Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BON Awards 2014 Shuts Down Rumour That Gov Amaechi Insulted Nollywood actors.

Saturday, October 18, 2014

BON Awards 2014 Shuts Down Rumour That Gov Amaechi Insulted Nollywood actors.

BEST OF NOLLYWOOD AWARDS 2014: THE TRUTH ABOUT GOVERNOR ROTIMI AMAECHI'S SPEECH/ EXCLUSIVE FIRST PICS FROM THE EVENT.

Our attention has been drawn to a report on a popular Blog wherein she purported that Governor Rotimi Amaechi insulted Nollywood practitioners to their faces and called them products of circumstances at the Best of Nollywood Awards which held inside the banquet hall of the Government House, Port Harcourt, Rivers State on Thursday, October 16th 2014. 

While we consider the report malicious, mediocre and outright falsehood on which the blogger thrives, it is expedient to however set the record straight.

At no point did Governor Amaechi insult Nollywood practitioners. Instead, he commended them for growing the industry into a multi billion naira industry without any form of institutional or  government support. Nollywood, he says, now employs hundreds of thousands of Nigerian youths who, despite their qualifications, may have remained jobless because of the unemployment challenge in Nigeria which has led to a situation whereby graduates of medicine, law and other such disciplines end up in Nollywood. 

At that point, popular entertainer, Okey Bakassi, interrupted the governor, saying he is an agricultural engineering graduate of the Rivers State University of Science and Technology, which threw the whole hall into laughter. 

The Governor then recalled that at the 40th birthday party of Kate Henshaw a while back, Basorge Tariah Jnr reminded her how they used to slap the streets in search of jobs and that it was Nollywood that rescued them. Governor Amaechi also cited the example of the banking industry which has become a dumping ground of sort for graduates of different disciplines that are not even remotely related to the banking profession.

It does not beggar rational understanding, except that the blogger may not be so conditioned,  therefore, that this allusion is a thumbs up for the pioneers of Nollywood, not an insult as she inanely interpreted it. More so, at no point did the Governor say he gives Kate Henshaw money. He did, however, say that the state has contracted Mrs Joke Jacobs to turn Chinua Achebe's political satire, A Man of the People, into a movie because of its inherent, timeless social message.

After his speech, an excited Patience Ozokwor re-invited the Governor to the stage to co-present the Movie of The Year award. We wonder if the practitioners did indeed feel insulted, the Governor would still receive a standing ovation for stating that after his term in office expires, he would devote the next couple of years to reading and research and that one of the research topics he has chosen is the dynamism and evolution of Nollywood.

The video of his full speech would be on social media platforms in a few hours. It is noteworthy to mention that despite starting behind schedule, Governor Amaechi sat through the awards which lasted over three hours. 

We therefore want discerning Nigerians to discountenance this ill-intentioned report as it is not only the product of warped reasoning and deliberate misinterpretation, it is most uncharitable to Governor Amaechi and demeaning to the Nollywood stars and stakeholders that were at the event.

99 comments:

1. I cant see the northern actors...by the wy the popular blog is stella

Visot my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

1. Ireti Osayemi watch the weight hun. Abi u wan be like me ni? One of my fav actresses. As for Amechi, not interested. Ok bye

2. They are all looking so good tho' a far cry from bleached out faces and make downs that we have been seeing, Liz Bensonstill looking great. Nothing concern me concern whether Amaechi insulted anybody.... Them go soon talk say he insulted the banking sector.

3. If this is exactly what went down,then the said blogger should further confirm reports before making it a post cos alot of these actors worked tiredlessly for years to build their brands and you don't drag their names in the mud and expect them to feel good about it.

4. I was not there,so I do not have an opinion about this! One thing I know about an average Nigerian celebrity is the ability to deny a protruding stomach in the presence of the whole world...even when you hear the sound of the baby,they will release a press statement saying they were never pregnant.....it is well.lol

1. Shut your stupid mouth iphie..... They repeated what he said, is that an insult? Stupid bloggers who think with their anus and want to get traffic on their blog by force...... It was a recorded event so any normal person should go listen n watch before vomiting rubbish...

5. Lmao!
    Stellastica, tk it easy, jesus loves u #Hehehe!(May una no carry dis tin enter new year oo)

Ewo!!!
    See that yoruba actress on gold dress, with such fine skin, ireti abi wetin b her name. Tk it easy oo, u r about to burst.

6. OK, so who was the blogger that ignited such malicious gist. Na wa....

1. Stupid Linda,oni ro aye. God punish her

7. *coughcough*

Noted.
    Whatever he said,he has said
    Whatever he didn't say,he has not said

8. Please that Yoruwood actress in a gold dress should register with Kaffy or rush down to Quincy.
    WTFF

1. Must everybody be slim?
      Variety is d spice of life.
      Mind ur bizness

9. All liars shall perish where jare my people,wetin the man do them nw?pdp @ work,dats the way nigerians think,morning jare stella & sdkers,enjoy yur weekend.

