Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BASORGE TARIAH - The Comedian/Actor Explains Why He Vanished From The Social Scene And Why He Isnt Bitter....A MUST READ!

Sunday, February 02, 2014

BASORGE TARIAH - The Comedian/Actor Explains Why He Vanished From The Social Scene And Why He Isnt Bitter....A MUST READ!

Basorge and lovely wife Doris and their lovely kids

Basorge wrote this himself for his new column in YES! Mag and he explains a lot of things you need to read for yourself.

When you grow accustomed to the scenario of having frequently to answer the question: “Where have you been? Then you must find time for a hard-boiled answer to this constantly paraphrased enquiry. So, last week, I set my mind firmly on answering this seemingly familiar question. It shocked me that I was evidently as puzzled as they were about my whereabouts. Of course, not by the same premise of concern: mine was embarrassing because I couldn’t really tell when I vanished!

I couldn’t obviously find a safe time or place for my exit. I have taken breaks at various times. Like when I stopped accepting some annoying movie scripts. Another time was when I ran out of interest – or more like funds – to finance my passion: the stylized Warri-subject comedy movies. Or the time when a light bulb went on in my head to do a freelance (note: very free, non-paying) contribution for Saturday ThisDay in local parlance (Pidgin English). This bright idea was truncated by the twin factors of my threatening case of deep-vein thrombosis, and the lack of apathy on the part of the publishers. No alliteration intended! I recall being hit by the realization that I did not even get a mention; I bet a staff visit would be asking for too much! I laid on my bed in Ward C (of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital) in the company of new-found allies, some of whom never made it through that horrifying year. Alas! I may have found the turning-point.

That horrible year when I lost my verve, my knack and penchant for this enviable craft that I have adored for three decades, may be more. That year was 2005. This withdrawal was an aggregation of a series of events, one lapping onto the next like a relay team heading to the finish line. It began when a dear friend, a Christian messenger of God, Pastor Goke, asked me to be a part of a select-group of individuals who share a common passion for soccer. It was the age of the football fanatics, and this strange, unexplainable Freudian phenomenon was raging through Nigeria, all the way from England. The throng to the throne of the Barclay’s Premier League by Nigerians was helped – in more ways than we realize – by the incompetence and myopia of our football administrators. The more they killed our league, conversely, more and more people were drawn to the beauty and finesse of English soccer.

Inevitably, these fans – many of who lay claim to a football skill or two – set out to stretch the hostilities at the popular Astro-Turf around the Dolphin/Kingsway Road axis in Ikoyi, Lagos. The events that led to the tragedy of that ill-fated football match were premonitions I did wrong to ignore. First, I had been chosen by a Christian youth organization in Maryland (Lagos) to deliver a speech at their seminar as against lacing my boots for that football match. But the pull of a chance to do a Zola on a few hapless opposing fans was so strong I declined the seminar. Second, when my wife dropped me off – still standing by the open door – glimpsed, for the first time, at my pre-chosen Chelsea team-mates, as against a more robust, athletic and obviously well-trained Arsenal fans, I should have just sat back down in the car and claimed I forgot my hair-band at home! But I stood there, as the sound of my wife driving away receded with all hopes of whipping my team-mates into world-beaters in a matter of minutes.

Clearly, it was Pastor Goke’s way of avenging a flurry of losses suffered by Arsenal in the hands of a Mourinho-inspired Chelsea FC of England. So, as I lined up beside my respectable, though less talented mates, I could still have bailed out of the pitch, but I stayed put. Perhaps my tree will make this forest…

It took only ten minutes for the selection cheats to shop in five goals beyond our goal-keeper, who was still warming up between the posts! My hapless team-mates were the dregs of football fan players of Goke’s cronies. It hit me that as captain of the Chelsea fans, I had been set up for humiliation for my past and recent glories. So, I fought hard and played harder, to my detriment. Attempting to beat a stubborn opponent, I twisted my right knee and got a severe dislocation for my skills.

