Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Liberian Girl Hangs Self In Lagos

Friday, September 12, 2014

Liberian Girl Hangs Self In Lagos

A Liberian lady, Kate, a single mother of 8, who had reportedly tested positive to HIV, has committed suicide by hanging herself at a Mechanic workshop in Bankole street, Isheri-Magodo road, Lagos State. 

VIEWERS DISCRETION ADVISED FROM THIS POINT

Residents of Isheri woke up this morning to a shocking sight of a lifeless body swinging with a rope tied to a tree in Mechanic workshop along Bankole street, Isheri, Lagos. GossipBoyz.com.ng visited the scene this morning  and according to residents who knew the lady, she was a Liberian immigrant living in Lagos for a while now and might have committed suicide out of depression since learning she had tested positive of HIV.

A source close to her revealed that the lady had been sick and receiving treatments before going for tests and learning that she was HIV positive. With all the stories of Ebola in Liberia, her friends abandoned her and stigmatization set in...

Kate who was a factory worker at a 'pure-water' company, became depressed and a friend of hers gave her some money and encouraged her to travel back to Liberia to her husband to get treatment but couldn't due to the problems of Ebola in Liberia. She has been alone, suffering and starving with no means of income. 

Some residents in the compound she lived in even helped her with foodstuffs and money encouraging her to stay calm. They were shocked to wake up to her dead body.

One of the residents who recounted his last moments with her said she was dejected, sitting outside and in deep thoughts; little did they know her thoughts were about committing suicide.

As at the time GossipBoyz.com.ng visited the area, her lifeless body is still hanging out there with the police who visited the area refusing to touch the body saying they cannot take off the body as its a custom attached to committed suicide by hanging.

One of the onlookers said in Yoruba tradition if the body was removed by anybody, her family members would all die; that its a spiritual thing and only spiritual people can do the necessary rituals before dismounting the body.

52 comments:

1. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    If not for patrick this lady will still be alive nw.....

1. How did Mr Sawyer cause her death?

2. What's this one saying? Didn't you read the post? Its HIV postive shogbo? Onisokuso!

3. I'm surprised U heard about Sawyer in Jupiter

4. Oh lord Pls, the frustration that would lead to ending ones' life be far from us IJN! Am utterly speechless.

2. That's what stigmatization causes!

1. Honestly, i'm not happy how this woman's pic is being paraded on blogs. May God rest her soul

3. See mad people.. Why r some people so stupid? Instead of cutting down that rope na to take pics of dead person put on social media dem sabi mscheww.. May the soul of the liberian rest in peace. Some ppl have it worse than you so in life, whatever challenges that comes your way, one has to give thanks, grab it by the horns n face it!

1. If u were there,wld u have cut d rope?...abeg answer

2. If u were there,wld u have cut d rope?...abeg answer

3. Cut which rope? Before police go say na you kill am.

4. Wow!!..
    Chia,I pity her children...
    HIV is now rampant...
    Oriegwu!!...
    RIP to the dead

1. Retarded and daft Linda.... HIV is now rampant". Kai u are so stupid walahi....

2. Heard it spreads faster among homos and bisexuals. Just saying ooooooo

3. Big fool go and fuck around na, and no if u won't get it. Otondo

5. Afufu uwa! To think that there are thousands of people out there who don't know what to do with money. Rip to the dead. Please they should take down her body. All these fetish traditions sef

6. Hummmmm wat a sad story. ... RIP to d dead...

7. See caribean princess aunty oooooo lol na so she wan die like fowl ...ehya may caribean princess have the fortitude to bear this loss.very painful

1. Shame on you sisi! Always picking on woman...before it was Chizoba, now caribean princess...senseless boy

2. You are such an idiot for this stupid, wicked, and heartless comment which you that have made. God in heaven judge you for turning this pathetic incident into mockery.

3. Hahahhahahahahahaha
      This boy go get heart attack ontop my matter oh...lol
      Your next bus stop na psychiatric home with the rate you are going.
      Dont worry will send you a glimpse of my lap so you can mastubate and cum this night as my name no do you.... Dickhead!!!

4. Somebori shud clap 4 these three ghost.

8. Heart sinks!

And what are the silly old women snapping?
    Look at that 1 wit her spring suit n dusty shoes(I fear women wu wear dat kinda skirt), dia wickedness na unto anoda level.

9. It's amazing what social media and access to camera phones have done to people. Look at them boldly standing in front of a corpse and taking pictures. They might as well take selfies before the corpse is brought down.
    Even in accident situations when some of the victims might still be alive instead of people applying first aid they'd first bring out phones to snap. Very appalling behaviour.

10. Pls stop saying she's HIV positive without proof not "dem say" it's not fair or nice on her. the people who claimed to be close to her that knew she was HIV positive should be bold enough to state their names! People are wicked in this world it can just be one stupid careless talk from someone. Pls confirm abeg. May her soul rest in peace.

