Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bayelsa Abandons Medical Students On Scholarship In Russia

Tuesday, August 05, 2014

Bayelsa Abandons Medical Students On Scholarship In Russia

Bayelsa Medical Students Decry Neglect In Russia, Have Not Received Stipends In 14 Months

In Kursk, Russia,two dozen Bayelsa State medical students, in the country on government scholarship, are outraged, citing the egregious neglect and abandonment they have faced at the hands of the Bayelsa State Government.

For 14 months, the students have not received their allotted tuition fees and stipend money, an issue that has crippled their academic pursuits. Throughout these months, students have been denied of allowances for books, medical and health necessities, even for winter clothing and coats during the -20 degree Kursk winters.

Despite phone calls, letters, visits, and more to the scholarship board, The Bayelsa State House of Assembly, The Governor of Bayelsa state, The Ministry of Education, and the Deputy Governor of Bayelsa State, the students have received nothing: no funding, no response, and no answers. As September approaches, these students have been told they will not be able to resume classes without the required funds.

'*This is horrible....THIS IS CALLING ON THE GOVERNMENT OF BAYELSA STATE TO BRING THEM BACK HOME IF THEY CAN NO LONGER SPONSOR THEM

34 comments:

1. Na wa for naija o...why start something you can't finish?those students should be deported back ASAP.. before frostbite would finish them

1. This video brought tears to my eyes..... I was on federal government scholarship to d UK and they promptly paid us, even though some ppl tried to pinch our allowances at different points and later some other people's monies were delayed, I can honestly relate to this, being stranded abroad is d worst thing ever, guys if it gets worse pls come back. But I believe God will touch Seriake Dickson & co to promptly settle u guys.
      Orela, i've been watching u since, u r too ill mannered and foul mouthed & uncouth to be a doctor, if at all, u definitely sorted and slept ur way thru school, u probably didn't graduate, ur deportation prayer will come to pass in ur life...... u r a big disgrace

2. See this unknown moron....displaced person like you....is deportation not better than being a nuisance in a foreign land?abi are they are now refugees... You are a disgrace to yourself,your parents and your country.....
      With your fish brain you imagine everyone slept their way through school...if you are a prostitute as well as a destitute in the UK...sleeping on subway benches, not making use of basic amenities and saving the change you make by washing dishes hoping to form jando you had better have a rethink opt for deportation and try starting a trade back in your motherland..cause life is too short for you to believe your lies and vent your frustration. On my opinion...

See your mouth like if e get worse come back.... What can be worse than their plight...

3. And if they go and commit fraud out of desperation, they'll say they are a disgrace abi? I tire o

4. AdaDiUraNma love Hot Ice6 August 2014 at 12:28

Who are these noise makers! Ma oke, ma Elika now have mouth these days ontop SDK. Nawa o!!

2. Why send them out when they have no intentions of fulfilling their own end of the bargain? The students shld try n see if they can get jobs no matter how small to sustain themselves or find their way back home.

3. Hian!

This one na
    Motor jam police
    Police jam dog...

4. Yeeeeeee ist to. Comment. Bayelsa govt y na. Una for not start wetin una go. Finish.mtcheeeeeeeew!

5. Why start what u can't finish?! Nigeria and their ways!Bayelsa state government should do something about it ASAP!September is just a month away.

6. Bayelsa state!!!!"?????? Their way of politics dey tire me,they should bring them back if they cannot afford their school fees anymore . Nkwa ekwere ashawo na-elu bed

7. I watched the video up till the 2:31 mark and I just couldn't anymore. For crying out loud, why do we revel in embarrassing ourselves over 'little' things? How much does these students fees/allowance cost that the 'oil rich' Bayelsa State has abandoned them to fate? I just wonder how they've been surviving. I can't totally say I understand their plight but my heart bleeds seeing these young Nigerians like me been abandoned by their own state government. Hon. Seriake Dickson, the employer of Dame (Dr.) Patience Faka Jonathan as Perm Sec., can you sir, please, use your honorable office, if there's still any honor left therein, to without delay, do the needful. These students are in Russia for Pete's sake.

8. I av always bilivd dat dis scheme to "educate" d militants wasn't sustainable.
    N.B. Pls 4 d love of God d0n't talk trash, if u d0n't knw anytin about d region n psychology of d people.

1. Hmmmm.so you know alot about the region and psychology of the people.so in that peanut you call a brain you believe everyone on scholarship from nigerdelta are militants....you must be really stupid....it's the lots like you that made Nigeria the way she is.....wasted sperm you don't know your bearing hence you are a stranger to your self

2. Chai babes,u bad mouth ooh,u really cracked me up;can't stop laffin. Thumbs up...people should learn how to keep their mouths closed when they don't have anything constructive to say mbok.
      Bayelsa state Government pls wake up and help those students. They couldve have been children from your spring.
      #rootzy#

3. Anonymous 6:47. Why encourage insults here? Orela take it easy. U seem to love to cuss people to drive home ur point. Why??? I don't care if u wish to cuss me out too but it's very unbecoming. Haba!!!!!

