Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Americas Most Hated Westboro Church Founder Fred Phelps Is Dead.

Friday, March 21, 2014

Americas Most Hated Westboro Church Founder Fred Phelps Is Dead.

Phelps told the Wichita Eagle in 2006 "If I had nobody mad at me what right would I have to claim that I was preaching the Gospel?"

Fred Phelps -- the founding pastor of a Kansas church known for its virulently anti-gay protests at public events, including military funerals -- has died.
The 84-year-old died of natural causes at 11:15 p.m. Wednesday, according to church spokesman Steve Drain.

Phelps founded Westboro Baptist Church of Topeka, Kansas, in 1955 and molded it in his fire-and-brimstone image. Many members of the small congregation are related to Phelps through blood or marriage.
In a statement Thursday, the church chided the "world-wide media" for "gleefully anticipating the death."

"God forbid, if every little soul at the Westboro Baptist Church were to die at this instant, or to turn from serving the true and living God, it would not change one thing about the judgments of God that await this deeply corrupted nation and world."

According to Westboro, the church has picketed more than 53,000 events, ranging from Lady Gaga concerts to funerals for slain U.S. soldiers. Typically, a dozen or so church members -- including small children -- will brandish signs that say "God Hates Fags" and "Thank God for Dead Soldiers."
Phelps was often called "the most hated man in America," a label he seemed to relish.

Under Phelps' leadership, Westboro members have preached that every calamity, from natural disasters to the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting in Newtown, Connecticut, is God's punishment for the country's acceptance of homosexuality. Phelps had advocated for gays and lesbians to be put to death.

"Fred Phelps will not be missed by the LGBT community, people with HIV/AIDS and the millions of decent people across the world who found what he and his followers do deeply hurtful and offensive," the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force said in a statement.

Phelps began his anti-gay protests in Wichita in 1991 after complaining that the city refused to stop gay activities in a public park. He rose to national notoriety in 1998, when Westboro members picketed at the funeral of Matthew Shepard, a Wyoming man who was tortured and murdered because he was gay. Phelps and his church carried signs that said Shepard was rotting in hell.

The Southern Poverty Law Center calls Westboro Baptist Church "arguably the most obnoxious and rabid hate group in America."
In 2011, the Supreme Court upheld Westboro's right to picket military funerals on free speech grounds. Congress and several states, though, have passed laws aimed at keeping church members at a distance from funerals.

In 2013, more than 367,000 petitioners called on the White House to legally recognize Westboro Baptist Church as a hate group. The White House called Westboro's protests "reprehensible" but said that "as a matter of practice, the federal government doesn't maintain a list of hate groups."

The Anti-gay preacher once fought for civil rights...CNN

39 comments:

1. RIP... I dunno y sumbody will hate so much. Wat if dy r gay? Leave God to judge

1. Stop it biko, ah ah. All the Lazaruses that were scriptural lyrics depicted as wishing to be sent back to warn their loved ones nko? Remember what God said? Can God even raise an end time army in this perverse generation sef. With all these "leave God to judge and just act like U can't see " attitude.
      God dey oh

2. God bless U @ anon 851.

3. God bless U @ anon 851.

4. leave God to judge ko leave God to judge ni. That's why folks like u keep living in debauchery!
      I love this man! Wish i can do this!!!

5. His hating gays isn't an issue,cos gay is bad!but going as far ass being judgemental to pple and saying they are suffering cos of their sins and all is so silly and selfish!even Jesus said 'he without sin cast the first stone.
      The man try sha,84yrs!make him go answer for dat side'!

6. It wasn't Lazarus asking to be sent back oh! It was the rich man...wanted someone to go and warn his brothers. That's how MJ said in his song that 'God has shown us by turning stones to bread'!

2. Am really touched that there are still people in that Sodom n Gomorrah who still have d fear of God_I pray he's resting in d bosom of our Lord

Lord help us to stand out for u in this perverse and doomed generation amidst the persecution n hate for people who decide to stand for u and u alone.

3. May his soul RIP..... wen ppl like dis die,i jst wish there r bloggers on d oda side who wd tell us abt their judgment or where they end up.

4. 10 u Jesus 4 d breath of life!!!! And 2 anon following around, make sure u hold ur umbrella, n transport fare o, cos we v a long journey 2day n u ain't coming in my car!!!##yeye dey smell###

5. No matter how much you hated sir,
    For your stand on homosexuality I love you even though you were rather harsh and I can understand the pain of the parents at the funeral while you were brandishing that hate message , God said we should always practice Love as christians. Yours was almost vile and judgmental but I take a stand with you against homosexuality.

6. May his soul rest in peace

7. RIP Sir but God will be the ultimate Judge!You can always express your dislike for something,preach about it to your congregation but going all out at a soldier's burial is not acceptable at all....The gay man might or might not go to hell cos you don't even know his state of mind before he passed......Our God is a merciful God and he's always willing to forgive!If God is that kind,human beings should equally emulate him or try to.