A condition I treated with levity. Shortly after, and against doctor’s orders, I flew to London to perform for an industry colleague in his “Crack Ya Ribs” event. This robust activity put a huge strain on my knee, next thing I knew, I was having palpitations until I collapsed in Pekham, the Nigerian local government area in London. I was rushed back to our makeshift campy, where the drama (or better, dilemma) of who-will-bell-the-cat and call for an ambulance was scarier than my heart giving up! That night, everybody clearly abandoned me, including my colleagues, even the benefactor of my patronage and some groupies who had turned up to hobnob. In this milieu, however, the silver lining came in form of a Ghanaian, Amankwa, who proved to be a brother’s keeper. On my return to Nigeria, my doctor told me I had a swollen calf, laden with a blood clot that was affecting blood flow to my heart. Deep-vein thrombosis may be a new medical term for me, but the reality of the condition lived within my body for a while. I was close to death, but did not realize it.

Then came a flush of SOS calls from Dr. Kuti (owner of the highly rated MRI facility) to Dr. Jane Ajuluchukwu (a seasoned cardiologist) to no avail: she was out of the country. Dr. Kuti’s persistence led to Professor Oke, head-cardiologist at LUTH. At some harrowing, carousing point, I was even refereed to a posh hospital on the Island, but the excellent service and attention I got from the LUTH doctors not only restored my faith in the medical personnel, but added to my list of friends. I must lightly, but firmly, say that the doctors and nurses are some of the best in their approach to service. Subsequently, I made many young doctor friends. From the non-medical side, Tope Ezekiel and David Anukwu stood out.

On the flip side, my brand and business suffered. Corporate clients, unkindly, asked for refunds. There were hardly get-well or consolatory messages.

Even industry colleagues, besides the true friends – who know themselves – I soon realized that when you need to be strong, if you look deep enough, the needed strength will well up in you and flood your senses and limbs. So-called friends (apart from a handful I won’t mention here) were never by my bedside. No cards. No flowers. No phone calls. For the few that showed me love, I shall never forget. My worry was my family. They suffered in no small measure. It was in the midst of all this I had this overwhelming feeling of betrayal and unloved by the throngs of people and fans I had come to know and regard as family.

When I recovered, the decision to withdraw into my shell was easy. It would take time to recover from the treachery. Time to be myself among the same people I figured had abandoned me. I can’t lay blame on all or vent my bitterness on everyone, but OMG, I had the right to hide away from the horror! But here I am. I am back. All the experiences of the past, I put down to human frailty and a learning curve for the living. My best line has always been: “No shaking”.

41 comments:

1. Dunno him. Cute family doh. Too lonq not in d mood 2read sun is too hot 4 dat.

1. Your matter dey serious then.

2. U don't know Basorge??? Den u shud be lyk, wat? 15 years old?

3. Empty head if it's a sex scandal u would read and reply with a long epistle

4. @ diamondbliqz He is Mandela's last son. He used to play football for Eyimba of Aba. Laughs. I guess you are 15yrs old.

2. True talk bro NO SHAKING,thats life 4 u,wen the going is bad then u know ur true frds tank God the storm is over.may God bless u abundantly.btw madam Stella happy sunday.

3. That is life for you, i always tell people who are doing well to pray for problems so you know who your real friends and family are…Hmm. People!!!

4. Can't believe I read dis to d end. I guess its his style of writng. I tink u a bettr writer. Move on wth ur life n forget d past.

1. Yeah...he's a good writer

2. He writes so well! Basorge,good to know you cheated death...as for the betrayal,lessons learnt.Prosperity they say brings friends,adversity sure tries them.Welcome back!

5. Wow,so sad.this world ehn,when the chips are down,just know its only God and maybe ur family u can depend on,glad ure alive to tell ur story.now go back to the industry and be brutal maan,no need to show how u feel,just do ur business even wiv the so-called friends that abandoned u,but now u have an edge,u know there are no friends anywhere.All the best Basorge.Godbless U and welcome back.

