Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Students Face Disciplinary Action After Taking Pics Mocking Maids In South Africa

Thursday, August 07, 2014

Students Face Disciplinary Action After Taking Pics Mocking Maids In South Africa

Two university students are facing disciplinary action after taking photos of themselves dressed up as black South African maids.
The girls, who are studying at the University of Pretoria in South Africa, smeared their faces with brown paint and shoved pillows down their skirts in a bid to make their bottoms look bigger.

They then struck a number of poses for the camera, before the images were uploaded to the social-networking site Facebook.

Under fire: Two university students are facing disciplinary action after taking photos of themselves as South African maids. Above, the girls are pictured sporting brown face paint and pillows shoved down their skirts

Now, the university in Pretoria, Gauteng Province, is carrying out disciplinary action against the students, who dressed up in the outfits for a friend's party.
The photos, which have since been deleted from Facebook, show the girls posing in a bedroom while donning clothing typically associated with domestic workers.

She told Eyewitness News the students would be punished for bringing the university's name into disrepute - despite the photos having been taken at a private event. 
One Twitter user wrote: 'If I showed that picture to my domestic worker, she would be reduced to tears and would feel belittled and small. #FACT #Blackface.'..culled

68 comments:

1. Initially i found it hilarious..but
    after more looki looki i realise they re whites mocking black slaves

1. Well me I find the pics funny, away from racism of course. However to some others they'll look and think beyond the comic relief, esp as it happened in SA the generator of apartheid. I have seen black comedians make jokes of the white folks too so eh..

2. All I see is under feed funny looking guys.

3. And to think this happened in an African country.... na wa.. they should b punished already abeg

4. Fucking racist white South Africans!!! I blame black South Africans for taking their shit. Long Ibadan-market-woman hiss

1. Lmao at ibadan-market-woman his

5. Even if they go for surgery white gal nyash na flat pancake

6. In the UK my south African white manager would make housemaid jokes to the Zimbabwean Nurse which were racist. The land in south africa needs to be taken back

7. I have no words for these irresponsible children who lack manners and are obviously bloody racists.

8. end time selfie....una don enter am

9. Read this somewhere!What's all the brouhaha for?
    Much Ado about nothing IMO..
    The black race should stop picking everything as racism!! It portrays low self esteem!
    I see nothing in this pic at all!!

1. Mumu, that has obviously never travelled. You who doesn't know how your colour should be treated is the one with no self esteem. Even the oyibo are attacking the stupid girls.

10. Ndi ara..!
    Stupid racists!
    Strangers intimidating natives..only in Africa
    The Chinese, Lebanese and indians are good examples in Nig

11. BLOG ANALYSER: that serves them right

12. Lol. They were just catching fun but indirectly making mockery of maids now see where it has landed them. Their name is sorry

13. Oya BV....drop your comments on racism.... Waiting to read ya comments love

14. I have no comments. This is the world we live in. When someone looks down on you, you don't have to feed into it. Work hard make yourself better than them and watch them suck up to you

15. Every one is precious in d Father's eyes, wether yellow, black, blue or green, those are colours of the rainbow I tell u this is true u are not a colour and the colour is not u, black, white tan..... Wisdom is profitable to direct Ecl10:10

16. Can Tonto Dikeh see d way she called her a 'domestic worker' and not a 'maid'. I hope this new name sticks to her head

1. Eeyah!
      Pele.
      d thing must ve pained u,pele oo..ode oniranu oshi.
      Dont forget to say hello to ur madam's kids oo.....tell them Ichie Ezenwanyi Nwanonukpo Eze Ochiagha d first says hi.

Oloriburuku omo odo.

17. I blame them. No be their fault.

18. ANGELRAY SAYS
    These girls are really crazy, racist.But the picture looks funny sha.

19. ANGELRAY SAYS
    These girls are really crazy, racist.But the picture looks funny sha.

20. People like fight pass quarrel o!

21. Action should be taken against them. We re sick and tired of whites doing bad things and getting away with it. This is not the first time students from that university discriminate blacks

22. I don't think racism can be end in south Africa....gosh they are so stupid! Arrogant young fools...black people rocks still # proudlynigerian.

23. All i see is some grown ass hoes just trying to play not knowing they went too far.

24. Why are peeps always quick to shout racism? can people joke again?

25. Gosh, all I feel like eating now is BROCCOLI.............As for dis gist say NO to RACISM.

1. Is someone expecting? *winks*

2. Broccoli????na all these medemede make me never shit since ooo.....

3. Medemede ke. Nice vegetable it is@Ezewanyi
      @Anon winks**** right back......

4. Aunty Eze-wara wara........ Broccoli isn't mendemende o!! Google is ya frend..........
      And I say u're where again???

5. @anon 12; 11,direct ur wara wara to ur foolish and wretched mother afterall I wasnt speaking to u.
      idiotic cretin.

