Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: N10b Cash On Jet - Reps Secure Travel Logs Of Diezani Alison-Madueke's Private Jet

Monday, March 24, 2014

N10b Cash On Jet - Reps Secure Travel Logs Of Diezani Alison-Madueke's Private Jet

The travel logs of the jet chartered by Petroleum Resources Minister Diezani Alison-Madueke are now in possession of members of theHouse of Representatives as they prepare to launch their probe of the N10 billion allegedly spent by her on the plane.

The logs, The Nation authoritatively gathered, cover the minister’s trips to China, South Africa, United States and United Arab Emirates.

There are also indications that the House may demand movement logs of the Challenger jet from the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN); Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA); and the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA).
One of the parastatals under the Ministry of Petroleum Resources has been fingered in the hiring and payment for the jet.

Upset by the media attention generated by what many Nigerians see as waste of public funds, the minister has suspended a foreign trip with President Goodluck Jonathan to prepare her defence for the House of Representatives.
Investigations in Abuja showed that some representatives have obtained travel logs of the minister which they intend to present to the Public Accounts Committee for verification from FAAN, NAMA and NCAA.

A reliable source said the fact-sheet available to some members indicated that the average cost of a trip on the jet was about $300,000.
It was also learnt that the parastatatal in question maintains the jet with $500,000 per month.

The source said: “This probe is a result of painstaking efforts by some members in the last one year. Some of these members, including those from PDP in the House, have secured the travel logs of the minister to and from Nigeria.
“For instance, she had been to China, South Africa, United States, the UK and the United Arab Emirates with the jet. At a point, the jet was relocated to Ghana when controversy arose on the jet in August last year.

“Even if FAAN, NAMA and NCAA decide not to release the records of movement of the Challenger Jet, these countries will oblige the House of Representatives. Also, the leasing company is foreign owned, it cannot hide the records if it wants to remain in business.”

Another source said: “We have identified some issues for Diezani as follows:

• What informed the hiring of the jet?

• Why will the parastatal be paying for the jet?

• Why will the minister travel in a private jet while on the delegation of the president to some countries?

• Assuming that the hiring of the jet was due to exigencies, what informed the extension of the privilege to members of her family as was the case during the 2013 Easter Break trip to Dubai in UAE?

“We are not after the person of the minister but we want probity in government. We won’t allow a serving public officer use the public treasury for personal purpose.
“And what we are doing is not new because a group, Crusaders for Good Governance (CGG), sent a petition to the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) on the same issue last year.”

But the probe has caused anxiety in the presidency following recurring scandals trailing cabinet members.
A source in government said: “The presidency is worried that the series of probes targeted at ministers might be attempts to bring down the government by some forces.
“We are waiting for the investigative process and how it will go. The government will certainly pay keen interest on the probe.”

Mrs. Alison-Madueke has already suspended an overseas trip with President Jonathan to her enable prepare her defence for the House of Representatives.
A source close to her said: “The minister is just upset with the allegation, she decided to cancel her schedule abroad to clear her image. She believes the allegations are too grave to ignore.

“She is already preparing her defence; she has devoted the weekend to do this. The minister has told everyone around her that there is a total misconception and misplacement of facts and purely an act of political blackmail against this administration

“By the time she is through with the facts and figures, Nigerians will know the truth. She was seriously upset that some people are personalizsing the issue. She said the figures they are quoting were exaggerated; when the Minister opens up, it will be revealing too.”culled

18 comments:

1. All diz our corrupt leaders, na God go expose nd punish dem one by one.

1. Why do I feel that Stella Oduah is the one propelling this probe on Dez? Not to say she didn't steal o, but it seems like a case of, if I go down, we all go down kinda thing. Esp since olofofos whisper say dem dey drag Oga blokos. Hian

2. SDK,in a meeting but I have to comment. Her downfall don reach. 9ja is a very bad nation where those in authority enrich themslves at our expense.
    Btw this chinko near me in dis meeting is smelling like a pot of garlic stew. Tufiakwa.

3. If the house likes, they can probe from now till whn Jesus comes, nufin will happen. Na today? Too many corrupt ministers in Jonathans cabinet. Makes me wanna carry my AK 47 and go open fire in Asorock
    *angry face*

1. Same here. I need a drone. No one can remove this wowan except God. Deziani and Okonjo are birds of the same feather.

4. They are probing just for the heck of it. Even if the woman pockets the whole Nigerian budget, GEJ won't touch her.

Armed robbers in Government.

5. Must she prepare her record didn't she have them with her to present instantly, she suspended her trip to go under ground and settle with both money and vanting period. We know every.

6. I have nevr trusted this woman after that subsidy ish, and here she is again. This tym around Mrs Madueke, if u are guilty peren! U must face the law.
    Mz-T

7. At d end of d day d whole tin will be swept under d carpet n it'll die a natural death,so I ask what's d point?
    To pain us?{no need for dat cos we've developed thick skin},
    for political reasons?{dat doesn't affect us},
    so whatever stupid reason they think they av? They shd suck it up,we're sooooo not interested, the reps opening ppl's yansh, r they without sins? Let dem eat n go,God will soon send our moses dat will deliver us frm d hands of these stupid thieves all of dem.....
    Abeg mk I go chop my kwiulikwuili wey dey micro wave.

8. Nigeria, the only place people are sentenced to death for stealing pepper, and others are celebrated and protected by the government for misappropriating and stealing Billions!

9. I am waiting patiently.

10. Tell yourself the truth.
    1)Do you really care if she's guilty or not?
    2)If they recover the missing billions or millions,will it create a better economy for you?
    3)According to NBS,54% of Nigerian youth are unemployed; will recovering the stolen cash create room for better jobs in Nigeria .
    4)The incompetence of NIS,CG and Abba Moro left 20dead in a country in a day; is he not still in office,what have we done?
    5)The political class doesn't make money from the capital market, they all make money from the Oil sector-will they ever stop accusing the same ministry for fraud?
    6)Polytechnics are on strike for 9months-do our politicians care about them?
    6)Young Nigerians are sitting at home jobless,some are home on strike-while won't the end result bring Terrorism and kidnapping; an idle mans is the devils workshop.
    7)Chinese and Indians and many other foreigners are treated better,get better employment,your government also train them-what has been/your benefit as a Nigerian, when you even fight to buy the oil.you produce.
    9)E.k Clark has a palatial residence less than 30minutes drive from.the venue of the confab-but will still collect 12million,and yet still wants allowances,so are the remaining; Femi Falana rejected, what did the public do-turn a blind eye and say in our minds,he's patriotic.
    We have to many problems and its really going to worse,we should stop attacking or cursing out when we don't want change;it starts from us fighting and believing in our institutions, the question is do we have one?

11. They should leave her to eat n go jareh..after all we she eats or not it doesn't change anythn in our economy nor does it provide jobs for the taeming unemployed youth

12. God will punish all these people. Na wa oh. Na so God go dey look us? Baba God please send down your fire over all our corrupt leaders. If they all die, we that are left will rule Nigeria.

13. Hmmmmm why would she travel on a private jet? Why can't she take a public flight first class ticket? The moni for servicing and maintaining the p jet will go a long way to help the youth if well managed. Gej wot is all dis happening with ur cabinet members? First minister of aviation next comes interior now petroleum Hmmmm even if u pay me 1million dollar will never vote for u.