Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obanikoro Condemns Forced Closure Of Lagos Market For APC Registration

Friday, February 21, 2014

Obanikoro Condemns Forced Closure Of Lagos Market For APC Registration

Nigeria's former Ambassador to Ghana and chieftain of the Peoples Democratic Party, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro, has condemned the forced closure of popular Lagos market, the Abibatu Mogaji Model Market in Iponri, in order to enforce traders' registration with the All Progressives Congress.

Obanikoro, in a statement on Wednesday, said it was heartless that the market was shut for 10 days all in a bid to force the traders to register with the APC.
The statement quoted Obanikoro as saying the bigger shame in the shenanigan of the APC was that it was not even the Lagos State Government that shut the market but Folasade Tinubu-Ojo, the daughter of a former Governor of the state and National Leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

He said it was shameful that such action could be carried out by Tinubu-Ojo under the authority of being the leader of market men and women in Lagos, a position not recognised by the law.
Obanikoro said the forced closure of the market by Tinubu-Ojo with the usage of policemen who are being funded with tax payers' money, was an assault on the sensibilities of Lagosians, as it portends grave danger for democratic rule.

He added: "What this means is that anyone who has the backing of the powers that be and with the government looking on helplessly because the daughter of the godfather that installed it was involved, can carry out any illegality using the instruments of the state.
"This is one of the dangers and why people oppose the creation of state police.
"I can imagine what would have happened if the police was under the direct control of the toothless Lagos State Government in any matter that involves the Tinubu family, which it dreads to high heavens."

Obanikoro equally faulted the forceful collection of between N500 and N1,500 from the market women, a development he said was akin to collecting from the have nots to feed the selfishness of the already super rich.
He said despite the claim by the APC of being a welfarist government, its actions only tend towards dictatorship and further impoverishment of the people, adding: "This is what a responsible government will never do."

Obanikoro urged the people of the state to prepare to vote out the APC in 2015 in order to pave the way for a truly representative government.
Reports in the media had it that upon the closure of the market, Tinubu-Ojo demanded N5 million from the traders for reopening.
Another pre-condition for the reopening was the presentation of the APC membership registration card by the shop owners.

Tinubu-Ojo confirmed this development to newsmen. 
She said: "We have opened the market. 
"I sent some people to open it. 
"Yes, we collected money as fine, which is the norm in the market. 
"But I don't know what other thing you are talking about."

35 comments:

1. *sigh* I read the story in the punch newspaper but it said the stalls were locked up because they traders were owing rent; though she confirmed she demanded 5million naira plus extra 500,000 and I was like what kind of lawlessness is this? She also confirmed demandidng APC membership cards before she would attend to anybody, yet the so called progressives have been keeping quiet! If it was PDP they would have issued malicious press release and whatnot!
    I wonder why APC is yet to comment on the drama playing out in Osun state schools too! While Fashola is trying to ban hijab in Lagos state schools, Ogbeni is destroying the ancient landmark some people built and I ask myself if its the uniform that would make pulpils perform well! Smh
    #AntiAPC

1. Amaka ur head dey there_APC will be worse than PDP,for d first few yrs if voted in,dem go dey pretend buh when dem don balance,y'all will start wishing u left PDP to continue. If there's any good Independent Candidate next year,then ama vote if not eh,I'll so keep my ass @home cos I don't have time n strength to waste cos obviously APC=PDP. Their desperation is appalling. And we no more need leaders who so desperately wanna steal from us with lil or nuffin to show for it.

If only we youths will put our tribal n religious differences aside n do wot we ought to_we'll really get rid of people robbing us big time.

2. Amaka I beg to disagree with on the Ogbeni aspect of the school reformation in Osun state. Many people are just screaming blue murder where there is none. Ogbeni's mission with the mergence of schools is because he wants every one, that is the christian and Islamic schools, to become ONE.
      ....He didn't ask the schools to merge on the basis that they are to become Islamic schools, no. He wants to eradicate the spiritual division with schools in Osun. What they are to wear is a school uniform and not hijab or robes. So how is this Islamic as many of u are suggesting? Mind u this was done with the govt public schools, not the private ones. Why should going to school be aligned with any religious beliefs anyway? If the children want to learn they should go and learn, rather than to start any spiritual strife because of bias. I think I like his style. They should all learn under one umbrella. A school should be a school irrespective of your spiritual doctrine

2. She for admit? Dis is rly stupid wat APC members r doin,an old woman asked me yesterday if d on going INEC registration will soon close n i had to explain to her dat it's not INEC registration but APC,n a lot of ppl has been deceived into registering not knowing it's for a party. If APC is dis desperate to rule d country then one can't help but wonder wat they'll do if n wen power gets to their hand.

For heave sake some of these women earn their daily meal frm there, n sm for d whole family. God bless my country

3. Thieves! Oloriburku! u shot down the market just to make them vote for APC, na by force? Must they vote for APC? Upon that you are demanding 5million Naira! Haba! From the way things are going, I see a government of dictatorship after this election! democracy is on death roll already waiting to be murdered in 2015, no more liberty, God help us!