6. Wara wara ur mama cunt.was I speaking to u??scum.

26. If a white person called me nigga, I b pissed but if a black person says, hey nigga, I b lyk sup yo! And d context which its used won't matter.
    However, I don't knw whether or not 2 praise d university 4 their stand n dis cos I just can't get d other questin out of my head; which is, were it 2 b black girls who had struck such a pose, would it av been offensive? I think not.
    Would it av come off as funny? Hell yeah!
    But when it comes 2 university education its neva abt a student just being brilliant, but about being fit n proper in both xter n learning. In dis instant, I did say I am ok with their university's action.
    But still am confused about what is smtyms considered as acceptable wen making jokes bordering on certain issues. I just think ppl shud loosen up as its not so serious.

27. That moment wen ppl major in their minor.
    E no mean abeg!
    Its only a fun pic(d gals r even 'thumbing up')
    Dat 1 tlking abt domestic staff, I bet ur maid's pillow is wet all nite long frm d hardwork n small pay dey get.

28. Oh okkk,is that how scary SA maids are?
    Dat means I wouldn't have a maid if I ever go there cos I won't have my child screaming out of sleep on days he dreams of his maid!

29. Kermit where are you ?pls help me respond to this....

30. Kermit where are you ?pls help me respond to this....

31. Black should move past all dis sentiment joor, wat does dis gat to do wit us still far behind, South Africans blacks re lazy violent n evil,most Americans blacks re lazy n dirty n to dem it is all abt, women, drugs n sex. We should be angry wit dem not wit innocent joke like dis...come to US n see ow many black African n successful black American dat willl neva date a black American lady cos ddey always crazy n Nagging n ambitionless. av been in california for 1yr n aftaa been wit like 6black Americans I gave up searching for any1 of dem above 21 day doesn't av kidd/kids out of wedlock

1. I work with a few white south Africans and their racism would put Hitler to shame. I blame the black south Africans for letting this continue this long.

32. Naughty girls,see their ugly faces.

33. But y their maids go dey dress like that. Chai daa orii so mma. Not cool @ all.

34. Silly girls. Do you blame her. I thank God am black and am beautiful.

35. I wonder why they thought it was funny cos it sure isn't. Racism at its highest level.

36. Anon 8:42 I laugh at your stupidity!
    I am sure you are one of those people with low self esteem... Y'all crack jokes and no-one shouts racism..Did you read the part it says they were going for a party.. probably a costume party...

As for me never traveling before, I don't have to prove anything to your kind!!we balling already!!

37. Serves the black south Africans right for they ate the kings and Queens of xenophobia. They hate other Africans like shit so they should be fed their own bitter pills.

38. @ anon 5:56 shut your rotten azz up. It's because of the fight and struggles of those Black Americans why you have the ability to go live in that country and have the privileges you have today. Obviously you are attracting your equals because you can only attract what you already are.

How dare you bring your bigotry fuckery on the board, acting as if when they beating your azzes in Europe and Asia they care if you're educated or Nigerian, all they see is Black skin. You will be Black first anywhere you go, so thank God you are in the US and not Russia or Saudi Arabia where they would mince your azz and serve it for breakfast to their dogs. Let unity reign among us because at the end of the day we are all we have in the world. where the fuck in the world is black skin celebrated except among ourselves? Even dirt poor white people who ain't got shit going on for them still think they are superior to the most educated and accomplished Black people, simply because they are not one. Get out the damn matrix and see the world around you.

39. Interesting !
    my people now sing one song : taboo,alu ! death to them,burn,catch fire,destroy them,serves them right.

All I have to add is just SHUT THE HELL UP ALL YOU CONFUSED HYPOCRITES !

why wouldn't they mock you when we attack each other like there is no tomorrow on social media with very dirty words,as if the cure for ebola virus depends on how bad we abuse each other ?
    Make una go take seat for backyard i beg !
    See them !!! forming leaking one love,don't worry another story will soon be post by my love Stella and those thunder lips will start with the Yorubas are this,the Igbos are that & the Hausas are those.But now is THAT'S RACISM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! when you are the one that made that bed and spread your legs to fuck red hate and gave birth to RACISM AS KIDS STILL YOU EXPECT YOUR NEIGHBOURS TO GO BLIND FROM THE TRUTH OF WHAT YOU PERSONALLY PRODUCED.I BEG FREE THOSE GUYS JARI .NONSENSE !

1. You can swear for africa! The swearing makes what u have up there an uninteresting read.

2. Really ? shh or shit ? yet you read it and even wrote your comment based on mine without commenting at all the topic there ?
      I beg find seat go siddon .the comment was not meant for level .

40. Realy i dont give a dam about white skine. The should be punished with had labour.

1. Yeah! Just like your English teacher should be punished too!

2. Anon, a beg go buy coma for market.

41. Ok. EVE E UME

42. But they are slave descendants too.

Ignorance is bliss.

They should trace their DNA.

43. But they are slave descendants too.

Ignorance is bliss.

They should trace their DNA.

44. hmmmmmm.................

45. In as much as I don't support this picture, but I cant help but wonder if it would be racist for black folks to paint their faces white and strike a pose.
    Dunno

- Ajala