Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Does Microfilariae Prevent Pregnancy?

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Does Microfilariae Prevent Pregnancy?

WTF is Microfilariae?I am just hearing about it for the first time and the poster claims it is the reason a sister is presently childless....Please the Doctors in the house should read this and advise as required.

I have a sister who is down with microfilariae and hindering her from conceiving. She has been to several hospitals in Abuja and different treatments to no avail. 

I have read how blog visitors found valuable information on your blog in respect to their medical predicaments. Please help ask your blog visitors if any have whether the storm of this illness and how they went about it. 

Microfilariae we found out is not an STD but a parasite.It is a worm move in all direction in the body of its host.

We will be really grateful.

*OMG a worm living inside the human body?JESUS!

82 comments:

1. God of Nazareth, King of d jews.... what sort of medical condition is ds again? God save us

1. Is it the Doctor that told you that Microfilariasis is the cause of your sister's inability to get pregnant?
      Even if it is (i doubt but will visit google), it can be cured. No big deal.

2. Yes Stella we all have worms in our bodies..every single being. If just takes different reasons for them to manifest. They are meant to be harmless except irritated by some body inconsistencies. I am no medical personell o, but this is basic knowledge.

I remember as a young child I had this excruciating tummy ache that wouldn't let me go. A side of my belly started to hurt more that the rest, so my grandma put a knife greased with palm oil on a lit stove, when it was very hot she placed the hot knife right atop the part of my belly that hurt. After repeating this procedure severally an opening came, and out came one or two worms from my tummy. She even had to press the rest out. Ewwww my body creeps even till date when I remember this. But that was the end of tummy ache for me. Very very gross.

3. Sisi eko......lwkmd....no, I don't think we all have worms in our stomachs. So, ur grandma literally burnt up your skin? Nawa o, all these elderly women and their primitive way of curing ailments..some are effective anyway.

4. Princess Charming19 February 2014 at 18:29

Wow! @sisi eko. You tried oo. Hot greased knife right atop the part of your belly...

5. Sisi eko......lwkmd....no, I don't think we all have worms in our stomachs. So, ur grandma literally burnt up your skin? Nawa o, all these elderly women and their primitive way of curing ailments..some are effective anyway.

6. So people still can't differentiate a stomach and a belly in this google age?! Choi!!!!

7. Lol Azinnnn ehn it was very painful. Yes o she placed the hot knife on my belly. What she did was after removing the hot knife, she would wrap it with a cloth for a few seconds before placing on me. She said it would irritate the worms and the unwanted ones will come out. It worked o. Very primitive, yet effective. Yes Mrs D we all have worms hybernating in us.

2. has she taking combatrin

1. @ Anon 2:31..................*faints*

2. I cant stop laughing, havent heard that name combatrin in 25years. Mrs O

3. SDKers will not kill person with laughter...combantrin shaaa...rotfl.
      #blackbarbie

4. Pls wat is funny about COMBANTRIN?? its like KETRAX and its a worm expellant. abi KETRAX too sound funny ni??? ask questions wen u dont know something instead of laughing and showing ur ignorance.......

3. OMG!
    So much disease everywhere
    Come soon Lord Jesus

1. Hehehehehe i no fit laugh.
      Stella see wetin you don cause, your readers don de scream OMG! like you.

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Which one is microfilariae???...

6. Na wa oh, have never heard of this one before. I pray poster gets useful information here.

All these known and unknown STDs everywhere should make people to really avoid sex esp with multiple partners. Yet people won't hear. SMH

7. Stella, my dear things dey this world oh. My friend all of a sudden started having lumps all over her body and didn't know the cause. She got married and travelled out of the country with her husband. She was childless for 5years and did all she could to get pregnant no way. When she was in Nig, they wanted to operate on the lumps but her hubby said no. Then she went for checkup in Canada and guess what? Her system was infected with tapeworm and it's poison. They had secreted a lot in her system. She said she got it from infested/infected Suya she ate while in Nig. They pumped antibiotics into her system. Long and short of the story is that she's now pregnant and would deliver soon. Was dazed when she told me this.

