Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola And How To Go About Boosting The Immune System.

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Ebola And How To Go About Boosting The Immune System.

Boosting ones immune system might also be another way of fighting the Ebola virus EVEN IF one gets it.
.....To be forewarned is to be forearmed and to be forearmed saves nine!
Please if you are a medical personnel or a health consultant,please educate us on how to really improve the immune system with what we have in the Nigerian environment.Please make recommendations that can be affordable to everyone.

I was going through the Nurse Justina post and came across this comment:

"Anonymous August 9, 2014 at 9:42 PM
For all those affected, they need to build their immune system. I'm a nutritionist and a doctor. Let them buy ForeverImmu blend tablets, forever aloe gel drink, forever nature 18 and follow d instructions. These are forever living products and trust me, even as a doctor, I have see the wonderful effects. Let them also drink a lot of pure beetroot and carrot juice-
using a juicer."

A reply under this comment:
"Anonymous August 9, 2014 at 10:53 PM
I actually attest to the beetroot. My son has sickle cell and takes 50cl of beetroot daily. He's never had a crisis for 4yrs. He's 5 now. Then he takes a lot of goji berries and flax seed oil- the Udo brand"

I'm particular interested about the benefit of BEETROOT in boosting the immune system. 

Please medical personnel on board,come in and help us out.
Please stay out of this post if you have nothing educative to say.

80 comments:

1. PROPHETIC DECLARATIONS FOR THIS WEEK!!!
      West Africa is free from the epidemic of Ebola in the name of Jesus!
      The pandemic of Ebola is cursed in Africa in the mighty name of Jesus!
      For the remaining days of your life, you will not suffer from sickness.
      Your enemies are judged in the name of Jesus!
      The plague of Ebola will not come near your dwelling in the name of Jesus!
      The mercy of God will answer for you!
      Your case is different!
      Every ugly area of your life is turned to beauty in the name of Jesus!
      Whatever Christ has paid for that you are yet to experience, I decree restoration by the blood of Jesus!
      I curse the fear of Ebola in the name of Jesus!
      The battle over your life, over your family is won in Jesus’ name!
      You will not miss your package this month!
      Ebola will not come near your habitation by the blood of Jesus!

2. Stella dnt bi dumb, dem they advertise for forever product. Tym to make money frm ebola

1. Naso..before you know it they'll say it's GNLD/EDMARK! Shioor.

2. You are the stupid dumb one.... All u need to do is go google I these actual products boost immunity.... So If they sell products that work they will refuse to say cos of idiots like you? Did they say it cures Ebola..... Fools like u end up being victims cos u don't learn but critisize everything.... I pity u

3. Lol, how about Engineers? Females o Not d men

4. I heard of a lady in the United States that had ebola but her immune system outlived the virus and for years, she went about her business until she heard of someone else who went to the cave with her had died before she went back to the hospital and she was diagnosed as having ebola.

My point is " boost your immune systems".

Thank God for this post.

5. Yes o pls they shld come and educate us. Am ready to learn about this beetroot.

6. Will be really interesting and educative if the doctors in the house can helps us out in boosting our immune system

7. In Nigeria, the best and cheapest way is to eat PLENTY of STEAMED UGWU DAILY. Not overcooked o, just steamed, eat it with rice, eba, semo, poundo, amala, make yam/unripe plantain porridge with it. Any which way sha just eat a LARGE amount of ugwu-very effective. Cut down on red meat; beef, goat meat etc. Eat fish and steamed vegetables and fruits (if you can afford them)-well washed.

1. God bless u! The best way to boost immunity is by eating raw green vegetables.. eg. Ugu,Green,Akwukwo anara, raw bitter leaf(if u can stand d taste,just chew it raw) and many oda sources like fruits, but mostly bitter and green vegetables. The liver loves bitter things. I'm a witness.

2. Poor man don suffer...
      how many can afford all the things listed above..
      *sighs*
      Into your hands lord I commit my life ,families and friends...

