Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Doctor's Sack - Hon.Abike Dabiri Says It's Highly Questionable'

Monday, August 18, 2014

Nigerian Doctor's Sack - Hon.Abike Dabiri Says It's Highly Questionable'

In a press statement issued yesterday, in Lagos, Chairman House Committee on Diaspora, Hon. Abike Dabiri-Erewa described the sack of over 16,000 Nigerian resident doctors by the Federal Government as ‘highly questionable’ on several fronts, adding that “chief amongst which is the present emergency medical situation currently plaguing our nation.”

Dabiri-Erewa noted that it is understandable that the Federal Government may have disagreements with the striking doctors, but opting to sack all resident doctors given the present predicament is unjustifiable, insensitive and inconsiderate.

She further said that the indefinite suspension of the residency programme also poses a threat to the development of the already ailing healthcare sector in Nigeria.
“Resident doctors form a great part of the foundation upon which the medical practice in Nigeria is built,” she stated.

“They are the younger generation of doctors who are constantly understudying their superiors with a hope to replacing some of our renowned consultants in later years. The message being sent by the Federal Government to our youthful doctors is clear and simple: ‘we do not care about you or your profession. To us you are worthless.’”
“This same message delivered in several other ways has caused tonnes of our doctors to continue to relocate to western countries.

“Their numbers have become so significant they have even formed associations in the United Kingdom and United States of America.  For the sake our nation’s medical sector, this perception needs to be addressed promptly.

Dabiri-Erewa maintained that the action smirks of high handedness and gross irresponsibility both to the sacked doctors and to the nation’s citizenry who are the ultimate victims....vanguard

22 comments:

1. Abeg oga Jona do well ooo... Our health sector no dey in order, u come worsen am with dis kind sack news... #alinko

1. Are you saying he did good or not? Sort of contradicting yourself.

2. @Jelly beans,d "oga jona do well ooo" used by stanley is sarcastic,he isn't supporting d president buh against him...he means our president shd knw beta instead of sacking them.

2. Several seats ma ------>. \)__ \)__ \)__ \)__

3. Look here Abike Dabiri, you are one woman i like and respect, don't you think you all should come together and solve Nigeria's problems instead of this senseless blame game? In APC why don't you all have a voice? Instead what ever Tinubu the wizard tell's you to say is what you say..STOP this before i loose my respect for you too. Mtcheeeew.

1. Don't mind the woman....she is blinded by that acts of her real taxpayers...she couldn't blame Fashola. She for lose her job join...she is here talking because GEJ won't do here a thing....

4. Tell me if sacking striking doctors will make or Mar his acclaimed transformation agenda. Moreover you know the situation with the country's health system. So it's better he doesn't start what he can't finish.

Best Oracle

5. What is the way out now sef en

6. What is the way out now sef en

1. I still don't understand how Nigerian, the people, the government see things. Our priorities need to be reset. I tire men. Ifeneme!

7. I beg to defer with Hon Abike on this issue. If the younger generation of doctore learning from the older ones it means the Nigerian health sector is heading for doom. Because this incessant strikes would become an order of the day. I may have my reservation on the suspension of the doctors and the residency program but I'd say they forced the hands of the presidency when they refused to call off the strike after a medical emergency was declared in the nation. I think they should sheath their swords so this issue can be resolved once n for all.

8. Stupid consultants that are busy with their private hospitals and don't come to work..... Meanwhile they go round consulting for their colleagues all over.... We all complain naija is bad yet in our little corner we do worse things.... If the health system is in decay y will consultants not do their best to help the system instead they leave patients at the mercy of resident doctors still learning the ropes..... Doctors have no business going on strike this long and allowing the death of hundreds who are already plagued with poverty....

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Just a US visa and am out of this country for gud.....

10. Whether Jona sacks them or not it really makes no different right now cos as they have declared strike and they have not been doing their job its the same thing as it is, they are non functional in this critical era of EVD. There is really no discussion in this matter. If they are working and they get sacked on the job then we can call a round table dicussion for debate. Y are they agitated? Afterall they are enjoying their paid holiday right.? Nigerians just loves talking on issues and no action ever.

1. So who do you think is managing those patients with ebola in lagos? Nurses? Ignoramus!

2. my fellow Ignoramus, its definitely not the striking Doctors. mscheww

3. Mr/Ms consincere,i'll have u knw on authority dat d same residents u castigate are d ones volunteering for ebola care despite d poor commitment of ur govt to dese patients.Get ur facts right before making authoritative statements anywhere ok!

11. Yes agreed...it wasn't good. I'm sure GEJ is reconsidering....BUT Madam Dabike...wiat! Where were you when Fashola sacked Doctors in Lagos???????you were not there? OK contunu. Sebi na for GEJ body una dey get power. Selective activism...

12. This is Abike Dabiri,
    Hen Tin Hey News..
    Good night!

13. This should be looked into ASAP... not nice

14. the doctor should be employed like every other civil servant, the more years he work the more experienced he becomes, must a residency be done if so it should cut across all professions because any 1 proficient in his duty will benefit the nation eg wont u and d nation be hapy to ve a consultant auto engr? I realy like the suspensn of d residency program, they shd enter civil service and write promotion exams as and wn due. or else residency shd cut acros d border after all noting is bad to ve national post graduate engineering college. so abike if nma or nAma is one of ur kids with such request at the expense of others u wil grant it. wont u be a fool is u suport 1 who says a phD holder shd not be adressd as a Dr. they should run a program guided by NUC not this their advanced diploma and they want 2 equate themsefs with ph.D.