Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: APC To Unveil Manifesto On Thursday

Monday, March 03, 2014

APC To Unveil Manifesto On Thursday

The All Progressives Congress (APC) is set to unveil its manifesto, designed as a "Roadmap to a New Nigeria", at the Party's National Summit to be held in Abuja on Thursday, March 6th.

The Interim National Publicity Secretary of the party, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, said in a statement issued in Lagos on Sunday that the Road-map will detail the party's priorities in fixing the wide spread failings of successive PDP governments since 1999, in order to bring hope and succour to the long-suffering people of Nigeria.

It said the manifesto was a product of an empirical and painstaking process embarked upon by the APC, in a deviation from the old practice of packaging a party's manifesto on a whim.

''With conditions deteriorating throughout Nigeria, with security an ever increasing concern, with the lack of jobs pushing families and young people further and further into poverty and with new stories of corruption within the PDP government appearing day after day, the APC decided to commission the largest ever public opinion survey in Nigerian history to determine the current status of things in the nation directly from those who knew best - the actual people of Nigeria.

''The results were even more revealing than the APC had anticipated: When asked, 'If the election were held today, would you vote for Goodluck Jonathan or the candidate of the All Progressives Congress', the APC candidate held a ten-point lead over the President. By a margin of 44% to 34% (with 22% undecided), the APC candidate was the clear national choice.

''When asked, 'In general, do you think things in Nigeria are going in a good direction or bad direction', by a staggering more than two-to-one margin (50%-24%), Nigerians responded that the country was going in a bad direction. When asked, 'What issue would you like the President and National Assembly to focus on most', an overwhelming majority (60%) said jobs was the dominant issue that the government should address.

''And then when asked if they found the following statement convincing or not, 'Goodluck Jonathan has done nothing to create jobs, and far too many people are still unemployed', decisively, 58% of Nigerians found that argument about Jonathan convincing. Finally when asked if Jonathan was doing a good or bad job fighting corruption, 59% Nigerians thought Jonathan was doing a bad job fighting corruption.

''The voice of the people was clear: The nation is going in the wrong direction. The nation wants change and would not vote to re-elect Jonathan in part because the number one issue to Nigerians is jobs and the nation believes Jonathan has no credibility on the issue of job creation,'' APC said.

According to the party, the unveiling of the party's manifesto, designed with the survey results in mind and the real needs of the Nigerian people made evident by the people themselves, will be the clearest indication yet that the Movement for Change has indeed begun.

Alhaji Lai Mohammed
Interim National Publicity Secretary
All Progressives Congress (APC)
Lagos, March 2nd 2014

6 comments:

1. Could they just shut up? Are they not the same people who were in pdp?
    Well, their failure will be if they put Buhari as their presidential flagbearer, besides, everybody knows the next president will come from whichever party Obasanjo belongs to cz that's just what they have turned Nigeria to.......

2. I laugh in Swahili; what have you done with your majority; all you do is compare;curse out and destroy, then you push the blame to the President. Do something as a political party to convince us,don't just give us paper work;we know you are all the same;you just want power by all means.

3. Lai the lair...pls tell us the instruments used In carrying out the reseach...playing politics of bitterness...must pdp be ur major achievement?...character assasination will get u all nowhere...awon ole...they are forming innocence. Oshisco

4. It's quite impressive that the pple feel this way abt d present govt, and are voicing it out,but the main point is dat in nigeria d pple do not hold d power for a candidate or a political party to win election,who holds the power is INEC and political thugs of the incumbent govt,the voting results at the end of d day will be quite different from the statistics above!well unless a miracle happens,i believe in miracles too...long life the federal_corrupt republic of naija!

5. Birds of d same feathers APC&PDP u ve failed us,"Nigerian kids deserve to live. They are not politicians and should not be used as pawns. 20 female students where adopted by Boko Haram, and we know they will be used as sex slaves. Now over 30 students were slaughtered like rams and their hostel burnt down. Its business as usual. NO! We must do our little part to put an end to this, lets make March 3rd The Nigerian Child Right to Live day. All dp, and status update should reflect this. It is time we speak with one voice. Any of those kids could be ours. Our government must learn to value life. Share if you believe the future of Nigeria is in our children, and they deserve to live. This (Save9ja Campaign) might just be the spark that will ignite change for our future.