8. Pls wats beetroot in our local lang?

1. Beetroot juice/drink is known as Zobo drink

2. Beetroot is not Zobo drink plsm Zobo is called sorrel leaves. Pls make sure u pass across right facts before misleading people. Local!!

3. It is not zobo beetroot is a red root. I use it to make juice. Google it and see for urself.

4. Chai dis ignorance u are shiaring dia is God oh! Dia is God oh #weeping#

5. I think it's red in nature you can hv it with salad, i ll class it under vegetables it goes with pickles aswell

Mr Lyca

6. Beetroot isn't Zobo oo. Haa. Though the juice extracted from both is same wine red, they aren't same. I normally cut off both ends,sprinkle olive oil and salt on beetroot then wrap in metallic foil to trap moisture and leave it soft, ( when it's done), before I roast it like plantain(bole) and eat with peppered sauce. Boosts immune system and gives men stronger erection. Buy it from vegetable shops or women who sell salad ingredients.

9. hmmmmmm,ebola ,nigeria will surely overcome you

10. Replies
    1. Congrats Patt.
      Happy bday n welcome to the world of expectant mums.

2. Pregnant women are not allowed almost all medicine except it's prescribed by a certified doctor or gp. Even simple cold to take medicine na wahala.

3. @Patt!..Yes, good for you.Beetroot juice is a healthy drink especially good in pregnancy as it is a good source of FOLATE (especially important in early pregnancy) and many other nutrients.

4. Congrats
      Boost ur immune system by drinking lots of water,eat fresh veges esp leafy green veges n fruits(if u can,eat 1 apple,cucumber everyday)
      Avoid drugs of any kind
      If u ve headache,drink lots of water n ve some rest
      All d best

11. The person who made that comment must be a Forever Living Product seller. To name only forever L Products here... I wouldn't pay this any attention.

12. Lemme chill and read...Always out to learn!

13. Don't know much about beet root cos I haven't tried it for any purpose, so can't say.... Vitamin c is known to boost the immune system, fruits like orange, lemon water are very good source of vitamin c. Also good sleep, yes sleep! helps the immune system, in other words, general healthy living like reduce stress, lower bp, reduce blood suger, eat lots of vegetables, exercise and sleep minimum 8 hrs daily, ur immune system will fire better. Oh I almost forgot, garlic is antiviral so it can help as well. My two cents, Stella I hail oo. Angel here....

14. Ohhhhhhh Wat a healer u re
    Ohhhhhh u'r an awesome healer(I so Luv u Lord)

Soft Success

15. Vitamin C is the largest immune booster. Though it must be taken with limits as it can also cause problems when taken too much. Max 2000mg a day.

16. I'm not a nutritionist but i'm a medical personal. I'll advice more intake of fruits even the rare ones like sour sop(dunno the spelling) and vegetables. There's product too called Trevo, its a liquid sold in brown bottles. I call Trevo a miracle worker cos it helped my mum overcome high BP, Diabetes and Arthritis just after 6months of taking daily morning and night. Please goggle Trevor and you'll be amazed at the kind of work it does. It boosts immune system too like no man's biz!

17. Ebola has no cure, no medical treatment—and in this deadly West Africa outbreak, doctors can only isolate victims and find those they had come into contact with to track the virus' spread.

Misinformation is running rampant in the countries that have been affected. Scores of newspapers urged residents of Liberia to "Burn all bodies." A pastor who claimed to have a cure for Ebola prompted Nigeria to decree that anyone spreading similar scams could face jail time. Street protests broke out in Kenema, Sierra Leone, when angry crowds attempted to burn down the city's Ebola treatment center in an effort to eradicate the virus.

To make it clear: There is no cure for Ebola.

1. Ebola has no know cure but not all ebola victims die so actually do survive
      http://www.nairaland.com/1849830/photos-meet-7-year-old-sierra-leonan

The only thing researchers/doctors have been able to deduce is that those who had high immunity to withstand the inital onslaught of ebola eventually survive.