11. Stella just look at what stigmatization has caused ...May her soul rest in peace.

12. And idle fools who have nothing better to do are recording the horrible scene with their phones? To shoot home movies with or to use as screen saver?? Haba Nigerians, ogini bu Ifeaa??!!! You people should go and pray o!

13. And idle fools who have nothing better to do are recording the horrible scene with their phones? To shoot home movies with or to use as screen saver?? Haba Nigerians, ogini bu Ifeaa??!!! You people should go and pray o!

14. Poor poor woman!
    Dis Life isnt fair to all
    Let us who are fortunate be thankful

Just see how people were snapping away @ her lifeless body
    Even in death,misery still haunted her
    Sad Sad sad

15. Na wa o!!! Stories we hear n read these days, father in heaven that control. But I don't understand ds story mbok!!! She is a single mother of 8? And money was given to her to go back to Liberia to meet her HUSBAND. If she has a husband at d first place, then how is she a single mother of 8 then?? In another blog, I learnt she was being stigmatised cos she came from Liberia n was so sick. Since Ebola is synonymous with Ebola these days, she was ignored by everyone n people refused to sell things to her. Probably she got frustrated n killed herself. Only God knows d true situation of things, but people who commit suicide have got gutts. How do they manage to take tjeir own lives?? How do they just get it up in their heads n then play it out? I mean, how do they surmon courage to do it? Depression is indeed a bastard. Smh.

1. The mistake is from the write up, I know the lady oh..it happened in our neighbourhood. She is a mother of an 8year old that has been living in Lagos on her own for a long while...

16. Corruption is not our biggest problem. But rather, illitracy, ignorance and mediocrity.
    Rest in peace dear.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.
    Paragon7ven.

17. OMG!!
    Imagine, some people are even snapping her

Rip to the dead

18. SDK, do u know Dr Enemuo did not die of Ebola? Stories unfolding

19. SDK, do u know Dr Enemuo did not die of Ebola? Stories unfolding

20. Nigerian police God punish u people......so her people must come from Liberia to perform ritual while the body hangs there till they come? Dnt know what century Africans will become civilised again..... May her soul rip.....

21. Na wa oo...why kill yourself? why??? I just wonder why people contemplate suicide..
    Na wa for the superstition oo. Which whole family member is dying? Lol..God help us oo and give us the grace to scale through our down moments

22. SO WHY ALL THE CUSS OUT ON THE PPLE TAKING PHOTOS? IF THEY DIDNT THEN WE WUDNT EVEN HAVE THE NEWS. YES, DIS IS THE AGE WHERE EVERYONE WHO HAS A PHONE IS A 'JOURNALIST', THE MOMENT IT HAPPENS, IT TRAVELS.. WHICH IS NOT A BAD THINGY..
    AT LEAST AM IN AMERICA BUH I KNOW SOMEONE COMMITTED SUICIDE TODAY SOMEWHERE IN LAGOS.. MAYBE SOMEONE IN LIBERIA WHO KNOWS HER WILL READ OF THIS..COS OF THIS PHOTO.
    THANKGOD FOR SOCIAL MEDIA. MANY THINGS HAPPEN IN NIGERIA DAILY THAT GO UNREPORTED! WE KNOW THE BIT WE KNOW TODAY JUST COS OF SOCIAL MEDIA.
    SINCE OUR REAL JOURNALISTS ARE ALWAYS LAZY ON REPORTING NEWS, WE MANAGE THE GOSSIPS AND RUMOURS AND STICK IT ALL TOGEDA TO FORM OUR NEWS.
    IT'S SO SAD TO SEE A SUICIDE VICTIM. ITS REALLY LACK OF LOVE, NOT JUST POVERTY OR SICKNESS. AND THE NIGERIAN SOCIETY IS JUST TOO HUNGRY TO SHOW LOVE TO THE NEEDY, NOBODY CARES, YOU ONLY HAVE FRIENDS IF/WHEN U ARE RICH. RIP LADY!
    IF U HAVE SHOES, U ARE OVERDRESSED,IF U HAVE FAMILY, U HAVE MORE THAN U NEED. BE GRATEFUL FOR UR LIFE AND STRUGGLES, URS IS NOT THE WORST CASE!

23. Those ones there taking pictures, infact I dnt know what t call them.

24. Eeeyah
    I feel so sorry for her
    Only God knows what she has been through
    May her soul RIP

25. Darling...may your soul rest in peace.
    What about the kids remaining?
    hope the government takes care of them

If only you know, you would have come to Sdk.

I want to adopt babies
    so many orphans

if only you remembered Christ
    He is the greatest healer.

XOXO MYSTERY

26. Mehn!!! Life no easy at all. Its just sad that she took the easy way out which aint cool.

27. And these old ladies were serious taking pictures of someone that commited suicide smh,may God receive her soul

28. Na wao look at them taking pictures rip to her