Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Friday Ejeh Spent 8 Years In Jail For A Crime His Brother Committed.

Monday, February 24, 2014

Friday Ejeh Spent 8 Years In Jail For A Crime His Brother Committed.

Friday Ejeh was one of the inmates freed during Tuesday’s prison decongestion exercise by the Ondo State judiciary. He was imprisoned for over eight years for a murder committed by his brother,

The expression on the face of Friday Ejeh was pale and although not sickly, he cut the picture of a famished person who had gone through many years of starvation.
Ejeh spent eight years, nine months and four days at the Olokuta Medium Prison, Akure, for a crime committed by his brother who is still at large.....OMG

He was awaiting trial for charges of murder before he was freed during the prison decongestion exercise conducted by the Ondo State Judiciary on Tuesday.

Ejeh, who hails from Kogi State, trained as a repairer of electronic equipment and was plying his trade in Ondo town when one morning in May 2005, some policemen stormed his home and arrested him for the murder of a young man at a party the previous night.

Although the policemen had come to arrest his brother, they decided to arrest him when they could not get their target.

According to Ejeh, his brother had attended a party where he engaged in a brawl with a group of people and it resulted in the death of one of them. “My brother committed murder and ran away. He fought with some people at a party and one of them died, but he ran away. When the police came and could not get him, they arrested me,” he explained with tears in his eyes when he was asked to state what brought him to prison.

He spoke softly and could only muster few words as he responded to questions which our correspondent asked him.
Throughout the eight years and nine months he spent in detention, Ejeh was never taken to court for trial.

Although his case was supposed to be heard at the Magistrate Court 3, there were no records of his offence and the charges against him.

While the police claimed that the case file was forwarded to the Department of Public Prosecution for legal advice, the DPP stated that the case was not in its records.
The plight of many in detention is worsened by the fact that there are no records to prosecute them with and they remain in prison indefinitely, until a twist of fate, similar to that of Ejeh, comes their way.

On hearing his story, the Chief Judge of Ondo State, Justice Olaseinde Kumuyi, immediately directed that Ejeh be released unconditionally. “You have to go back to your state and meet your family. You have no business being here,” the judge said.

Ejeh said he bore no grudges against anyone because prison experience offered him a better understanding of life. “I went through many experiences in prison. I have learnt to be patient. So, it is not in vain that I was in prison for over eight years. It has given me hope for a better life,” he said.

On his fleeing brother, Ejeh said he had forgiven him and would not begrudge him anymore because he had already suffered for him.

“I have forgiven him because he is my brother,” he quietly said.

For Ejeh, his release from prison should put an end to the matter. He was of the opinion that the law should not further seek to bring his brother to justice because he had paid the price. He stated that he would not be willing to turn his brother over to the police should he find him on his return home.

“I will not turn him over to the police. He is my brother and as God has pardoned me, I have also pardoned him,” he said, noting that he had learnt how to endure difficulties and hoped that he would be able to handle life’s challenges in the future.
Narrating the condition in the prison, he stated that the prison officials did their best to provide for the inmates. “They tried. They gave us food and other things within their reach. For me, they have done their best,” he said.

Since he had a trade before going to prison, he said he would return to work as soon as he perfects his release. “I hope to return to practice as a repairer of electronics. That is my job. I know I can return to it and will make a little living through it by the help of God,” he stated.

Although he has been released, he is to be handed over to the St. Joseph Halfway House, an NGO involved in rehabilitating ex-convicts, before finally going home.culled

*This is so sad!....8 wasted years indeed!

39 comments:

1. It is well! There are so many underage kids in prison too though

1. Eiyaa! This is so touching. I know life is not fair but it doesn't have to be this unfair. 8 friggin years behind bars for a crime he didn't commit n never made it to the courtroom? I saw lots of cases like this while I was working as a Registrar in the Courtroom. The judicial system is fraught wit clogs that hinder smooth dispensation of justice. I pray he gets a better life afterwards.

U all should v a beautiful work day.

2. Eiyaa! This is so touching. I know life is not fair but it doesn't have to be this unfair. 8 friggin years behind bars for a crime he didn't commit n never made it to the courtroom? I saw lots of cases like this while I was working as a Registrar in the Courtroom. The judicial system is fraught wit clogs that hinder smooth dispensation of justice. I pray he gets a better life afterwards.

U all should v a beautiful work day.

3. In this instance it's the fault of the police officers not the judicial system,he could have gotten a lawyer pro Bono from legal aid if he was privy to access them.

2. What!!!!!!! Now that is one hell of a sad story!!! Wasted a whole 8 years for a crime you did not commit???!!!! WAO!….And to think that his brother did not even show up?..