While I pray nobody gets infected, please let us not be in denial, boost your immune system.

Take fruits reach in Vit C like oranges, lemons etc alkalinise your system, this is where products like the forever person is advertising will come in, same with Trevo and Edmark Splina liqiud chlorophyll come in.

2. What is your point busy body... Who said there is a cure? We are discussing boosting your immunity which has helped some people to survive and u are rapping what we already know.... No cure but no every single case has died from it...

18. But it's not like researchers have been sitting around on their hands, waiting for a solution to appear. Many pharmaceutical companies and researchers have been testing possible cures for years.

So what's stopping them? To begin with, antiviral therapy is an especially challenging field compared to bacterial diseases, because viruses have fewer targets for treatment (read: proteins, which drugs can work with), and they evolve quickly. If a vaccine is developed today that works, it might not make a dent in future outbreaks. And with five known species of Ebola virus, there's plenty of room for further viral evolution.

More important, Ebola is—and this should be obvious by now—an incredibly dangerous virus to handle. It requires high-level safety equipment and special facilities, deemed "biosafety level 4" or the highest level of protection, to keep labs in check. It's costly, hard to control, and a major roadblock to progress.

"Antiviral therapy has lagged behind antibacterial therapy for decades," Derek Gatherer, a bioinformatics researcher at Lancaster University in the U.K. told Fox News. "There's only a handful of places in the world where you can actually do Ebola experimentation."

19. But aside from the safety issues, the two predominant obstacles to having a widespread cure revolve around ethical and economical questions.

For the ethical side, it all comes down to human testing. Paul Hunger, professor of Health Protection at the University of East Anglia, broke down both arguments for the Huffington Post:

As a practicing clinician, if I was given the option to help people with a drug that isn't proven, but has been shown to have at least some effect, it's unethical not to give it to them.

20. [But] in the midst of such a huge epidemic, one could even argue that doing a blind controlled trial would be unethical, because if you give a placebo to some people, who will most likely die, then you are depriving them of a drug that could cure them, something that could save their life.

The economical side is more, well, deplorable, according to Dr. Stephen Morse, an epidemiologist at Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health. "The vaccine companies of course have to be driven by the economic considerations," he told the Huffington Post. "It's a terrible thing to say, but they have to be convinced that it's economically... worthwhile to provide the vaccine."

21. And these two reasons have again and again driven cures away from moving further than trial stages. Here, a review of the major ones that are or have been pursued:

BCX4430

Description: The drug, developed by North Carolina-based BioCryst Pharmaceuticals, has proven most adept at preventing death from the Marburg virus, a strain that acts similarly to Ebola. It inhibits Ebola virus reproduction by blocking its replication of its RNA genome, a process called chain termination.

Why It's Not Available: Rob Bennet, BioCryst's vice president of investor relations and operations, put it this way: "Our challenge right now is that, in the absence of human safety data, we don't see a path to dose patients without at least some fundamental safety data. There would be some ethical issues around that, so it's a catch-22." In other words, human testing is too risky, despite the funding BioCryst has ready to go. Until there's a way to safely do so, the drug will have to wait.

22. Tekmira's Interfering RNA Molecule

Description: Though it doesn't have a name yet, it follows the same idea of targeting RNA in Ebola. Developed by British Columbia-based Tekmira Pharmaceuticals, these molecules are placed inside lipid nanoparticles and would fight the RNA polymerase L protein on the Ebola virus.

Why It's Not Available: The F.D.A. placed it on hold to investigate its process, which would involve an "intense dosing regimen," according to Dr. Mark Murray, president and CEO of Tekmira, in a statement. The drug is in phase 1 trials and will remain there until the FDA lifts its hold.