1. On a short holiday in naija I was diagnosed with fibroid and was told I cant conceive. I came back to England and within a year I had my daughter . Naija doctors are amazing dont believe them at alll. Mrs O

2. Ewwww.. Yuck! Yuck!

3. Princess Charming19 February 2014 at 18:32

Hmm things are happening..

4. Mrs O, I had fibroids living in UK, doctors said I'll neva concieve nd if they remove the fibroids my womb wld hv to be removed. I came to naija and the fibroids were removed surgically and I got pregnant so there's good n bad everywhere. Miss h.

5. Mrs O, I had fibroids living in UK, doctors said I'll neva concieve nd if they remove the fibroids my womb wld hv to be removed. I came to naija and the fibroids were removed surgically and I got pregnant so there's good n bad everywhere. Miss h.

8. never heard of such name before.

9. never heard of such name before.

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. This comment has been removed by the author.

13. Investigations and Diagnosis
    Diagnosis can be made only by detection of the parasites. Microfilariae can be found in blood and body fluids. Timing of the blood collection is important and should be done in the night. This is because the microfilariae circulate in the blood only in the night time (based on the nocturnal periodicity of the microfilariae). Elevated eosinophil count in the peripheral blood supports the diagnosis. Other tests not commonly done are, assays for antigens of W. bancrofti and polymerase chain reaction based assays for DNA. Ultrasonogram of the scrotum may help to detect extent of involvement.

Treatment and Prognosis
    Filariasis can be effectively treated by oral administration of drugs like, Diethyl carbamazine (DEC) 6 mg/ kg /day once a day or in divided doses for 2-3 weeks. This drug kills the microfilariae very effectively while the effect on the adult worms is slow. The drug is started in small doses and gradually increased over a course of few days. Side effects like swelling of the lymph nodes, abscess, ulceration, fever, headache, body ache and allergic reactions can occur due to the killing of the microfilariae and the adult worms. Several courses of treatment may be required. Supportive management includes, bed rest, elastic bandages for reducing the oedema and antibiotic drugs to combat the secondary infection. Ivermectin has also been used in single or two divided doses (starting dose of 20mic per kg followed by 400 mic per kg). For chronic lymphatic obstruction elevation of affected limb, elastic stockings can be tried. Injecting sclerosants can treat small hydrocoeles. Surgical management may also be necessary. For elephantiasis, surgical procedures like removal of the excess of subcutaneous tissue or lymphovenous shunt may be necessary. Early cases have a good prognosis if properly treated. Cases identified in the late stages have a poor prognosis.

1. Stop deceiving yourself @Pola. You rushed to google, came back here to downloaded everything.. Mtcheeeeeeew Busy body. Madam ITK

2. KMT y'all. It's called RESEARCH! That's what smart people do to learn.
      Why are you being anonymous and hateful????? Why?

3. 6:36 wetin na?

4. Anony6:36 wetin she do wey bad? Abeg take several seats \_ \_

Ewu.

5. At least Pola tried to help. What did u do? Just bad mouthing. Useless thing.

6. At least Pola tried to help. What did u do? Just bad mouthing. Useless thing.

7. Princess Charming19 February 2014 at 22:03

Hahahaha @ Mrs D

8. MRS D......dis one no be english,,na swahili...

14. Prevention:

Avoidance of mosquito bites by use of mosquito nets or repellents.

1. Pola you think we don't know the way to Google? My fren will you stop being a nuisance!

2. Thank you for the unnecessary rudeness. God's judgement will fall on you and yours, Amen

3. OMG!!! These SDKers won't kill somebody! Loooooooooolz!

4. Ohh emm gee..SDKers thou,got me rotfl...I so lyk u jae Pola...

15. Research didn't say the disease prevents conception, there are actually some pregnant ladies undergoing treatment for MCF.
    Regular Smear Tests will help to detect little stuffs like this.
    I hope the poster's sister find help ASAP

1. She knows the way to google. Stop being a nuisance. SMH

2. Why are you even pained? Can't fathom your level of hate! SMH

3. Anon shut up. What did u contribute?

4. Anon shut up. What did u contribute?

16. Stella, in simple terms, it's roundworm. Parasite-host relationships and fungi can cause infertility. All hope isn't lost. Once she's treated by the Doctors she can try to get pregnant naturally and via other means - IVF and/or through a surrogate.

