Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: RUGGEDMAN Deserves An Apology!

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

RUGGEDMAN Deserves An Apology!

According to THENETNG Rapper Ruggedman deserves an apology.....i tender mine right now!

It’s 2005 and there’s a huge debate in the Nigerian hip-hop community. Ruggedman has just released a new single titled ‘Ruggedy baba’ and it’s gaining massive buzz on radio, clubs and the streets.
The reason for the buzz was not just because the song was a damn good single which featured a bad ass hook from (former best buddy) 9ice, but because of the content – Ruggedman had stirred the hornet’s nest.

Just before that single dropped, there had been an argument about how Hip-Hop music (Rap) in Nigeria should sound. At the time, the two biggest Hip-Hop music acts were Modenine and Ruggedman. These two rappers were considered the authority on Hip-Hop; Modenine, a respected Hip-Hop icon, had led the SWAT ROOT ensemble to Lagos while Ruggedman was credited with crashing the KENNIS Musicmonopoly. Modey and Ruggedy now represented two types of Hip-Hop music in Nigeria.

Ruggedman came with the theory of infusing Nigerian dialect in Hip-Hop music. His reason was very simple: to sell, rappers needed to make their music more palatable to the average Nigerian listener. ‘Wetin go make them know where your music come from in the long run na the fusion of grammar, slang and your mother tongue,’ Ruggedman rapped on ‘Ruggedy baba’.

But the Hip-Hop heads were having none of it. This also included the likes of Modenine and a host of ‘us’. Yes, even I couldn’t (or maybe did not want to) comprehend what Michael Stevens was saying. How could he say we should dilute ‘our’ pure Hip-Hop music with Nigerian slangs or papa ti pa music? That was what we called ‘selling out’. We wouldn’t accept this, never!

It turned ugly; Ruggedman released his sophomore album (also titled ‘Ruggedy Baba’) and took major shots at Modenine and a bunch of faceless Hip-Hop heads like us. We felt insulted, even more insulted when the LP won ‘Best Rap Album’ at The Headies 2007 beating Modenine’s near classic ‘E Pluribus Unum’. Modenine, however, responded on his next album ‘Paradigm Shift’, nearly ending Ruggedy’s rap career.

But it’s nine years after and with this quick analysis of the biggest rap songs in the history of Nigerian Hip-Hop, Ruggedman seems to have been right all along.
In April 2013, NET published a special report on ‘The top 10 Nigerian rap songs from 1999’. They included: ‘Na Beans’ by Terry Tha Rapman; ‘Delicious’ by 2 Shotz and Big Lo; ‘Pon Pon Pon’ by Dagrin; ‘Ki Ni Big Deal’ by Naeto C; ‘Stylee’ by DJ Jimmy JATT feat. Modenine, 2face Idibia and Elajoe; ‘Ehen’ by Ruggedman; ‘Safe’ by M.I; ‘Oya’ by Da Trybe; ‘Elbow Room’ by Modenine and ‘Shake Bodi’ by Trybesmen. The list was then updated with Ice Prince’s ‘Oleku’ and Eedris Abdulkareem’s ‘Jaga jaga’.

Of these 12 songs, Modenine’s ‘Elbow room’ is the only song composed and performed in English. The others contain some form of Nigerian dialect.
Another way to look at it is the current list of hottest rappers in the country – Olamide, Ice Prince, Phynoand Reminisce. All these rappers are well known for infusing their dialects in their music.

So, Ruggedman was right after all; he envisioned what we were too stubborn to see at that moment.

Please accept our apology, or at least mine.''..culled

*if you read this writeup,what do you think?

42 comments:

1. I have no opinion since i don't listen to their music.

1. And you tuk d ist position with an empty brain

2. i didnt read jor............e no catch my eyez!

2. Yadda yadda yadda...
    I stopped at the third paragraph.

1. madam u dont need to comment on dis, wait for ur busy-body-housewives' gist... lol

3. I think I need a better paying job....it's time to get married biko, and my job ain't paying me.
    Buh i still thank Baba God o.