AVI-7537

Description: This one's been in development for a long time, and got as far as a contract with the U.S. Department of Defense in 2010 for further testing. The AVI-7537, the sister drug of AVI-7288 targeting the Marburg virus, is specifically for Ebola viruses, unlike the BCX4430. Like the BCX4430 and Tekmira's work, however, it's also RNA-based, and uses phosphoramidate morpholino oligomers to penetrate cells and resist metabolism (Ebola metabolizes and replicates quickly, which causes hemorrhaging and eventual death).

Why It's Not Available: The D.O.D. discontinued the Ebola part of the contract with Sarepta in October 2012 and never reactivated it. According to a report in the Financial Times, budget cuts caused the scrapping of the program for Ebola, though research continues on the AVI-7288 for the Marburg virus.

Favipiravir

Description: In a study titled Successful Treatment of Advanced Ebola Virus Infection with T-705 (Favipiravir) in a Small Animal Model, researchers tested this drug on small animals, and found that it prevented Ebola infection in all the animals tested. It's also more a broad anti-viral drug, as it uses a compound that works against viral enzymes in general, tending to flu symptoms and blocking the virus' replication. Whether it's strong enough to stop Ebola in humans remains to be seen.

Why It's Not Available: Similar to BCX4430, it's only been used on small animals, and is nowhere near testing on humans.

None of these drugs are close to widespread dissemination. Instead, the Americans infected in the outbreak have received experimental treatments. One received a dose of a serum, though little information is available on how it works. The other has been given a unit of blood from a 14-year-old patient who survived Ebola. The idea behind the blood, of course, is that if its plasma's antibodies managed to fend of the virus, it could do so in the infected doctor's body.

Yet, even with the the escalating emergency in West Africa, it's important to remember the outbreak has a slim chance of spreading past the region. Ebola requires contact with bodily fluids to spread, and the outbreak has been mostly attributed to less-than-ideal conditions.

"Ebola outbreaks [have] become so widespread because of the hospital conditions and poor resources," Barbara Knust, Ebola expert at C.D.C., told the Financial Times. "Health workers might not even have access to gloves and family members of infected people might not have running water to wash their hands."

Plus, Peter Piot, who co-discovered Ebola in 1976, told Agence France-Presse he would not be afraid to be around an infected person. "I wouldn't be worried to sit next to someone with Ebola virus on the Tube as long as they don't vomit on you or anything," he said. "This is an infection that requires very close contact."

In the meantime, doctors must continue to isolate patients in the outbreak, and pharmaceutical companies must determine whether a cure or vaccine is worth pursuing. Is more than 1,300 cases reported in West Africa enough?

Follow The Wire's timeline to learn how the disease spread the last five months.

23. Hu posted nd hu replied?same person ryt,strategy 4 biz o,plz buy it may help

24. Yes forever living products are very good.

25. Stella i just want to say a BIG thank you for all this info about Ebola. I suppose rush to Naija for 3 nights for a deal but fear no free me go.

26. Ebola: another way to sell thier stale forever products.smh.

27. Good one stella...pls no one shud come hear to say 'eat garlic'! D forever smell is worst dan Ebola

28. Hi Stella. I am also a mum to a sickler and I have done a lot of research in the area of foods good for the immune system. For siclers, they are more prone to infectious diseases because of their weak immune system so the trick is to boost their immunity against a lot of these infections. My child is takes the following daily and he just did a random check up and the white doc here was baffled and asked how a sickler could have a clean bill of health like normal kids particularly his liver function test. So he takes the following daily. I drop of liquid echinacea into 1 cup of water- pls read about the benefits of echinacea online. Its available in good health shops in tablets, liquid and in tea bags. He takes a mix of smoothies daily particularly the berries family with spinach juice or beetroot or carrot juice. He takes a lot of papaya as well. I wish I could get in touch with the person who posted about the goji berries and flaxseed oil and give her a hi five. My son takes the goji berries, the dried ones mixed with his cereals and smoothies. But since ur question was on beetroot, I as a Mum can confirm this. I was recently in Lagos and found beetroot in spar but a bit expensive.

