Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Parades 4 Bankers For ATM Fraud + Blog Visitor Says Only 1 Person Committed The Crime.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

EFCC Parades 4 Bankers For ATM Fraud + Blog Visitor Says Only 1 Person Committed The Crime.

I got an emotional call yesterday from a blog visitor who works in the house of the accused person and says that only one person committed the crime but others have been swept along to pay for it as well.Read the EFCC report and then read what the blog visitor sent me.....Really sad...

''Four bankers: Mansur Danlami, Ejiro Eborikpo, Nina Stephen and Samson Nwodo have been arrested by the operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) for conspiracy to steal the sum of N5,100,000 (Five Million One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) from a customer’s account….

The suspects, all staff of Zoo Road Branch of First Bank Plc allegedly conspired among themselves to issue ATM card to an impostor, in the name of Samuel Omede, a bona fide customer of the Bank in Bayelsa State.

After the issuance of the purported ATM card, the impostor used the card to steal N5,100,000 (Five Million, One Hundred Thousand Naira Only) from Samuel Omede’s account.

The suspects are still being interrogated in the Kano Zonal office of the EFCC and will be charged to court as soon as investigation is concluded''.

BLOG visitor Press release

''Good day,i just spoke with you concerning this case.The case actually involves 5 staff but only 3 mug shot were put up(stinks of religious hankypanky) as the two others are muslims.the case is still under investigation.its obvious it was a case of password theft and there are innocent persons involved especially Nina the lady mentioned and Ejiro.What gives EFCC the right to publish an inconclusive case? 

What gives the bank the right to treat its staff as common criminals even were it is obvious that there are innocent parties involved as the CCTV and FINACLE logs testified to that?EFCC released press statement online prematurely and this is a clear violation of fundamental of human rights.

The banking industry is turning into a nightmare as bankers are being unjustly punished for what they most of the time know nothing about.bankers are normal humans who are unfortunate to be trapped in that kind of organisation because of the societal hardship in the country.
The area manager and control officers are devil's advocate in this case.please Stella help me sound the battle cry against this injustice.We are all working in fear each day at our desk.kindly investigate further and assist to clear Nina and Ejiro's names.May God bless you.''

*I dont know the protocol for handling such cases but why do they have mugshots already like thieves if the case is inconclusive?

79 comments:

1. They don't do their home work properly, they publish names so we would think they are working .... EFCC case no joke o, they are as corrupt as the people they arrest.

Best Oracle

1. Ehya

Pls visot my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

2. BestOracle GoD Bless u plenty oo

U just dey drop cards like it's HOT!

3. Where is my comment? Haba!!!

2. My dear blog visitor as a former banker,I will tell you that when issues like this comes up, everyone is suspect and it's so sad that almost immediately the bank hands off and u become like a criminal, call it hazards of the job. since investigations are on going pray for God to vindicate them.

1. Thats why ICPC is better than that useless EFCC. They win majority of their cases because they are very careful and they have great lawyers.
      Efcc only knows how to make lousy noise mostly without solid evidence and everybody will think they are working.
      Rookie mistake that Icpc will never do.lailai. And they do investigate bank fraud too.

4. Two weeks ago I was at Eco bank, the Awolowo road branch to reset my atm card pin. And a man was there, someone just transferred 500,000 naira from his bank account. Okay this was the story. He tried to use the atm outside but one guy told him the machine wasn't dispensing cash, so he left to the other machine. He didn't know when his card was changed but when he tried his atm card, it didn't work with the other atms. This time the guy/guys took a cab to Banana before the man could say jack. A lady there told him to go and block his card immediately because she saw those guys at zenith bank atm earlier and she suspected something. The man went into the bank and told customer service to block his card immediately because he thinks something is wrong but the lady at the customer service insisted he goes back to the atm to try the card again and she went with him. They tried and tried and the machine kept saying 'wrong pin'. By the time they got back inside to block the card, the man received alert, 100k was withdrawn and 500k has been transferred from his account to another account.
    Now if the police starts investigating, don't you think the customer service representative will be labelled as an accomplice?
    In this poster's case, I couldn't agree or disagree because I wasn't there.

1. I swear the lady is an accomplice.
      Someone told you to block his card 'cause he felt something was wrong and you ask him to go outside to check again? Block the fucking card and ask questions later.
      I'm boiling i swear. 600k? Someone's sweat? Haba!

2. My dear happened to me, lost 104k same eco bank.they said someone swapped my atm card,actually a girl offered to help teach me atm fund transfer and dats it o

3. She's stupid. When a customer raises an issue like that, you block the card in seconds.

I remember calling my bank CC one time to report my card missing, before I finished talk sef the lady said I have blocked the card. Two days later I found it in my car.

Of cause the bank will hold her responsible. But I'm curious, how did his card get swapped???

4. Time to dig a big hole in my room and put all my money!

5. Ada eze,ikwulu eziokwu?!
      I see some peeps hanging around ARM's and it never occured to me some of dem are rogues.

