Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo-led Peace Panel Arrives In South Sudan

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Obasanjo-led Peace Panel Arrives In South Sudan

The African Union Commission of Inquiry on South Sudan has embarked on a 10-day mission to the country amidst renewed violence in parts of the country’s oil rich regions.
The Olusegun Obasanjo-led AU Commission of Inquiry arrived in Juba on Monday night, a statement by the AU media relations said on Tuesday.

Listed as members of the inquiry are Prof. Mahmood Mamdani, Ms. Bineta Diop, Prof. Pacifique Manirakiza and Lady Justice Sophia Akuffo and AUC technical support team.
The field mission is an effort to end the three-month political conflict.

The first violence broke out in South Sudan in mid-December last year, following an alleged attempted over-throw of the Salva Kiir-led administration.
The alleged overthrow was carried out by the ruling Party’s SPLM/A, an opposition group led by former Vice President, Reik Machar.

The violence continued unabated in some parts of the country leaving hundreds of thousands dead with no fewer than one million others displaced.
The displaced are reported to have taken refuge in neighbouring countries of Uganda, Ethiopia, Sudan and Kenya.
Renewed violence broke out on Thursday last week in Bentiu, an oil rich region between the two factions, killing more than 120 persons, who had taken refuge in a mosque.
According the UN officials in Juba, hundreds of others escaped into bushes and neighbouring villages.

According to the statement made available to NAN in Addis Ababa, the commission would hold consultations with President Salva Kiir and other top government officials including the Speaker of Parliament.
Consultation will be held with the Deputy Speaker, Defence Minister, Ministers of Security, Interior, Gender and Child and Social Welfare.
The commission is scheduled to also meet with the Commander of the Presidential Guard and Special Representative of the Secretary-General and Head of UNMISS.
The Commission will also meet with former Vice President Riek Machar and the opposition group.
It said, “It will conduct wide-ranging meetings with stakeholders including the Chairman of South Sudan Human Rights Commission, Chairman of National Assembly Human Rights Committee and Civil Society Alliance.
“Others are the Chairman of South Sudan Committee for National Healing, Peace and Reconciliation, Church leaders and the Community Empowerment for Progress Organisation, among others.”
The commission was established by the AUC Chairperson, Dlamini Zuma, on March 6 in pursuant to a decision of the 411th Meeting of the AU Peace and Security Council...Punch

18 comments:

1. Nonsense!

This is the same man that is flirting with APC and "codedly" yimu-ing GEJ. His backyard is on fire and he is doing peace mission to a country whose problems are probably less worse than his.

I mean, how many national figures have openly come out to condemn Book Haram in the strongest terms possible? Bloody money-grabbing two-faced backstabbing lilly-livered cowards!

We are well and truly f****d in Africa, especially in Nigeria!

2. True that,@first anon, but I prefer OBJ to GEJ brokering peace. GEJ is clueless. While OBJ would do the needful.

3. Lwkmd......"Obasanjo-led peace what?"........

4. Charity should begin at home nah,don't know the diifference btw south sudan and nigeria in terms of security

5. Bia Obj,how about boko haram?
    Hypocrite oshi, I see ur "open letter" is paying off!

Charity begins from home not outside

6. Baba oni Iyabode, the pride of Africa, ayanfe Eledumare. Baba, You will live long and dey kampe forever.

7. Hehehehehe…very funny!!! Has he made peace in his country?

8. Stupid people.. U have not finished sorting ur home problems...not even naija's problems o. Where are all ur kids? OBJ!!! Solve ur domestic issues first, then naija's issues b4 going international. Ewu! mee!

9. This is crazy

10. @Naturelle you're right. Charity begins at home. .....mummy Ada

11. Those of you codemning the man are truly daft! This same man traavelled to Borno at the very begining to meet with Boko Haram family members,were his advices & suggestions followed? The man don taya to talk nau.Now, he just minds his business & does his international things.

12. In fairness to OBJ, he intervened in the Boko Haram saga 2 years ago and was making headway until the cabal assasinated the man he was in talks with. i think he is worthy of the assignment. Remember what he did in Delta a few years ago. no time for yeye.... Aremo OBJ

13. Some people have no shame. Who is he fooling, he destroyed his home and he is a peace negotiator in foreign land. OBJ remove the speck in your eye before you remove the logs in other peoples eyes

14. I guess many of the under 21 children here were not wise enough when baba startes functioning under united nations and brokering peace globally.

15. He even contested for the Secretary General of the United nations ages ago. I think it was when B-B Ghali won. He's always seen himself as a statesman.

16. He is still very Presidential than your President GEJ. He is well respected all over the world. You guys should learn to appreciate people. Am sure those of you talking against this man are not student of history. Even as a non nigerian. What this man did in the southern hemisphere of africa are those benefits you guys are enjoying today and what we called freedom from tyranny and oppression.
    Most of you especially from the eastern part of nigeria are just too blinded with hatred. learn to love