery school...Men like Johannes Kepler, Isaac Newton, Francis Bacon, Spencer H.Lewis e.t.c.

Great men of Europe believe in the existence of GOD in a higher dimension...Most Nigerians don't worship GOD in truth and in spirit...they are just hypocrites ..."God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows"

36. Hmmmmmmm!!! Quite weighty and thought provoking.

37. So very true! I keep wondering why despite the churches, mosques and serious prayers, nothing has changed. The truth is we only honour God with our lips...our hearts are very far from him. I can't help but still say ' May God help us.'

38. The long and short of it b say na GOD grace na him we dey enjoy in naija. Hipocrisy na human being second name. If u r guilty in one u don break all b dat. Na only God no wu dey sincere to am.AIDEE

39. Most Christians are only godly on Sundays. Monday to Saturday, I really don't know who they serve.

Anyway on the last day, all man for himself. Salvation is personal

40. well i guess nigerians are more of religious than Godly...just as i always tell people "speak less and act more" and the world wil be a better place

41. This is deep. Truth is, hypocrisy is killing us in this country. The churches and the mosques are used as a front, we go with the flow. Pretence. One of my domestic staff usually takes out N500 or 1k each time he goes to buy fuel for the office generator, we fuel the gen twice a week. He was caught after 6 months into the shady deal. He denied and was calling on God as his witness. I told him to swear with ogun (God of iron), he said madam I no fit, I be christian. The following day he stopped coming to work. I can't be fooled with religion. But there is GOD.

42. Make y'all remember say na oyinbo introduce us to this religion. Dem use am take deceive us carry all pur resources. Dem tell us say our religion dey barbaric, say na devil we dey worship. THEY ROBBED US BLIND.

Several decades later, we wan do like say na we know the religion pass dem? Some sharp guys guys among us dey use threaten us say if we no plant seed or pay 10% plenty winch, marine spirit, demons etc go worry our life. THEY ARE STILL ROBBING US BLIND.

Chei, Africa don suffer!

1. Empty comment from a senseless local champ

2. Diggah you are so right. Oyinbo mentality and the Oyinbo's are better than us.

3. @anon 6:13,

It would have made more sense if you had just resisted the impulse to post a pointless reply. #ImpulseControl

43. Religion in Nigeria is a "Natural Disaster"

44. Of course there is a God that rules over affairs of men and we all know it!all we do is take his grace and mercy for granted!
    The latest now is dat on every social media page of pple comprising of thieves,perverts,prostituites,ritualist etc. Just to mention. A few,u will see pple preaching,quoting scriptures,writing God is good,is faithful,thank you Jesus etc!God in pple's mouth is like goodmorning! what do pple really take God for?it's so disheartening!i hope God won't repent and destroy naija like sodom and gomorah.cos our own is too much.

45. sadly there is a huge difference from our hearts and what we portray to others. We should just pray for God's Spirit to fill our wicked and deceitful hearts.

46. 2 Timothy 2:19
    King James Version (KJV)
    Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth
    sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them
    that are his. And, Let every one that nameth
    the name of Christ depart from iniquity. Dats all

47. Intelligent write up. What I'm I going to say that the writer hasn't said already....Only God can help Nigerians, period!

48. I just love Naija and the way we do everything even the way we practice religion. I'm in church on sunday, sister is singing her heart out in the choir, convulsing because the holy spirit has taken over her body, but on Saturday night she was a different being entirely at the club, SMH. After giving tithes and offering, pastor made an announcement that God wants us to make an additional offering so he can buy a new car this year - the best in Amelica (confused BBM face - me congregation member sef is pushing around fuel efficient car), SMH. So I carried my bags and bagagges and left jejely.
    Church is now a franchise, with a church springing up on every block and corner in Naija. Naija should be the best country in the world with the way we call God and practice religion.

49. AnonymousJanuary 14, 2014 at 3:32 PM

The kingdom of GOD is within us...But most Nigerians seek GOD on the outside...

Great men of Europe believe in the existence of GOD in a higher dimension...Most Nigerians don't worship GOD in truth and in spirit...they are just hypocrites ..."God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows"...............I so much agreed with this guy.

50. Oh! This piece is so "On Point". I didn't think there are Nigerians that think like me. We are so BRAINWASHED in this part of the world by the so called pastors who ventured into the "business" out of joblessness and hunger (resulting from bad economy) rather than "Calling".

God is on their lips while their hearts are evil. And it has even become a way of life. When you travel outside the shores of this country, you find people that might not have gone to church for a whole year but are more honest and kind-hearted. It's really appalling.