4. I think this was a very mean act, no consideration whatsoever for d traders n their livelihoods. Very selfish people

Click my name for all your celebration cakes n cupcakes, Cheers

5. May God help us In this country and give us the grace to help ourselves too...Tinubu has been turning Lagos state into his foothold it didn't just start today...i wonder when he'll be probed...by the way, those supporting him to become President or whatever,i hope you all are prepared for dictatorialism! All this freedom of speech will just die down In a second and all those abusing Jonathan now,i hope they'll live to abuse Tinubu then when he finishes with them!

6. please how can i get stella's blog app on my android phone.

7. This is a very shameful act thank God there's no state police lagosians would have been a dead zone..fashola is talking about mini skirt and smoking and now he ve not said anything about this babaric act.APC una own don finish o

Banks

8. Even if they re decieved or forced to register in APC,on the day of the election they will vote who they wnt or d party they wnt to win...

9. Highest level of lawlessness. I wonder when we will have leaders that will care for the common man's plight? When I Nigeria's case looks hopeless, people will call me a pessimist but the truth is that I'm a realist.

Yaron Allah

10. this is preprostetrous ,obliguous , agradizinating of the masses! all i know is APC (Association of Past Criminals) are upto no good. especially Tinubu he really sees himself as a demi-god. as for the dauta dey'll soon do her 40days if she's not kiaful cos dat jazz go fail am. especially when it comes to dis poor mkt women sweat.

#Fashola i dont see u coming back for any post o, cos u r now messing up!

11. Stupid woman, that is what they do all over lagos market even street, God is watching but for how long should the people of Nigeria watch dis people play gods with our lives, the time is now say no to any form of oppression

12. Pls mind ur business, what concerns you. Meanwhile this ur story is false, how can they close a mkt for 10 days so dat people can register, how feasible is that. Stop misleading people .

1. Anon, it is our business because we have no other country save Nigeria. For how long shall we continue to play ostrich? For how long shall this I don't care attitude continue? It is very true; our data plan shouldn't be used to read gossips only, we should learn to read newspapers online, it won't hurt. Civil servants are also being forced to register inugo? Be guided before commenting. Thanks and God bless you.

13. The Mark of true democracy is nor in the rule of its majority but in the protection of its minority..Chimamanda Adichie
    What we have here are rulers and not leaders; until we understand the difference between Autocracy and democracy,then we have a government.Socialism confuses me,like an autocracy that desperately wants to be seen as Democratic capitalism, until we Nigerians can understand the rule of checks and balances here;then let's talk about a new government. APC,PDP,APGA etc are just politicians that dislike the rule of law,Veto power is all they seek;Good morning FAM

1. Err, kaycee you see I like you but socialism? Nigeria isn't a socialist state; democratic capitalism? Keep it simple dear. We need attitudinal change.

14. Lawlessness. ...only in Nigeria .

15. Niqeria is juz one biq fat joke. Wonder wenall dis shit will end. Mtchew

16. Why can't I. Comment on your blog even with my PC. Kept telling me html error

17. Ya'll Can see Fashola, Abike Dabiri, and the likes are all bunch of nonsense. How can you deprive the our hard working mothers, sisters, brothers from their daily hustle? Because you guys are in power? Very soon, Bomb Blast will be rampant in Lagos and it will start with your houses. We are here making it and when we get to Nigeria, we will unleash it in your zones.. #NO #JOY. Una think say we run go settle down for yankee abi? Make una no worry.. The BUSH MEAT GO HUNT THE HUNTER SOON. STUPID PEOPLE.

SEE DEM VEXING FOR JONA FOR REMOVING APC AND BOKO HARAM SPONSOR. Stupid people.

18. ARE OUR DIFFERENCES NOT ENOUGH ALREADY?

(A Response to Chimamanda Adichie’s “Why Can’t He just be like Everyone Else”)

I read Chimamanda Adichie’s article, titled “Why Can’t He just be like Everyone Else”, wherein she made a case for homosexuality and condemned the law prohibiting it on the basis that we are different. I read the said article with that painful smile on my face. Painful because ...I realise how weak man is especially when the foundation of his ideologies are standing solely on his intellect rather than guidance. Smile because I marvelled at the beauty of truth; truth is so beautiful falsehood cannot be truly beautiful no matter how beautifully presented

Let me begin by telling you how different I am; I prefer heat to cold, I find “how are you” disrespectful, I admire naive people, and I think News is overrated, yet I am normal and if you knew me you’ll agree. I also know a normal person who asked if he will be allowed to farm in heaven, and another normal person who is left handed when he writes and right handed when he eats and left handed again when he has to lift an object only to be right handed one more time when what he is lifting is money. Even in physical preference I know the mass of normal women who speak of 6 packs as what they wish for in their husbands and I also know one normal lady who says a man has to have pot belle to be appealing; no kidding! Indeed we are a people so different

19. Now consider the case of Armin Meiwes. One day in 2001 he was so different he posted an advert online saying he was "looking for a well-built 18- to 30-year-old to be slaughtered and then consumed". And you will think the world will say who is this psycho but Bernd JĂ¼rgen, an Engineer from Berlin, was interested because he was “different”, he was so different he wanted to be eaten, to him that was the peak of sexual gratification. Now this kind of different is really really different and it opens our eyes to the fact that the “different” we accept should have limits. But let us conclude this oddly interesting story later

Firstly, Adichie spoke of how it was unfair and unjust to outlaw homosexuality because it is not a crime. She hinged her submission that homosexuality is not a crime on her own premise that a crime must have victim or harm society and when two adults who so happen to be same sex choose to love each other there is no crime because there is no victim. We hope to respectfully ask our dear writer; by your ‘no victim no crime’ premise does it follow that if a man of 45 decides that he is in love with his daughter of 25 and she loves him too romantically then there is no crime in their having sex? If there is please who is the victim?

