Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Woman With World's Largest Hands.....

Sunday, September 07, 2014

Woman With World's Largest Hands.....

Meet the woman who doctors believe has the 'world’s biggest hands' - weighing almost one and a half stone each.
For more than 50 years, shop owner Duangjay Samaksamam, from Surin Province,Thailand, has suffered from an extremely rare and painful affliction that leaves her limbs permanently swollen.

Moving can be very painful and even the simplest tasks, such as washing and combing her hair, are extremely difficult for the single 59-year-old.

Embarrassed by her condition, Duangjay spent the first 20 years of her life as a recluse, ashamed of the way she looked, so she never went to school.

But she was forced to come out of hiding to earn a living in order to care for her elderly parents and take over running the family grocery shop.
She has caught the attention of medics all over the world, with many attempting surgery to decrease the swelling, but, to date, none have succeeded.

Duangjay said: “My hands are so heavy I can barely lift them to comb or shampoo my hair, it’s very difficult. Getting dressed is also very difficult and painful.
“Some doctors said the only solution was to cut off my hands if I wished to walk around freely. But I don’t want to do that."

Duangjay was born with a condition called Macrodystrophia Lipomastosa, that causes vast amounts of fat deposits to be distributed across her arms and hands.
At age 25, she underwent a series of operations to try and solve the problem.
But rather than improving the situation, the surgery made the condition worse.
Having undergone three operations, Duangjay was still in a crippling condition.

Plastic surgeon Dr Eiju Uchinuma said: “This case is very rare. Both her arms are enlarged. Her arms and hands are enormous so they swell badly, but it could be worse.

“My diagnosis is that she is the first and only person in the world who has Macrodystrophia Lipomatosa from shoulders to her fingers on both arms.
“The cause of the disease is unknown and is therefore incurable.”            
Duangjay’s story appears in a new series of Body Bizarre, set to air on TLC at 9pm on September 25...culled.

42 comments:

1. Dear Lord!!! Don't even wanna imagine what she's passing thru!

1. I thank God for my life and d life of my loved ones..as long as i av gud health and life,i av hope in God

2. God's creation. I did read a similar news weeks ago about an indian boy but I guess his isn't as severe as hers

3. Chaii
    I dont wanna imagine the pain she feels

4. Chai!
    Na wah oh.
    I'm so sorry for her.
    I pray for a medical breakthrough in her case so she can be free and live a normal life.
    #sighs

5. God of wonders! The hand is almost bigger than the whole of her! Smh! Ii never see fiinish ooo

6. I can see the scar from the previous surgeries...wow! I just wish her case can be taken up by an experienced surgeon who can attempt to help her.

And oh,i love watching TLC,i get intrigued by these reality series!

7. Jeez! It must be very painful. I'm sure a lot of pple will discriminate nd won't wanna buy stuffs from her, her hand is actually scary. God Pls help her

8. Lord have mercy
    How sad!
    Pple get problem for this world oooh!
    Allah Seriki!!
    I feel her pain
    Which docs can help
    Eeeya!!!

9. So Bizarre. The name of the disease sef no b here. Na wa o.

10. AdaDiUraNma LOVE HotIce7 September 2014 at 12:34

Ife n'eme na this world oh! WHAT??? I ope is not contagious oh. This is just so Unbelievable!!! Sickness dey this world oh. Chimo!!!

11. Awwwww I feel for her, those hands look damn painful.Happy Sunday SDK and fellow BVs

12. Na wa oh ,I was crying because I have no shoes until I saw one with no legs. Still on my campaign ,M fucking. Mate I no wan hear story oh ,iam doing the countdown ,day 7.

13. Make she come help me dial person slap. 80 leaves!

14. Hmmm. Nah wao! God i praise thee.

15. Lord I bless ur name f d way I was created; wonderfully n fearfully made. Am greatful

16. Thank you lord ooooo
    Even after all my complain about small boobs and average sized butt's, i'm still living healthy. I even have have the perfect legs to catwalk chai! Baba God,, you too muchhh!

17. God have mercy! Some pple are really suffering in pains...... Father thank u for my life.

18. Wow! Lord thank you for me. I remain grateful and yes thank you for this woman's life. Tis well with her.

19. God will heal her, he'll continue to be her strength.

20. And some people are busy committing suicide jst cos if depression?

21. God of mercy! Sickness dey dis world o.

22. The only healing she needs now is from Jehovah Over Do the God that cures every rare unknown dieseas...
    May His healing be upon her!

23. Waaaoooh welcome back chizoba where have been.people miss you here though they might pretend they don't .kelvin where art thou ,don't tell me chizoba is kelvin .

24. Hmmmm. May God ve mercy on her.

25. Hmmm! Thank God for d gift of life

26. Asikolobi Ursista7 September 2014 at 16:46

I think dis lady's mother ate 2 much spinach during pregnancy or popeye's her spirit dad.

27. Asikolobi Ursista7 September 2014 at 16:48

Meanwhile stella,r u now blogging 4 d visually impaired or what's with d bigger-than capital letters?

28. I do not want to imagine the pain this woman is going through...May the hand of God rest upon her.

29. Why wont I praise and thank God in my situation? When you see other's you have hope.

30. God pls come to her aid

31. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Lord what is this...... Am really feeling for her like big tym.....