Ha!

6. Waoooooo Pls retract. I got lost, how was his card or pin swapped? Confused.com

5. Jeez is.this not Nina Stephen that just got married?....haaaaaaa..

1. Oreola.. U also know her? Am just so shocked

2. She finished from Unilorin..... If it's the Nina I know... But jeez...this pic really looks like her...I don't really see her as someone who would do this...haba..the money is too small to go to jail for so why steal it in the first place...

I'm really shocked I still can take this in

3. Yes oh. Anatomy department. Seems she was dia class rep sef

6. Taking a mug shot is normal when someone is arrested, Displaying it like this when they are still been tried and questioned is what I find humiliating. I pray the innocent ones get Vindicated.

1. Arresting without evidence is not normal

2. With probable cause and with an arrest warrant, the police can make an arrest. While a suspect is in custody, the police can start building up their case. It's allowed in Nigerian criminal code.

7. Gosh...I hate issues like dis...of course maybe they are friends n move together dats y they were accused...my opinion tho. I pray d innocent ones r cleared outta dis mess

8. But these mugshots though. Naija C'MON NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. This is naija for u. Ndi mmuo.....................PEACE

10. If their colleagues know more than we do, why don't they all write a petition to EFCC or all of them stage a peaceful protest.... we don't know anymore than the EFCC statement.

11. Stella! Stop this ignorance. Issuing a debit or credit card (not ATM card as you called it) cannot be done by one person. It needs to be authorised by a second person before it can be processed. Secondly, your password is a digital you. That story of password theft is bogus. A lot of lazy and careless bankers give their colleagues their password to do stuff for them especially when they want to leave the office for personal reasons without getting permission. I do not believe the passwords were stolen. I believe the passwords were deliberately compromised although it might have not been intended for theft purposes.

1. Password theft is not bogus. It happens regularly. That is why u hear people saying that their email was hacked.

12. Stella, my hubby threatened me with EFCC o. I am scared o. Lol. So this is how I will carry banner. Anyways,I did one kain financial misdemeanour on him n I was caught,after the money don enter my hand sha.

1. See you are married to a STINGY man. If not, why do you have to steal his money? I beg continue to take if he will not give freely afterall, you are 1 united. Whatever is his is yours. Lol

2. Buhahaha! #HoldsLaff!
      E can't do it!
      Tell him he is stuck to u like d head is stuck to d neck.
      How e wan take explain am to ppl.
      U go strong ur face as u dey tlk am oo.

3. If ur hubby is stingy, well I clap for you. But, if he is generous, shame on you. He should report to EFCC.

4. Bwahahahahaha! U be thief oh...what u did is wrong...i hope u did not give dat money to ur sugar son?

5. @chizoba the things you type sometimes sha. If the person comes back to curse you out now una go talk say the person dey rude. See the kind queshion u dey ask

6. Anony 9:20
      Hahahahahahaha
      I swear down u r cray
      Chai...see as I almost choked on my drink
      Gist us na...wetin really happen?
      Hahahahaahha
      Characters dey dis blog I swear

7. Bwahahahahaha!! See as I dey laugh like clown for here!

8. Its no biggie honie, u will soon carry a placard like dis afterall e no dey kill person.

9. Lol @Anon 9:20. Wen ur hubby asked u, even if everything ws crystal clear, u would hv outrightly denaled it.
      I guess he is very stingy.
      Lmao!

10. You are so funny. But He can't do anytin. Na only Shakara. Abeg enjoy d moni.

13. Only in a cuckoo land Nigeria, Yes cuckoo would the photographs of an alleged fraudsters be published when they haven't been found guilty yet. What happens if at the end of the trial they or some of them are not found wanting. How does the lame EFCC intend to deal with their battered image. What a joke of an anti-graft institution!

1. U just hit the nail on the hedge. It's not as if they will issue another statement exonerating the people that are innocent. For me, i don't believe anything about EFCC's statements until the accused persons admit that they are guilty.

14. Hmm
    Not a fair world after all
    God dey!

15. If the said person is completely innocent then this is wrong.

16. Na wa for the blogvisitor sha!
    U only stated dat ur friends are innocent without givin us dia own narration and no prove(cctv n logs must av also bin checkd by efcc).
    How com dey got roped in2 dis.
    The only tin tangible dat u sed is dat 5ppl were arrested n only 3 mugshot wz realised.

I no dey pity bankers at all,
    Most of dem are thieves, av had my own share of experience too.
    Mayb na karma dey visit ur frnds frm dia old deeds sef.
    E no easy to rope person for fraud, smthg must av apend along d line.
    Mucheheche 5.1milla for 5 ppl (poverty dikwa bad)
    Moral lesson; steal wateva is worth going to jail for.

17. Too bad *patt ogar style*

Haney

18. This is hard especially for graduates. Banking system in this country is nothing to write home about. May God help dem.

