Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Orji Says Multiple Taxation Is A Menace In Abia State

Thursday, March 20, 2014

Gov Orji Says Multiple Taxation Is A Menace In Abia State

The issue of multiple taxation has been a problem to the state government as it has lost huge amount of money to the menace.
Abia Governor, chief Theodore Orji  stated this at the Government house, Umuahia when he met with the Aba Chamber of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (ACCIMA).

He regretted that despite efforts to tackle the menace which is perpetrated by Aba people the menace has continued and promised that government is not folding its arms.
Chief Orji said that as part of measures to check the problem, it has set up a special committee to address it and requested ACCIMA to submit names of their members to be included in the committee.

The Governor said his administration has done its best to improve sanitation of Aba but regretted that residents of the city were not cooperating with the government.
He stated that ACCIMA was an important body as the mouthpiece of the organized private sector and that he has tried to showcase the association.

According to him, he intends to be carrying them along in economic visits outside the country when the opportunity comes.
He said that government lacks the capacity to run businesses successfully and therefore should allow the private sector to so, maintaining that the role of government should be to provide the enabling environment for business to thrive in the state.

In his address earlier, the president of ACCIMA,chief Anthony Enukeme commended the cordial working relationship between the government and the ACCIMA which has led to the inclusion of members of the association in the entourage of the state for overseas business trips.

He appealed to the Governor to harmonize taxes/levies in Abia state to avoid multiple taxation which he said drives away investors.
Chief Enukeme frowned at the inhuman mode of collection of the multiple levies where police/ military personnel collude with the so called contractors to embarrass people in the name of collection of levies and taxes

8 comments:

1. Hahaha @blue ivy.
      U reminded me of someone.

2. The issue of multiple taxation in Abia State is well known.For a State gov.to lament over it,at best I regard it as pretentious.Worst still,this clown who is peforming through media hype for the past 6+years he had been gov.has refused to sign landed property titles.He through his inactions has driven a good number of investors from Abia.Did I hear somebody say that his inlaw,an ex-Senator Has the companies that collect these taxes.So who is fooling who?

3. Its too much biko. And T.Orji is very much aware of everything. Who provides the Police officers and bakassi boys they usually use to come harass us in our houses if not him? And why wont Aba pple constitute menace wen their roads are very bad/dirty? They should say something different. He is d most dormant Governor.

4. Gov.Orji is only pretending.He appointed the tax consultants.He has refused to sign TITLE DOCUMENTS OF PLOTS OF LAND.

5. O my good God, I bless ur holy name dat i can now comment!!!!!
    2 d anon dat tot i left Stella's blog n has bin following me all around like night shadow, HP u r gud? 4 record purpose, Stella remains my no 1 blogger followed by laila n den miss petite!!! I am a very busy woman unlike u dat is frustrated n has notin doing except 2 patrol n sign every blog's register!!!! Incase u r in my shoes n can't comment, just click on comments instead of d story.........