4. Tried to read, the soul was willing but the flesh was weak.
    E toooo long biko. No be say dem go pay person money to read am. We can safely conclude that the whole epistle is about telling Rugged man Sorry abi? Oya, Rugged, Sorry although I don't know for what reason. Sha, ma binu!

1. Lwkmd
      Asin the flesh was too weak...I started reading and yet forgot what and who I was even reading about
      So stella you want me to read all this, maka why now
      Mehn its not in the syllabus of life

2. Look at them, olodos. All they know is how to suck dicks.

5. Ok we haf hear, I accept d apology on his behalf.

Signed
    Rugged Man's PA.

1. Like John the baptist, Ruggedman's mission was to prepare the way for the (rap) messiah. This he has done and his job (perhaps career too) is over
      - NAIJA MADIBA

6. Stella you are mother, I don't expect you to be listening to rap music at your age. Except you refuse to grow up.

1. Hian!....Mothers don't listen to rap music?
      Idikwa funny

2. This is music analysis and appreciation.

Music is an art that transcends age .

This article is purely about rap music history in Nigeria from the writers point of view and Stella accented to the writers view...wetin come join motherhood and growing up to the history of rap?
      *confused face*

3. Your mother ....

4. Okay.
      I thought it wasyour father.

5. Obo captain, how market?

6. Wetin your mama dey sell?
      I hardly reply but I have enough time today.
      Nuisance

7. @una mama, hahaha u want to kill me oh. Obo captain indeed kikikikiki

7. Yay! I went to see my bf after over 2mnts apart nd we ve bn having nonstop sex i m soooo sore

1. Hope u ready for d outcome/babies?...cos I will be here waiting patiently for u wen u will say am confused don't knw if to abort or keep it..continue having sex nonstop u hear !!!!!don't close ur legs n read ur books.

8. True talk.
    Phyno rocks
    Olamide rules

1. Phyno Rules, Olamide Rocks. Ruggedman, please do you still rap?

2. Yes I still dey rap

3. LOL @TIENNE RUGGEDY AKA Ruggedman.

9. Well,he kinda started d trend though.He didn't envision it,he wanted to somthn new and he could meet up to d standard of others esp in punch,lines and accent.
    All d same,i lov d rhymes,beat and professionalism of Modenine and misses Barrak'o'grin like die.

OLUWÆßÖßßÝ

10. Awww..hmm... *speechless*

11. Is that a recent pic of Rugged? Erm, back to the question, infusion of local dialect makes it easy to sing along. I like listening to those that ordinarily can't speak their local dialect sing in that language. As for whether u owe Ruggedman an apology, I need an extra sheet.

12. I love rap and am a mother.
    yimu. lol

13. Thanks for that question because I didn't read the essay. LoL.

14. God bless the day Phyno came to Lagos;God bless his hustle.

1. Please u guys should convince phyno to be eating well. He looks like a roasted wall gecko

15. Yes Ruggedman, accept our apology

16. beyonce's bestie25 March 2014 at 16:18

Keep having sex o,olobo thank u,it doesn't matter how many people come on this blog to ask wether or not they shud have an abortion,or how stranded they feel,idiots like u will still celebrate fornication,pls continue having marathon sex,when he's done wiv u,ur eye will clear.

17. People come here and write shit!!! Many of y'all are so fucking Dumb!!! Ruggedy no we don't owe u an apology. But u deserve better recognition cos u revolutionalised the "game". Still dope BLESS bro

18. Question is why cant we have both? I think Mode9 is by far the best rapper and lyricist in Nigeria. But like in the US, pure rap never makes it in the mainstream. While NWA were being hailed as the best rappers, softies like The Fresh Prince, Tone Loc and Young MC were getting the awards. So while Mode9 will be getting the plaundits from HipHop heads, MI and co will be making the money.

19. It's too long pls...I no fit read am finish.....Whatever! I wish him all the best.

20. Oya na Ruggedy Baba , Ngwanu Ndo ooo, go do collabo with Phyno make yur name come out again..
    ~@Steph SucrE~