Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Lamido Finally Endorses Jonathan’s Presidential Ambition.

Friday, September 19, 2014

Governor Lamido Finally Endorses Jonathan’s Presidential Ambition.

Well,well well!!!

Governor Lamido has endorsed the one man he vowed he would never support.

Tell me about talking from both sides of his mouth.

A Sahara reporters article pencils him as being scared of ''EFCC''.....Might be true,might be not but there must surely be a reason why he began to sing a different tune.....

The article says ''Scared of being hunted down on corruption charges by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa today endorsed President Goodluck Jonathan’s bid for a second term in office.

Mr. Lamido had recently vowed to oppose President Jonathan’s re-election ambition in 2015. But a close associate of the governor’s told SaharaReporters that Mr. Lamido had to come to terms with the imperative of shelving his ambition for the fear of incurring investigation and possible prosecution by the EFCC. “The executive governor of Jigawa, Alhaji Lamido, knows that they [President Jonathan’s team] were planning to use the EFCC to harass him if he decided to run,” said the source. He added that the governor realized that the machinery of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was totally in the president’s pocket.

“How can you challenge the president when he has all the money, all the party functionaries are loyal to him, and he can use EFCC anyway he wants,” the governor’s associate added.

Mr. Lamido and two of his sons have been accused of extensive acts of graft and money laundering. The EFCC, Nigeria’s anti-corruption agency, has been investigating the financial scams allegedly perpetrated by the governor and members of his family. The EFCC recently arrested one of his sons. 

The agency’s investigators say they have traced several corporate fronts used by the governor and his family to siphon off billions of naira in public funds. An EFCC agent told SaharaReporters that Mr. Lamido and his family members were the sole owners and beneficiaries of the companies used in extensive money laundering and looting in Jigawa State.

Other sources within the PDP said Governor Lamido came under intense political pressure to stand down and allow Mr. Jonathan to emerge as the party’s consensus candidate.
“There’s no way realistically the governor could have stood a chance of securing the party’s ticket,” said one party official on condition of anonymity. He blamed former President Olusegun Obasanjo for encouraging Mr. Lamido to aspire to run for the Presidency, but added that the former president’s influence in the ruling party had been severely whittled down.

“I can tell you that even Chief Obasanjo will fully endorse Mr. President,” said the source. “So anybody depending on Chief Obasanjo to help him get the PDP’s presidential ticket is fooling himself.”
With Governor Lamido’s caving, it is not likely that any PDP governor will oppose the president’s re-election.
The Jigawa governor had chickened out after months of declaring that party members in his state had lost confidence in Mr. Jonathan whom he accused of not fulfilling promises made during the 2011 elections.

Jerry Gana, one of President Jonathan’s political associates, told newsmen at the Presidential Villa in Abuja last night that Mr. Lamido had consented to support Mr. Jonathan. Mr. Gana, who spoke to reporters after a meeting of the PDP’s board of trustees, added that there would be no opposition to the president’s candidacy.

The Daily Trust reported that Mr. Gana confirmed Governor Lamido’s decision.Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State had told the party’s board of trustees that Mr. Lamido phoned him during a meeting of party governors and announced his decision to back Mr. Jonathan for re-election. Mr. Akpabio disclosed that the Jigawa governor directed the state’s deputy governor, who attended the meeting, to signa document endorsing the president. 

According to the paper, Mr. Gana stated, “the BoT was so informed today about this and that decision by the governors was fully endorsed in a motion by the BoT on its own. Having received that news, the BoT also unanimously resolved that because of the excellent work which Mr. President has done, because of the mature way he has been leading Nigeria, because of the humble, dedicated and patriotic way he has been handling very sensitive issues, the BOT is delighted, convinced and overwhelmed by the fact that we've a very impressive candidate.”

*-Perhaps a little bird showed him photocopies of illegally transferred monies?
-Perhaps he knows his politically numbered days would abruptly come to an end if his voice is missing from GEJ2015?
There are lot of 'perhapses' and no one except Lamido knows what has chased him into silent surrender.

LOL

20 comments:

1. Good for them

2. if i say i am not tired of d way dis people are taking us for granted....its a huge lie....how can someone stay in power for 6years plus now and still want to run for presidency(be it as acting president or president) is it his father's throne? cos i dont get! well....let him enjoy it o...shebi na tym....obasanjo was there for 8years...it felt like forever but his tenure ended eventually!
    And all these stupid governors that will b stealing public funds.....una curse no be here at all...

3. Such level of greed, he stole state funds and now wants to go and steal federal funds. Can't evn say any better of APC, dr all d same thing. Criminals.

4. Ihekire Tony

When God is with you, even ur enemies has no option.

5. Hehehehehehehehe @little bird showed him papers! The level of corruption in this country is jaw dropping. Someone I knew was sworn enemy wit GEJ changed overnight! Na zo! #Precious Ibik

6. Hehehehehehehehe @little bird showed him papers! The level of corruption in this country is jaw dropping. Someone I knew was sworn enemy wit GEJ changed overnight! Na zo! #Precious Ibik

7. He cant escape prosecution if he likes let him be jonathans page boy, he is corrupt, a thief and a fraudster he must face the EFCC.

8. And that is why it is called politricks!

9. Ana emenu.

SMH For Dat Man dat didn't have shoes before.
    How can he do dis?
    How can he do dis to us?!

10. Cross carpeting

Like a pack of cards, they will all fall in line.
    Bwahahahhahahha

*atichoo, atichoo, they all fall down*

Looking for my Johnny

11. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Why did he chicken out if he's hands are clean, bunch of thieves.

12. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Why did he chicken out if he's hands are clean, bunch of thieves.

13. SD you know the ways of these politicians,they are as unstable as the wind.

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L^ »_»_• \0/

14. Sule Lamido, Babangida Aliyu et al are all rabble rousers. This 2015 election na do or die for oga Jona and all dissenters within the ruling PDP know to either toe the line now or pay for their folly post 2015 when there won't be immunity from the fury the presidency will unleash on everyone who ever stepped on Mr. President's toe. Oh yes! As much as I hate the thought, PDP will win the presidency again with oga Jona as its candidate. The once united and very 'strong' North has been so polarised and battered to submission. When thy were busy gallivanting forming 'new PDP' I knew it was all a tool for political bargaining; now we can at least guess what they got in return - immunity from prosecution, political survival and relevance. Nigerian politics is more of the more you see, the less you understand.

15. You can't afford to hate my dear GEJ for long. #ILOVEGEJ.

16. All these old thieves sef!!!

17. When are we going to get a President that will be re-elected because he fought against corruption, institutionalised stealing, money laundry, unemployment, power instability etc. Still waiting till thy kingdom come.

18. hmmmmm! God save us from all these people that called themselves leaders! Chronograph Bracelet - SHE-551