1. he did his. Do urs! He was right thru n thru. If u have a glimpse of God's feeling towards that act u will be filled with fear n never touch it again! Why do u think God cannot ehold sin that He had to send Jesus to make things right? Cuz He would have just ended many lives at the slight of a whim. Imagine the ground swallowing people n crushing them for bringing strange fire and incense to Him. Hmm... Fear God oooo. He doesn't take rubbish even if He is merciful!!!

2. †̥ђα̲̅†̥'s the mistake you pple keep making..you will see Ʊя brother goin waywards you say God is merciful..so sin shud continue bcos there is grace..one day that unfriutful tree will be cut off..forget state of mind,bring Ʊя broda back to the fold.. God yet merciful,is a consuming fire!

3. How will God forgive someone that doesn't acknowledge he his guilty nor ask for forgiveness..som will still claim gay even on their deathbed..mtew

4. See thieves, liars, fornicators, adulterers and murderers stoning homosexuals oooo. Comot d mountain from your eyes before you remove the mole in anothers.

8. May his soul rest in peace

9. RIP preacher... i hope u make heaven

1. there is no way in this world that u'd do God's work to the letter and be loved. I have experienced it. No way! If they hated christ and deemed him condemned to death then u can think of how his followers will be. Whoever names the name of Chrust should depart from iniquity. Sides God is looking for a repentant heart among those who are faggots and lesbians. If he sees it, he sends in his soldiers and angels for timely conviction and conversion then a soul is saved. Did d prodigal son have peace when he derailed? Is it not when he came back repenting and asking for forgiveness that he was restored? You people will be saying let God judge. Let me tell y'all God has judged the world and found it unworthy. It's only by His grace that everyone is living and moving.

2. Renee, please shut up. You are beginning to disgust cyberspace.

3. and why should i shut up? Does the truth shock u? Better wake up!

10. Rip fierce buh judgemental preacher#no1 shuld do God's wrk,killin gays or homo s bad,buh homosexuality s a terrible sin. EVE E UME

11. Well RIP if u deserve it... God's word has always been that of love n not that of hate so no matter how upright or holy u think u are, once u have hate in ur system I'm sorry I can't listen to wat u have to say. U can't be a man of God n wishing pple death, not possible so Mr Preacher ur just a sinner like me... Enjoy ur dead life!

12. Only God can judge n knw his final destination. Sleep on sir! RIP.

13. Better the world hates you and heaven recognizes you..kilode..we keep sayin "God will judge,leave dem gay alone"..but they will have died before judgement comes now..let us help our brothers and speak against homosexuality..don't just fold Ʊя arms cos one day it will 'consign' you.. The devil isn't sleeping..mtew..it is well

14. Some of you guys are such hypocrites, you commit adultery, fornication and many other sins and yet you have the nerve to hate gay people. How can you stand what this man stood for? There is no sin greater than the other, if you see being gay as a sin, then those of you who fornicate or even lie and so on are all sinners. Please do not judge, God is the only one who can judge. SAY NO TO HOMOPHOBIA!!!

1. Please tell them. This man n his followers would disrupt the burial services of fallen soldiers that fight to protect the country most of their brothers and sisters live in just because he hates war. Sir, God would judge alright

15. ruby and co stop fooling your self......God does not correct without seeking to lead the person to Christ....the man was just a self righteous hater and went about his stand the way Jesus will not do..Christianity is not saying..God Hates Fags" and "Thank God for Dead Soldiers.....Jesus will not go to the funeral of one who dies in sin and carry a sign that they are going to hell..yes we know that if you die as an unbeliever you will go to hell but Jesus will correct you in love......correction in Christ is saying God hates your act of sin but he loves you....come to him as you are and he will help you change to a better person.....his so called kind of Christianity will not lead anybody to Christ......love people and tell them of Gods love, encourage them to develop a relationship with God and see how they will begin to drop bad habits like its hot......that is true Christianity....

1. My dear friend, true we r sinners but don't say wat u do not know go to gal 5:19 read the xtics of d flesh and tell me if God is smiling... Think!

16. renee which Gods work have u done? its amazing how people are so judgemental and cant tell the difference between self righteaousness.......nobody is saying dont correct but you are not the holy spirit and you cannot change anybody......you let them know God hates the sin but you cannot treat them like a virus and they will take you and your God serious......the venom and the hate people have spewed on gays in Nigeria how many testimonies have u had of converts? do you correct them in love? do you feel that your sin of adultery and fornication is better cos is man to woman? you can never change a human being when you are judgemental......i am a believer, spitit filled and i have always told people i know here and abroad God hates homosexuality but i maintain my stand that we dont have any right to put them in jail for 14 years.......we can refuse them to marry by law that is fine....this man did not have the spirit of Christ in him so he suffered in vain.....when he tells me the number of people who became born again through him then we can talk....homosexuals have always been amongst us even in Africa, the only reason they are now bold is because the same society is advocating human rights so are they not humans? what God expects of us is to preach Christ to all humanity and the holy spirit will do the rest.......he was just a modern day pharisee...

1. what sin of adultery and fornication???? My friend speak for urself abeg??? You ask what God's work i've done??? Do you want me to employ you as my publicist??? Nodu ebeafu na ekwusaliokwu!!!

17. Oh no! Grandpa is gay.....find out more on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com