Furthermore we want to ask, again very respectfully, how about when a man drives a car heavily drunk but he drives it properly and there was no accident, no victim. No crime? How about a couple, and we have seen such, who say they are in an “open relationship” in other words the husband says ok my wife is allowed to have sex with whoever she likes and the wife says my husband is also free to have sex with whoever he likes; no victim; no crime? How about a superbly skilled fellow who does Surgery without qualification but meanwhile all his patients are healthy and all operations he has carried out so far were successful; no victim, no crime?

20. What a world it would be. There is indeed need for us to broaden our horizon on what a crime is. Man commits crime against others, some other crime he commits against himself, and some other against God. Homosexuality is a crime against society because it threatens our existence and shuts the door on the face of the next generation, it is a crime against self because it harms the body from Human Papillomavirus (HPV) to Anal cancer among other diseases and you can see this people practically falling apart, and it is a crime against God because He has prohibited it in all of His scriptures

Secondly, in the article, we are told that Nigeria has “real problems” and homosexuality is not one of them. Things like electricity, illiterate graduate, healthcare and violence crimes were listed. You see, real problem is when you don’t know what real problem is;

It is because we have life that we need health care, enjoy electricity, and hope to be safe from harm. So how come that which threatens our existence is not a real problem? There is this error of assuming moral issues are non-issues whereas for every “real” issue you produce there is a moral issue fueling it.

Those who stole your billions did not do so because they have paper fetish or the faces of Alvan Ikoko, Murtala Muhammad and the others on the naira notes were irresistibly handsome, they did so because of the same cravings we asked you not to create, not to fuel and not to defend but you called us “religious” like it was a bad thing and told us these were not the “real” issues. There is almost no single youth from among the crazed modernist we are raising who does not aspire to be rich, almost none will be satisfied with being able to provide food that will stretch the backs of his family, no, he is raised to always want more courtesy of songs and movies that promote this materialism but then it is not a “real problem” so if I say for example that laws should be made to stop people from glorifying wealth and promoting illicit sex via entertainment, I will be told these are not the “real problems” forgetting that the “real problems” would not be there if these matters were properly handled; the politician who imports girls from all over the world with the money meant to build schools would have been satisfied with his wife if not for the promotion of pornography both raw and subtle, the contractor who inflates prices and abscond with contract money still would have been satisfied with the little he is making if not for our glorification of riches and the Minister lady will not drive a car worth 255 million if there were no cars produced for that amount of money. We must know the real issues; our sanity, honour, and morals are some of them and even an homosexual person agrees homosexuality is immoral only he attempts to relegate morality

21. IS THIS NOT THE TIME FOR REVOLUTION? I CAN MAKE BOMBs IN LESS THAN 3 MINUTE. LET BLOW ALL THESE BAD POLITICIANS. TINUBU YOU DEY FORM DON ABI.. WE DEY WAIT FOR YOU FOR CHICAGO.. THIS TIME NAIJA GO CARRY BREAKING NEWS. #WATCHOUT

22. A paper for payment of 4500 naira for aso ebi for the one year remembrance party for Abibatu Mogaji was shared last week in Oluwole market with threat of shop closure if payment is not made. I wonder when buying aso ebi became compulsory. This high handedness is getting out of hand and Fashola needs to look into it.

23. I forsee heavy bloodshed in 2015! God pls save us from the hands of blood thirsty men.

24. Anti Christ tinz..

25. Nigerians never see anything, the day Nigerians make the mistake of voting APC into power that is when they will know this people are real DICTATORS.

26. ode it's not a Fashola decision.

27. since the onset of democracy, i just go to register for a voters card and sit at home. Why? The first time i wasn't convinced, second time my house was far away from there and there was restriction on movement, third time my house was too far and there was restriction on movement, moreover i was not convinced. So this time will be the same. The hell! let us boycott these elections for once! When the revolution speaks, i pity the likes of tinibu and co even the pdp folks. These touts that they use need political education and some real form of enlightenment; some means of livelihood. They need to know what it means to have an honest living. That Tinubu-Ojo should really fear for her future because when the revolution speaks there'd be nowhere for her to hide. This is bullshit! I am thoroughly riled up!

28. The idoit even comfirmed it I weep for my country I keep saying it that APC is the worst thing to happen to my dear country the devil you know is better. God bless Nigeria.

29. Voting APC into power will give birth to multiple Apero {touts} to APC states, god fatherizm.etc