19. Working in bank...hmmm...big case ooo... If u no be Oga, u no fit be like oga....#alinko

20. Sad!

Langleychic

21. Hian..
    Come this poster,how sure are you that the names you mentioned are not guilty??...
    Bankers are thieves,I will keep saying it..I will soon make case with those ones that stole 500k from my account..nonsense..
    Please allow Efcc to do their jobs..
    You are free to run your mouth under my comments,I don't give af..

22. Only in 9ja will the innocent pay for a crime the guilty committed.
    Dear God, let justice prevail.

23. Dear poster,pls get frnds and family of the innocent to get a good lawyer and also prayers is important,abt 5yrs ago a neighbor of mine was wrongly accused of abt 500million fraud in the bank he works wit some other staffs, with prayers and a good lawyer dey were able to prove he was innocent, he got his job back wit a compensation

24. Am aware of dis case and after reviewing the case file I came to a conclusion: a. Either the account holder is complicit as he might have been part of the deal and would now turn around to scream so he gets his money twice. It has happened severally.
    b. There is an insider who might have issued the card fraudulently but I don't think all 3 are aware of the issue esp the lady. In the bank u can never do without trust though not to the extent of password compromise. However I believe one of the accused is complicit and betrayed d trust of the others.

1. You made sense!! Some customers actually perpetrate the fraud themselves...Notwithstanding..am thinking some of the people roped in either created an avenue for a fraud to pass through them or compromised their passwords...the mug shots tho is a NO NO!

25. @anon 9:20 u must be kidding. U scammed ur hubby?

26. @anony 5:20 u must be kidding. U scammed ur hubby? Na serious gobe oo.

27. @anony 5:20 u must be kidding. U scammed ur hubby? Na serious gobe oo.

28. But Stella, the poster correctly mentioned that there were 4 names, but only 3 pictures. Where is the 4 th person abi you no see that part?

29. EFCC is not doing anything. They are busy chasing bankers and yahoo boys. How many politicians have they prosecuted? Ffk and Fayose inclusive. Rubbish. Just like our DSS madam, Mary Ogar the great politician. All of them have lost focus.

30. ANGELRAY SAYS
    I hate banking work abeg, their wahala is too much. am out of here.

31. Hmmm,this is very bad. Y shouls someone pay for the crime he knows nothing of. It's so no fair. Guess I will also put this on my blog and if u r a blogger here I tink u shoul equally do the same and evn share it on ur social media acct. This injustice is really getting out of hand. Http://slammedxclusive.blogspot.com

32. May God save d innocent ones as u claimed @poster

33. Armed robbers are also in the banks!

34. So five people conspired to steal just 5m! Smh...if you want to steal, steal big and not peanuts...better still, do not steal at all! 5m for this everlasting shame!

BrendaN

1. That's what I still don't understand and I still feel some of them were roped in....haba... If I need to steal which I doubt it won't be 5million..
      Abeg add more zeros to that 5million...not to talk of conniving with 4 others that 1million per accomplice...way too cheap abeg

35. Let me go anonymous on this one, ATM fraud in banks no start today and as far as our investigative system is based on hear say and dem say and not on forensics no hope for us bankers. This account is domiciled in Yenagoa branch of the bank and the fraud was committed at zoo road branch of the same bank. I am surprised that EFCC is forming Jackie chan in dis matter as if na dem found out the fraud. It was the owner of the account dat found out money was withdrawn from his account which led to mails here and there between the two branches. Every bank fraud definitely will have an insider but at the end of the day innocent people will suffer for it. Until our security agents start doing forensic investigation no hope for the common man

1. I look forward to when forensics will be used in investigations and even banking(finger printing)

36. Looks as if they are carrying placards to protest.
    Anyways dear poster if you & your colleagues are so sure of their innocence why don't you make a move to prove it or at least show evidence to support your claims? Nobody here works with you guys neither does Stella.
    Tell them to get a very good lawyer (not charge & bail oh) & get down on their knees & ask for God intervention in their case.
    Mana 5.1 million for mmadu Oone biko? Poverty is a curse & a disease.
    All this atm & online scamming rubbish...I hardly pay for things online, I POD (peace of mind is priceless) & when its inevitable, I have a dedicated card for such & I always make sure I have less than 5k in that account after purchases. As for people helping me use my atm card @ d machine? Am not that daft. The kain evil look I will give you will freeze your liver

37. Bankers i fear them. thats how enterprise bank kept deducting my money small small. 3k today 2k next month. till last month when they deducted 10k. i had to go to their branch in apapa and the stupid lady was babbling. saying i did or i gave someone my card to do that.
    i asked her for the day, time and the location. she said apapa but cant say the time. i was so upset and said a bomb ass prayer and left. they were al; staring at me a preg woman.

emefele pls close enterprise bank. the bank is archaic and the employees lazy esp one of the branches in apapa

38. mhmmmm... Naija sef and their Justice system. sad