Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: PRESIDENT JONATHAN SAYS NEW AUTOMOTIVE POLICY WILL MAKE NEW CARS AFFORDABLE TO MORE NIGERIANS

Thursday, January 23, 2014

PRESIDENT JONATHAN SAYS NEW AUTOMOTIVE POLICY WILL MAKE NEW CARS AFFORDABLE TO MORE NIGERIANS

President Goodluck Jonathan said Thursday in Davos, Switzerland  that his Administration is fully committed to rapidly developing Nigeria's automobile industry through the diligent implementation of the country's new national automotive policy.

Speaking at a meeting with the Chief Executive Officer of Nissan Motors, Mr. Carlos Ghosn and representatives of Nissan's partners in Nigeria on the sidelines of the ongoing World Economic Forum, President Jonathan said that a key objective of the new policy was to make new cars affordable to more Nigerians.

"The only way to reduce the preponderance of second hand cars on our roads is to produce good quality cars with affordable pricing locally," the President said.
Welcoming the Nissan group's investment in vehicle production in Nigeria, President Jonathan noted that all investors in local automobile production in the country will  have a huge ready market for their products.

"The automobile industry in Nigeria has a huge potential for growth. The market is not just Nigeria, but the entire West African region," the President observed.
Mr. Ghosn applauded the Federal Government's new automotive policy, saying  that it would encourage the inflow of investments and technical expertise to boost domestic vehicle production.

The Nissan CEO  informed President Jonathan that Nissan Motors plans to roll-out the first made in Nigeria 4 X 4 Utility SUV in April this year using the old Volkswagen Assembly plant owned by its partners.
 Mr. Ghosn who said that it was possible to produce two to three million cars in Nigeria annually with the consequent creation of thousands of direct and indirect jobs, told the President that Nissan intends to increase its investment in Nigeria and establish its own vehicle production plants in the country.

"We are interested in producing popular cars , totally adapted to the needs of Nigerians," he said, adding that the company also plans to bring its global suppliers to make vehicle components in the country.
President Jonathan also met with President Jakaya Kikwete of Tanzania who assured him of his personal participation in the World Economic Forum on Africa scheduled to take place in Abuja in May this year.

He later received the Mayor of Atlanta in the United States of America, Mr. Kasim Reed and Mr. Claude Dauphin, the President of Trafigura, a leading international commodities trading and logistics company.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)

January 23, 2014

36 comments:

1. Misplaced priority as always.
    Goodluck do something about the roads in Nigeria first before u introduce ur so called autos.
    First things first!

1. What cars?? Keke napep version with 4 tyres! Is that the most important tin naija needs right now?

I don't copy and paste my gist.
      And comments are auto comment! No need to wait for approval

click here supremacydone.blogspot.com

2. There is nothing wrong with it. This ll create employment and create affordable cars for those that dont ve already.

3. Has he solved the power issue first? Check all over Lagos, no light at home or at work even factories are suffering? I work in Ikoyi, there has been no light for the pass 12 days, my office run on Generator-diesel every day(atleast 11hours per day).. And our foolish president is talking about producing cars in Nigeria? How long will the automibile assembly last without solving the issue of Power??? Mumu dey worrying GEJ abeg!! Smh

4. Has he solved the power issue first? Check all over Lagos, no light at home or at work even factories are suffering? I work in Ikoyi, there has been no light for the pass 12 days, my office run on Generator-diesel every day(atleast 11hours per day).. And our foolish president is talking about producing cars in Nigeria? How long will the automobile assembly last without solving the issue of Power??? Mumu dey worrying this GEJ abeg!! With that is palm wine tapper cap on his dull head! Smh

5. Has he solved the power issue first? Check all over Lagos & the whole Nigeria, no light at home or at work even factories are suffering? I work in Ikoyi, there has been no light for the pass 12 days, my office run on Generator-diesel every day(atleast 11hours per day).. And our foolish president is talking about producing cars in Nigeria? How long will the automobile assembly last without solving the issue of Power??? Mumu dey worrying this GEJ abeg!! With that his palm wine tapper cap on his dull head! Smh

2. As far am concerned, this not what Nigeria needs now. Please, first things first! People are helpless out there, some can't even afford their daily meal.

