Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan At The Commissioning Of The 2nd Niger Bridge + Abia Gov's Speech

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

President Jonathan At The Commissioning Of The 2nd Niger Bridge + Abia Gov's Speech

Praise God,after 20years of being on the drawing board,the second Niger bridge has been commissioned....this is indeed ground breaking history and a plus for President Jonathan's administration!

A SPEECH PRESENTED BY HIS EXCELLENCY, CHIEF T. A. ORJI (OCHENDO), GOVERNOR ABIA STATE AND CHAIRMAN, SOUTH-EAST GOVERNORS’ FORUM, AT THE OCCASION OF THE FLAG-OFF CEREMONY OF WORK ON THE SECOND NIGER BRIDGE, BY HIS EXCELLENCY, PRESIDENT GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN, GCFR, HOLDING AT ONITSHA, ON THE 10TH DAY OF MARCH, 2014

Today, we witness the making of history, and a promise being fulfilled to the people of the South-East Geopolitical Region, as our dear President, Dr Goodluck Jonathan, GCFR – flags-off the commencement of construction-work on the second Niger Bridge in Onitsha, Anambra State. 

Our people sincerely welcome Mr President and his entourage on this historic occasion.

The Niger Bridge is an important GATEWAY TO Onitsha and other commercial cities in the South-East Region and for several years the first bridge has borne the heavy traffic-flow that pass through the bridge as a result of the increasing commercial activities in our region, which has continued to contribute immensely to the economy of this Nation. 

This wear and tear on the first bridge has necessitated the urgent cries of our people for a second bridge; and for many years our people have put this demand on the front seat of our priority demands from the Federal Government. 

Mr President promised to attend to our request, and true to your promise to our people, you are here to flag-off the construction of this second bridge across the Niger. The entire people of the South-East Region are grateful for your magnanimity, and assure you of our cooperation and supports at all times.

We want to put it on record that the commencement of work on the second Niger bridge is just one of the many benefits the Federal Government is conferring on our Region at this time. 

We are presently witnessing the on-going work at the Enugu-Umuahia-Port Harcourt Expressway, and the declaration of a state of emergency on the restoration of all Federal roads in the South-East Region by the Honorable Minister for Works, Arc Mike Onolomemen.

We urge the Federal Government to concentrate on these projects to ensure their completion before 2015, so as to deepen the special positions they have on the hearts of Ndi-Igbo, who have resolved on their own to support Mr President if he decides to run for re-election in 2015.

The South-East Region and Ndigbo believe that Mr President means well for Nigerians and our people. 

You have enthroned equity in the Nigerian political system and given hope that all marginalized groups in the Nation, can find anchor and realization of their interests within a United and equitable Nigeria. That is why our region will do whatever it takes to work closely with you, so that equity, fairness and parity is achieved in the Federal Republic of Nigeria. 

Today, as you have shown in many occasions, you have again demonstrated that you are one President of the Nation, a change agent of transformation - that keeps your promise to the marginalized and the entire Nation. And as you flag-off the construction of this second Niger Bridge, our region is already counting on the blessings of accelerated economic benefits, and see new reasons to believe in you and the successful completion of this project in no distant date. 

I want to thank you once more for the event of today, for keeping your promise to the people of the South-East Region, and for the hope you bring to the lives of many Nigerians that this Nation will remain a land of opportunities for every citizen.

May God bless you for all you have been doing. 

Thank you

21 comments:

1. Stella I wish u culd give us Monday laughs Tuesday laughs u really make me love my weekends..

Dee frm tz

1. Bridge that will take another 20years to construct. I even thought they had finished construction from the header,not knowing they are just about to begin work

2. God bless and keep you mr president....we the ndi igbo are grateful and solidly behind you....

1. Shut up and keep quiet. When will this long awited change come. He is just doing his work.

2. Nice to know GEJ has his foot in the right direction. unfortunately we play so much politics that one begins to wonder whether this commission would translate to actual performmance of the construction work or whether this is a ploy to get ndiI igbo's vote for2015 or whether this is actually GEJ working

3. So this man has money to pay for advert.
    Asia is the worst state in Nigeria.
    If u enter Aba u wld run away.
    And don't be unfortunate enough to drive wen it rains. Even faulks Rd that leads to d famous market is terrible with no gutter.
    God please take me out of this horrible state.
    2014 is my yr!!
    I was finally b delivered from this state. IJN

1. I'm fm aba nd I'm so disappointed wit wht my place looks like.no gud drainage systemsand dirt everywhr.GEJ pls next tym dt red face cap man wants to talk in public,collect d microphone 4m him cs worms myt b on his hands

4. Good good good! How I wish GEJ has been this active since he came 2 power

*eats garri and kulikuli plus sugar*

*SUNNI 100%*

5. helo?? Asia in nigeria??

6. Good Works by the man Goodluck!!!

Oya, we're waiting for the full implementation of the fourth mainland bridge too *winks

7. Thank you Jesus.

8. very nice! I like this move by the president. Awesome! These are the type of things we look forward to in this country. Haaaa!!!! Jonathan is really putting this money to effective use. Oga, i am rooting for you this 2015. Another is the Umuahia, aba, port-harcourt corridor. That is a money spinning engagement. Imagine doing up that road to very high standards the types of businesses that could spring on that corridor. From hotels to schools, shopping malls, motels, honeymoon resorts, amusement parks, extra large ultra modern markets!!!! Wow! A whole lot of ideas could make that whole stretch so busy, migration can be curbed, enough jobs will be created for the youth in Nigeria. Haaa!!! Even palms shopping mall can do another one there. This can reduce crime because the police will be patroling that area 24/7 with the incessant activity as a form of encouragement to be vigilant. Even those thieves will think twice before engaging in their bloody venture. Haaa!!! I will be sooo happy. God bless Jonathan o!!!! God bless Madam Patience!!! God bless Nigeria!!!! One love!!! Yaaaaayyyyy!!!

9. Thank God.
    Finally!
    I pray the new bridge will be completed soon. The old Niger bridge freaks me out whenever I'm on it.
    Thank you JEG.

10. Lets wait and see Stella, commissioning of a project doesn't mean much, na to complete am, Lagos Ibadan expressway was commissioned the say way with pump and pageantry but how far?? All na political strategy.

11. GEJ TILL 2019.
    042 FOR LIFE.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA,
    LONG LIVE FRN.
    Paragon7ven.

12. Political crinkum crackum

The guy don begin hustle for 2015. As Madonna said, let's wait and see. No be commissioning be the koko na completion

13. T.A Orji is the worst Governor ever, he's started appearing and running around in the media like a lost fowl. It so so unfortunate that our leaders take us for granted. The issue of the civil servants in Abia state that he relieved their jobs asking them to go back to their various states is that the attitude of a normal human being muchless a leader? Abia state and Aba in particular stinks like hell, most of the roads are nothing to write home about and hes jumping up as south east governors forum chairman. Who are you governing? I guess urself. Wicked pple that think of only themselves. Nemesis must catch up wit u someday for the tones of pple you put in pain!!! God is watching!

14. Afta how many yrs
    Finally!
    I hope dey give it capable hands t oversee d project n bring it t completion in d stipulated space of time.

15. Afta how many yrs
    Finally!
    I hope dey give it t capable hands t oversee d project n bring it t completion in d stipulated space of time.

16. Thank you my dear President, nothing do you.