17. What is this one again eehnnn? God have mercy.

18. Funny enough yesterday was my first time of hearing of this illness,some lady lost her six month pregnancy cos of this illness.I never knew it go a name.God pls save your children

1. My mum was told me something similar to this. Yoruba people call it aran ginisha (large worm, I think) & some particular ones actually aborts the foetus. Some people say it feeds on d foetus, while some believe it can be spiritual; God help us

19. Please does anyone know about surrogates. I need a surrogate please. How much can the person charge? I really need a child

1. If the price is right' am willing to be a surrogate.

2. Emai me asap,,1m will do

3. Choosing a surrogate is a confusing process. It involves thorough investigation into the medical and mental history; the culture and life of the intended carrier.

Have you tried getting information professionally at the fertility clinic? Or you're looking at going anonymous for the process?

Please don't rush so you don't regret it. Many people look normal,but are not.

God bless you.

20. Blog visitors check this web site http://nvbdcp.gov.in/filariasis-faq.html

21. Hi..microfiliariae is actually produced by the adult filarial worm. One gets infected by bite of the vector which are different species of mosquitoes and some other flies which I don't want to bore you with the names. It is easy to kill the microfilaria but not the worm hence you treat yearly to kill the microfilariae till the lifespan of the adult worm is over and it dies. Filariasis can affect the lymphatics mostly, can cause o obstruction, blindness but it doesn't cause infertility....let your sister Br properly investigated please. And as for the lady that said Nigerian doctors know nothing....that is very untrue. You've probably been visiting quacks for a long time. Most doctors need continued training and retraining as medicine is an ever evolving science. I'm a doctor and I can assure u..I'm good at what I do. You can't know everything...that's why you need to REFER to the next level when you have a condition that is more than you can handle... Our profession says 'First do no harm'. That should be the motto of every doctor. That said...I still believe in Nigeria and ibknow we'll get there someday...hopefully

1. I live in UK and doctors in Nigeria are great.

2. God bless you doc, an old doc who has been practising for 43 yrs 2ld me exactly same thng, dat filariasis causes river blindness if nt treated α̲̅πϑ dat it is usually treated yearly for 3yrs. It does nt in any way cause inferility

22. Micro kini? Tis well oh, wahala no dey ever finish for this world. What demon is this one again?

23. *reclines on a sofa* doctors in d house over t u.

24. Microfilariae is a worm that cause onchocerciasis ( river blindness), loasis ( calabar eye), transmitted by bites from causative flies/ insects. If ur sister is in Abuja, how come she has it, it is associated with people living in rain forest region. Treatment takes time and drugs are not totally reliable. The case should me managed by hospitals that have collaboration with WHO. Ur sister should be able to access health care in National hospital Abuja. After treatment the eggs may remain for a long time and can reactivate the disease process if environmental conditions become favorable

25. This comment has been removed by the author.

26. 5m . Reply if u re ready

27. Chei!!!orishi-shi.Which kain disease be this again,micro finance blankt or micro fiyélé.....Asin?

OLUWÆßÓßßÝ

28. Pls help M̶̲̅ƺ. i hv sex only wif one guy all ma lyf. i feel lyk i hv an infection. Whitish particles kips coming out Ø̶̷̩̥̊͡Ƒ̶̷̩̥̊͡ my vagina,α̲̅πϑ i feel itches dwn D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥. Ø̶̷̩̥̊͡Ƒ̶̷̩̥̊͡ recent liquid just comes out only @ nyt lyk a♏ peeing on ma panties. i HVnt seen a doctor yet. i treated 4 infection late last year α̲̅πϑ had sex wif him again bt nw i feel †ђξ same symptoms i felt last year. Pls ђã†̥ culd dis be? i just desperately need sm advice frm Ʊ guys.