1. And you think the creation of job opportunities through these manufacturing plants will not help people afford their daily meal, abi? Please, if we must criticise, we should first have a logical point.

2. Shut up Is dat Wat nigerians need now ? Common light he brag abt n even sold bcm worse diz year. Wat re u talking? is it dis dat will work rubbish.

3. Shut up Is dat Wat nigerians need now ? Common light he brag abt n even sold bcm worse diz year. Wat re u talking? is it dis dat will work rubbish.

4. Shut up Is dat Wat nigerians need now ? Common light he brag abt n even sold bcm worse diz year. Wat re u talking? is it dis dat will work rubbish.

3. By the time cost of diesel plus dirty corrupt officials and politicians frustrate them, they'll know what's up.

GEJ clean up your house before inviting oyinbo vistors.

4. Nice one....but Uncle Jona,we no need am.....we want electricity....heat and mosquito wan finish me last night....didn't sleep at all coz our generators were faulty....I even wanted to check into a hotel by 2am....I swear,I will never xperience such again...tufiakwa!

5. Where re d roads to ride dem on? Nonsense

6. Plenty talk no dey full basket.

Act and let's see.

Sumbo

7. There is nothing introduced by the president,that left the price of goods the way it is or normal,it always goes upper than the abnormal.

The subsidy era left the price of oil from $30 to $75 and it has not gone down since then,he has this great policy at heart but the execution of these policy is Neal,to watch the capital market and to understand whether readings went higher or lower is something they don't do, its only the media that briefs us very well.

He needs a Pro Economist like me to help him work on the price regulation, the GDP and make him understand the relative terms for a growing economy, what we need to cut or increase thats if he wants a change,i pray this works but it will never reduce the price of cars but rather rapidly increas the price due to cost of production and other maximal constraints.
    Mr President please consult foreign heads to tell you how to put your economy back to normal,we will continue to pray for you as you seek for the best of this nation ''Nigeria''.
    Signed: OBJ PA

8. We are tired of talku talku...let's see the action mhen...

1. Princess Charming23 January 2014 at 22:52

LOL @ talku talku... Its been a while I heard that.. Those days in Benin.

9. Well done my dear President. You are a great President, it is just that there are too many people trying to pull you down but don't worry God will not allow them in Jesus name Amen!

1. Shut ur trap which people? Wat ve u enjoyed since he became president.

2. People are trying to pull him down and he is also helping them with his dull brain

10. Jona is aware of the rampant corruption and abuse of privilege that killed VON and PAN. What assurance do we have that this policy won't be another white elephant and conduit for massive capital flight?

11. All talk no ACTION. President without DIRECTION.

12. He just can't get it right this Jona of a man.Cars??? Is that the problem we are having now in the country.Misplaced priorty

13. GEJ till 2019................................TEAM FRESH AIR.

1. Fresh air ko, fresh air ni!, keep waiting for fresh air, 4yrs never do u to knw say no fresh air with Jona

14. Good one Mr President

15. Oga Jona, where will ppl get money for that ur "affordable cars"? No employment, no job creation, no infrastructure!!! So where will they get d money for ur "affordable cars"?! Na question ,I ask oh... Do u know, how many graduates that r unemployed?! I don't think this should be ur priority . Pls, do something to empower the youths !!

16. Jonathan!!! How man times did I call. U? You don build road finish for the pipo wey yu dey provide them with mass produced cars?

17. Some people just type trash, didn't u read that it will create jobs, common sense aint so common afterall...this is will add Economic value nd Revenue to naija as we wld be exporting to neighbouring countries.

1. U dey talk as if u no dey naija or u don't know how naija system works!! It's only for ppl who got d connections oh!! Which revenue u dey talk sef?! D ones Dame Peshe and their cohorts will squander and tell u stories tomorrow... Biko ,we need something that will help d daughters and sons of the common man !! Chikena

2. U Be fool ooo how will dose company function is it not wiv electricity? Dat same jona promised n has not fulfilled. Anoda waste of public funds

3. How can they perform optimally when d basic amenities are not there

18. The only advantage is that it will create jobs:well maybe menial jobs for nigerian graduates,cos I know these pple will come with their pple and call them professionals....yes just the useless jobs!smh
    Naija d only country foreigners come and do as they like!