Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ebola Scare In Anambra As Government Detains Corpse From Liberia.

Friday, August 01, 2014

Ebola Scare In Anambra As Government Detains Corpse From Liberia.

A corpse of an Anambra State indigene brought from Liberia, yesterday, caused scare of the dreaded Ebola disease in the state, with officials of the state ministry of health directing security operatives to cordon off the mortuary where the body was deposited pending investigations by experts from the Federal Ministry of Health.

The corpse was brought into the country as a cargo and was taken straight to Apex Hospital and Mortuary at Nkwelle Ezunaka in Oyi Local Government Area of the state, apparently by his relations and waiting for burial.

However, somebody from the community, who knew that the man died in Liberia where there have been deaths caused by Ebola disease, informed the Anambra State Governor, Chief Willie Obiano. The Governor immediately directed the Commissioner for Health, Dr. Josephat Akabike to take action.
Addressing reporters in Awka, yesterday, Akabike said though it has not been confirmed that the man died of the Ebola disease, there was need for precautionary measures to be taken.

He said: “We have already contacted the Federal Ministry of Health and we are expecting them to arrive the state any time from now. We have sealed the mortuary and the hospital and all the corpses and the people working there have been quarantined.

“We are also making efforts to locate the family of the deceased to know their level of contact with the corpse when it arrived the country and everybody who had visited the mortuary will also be quarantined.
“We are surprised how the corpse came into Nigeria and Anambra State. It is shocking to us.
“We have directed the police to cordon off the area. Ebola is a very big threat and that is why we are taking all the measures.”

According to him, “the information was brought by somebody who acted fast, following the announcement we have been making since the disease was made known”, adding that his ministry has assembled its health team and got all the preventive materials ready. culled

*Wow,why did his Family bring the corpse all the way back home from Liberia?Airport officials in all countries should open their eyes...they should not have allowed the corpse leave liberia in the first place...Ebola is too scary,bodies should not be transported from places of high risk.

81 comments:

1. This one Na very big risk o. Y didn't they bury him there? Nawa o

1. Stella the man's corpse was admitted in first of all because he rightfully belongs here as a Nigerian, which should have been the case with the Liberian who died in Nigeria. He also should have been cargoed back to Liberia for cremation. However, given the high transmittance level of the virus the ideal thing was to discard the body Pronto. Tho I still query that his ash after cremation would still be spread on our soil.
      But for this man that was brought in, the airport staff who handled him collected bribe. Because the corpse should av been held at a confined place for disposal. But the greedy idiots just brought him unceremoniously and sent him into town. Now who knows how many have been in direct contact with the body. Nonetheless they've officially admitted Ebola into Nigeria. Very pathetic

2. What a horrible mistake made by his family members.

I know they will say its their tradition to bury their dead. Yes, its very true but the situation we are currently in now does not give room for tradition this or that. I hope the airport staff will be properly educated and informed about the shipping of cargos from countries plagued by this dreaded Ebola virus.

1. That is eh. Stella, God is my witness: should any airport official through carelessness in carrying out their duties and through bribing and covet mission allow corpses or humans from these disease prone areas come into this country, this Ebola will be their portion and their entire kindred. We are still worried with the living dead wey waka alone come and then some useless officials will still allow flights from Liberia. Is it that we are deaf and dumb to all these happenings? Maybe their oga should enlighten them on the effect of Ebola, if they are too daft to do so themselves! I don rant my own for here oh.

2. Shyla that is exactly how it happened. Money exchanged in hand above emergency protocol is what happened. Greedy fools have allowed Ebola spread with ease.

3. With the rate @ which this disease is a threat to life, they should have just buried the person there..... *sigh*

4. Why did they bring the body now
    Abi dey wan wake am
    Na only God fit help us

5. The family members must be out of their mind!wat rubbish!!How can they bring a corpse from Liberia to Nigeria for burial in a time like this..This news jus dey vex me this early morning!Mtchewww

6. This isn't funny anymore..see eehn that's my home town.
    People just dey take risk anyhow.why bring the corpse down here? Better they seal up everything biko,before e go enter anoda thing..ike adirokwa shaa

7. Devil and his agents really want to drag Nigeria into this Ebola wahala by force, but they will not succeed. Shior! I pray the person did not die of ebola.

