Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Jonathan Assures That 2015 Elections Will Be In Accordance With Global Best Practices.

Friday, September 26, 2014

President Jonathan Assures That 2015 Elections Will Be In Accordance With Global Best Practices.

STATE HOUSE PRESS RELEASE
2015 GENERAL ELECTIONS WILL BE IN ACCORDANCE WITH GLOBAL BEST PRACTICES - PRESIDENT JONATHAN ASSURES

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has assured the international community  that next year's general elections in Nigeria will be conducted in accordance with global best practices to further strengthen the country's democratic institutions.

At separate meetings with the United Nations Secretary-General, Mr. Ban Ki Moon and the British Prime Minister, Mr. David Cameron before leaving New York late Wednesday, President Jonathan reaffirmed his personal commitment to making elections in Nigeria progressively better, freer and more credible.

The President said that in keeping with his administration's dedication to openness and transparency in the conduct of public affairs, international observers will be allowed to freely monitor the 2015 elections and affirm that the elections are as free, fair and credible as his administration has promised. 
He thanked Mr. Ban Ki Moon and Mr. Cameron for their continuing support for Nigeria's effort to curb terrorism, insurgency and violent extremism within its borders, saying that the Federal Government will welcome even more assistance from Britain especially in the areas of intelligence sharing, anti- terrorism training and defence logistics. 
At a later meeting with the Director-General of the World Health Organisation (WHO), Dr. Margaret Chan, President Jonathan expressed Nigeria's appreciation of the support it received from  WHO for the successful containment of the Ebola Virus Disease.

Affirming that Nigeria was now Ebola-free, President Jonathan called for greater international support to ensure that the virus is also eradicated in other West Africa countries that it continues to ravage.
"Nigeria is free of the virus now but we know that to be permanently free from it, we must remain  vigilant and work with WHO and the international community to eradicate it completely from our sub-region and forestall the possibility of its re-emergence on our shores through migration," he told Dr. Chan.
President Jonathan also assured her that in spite of hindrances by insurgents, terrorists and violent extremists, the  Federal Government remained fully committed to eradicating polio from Nigeria in the shortest possible time.

Dr. Chan and Mr. Ban Ki Moon seized the opportunity of their meeting with President Jonathan to commend his exemplary  leadership on Nigeria's successful effort to stop the spreading of the Ebola Virus.
Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President
(Media and Publicity)

September 25, 2014

17 comments:

1. Ihekire Tony

GEJ you have always delivered on ur promises. I know you won't disappoint the good people of Nigeria.

2. The same promise about our economy and government contracting processes. But we all know how that turns out.

Promises and reality is Nigeria are polar opposites. Lest I forget, he did promise Nigerians that Boko Haram will end in June 2014 and that there would be stable power as of December 2013. Sure we are enjoying those promises today. Nuff said.

3. The globe is waiting sir,waiting for you to externalize. *siddon look*

»_»_• \0/ ^FORTUNEDEXC£L^ »_»_• \0/

4. Yes as expected, I saw Reuben Abati at the end of the write up.
    I watched the president yesterday when he was talking, I liked his speech. But then again, I still don't like him and he's clueless. He can do no right in my eyes until I start seeing progress in my country.

5. Cool story sir in wah chapter did u work to merit 2015.

6. Goodluck till 2019,if you have a problem with that,leave Nigeria. Thank you.

7. E be like say dem want to dance galala na d new dance again

8. @SDK ur bad mouth no be here oooo,I can fear you Ooooooooo;-)

9. Ofcos, the 1billion dollars has been authorised!!! Clowns

10. Goodluck for Nigeria.....Oooooshey

11. That's my man!!
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA

12. I trust you . #ILOVEGEJ.

13. I wish I wish I wish # in R Kelly's voice.