4. @ 0rela dimples 0r whatever u call ursef, d h0ly b00k says tell a f00l he/she is a f00l lest he/she thinks he/she is wise. Having established ur stupidity, I am usually n0t in d habit 0f trying 2 help f00ls rationalise my th0t process but I will dis tym lest ppl tink u ar smart.
      Firstly, I drew fr0m my pers0nal xp 2 write what I wr0te abt d regi0n as regards d s0 called sch0larship scheme especially in d case 0f Bayelsa state whr 4 1 t0 qualify 4 d sch0larship, u either an b ex-militant 0r u g0t sm kind 0f affiliati0n with a g0vt 0fficial.
      It shud h0wever b n0ted dat dis trend isn't peculiar 2 just Bayelsa as it is als0 d n0rm in a place like kwara State. Besyds, I knw a c0uple 0f ex-militants wh0 were recipients 0f dis s0 called sch0larship scheme n h0w they live... Maybe I did av a little respect 4 0da "deserving recipients" when I meet em c0nsidering d fact that in Nigeria d right pers0ns d0n't get t0 enj0ys things like dis especially in d regi0n/state under discussi0n.

5. *enjoy
      I don't blame u @ Orela, I blame d system/parents 4 doing such a gud job. Ur attitude shows aw worthy u are in xter n learning. RIP MBBS

6. Stranger.....wipe your tears ehnnn...Oya take handkerchief
      na so my opinion pain you?so tey you type RIP
      Chop chin chin no cry again aunty would get you ice cream.

@sis eko...don't worry I won't curse you out but the truth is what's black is black and what's white is white.....the problem of some is stupidity and foolishness and they have to be told cause when there is revelation there is redemption... Stranger would be on a better course if he or she says bayelsa govt is misappropriating funds, stealing the money meant for the people of the state and putting the wrong people on the right place than saying the scholarship scheme was set up for militants the scheme was set up for the state is stranger saying everybody from that state are militants?

9. When will Nigerians start caring for their own!

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Goverment scholarship is always wack, let them go do something else and forget about the scholarship for gud....

11. Lol at this idiot! Who told you they are militants? Every State in Nigeria has a scholarship scheme. Otondo!

12. This fool!!! What do u know about Niger Delta? Student of psychology 😂

13. The scholarship is a disgrace.. Heard they havent paid other students in other countries as well.. but the Governor was talking on channels saying he released money.. thieves.. all of them

14. First off, nobody sending me to Russia for anything, even for free. Why Russia of all places?

Sending ppl to cheap places for cheap education and still cannot afford to pay.

15. Make dem no try Russia before dem bomb our plane o abeg. The fear of Russia is the beginning of wisdom. Bayelsa state government pls don't open our president to more scrutiny. Pay up now!

16. SCHOLARS IN UK ARE ALSO YET TO RECEIVE ANY MONEY O!!! WE ARE ALSO PREPARING OUR OWN VIDEO. BAYELSA STATE GOVERNMENT IS WICKED. THEY SENT US OUT OF THE COUNTRY TO KILL US.

17. @anonymous 4:56PM please where are you doing your video? I will like to be part of it. Thank You.

18. GOV DICKSON APPROVES N250M FOR STUDENTS IN RUSSIA, MALAYSIA, OTHERS; REAFFIRMS COMMITMENT TO THEIR WELFARE DESPITE DECLINE IN REVENUE.

05/08/2014.
    Governor Seriake Dickson has approved the sum of the N250m (Two Hundred and Fifty Million Naira) to offset the State government’s foreign scholarship obligations in Russia, Malaysia and other parts of the world.

This is coming after the state government had only a few weeks ago done same for its students in the United Kingdom.

The Governor, who also ordered the immediate release of the sum, restated his administration’s commitment to the welfare of all Bayelsans under government scholarships, stressing that, the state scholarships Board has been mandated to fast-track the remittance of the money to the students and the various institutions concerned.

He equally urged the students to be patient, assuring that, efforts were in top gear at ensuring that, the monies are remitted by the end of this month.
    Hon. Dickson expressed regret over the undue delay in the remittance of funds to the students blaming it on bank procedures, which must be complied with for such transfers to be effected.

He reaffirmed the Government’s resolve to fulfill its scholarship obligations, despite the unexpected decline in the State’s revenue from the Federation Accounts Allocation Committee (FAAC), assuring that, steps will be taken to forestall any delays in the process in the future.

On his part, Chairman of the Bayelas State Scholarships Board, Evangelist Foster Ogola, appealed to all students on state government scholarship to exercise restraint, as the board was doing everything humanly possible to ensure that, monies meant for them are remitted to them as and when due.

1. Usual propaganda from the government, let d students confirm first, plus Mr governor u can continue to give out money in d media, but till u confirm from d students personally that they got in then ur efforts are in vain, mnwhl ur middlemen, aides and scholarship board chairman should be sacked. CRIMINALS!!!!

19. It is like a general thing now even the federal government abandon more than 300 students still in Russia for getting to 8mins now, some of them graduated June but no money to buy flight tickets back soon their visa will expire and will end up being deported. .why will our government be so wicked and greedy.

20. Why take them them if they cant sustain them?

21. D don use the money organize pageant finish.

22. The Governor is busy organising economic summit.