8. Jesus Christ!!!!
    what is wrong with these airlines and their officials?

9. Why can't they bury the corpse in Liberia,why transport it back home,Ebola is too scary to be joked with abeg.

10. People can be so sentimental, don't they know they are at risk of dying with him if he indeed died of Ebola. Why bring the body back? Why did the Liberian Government not cremate his body self. May God save us from this Ebola

11. JESUS!!
    Whatever the cause of his death maybe, this is grievous mistake!

12. Chineke ♍Ƹ̴ eeeeeeee....!
    Anambra my own state ?
    Chukwu aju !

13. As in eh, I don't understand this our useless country nigeria o. As if dat liberian man dat died last wk in lagos of Ebola isn't enough, they had d mind to transport a corpse to Nigeria again. What a shame! Anyway, the family of the deceased shld be questioned cos dey shld know wat killed dia brother/sis. I pray its not Ebola o, anambra is too close and am scared biko. God have mercy.

14. How did this cargo get into Nigeria biko?
    In a place where few naira(s) can get you anything... I wonder how our borders are going to be kept under watch!

15. Chimooooooooo.
    Chukwu ekwekwana.

16. Now i'm officially scared! Omg! I'm in anambra state. Shit just got real!

17. OMG,this shit is getting more scary.

18. This is another reminder of how fast the ebola will spread in this country. We can never do anything correctly. The sad truth is that only a certain few are aware of the epidermic that is Ebola, the rest are either uninformed or are too busy callin God's name. Forgetting that he can only help those who ve the common sense to help themselves. If that corpse is infected with ebola, I am afraid that any day now, we'd start counting!!! This is just annoying now. Doctors are still on strike,.. all we do in this country is talk. SMH

19. ANYTHING coming in frm that end should be throughly scrutinised, we can't afford an outbreak please.

20. Dis is so annoying!why d family brought him to nig? Ar dey deaf and blind? Which root they passed?why people wicked like dis? Av not see GEJ making speech on virus.it better govt should act fast on border and airport.I no believe d man pass tru airport na border.evendo d man no die of ebola as long na liberia d man die d corpse no supose bring to nig. May GOD help us

1. Did u attend evening school? This ur english na die....U be kajad woman?

2. Sharaaap jare @chizoba, atleast u understand what kajad woman is trying to say, So hold ya peace.

21. Ewwwww! God 've mercy on this country.

22. KUDOS to governor willie obianos government, I like the steps taken.

23. Just plain stupidity and irresponsibility on d part of the family members. What rubbish????

24. God please protect my family o, but how did they cross borders with the corpse without being detected? Hmmmm, nawaa o!

25. Na wah o! Anambara state kwa! Why are people so selfish? They're only concerned about their own agendas.

Who hasn't heard about ebola in this country? Why would they bring a corpse all they way from an infected area? Why didn't they cremate him there? Why did the Liberian authorities allow it?

And when they say the corpse was brought as cargo, does it mean it was smuggled in? Is that the normal way of transporting corpses? If not, it means the relatives wanted to hide the fact they were carrying a possibly infected corpse!

They government should please do more in the area of public awareness so people can actually appreciate the gravity of this plague.
    It is totally unacceptable for people to endanger others in this way!

26. This people and the tradition to bury their dead home should not implicate us o.They knew no airline would agree to take the corpse. I hist pray he didnt die from ebola

27. Na wah o...why did they allow them leave Liberia sef.God pls protect my family nd friends,am just too scared

28. Chai dis ebola disease has really put fear in everyone's mind ooo....God pls come nd attend to our situation

29. Na wah o...why did they allow them leave Liberia sef.God pls protect my family nd friends,am just too scared

30. UK Lebara for the first magic finger.

Load & confirm

31. Infact now that the deed has been done the anambra state government should not waste time in cremating the body ebola or not

32. This people want to use their stupidity and selfishness to spread this disease and kill people in naija. We really need to intensify the awareness campaign on this ebola thingy.

Anyways fastest fingers first
    MTN

7067 6598 3896
    2910 5531 4652

AIRTEL
    3657 2809 8289 6409

Holla if you load

1. Chai! Today is my Lucky day o. Thanks PQ I got the MTNs with Ease.
      More giveaways plsssss.hehehehehe

2. Nuvi don't be greedy. You got one earlier allow others that are in need.

33. Na them love their own pass... Foolish people! They want to finish an entire country over one dead body! Mtcheew! How did they even conveye the corpse down here?
    Thought airport officials will be more than careful now. Tank God for the whstle blower!