1. Buy ytacan vaginal tabs, insert one tab every night for 7 nights. He needs to get treated otherwise u will get reinfected again and continous exposure will lead to infertility. Look out for yourself.

2. Come on go and see a doctor! U clearly Hv an STD, so go clear it up b4 it advances and damages ur reproductive system. In d meantime close ur slutty legs and stay away from sex till u r cured. And why d hell will u Hv sex without using a condom? U r lucky I don't know u, I would Hv flogged the infection out of ur body....for ur own good, go see a doctor and get tested NOW!

3. Princess Charming20 February 2014 at 02:07

It is an infection.. Your guy has possibly infected you again. Hope you're not doing self medication? Go see a doctor and drag him alone ASAP.

4. First of all its obvious its obvious u ve bn havin unprotectd sex..whch is wrong cos u aint married. As fr infection n itching u most probably do have one... bt wht u nid to do is go to a gud hospital talk to d gynecologist ,let dem do a HVS (high vaginal swab) and test for any and every likely infection...dont care about the cost bcos its ur body and if an infection isn't properly treated it cn com bck or cause othr harmful stuffs...u don't even wanna go down dt lane!. ..PS u will probably be advised to treat the guy too or even test him too so be prepared. Just knw hw to play the convo btwn u n d guy,it can be vry uncomfy bt if indeed he's a sensible guy u wont v too much hdache.. I just hope u r d main chick.. else babe run for ur life

5. My friend will you carry yourself & go to the hospital? Hospital not clinic oh. Obviously your bf is dashing you std so the earlier you get diagnosed & treated the better for you.
      Also stop having sex protected or otherwise with him...cos he is cheating on you abi where do you think the infection is coming from? A super market? Better wise up & save yourself from unnecessary issues like this.

29. @ anon 9:28 u re so funny,micro finance kor,combatrin ni,LMAO.

30. I have been treated of microfilariae and I dont think it has anything to do with pregnancy,am not sure tho cos my doc never mentioned it to me I have a daughter and am expecting another one. May God almighty cure ur sis, but she should try other hospitals preferably government or teaching hospital for comprehensive test.

31. Mf is basically heartworm.usually affects livestock in northern nigeria. Transferred by mosquitoes. It is easily treated in nigeria. They treat it very well with herbal mixtures too. Tho easily mis-diagnosed, it could reduce fertility.

32. Mf is basically heartworm.usually affects livestock in northern nigeria. Transferred by mosquitoes. It is easily treated in nigeria. They treat it very well with herbal mixtures too. Tho easily mis-diagnosed, it could reduce fertility.

33. This is from a WHO PDF document.

"Microfilariasis in follicular fluid: A new concern of tropical infection in reproductive health."

"Microfilariasis is an important tropical vector-borne infection. Of several problems, reproductive disturbance and induction of infertility can be seen. An important rare condition is the existence of microfilarial worm in follicular fluid. It is extremely rare and has just been documented for a few years."

34. Hi dear. Readin ur problm really touched me cos i also suffered frm filiaria during my senior secondary days in boardin skool. I wld scratch my whole bum and thighs till it was sore and bore blood. But my mum advised that i remove my mind and and guess wot i didnt knw wen it went away and till date i dnt hav any of those scars anymore. Right now am married and 2 months pregnant so i advise that u sister try to do a proper gynecology including a HSG scan on her womb as well as other test. May God see her through.

35. mrs o you are the ignorant one.....so you think cos you have a baby you might still not have the fibroid? ....some women are lucky depending on the size of the fibroid are still able to get pregnant and have babies.....our naija doctors are good the only problem they have is equipment and you even have a lot of them who work in hospitals abroad.....whether naija or uk always seek a second opinion and trust God who is the ultimate healer...