29. Aunty Sdk all dis anonymous talking about forever products I don't trust them. E b like say d product dey get am for badt market. Make una no answer dem o. NO CURE FOR EBOLA YET. Aids don turn malaria na before it was mighty like Ebola. But remember a cure must come definitely not FOREVER.

1. Like seriously? Are you people dumb? Gosh can't you read? They are talking of boosting immunity system and U just yakking rubbish.....

30. This had nothing to do with this post. I'm just happy that Stella's blog is gaining more popularity by the day and getting more comments than Linda Ikeji's. If u like curse me out, that's ur biz. I like that we are like a family here helping each other grow. I love this blog die but I love Stella more. Long live SDKB....

1. Shut up and stop bloody lying.. I love Stella's blog but Linda gets more comments on most of her stories.... We don't need Fools like u coming here to talk rubbish..... Some of us visit both blogs do diff reasons. The sky is big enough for a million birds to fly so stop your rubbish ...

2. more oneliner non-impactful hare-brained comments huh?
      everyone is entitled to their opinion na why you dey call am fool?

31. Hi Stella, yes the posters were right about the forever living products, beet root and carrot juice too,they are extremely potent fo fortifying the immune system,don't mind these pple saying its bcos he is a forever living consultant. I have severe back pain,spondylitis and other issues,doctors gave me pain killers n other things to help but they didn't work,it's was after bring unable to walk for almost a month I took matters into my own hands,I had beets and/or carrot juice everyday for just two weeks, I tell you the pain disappeared so fast I even forgot I ever had any pain. Please people carry out researches on diet, google the hallelujah diet or eat tight for your blood type. There us on lady in iota dat gives excellent health counseling. A lot of the time modern medicine is not necessary.

1. God bless you..I preach these but pple don't believe..it's not a miracle cure..just putting into our bodies foods how God designed it

32. They said healthy people cannot transmit the disease,yes but it depends.if a person has the virus on his external body,clothes,shoes,hand and you come in contact with that person ,some virus will definitely be transferred to u.then the virus enters the persons blood,he or she get cleaned up,at this point ,the person is a host to the virus but at this stage he cannot transfer the virus until after he or she become sick.Do truth is that u can prevent this sickness if u prevent any contact with anybody and make sure ur family do the same.
    Are u still touching money without gloves,do u enter public transport without gloves or cover ur body well ...u re at risk.

1. Pls when you buy clothes,wash n disinfect them b4 wearing it o,cos of too much fitting to check if its ur size or not,n u dnt kw d n0 of pple that ve tried d cloth on.
      Infact avoid buyin new stuff for now

2. @sparkling eyez.....so okirika will be better since we should avoid buying new stuffs for now........hian!

33. Yes ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the beetroot is real

34. This beetroot is good for immune boasting

35. @patt u get belle ni? Abeg small small dey shock am o na u get am e no dey run.

Meanwhile onto d same matter anonymous like me make una leave dis matter o, na so una go ask people say make dem drink acid.

A word is enough for d wise. Keep a clean environment and stay healthy.

36. #BitterLeafJuice #MoringaSeeds. Google is ur friend. *chews Bitter Kola*

37. I recently heard about nano silver (google pls) as a very good supplement for viral infections . It is sold as a supplement on Amazon and is used for a variety of illnesses and immune system booster https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gTQf5kvg6qg&feature=youtu.be

38. How do you prepare the beet root pls? And if you live in the north, I think the moringa ( zogale ) is also good.

39. When I talk about going of fruits and vegetables in raw form..they think I'm stupid..high vitamin c powder in grams (sodium ascorbate) and juice greens.carrots and beetroot..it would clear any sickness.. It's not a miracle cure.. It's just feedin the body with the right foods God intended

40. Zobo is hibiscus not Beetroot. You can eat beetroot, cook it, juice it or grate it into salads, use the juice for colour in cakes, rice etc

41. Zobo is not made from beetroot, its made from the dried petals of the sorrel flower.

42. What is beetroot in yoruba pls?

43. Thanks @ anon 7.05, I mean zogale not zobo. Zogale is what is known as moringa in English or botanical am not sure which. . I hear it's highly medicinal. You can google the benefit of moringa also to see.