3. God will punish those people who arrested him knowing he was not the culprit and made him suffer...their lives will never know peace...nigeria and the stupid law enforcement agents we have....it is only in nigeria a crime happens and all neighbors, family are arrested...idiotic mentality, gosh am so pained for this guy

1. Amen! And may the devil be their companion. Wicked people.

2. Amen......foolish time wasters...

4. Nothing surprises me about Nigeria anymore.... 8 years wasted just like that.

Oluyomi Odukoya

5. Pls there should be a total re-evaluation of prison inmates in Nigerian prisons and do they just expect this young man to just go and sin no more without at least setting up a business for him or giving him some little money to start up something for himself.
    He has a right to sue all sue-able org but then again this is Nigeria where people wld only say glory be to God n move on like it never went wrong.
    I weep for my dear country

1. Are u a Nigerian? Thot u said u are British?

6. This is why I keep insisting most people caught for crime by our "very competent" police force are really not guilty.
    The Govt n Human Right groups should really do a thorough "clean up exercise" of all prisons in ds country. Most people have spent years in those prisons waiting for trial. Most people are clueless on d reason they are there buh have no1 to speak for them. Some other people just like d above dude,are there for a crime some1 else committed.
    Pls sth should be done n very fast too! Many innocent lives are wasting in our "very awesome n conducive prisons"

7. Eyaaa. That's how bad it is in naija. Many innocent people are in prison suffering for a crime they didn't commit. I hate the nigerian police, seriously. Ejeh, it is well with ur soul. I pray God surprises you with rapid blessings, amen.

8. OMG! So sad.
    8 years wated just like that.
    I hope after the rehablitation the govt will give him enough money to start his business and pick up the pieces of his life.
    Thank God he is a free man now. SMH

9. What a barbaric society. How can one be held without trial for close to nine years and to think he wasn't even the culprit! Moreso, Nigerian police needs to stop this practice of arresting other family members when their target cannot be found. So sad

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

10. So sad, I feel his pain. A lot of innocent people are locked up for crime they didn't commit.it's so painful but we are in a world were shit happens!

11. Eight frigging frack years!

May God help him!

12. Sad story. This is juts one in a million cases. I've heard of people awaiting trial for over 17 years and nobody is even talking about their cases. Naija, I hail o.

13. This country sucks big time. How will they imprison someone for anodas crime kai. Wasted 8 long yrs. Am sure there re oda innocent ppl in jail too. God help us

14. Very sad,I meet sum1 dat was recently released,and we got talkn he tld me dat half of d inmates dere are innocent,dat 1 guy he meet dere is still dere cos of 1500,its really so sad.

15. Hmm! Dis one na small, I read a story in 2011 of a man who was arrested in1994 a man who lived in that area was assainated in his home . And the police just came and arrested who ever they could find that night.
    D poor man went out to buy suya for his pregnant wife and neva returned home till that 2011. Even wen the police saw d suya wiv him for wia? I couldn't believe it 1994?
    There is a special place in hell for d nigerian police leave am!

16. @ sugarbarbie; 1500 is big money na. Some months ago in the tabloids, a youth corper took it upon herself to help bail a few inmates and among them was a young guy who stole Gala and had been locked up for 6 months.

17. He should take legal action against the NPF.

18. This can only happen in my great country, Nigeria. How sad that the poor have to suffer, he would not have spent a night in police cell if he was from a rich background.

19. Very sad, nice guy with good heart. Injustice, the poor don't get justice in Nigeria. Sue the police that's your right.

20. SMDH @ Nigeria !
    8 WASTED yrs...just like dat ?
    Thank God for his mercies...He would hv been kept there awaiting trial till jesus comes...wat a life!

And they think they did him a favour releasn him ? mtschewww!

We only heard about this, there re still thousands of innocent victims who were been incancerated for nothing

21. Very sad story, this man should be paid for wasted years. Just like one of the programmes I watch on CI titled "I didn't do it". Those faulsely convicted are paid huge sums of money as compensation. Nigeria is a lawless country, God help us.

22. He needs to sue the police!!!!!!! They must pay reparations for wrongful imprisonment

23. A country where everything goes!
    May God restore your lost days, mate.

24. Oh this is so sad
    The guy is really nice
    Forgive
    learnt
    He is not even asking for anything
    Lord bless him please

25. Hmm anty stella,I dnt believ dese pple o,de can lie 4 africa,most of dem commited d offence,4gt dat gist dat most ar innocent,na lie o,d may b innocent of dat crime bt de usually hav past criminal records,am a lwayer nd work in legal aid,we beg dem 2 say d truth so we knw hw 2 go abt d mata b4 de wil manag nd tell u de commited it,de dnt trust deir lawyer,de plant dat tin of we ar innocent in deir head

26. So who will prosecute the police on this mans behalf???

27. This sums up majority of the things wrong with naija...smh

28. lord pls teach me to love and forgive. may the good lord replenish all hes lost a 1000 times

29. Nigerians and their leave it to God mentality.
    Sue the frigging police and add FGN.