6. Replies
    1. Which part of his near death experience and trauma was supposed to be amusing or entertaining? U be winch? Or craze dey worry you? Maybe a little bit of eac? Mtchewww

7. Gosh! All I can say like you bro, is "No shaking"! God who saw you through will continue to do so forever IJMN - AMEN. Once you get over the shock of FRENEMIES, there's no better feeling than to dust 'em off your shoulder and pretend like they no longer exist. What doesn't kill you will only make you STRONGER. Success is the best REVENGE for haters and frenemies, so ride on bro. God is on your side. God bless you bro.

8. Glad you recovered.

Shit happens. That's life for you. You also would have done the same to some friends. All man for himself.

9. Ehwwwwu! #IgboticExpression
    All dese grammma dikwa too much bikokwanu!
    Hian, I no no say basorge fit scatter gramma lik dis ooo #Panting
    Abeg I no go fit!

BTW a very beautiful family!

10. Hmmm! That's life for u bruv! If u had died those fake ass friends would have claimed how much they loved u and how much u'll be missed and all that crap! ThanK God u came out of it strong.
    God bless and keep u

11. Thank God Basorge u scaled thru,some that passed thru similar ordeals never made itt!
    But learn one hard truth in life so u can stop being emotional at pple's behaviour:nobody really cares!,....u are only as important as what u can offer per time,so just be urself and don't try too hard to impress pple cos it will not make difference to them if u suddenly have nothing to offer.just stay relevant!dats what matters!

12. Hmm so human beings sha. When in trouble dey flee may God teach n help us to always be our brothers keeper

13. Lesson of life- when push comes to shove, only God will stand the test of time, not man.
    Thank God for his life.

14. That's life & it does suck sometimes! When the chips are down,you find strength where you least expect & those you rate highly are likely not to give a dime. Bros Basorge(loved his acting) no shaking Abeggi,thank God for the gift of family.

15. Too long a letter ,nt in d mood to read woteva it is tnk God 4Jesus...its well

16. Loved you in The Bachelors. Wondered where you had been all this while. God will continue to be your strength. No Shaking!

17. Na wa oh. Simple questions cant get simple answers again this days. Too much grammar, lost interest after the first paragraph.

Glad you are back anyways cos I used to like
    you.

CeeCee

18. Quite a writer, this Basorge. I never knew he was such an intellectual.
    That's life Basorge dear.
    I'm glad you are hale and hearty.

19. Welcome back.
    God throws you challenges to teach you lessons. Thank God it happened now in yout "youth" that you can bounce back.
    Goodluck getting it all back and more.

20. Pele my dear. Such is life. People these days associate with people they can only benefit from. While u were down, to them, u had nothin to offer. Thank God u survived. Forget about payback my guy and move on. U are always good at whatever u set out to do, so do what u do best and leave the frenemies to BABA God. One love.
    Veron.

21. My dear I can feel ur pain I was there my mother-inlaw, sister. Inlaws all abondened me it was after one year of the sickness that my motherinlaw was asking my husband what is happening to me so I withraw from all of them to my sheell I don't visit anymore I call her once in a month until u fall sick u will never know who d people around u are but thank God for my mother who stood in the gap in prayers for me and the kind of husband I have who really showed me love and care.

22. Welcome back and thank God for your life. Wondering what happened to u but good to know u r better. Naso life be. U can never put ur trust in man, only God. NO SHAKING as u said. Nice family and nice piece. Looking forward to seeing u again out there doing your thing.

23. When we pass through fire we become
    fire resistant.

1. Stella's thrombosis3 February 2014 at 04:58

What's hapPening to u? You dey wriite somehow now ooo. No humor,no sensible comments. Kilo eleyi?

24. LOL....so long a letter, Basorge you are my MAN. I love this guy anyday anytime, thats life for you bro, you are not doing bad at all. You have a lovely family ur future is bright bro keep moving no dulling! I wish you more success in life but your close resemblance with American comedy
    icon Martin Lawrence still baffles me....lolss.

25. welcome back,candle light dude, lol

26. @uche u are so right, hwe looks like one man I see in American movies, dunno his name , thank God u are alive Basorge, may Godd strengthen u....