44. Beet root is not good for people with diabetes because of high sugar content. Vitamin C is the best

45. Anything u buy in the market now,that u cannot cook by ur self is risky,fruit..immune buster included...the best alternative prevent the disease,its not impossible.

46. zobbo is actually hood for boosting the immune system.it contains high levels of vitamin c which is great for the immune system. however pregnant women should stay away from zobbo cos it can induce miscarraige.

other immune boosting foods include lemongrass, bitterleaf, ugwu, coconut meat, dongoyaro (neem)waterleaf, paw paw leaves, guavas, aloe vera, garlic ginger sour sop, nettle(agbara). it's best to eat them raw and blended. these are affordable foods for people based in nigeria. a cup of freshly blended green veggies from the list twice a day will do wonders. dont overdo it though

spices for the immune system: cloves, rosemary, thyme, cinnamon, ginger, cumin tumeric.

PLEASE SEND THIS AS MANY PEOPLE AS YOU KNOW AND AS MANY WEBSITES AND BLOGS. LET US NOT FOR THE US AND THE WEST TO SEND US EXPENSIVE DRUGS THE COMMON WILL NOT BE ABLE TO AFFORD. WE CAN KICK EBOLA OUT IF WE TAKE PRECAUTIONS.

KEEP YOUR SURROUNDINGS CLEAN. BE FAITHFUL TO YOUR PARTNER. DONT GO LISSING AND TOUCHING BODY ALL OVER THE PLACE. GET ADEQUATE REST .AVOID STRESS. AND ABOVE ALL PRAY AND MEDITATE ON GODS WORD.

HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONAL

47. There is no doubt that taking smoothies boost immune system, I'm a ruemathoid arthritis patient which is more severe than normal arthritis, since I was introduced to taking Beetroot, carrot and apple blend together there is tremendous improvement, there other smoothies too that boost immune system. Beetroot , carrot and apple smoothies is called miracle drink, it clean d system of unwanted toxic.

48. There is no doubt that taking smoothies boost immune system, I'm a ruemathoid arthritis patient which is more severe than normal arthritis, since I was introduced to taking Beetroot, carrot and apple blend together there is tremendous improvement, there other smoothies too that boost immune system. Beetroot , carrot and apple smoothies is called miracle drink, it clean d system of unwanted toxic.

49. The government should quarantine the immigration officers and airport officials that must have had contact with Liberia man at the point of entry Nigeria, is very important. This immigration officers and airport officials definitely did check on his international passport and travel documents, I believe customs and other airport officials must have check his luggage. This is very important. Airport officials may like carry the virus ebola and start spreading to others coming into Nigeria, and to friends and family or anyone they had contact with. because by law, you must submit your travel documents and by law officials must check your luggage. Let us pray and also learn to stop the spread of this deadly epidemic called ebola. We shall win this fight.

50. Glutathione Is a very good immune booster. And an antioxidant too. Ask the doctors.

51. The government should quarantine the immigration officers and airport officials that must have had contact with Liberia man at the point of entry Nigeria, is very important. This immigration officers and airport officials definitely did check on his international passport and travel documents, I believe customs and other airport officials must have check his luggage. This is very important. Airport officials may like carry the virus ebola and start spreading to others coming into Nigeria, and to friends and family or anyone they had contact with. because by law, you must submit your travel documents and by law officials must check your luggage. Let us pray and also learn to stop the spread of this deadly epidemic called ebola. We shall win this fight

52. That nurse must insane, because how many Nigeria can afford Forever living product, she feels this is an opportunity to siphon Nigeria of their hard earn money, what happen to VITAMIN-C? HIGH DOSAGE OF VITAMIN-C WILL ALSO INCREASE YOU IMMUNE SYSTEM, tell that Nurse to Park well.

(4RM HIbee)