34. Chim oh! My own Anambra?
    God oh.
    Protect my family and friends over there oh.
    Where will one run to?
    Chai!
    This Ebola shit is so scary.
    God please deliver us from this impending epidemic , Amen.

35. Someone was certainly bribed to have allowed the corpse leave Liberia. I doubt it was smuggled in. Very sad!

36. They should have buried the man there nao. EVE E UME

37. am from anambra but sometimes our stupidity is beyond comprehension. how can you bring a corpse from Liberia and keep mum about it. What is a corpse that you can't let them born it over there and send you the ash, even the ash wetin u want carry do? I just tire for my people, their level of ignorance is something that needs urgent attention.

38. Nigerians and their strong familial/traditional ties. Why bring back dat corpse nah? The hospital have carried more tan they can handle. God save us

39. Omg..this is scary o!!!. God abeg o.

40. Why shud dy bring d corpse to nija... Evn d corpse cn affect millions dt comes in contact wit it. Cnt dy just bury d body dere nawa o$m

41. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    The family members and all who suppoerted in bring the man into this country should be banished frm this country......

42. other states should also be @ alert o...

43. Is the family insane? This thing is getting closer o, please they should just arrange the whole family to be quarantined and then burn the corpse. Hian....I am not even interested in what killed the person. They should have burnt the body in liberia and then done any ceremony here on behalf of the person. This people should be careful o.

44. Ebola nkea dikwa risky.
    Umm stels...never mind

45. This won't deter us o.
    Every ichie,umunna,umuada in Igbo land deserves a befitting burial.
    I've already kept my £3k pounds in my life assurance acct for my corpse to be exported and given a proper burial so that my soul will rest in perfect peace.
    We igbos don't take chances with culture.
    Igbo kwenu!!!

1. On point...Ebola or no ebola,i cant bury my loved one in a strange land...its an abomination in igboland.

2. Mschew, it's ok. Abomination okwiya ok. I hope this guy was properly ferried into the country if not the family has put enough lives in danger. You know we are careless anyway so the spread of Ebola in Nigeria is riskier.

3. M-amie and Chizoba....so you will prefer seeing people put to risk because if some tradition and culture???? ur ignorance is not from this planet. ur education should make a difference but you are not better afterall....

46. At this stage.one would wonder how a corpse can get into Nigeria from.infected countries.smh

47. This na gbege! Original gbege!!!

48. Bitter-Kola has been internationally verified to inhibit d growth of the Ebola virus, hence an interim cure. Anyone who u suspect is in danger of getting d Virus is advised to consume it. Eat it like food and there is no overdose. Simply peel and chew!May God protect us all, Amen! pls do not forget to share cheers!!!!!!!. Google for more info http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/411030.stm

1. Thank me later God bless just read it too, omo na to go buy kola dey chop. Mamie and chibuokr whether u are buried in ur village or cremated ur soul is gone already and will rest wherever ur deeds/ life sent it to. Pls let us be less selfish just because of some tradition . News is on BBC stella pls go find it

49. They will rather put a large number of lives at risk just to give a loved one a befitting burial, blame it on ignorance or perhaps they think the virus is a joke.

50. wicked people they want to see spread the virus.there is God

51. Hmmm. Ebola .. but the cure has been found. A substance in bitter kola that inhibits the growth of the virus n stops it completely. Soon everyone will hear of it.
    Ebola is not our portion.
    Elle

52. Haba! How can people be this selfish. Is it that they are not aware about how dangerous and contagious ebola is or the family are just wicked. They want others to be infected too. May God save us

53. Thanks alot Jay Moore for the lebara...successfully loaded!

54. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Double wahala for dead body, but the man wicked oh, why him go die for liberia, abeg make only am waka go moor, make him no drag other people with Ebola.

55. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Double wahala for dead body, but the man wicked oh, why him go die for liberia, abeg make only am waka go joor, make him no drag other people with Ebola.

56. Ndi Igbo na omenala. Na 4 God hand we dey.

57. Dear God please help your children.

58. Anambra keh,may God protect us all from this deadly virus.amen

59. nigerians! what if the man died of malaria. anyway, the family should have followed all protocols.

60. corpse can only be transported through cargo.What they just did is the worst mistake,even though the body was packed in casket from Liberia to Nigeria.the mortuary attendant that attended to the body cant escape it.

61. this is even more scary because if it is ebola, the dead body is even more dangerous