10. Stella y u no wan mention d name of the blogger.... We would like to knw so as to avoid future misinformation

11. So who did the malicious report?....... Shak!

12. This should be interesting.

13. concerned citizen18 October 2014 at 09:06

I actually found dat post offensive when I read it. How can someone twist a story into such a big lie just to get attention? Its such a shame n turn off for me...I have totally lost any respect I had for the blogger...thank God there r other bloggers who can clear d airwaves....

14. U see. " I am numeruo uno" u see ur life? It's not far but how well. Stella my love keep up d good work. Good morning SDKers. Lovely weekend to y'all.

1. Shut dat stink hole u call a mouth.. u cant be half of her.. dis goes to u and every other ode dat will run dia mouth on this mouth..

2. *on this post

3. U see, that's y ure anonymous. Show ur face b4 I answer u ok. Now run along.

15. Hhhhhmmmmm.....someone must have sent a wrong message to Linda. I read it on LIB this morning. I was actually shocked Goc. Amaechi who agreed to host them in his state will go ahead to rubbish them for no reason.

16. ANGELRAY SAYS
    Haba na wa, bloggers and their fake stories, one of u will be jailed one day.

17. Rubbish. Liars. What else will they say? We didn't expect you to come out and say oh yes governor Amaechi insulted nollywood. Abegi. Na today nyash dey back? Kpcheew.

18. Wow!!..
    This Rotimi sef..so he was there for 3hours doing what exactly?..
    Governors of nowadays are everywhere I remember years back when you hardly see them except on Tvs..
    Oriegwu!!..

1. Linda shut your stupid low life retarded mouth.... Are govs monks? They are there to serve the people.... That's why u people turn them to mini gods and they feel they are above everyone else..... Bush rat, go to developed countries and see how govs interact but still do their jobs..... Nothing wrong with what he did do go hide your stupidity somewhere...... Half baked illiterate bitch.....

2. Go to port harcourt and see d sorry state of d city yet he had time for dis. Pity!

19. I'm gonna hand it to the writer of this article over his/her command of words.... This was jst too classy a comeback

20. Hmmmm
    Na dem sabi jare
    **flips hair n exit d post**

1. Pulls her back. You forgot to fart today, or are u waiting for me to start eating first?

2. @la effigy LLLLLLOOOOOLLL

3. Ooo effizy sorry spell check

21. Hmmmm....
    D other blogger wrote that the Governor said those stuff and Even added quotes...
    And now Dis...
    Which one do we now believe?!

The Plot Thickens!
    Ana emenu....

22. Hnmmm! Ok. I wonder who d blogger is.

23. Once again... Linda has goofed. Hope the news didn't come from paid sources sha. They should have to return her money if that's the case.

24. And what's ur reason for posting dis? Bcos u want BV to cuss her out Stella Stella Stella jealousy does nt pay. If u like dnt post my comment. Am an ardent reader of ur blog and hers and i can tell u this,She doesn't av ur time madam but u too dey carry her matter for ur head. Promote peace dear stop using her to get traffic.

1. Shut the fuck up.

2. Linda is dat u, y r u in anonymous?

3. So Stella is supposed to refuse to post BON's side of the story?

You are the one carrying rubbish on your head because this isn't about Linda.

I wonder why some of you think Stella, a wife, mother, business woman with a demanding job, spends all her spare time plotting against Linda!

4. Go to hell u dis big headed fool

5. Anoy 10:22am u r an imbecile. Who is jealous of linda? OMG! U r so daft to even think that. Comot jare anuofia

6. And these are one of those who keep saying naija is backward. ....so make stellina hide d story bcos of one blogger?

7. But to be frank...Stella why you post am

Everyone shld be get each other back..its not like you have never been mis informed before...

8. Must she put it in that way...its so obvious she's trying to make people say negative things

25. Why not post d video immediately?...they wanto edit d parts d blogger reported abi?

1. Abi...
      Nd moreover behind every rumour...there is a truth

26. y would someone put up such malicious lies

27. Everyone wants to shine with Linda Ikeji.enough already.reading that her story I knew she didn't really understand what he meant. but we have heard please no one is above mistakes.

1. Hian please run along. ....

2. @chick..you are bias....I Knw you love Stella..I do too...BT no one is abv mistake

3. U this ugly igbotic chick felix get your irritating half baked self from here..... Looking like all this Italian Nigerian prostitutes..... Mschweeeeeeew

28. y would someone put up such malicious lies

29. ANON 10:22AM

THATS HOW THE BUSINESS IS,YOU CAN SAY WHATEVER YOU WANNA SAY.MY COLLEAGUE SENT ME A REPORT TO POST FOR HIM ON HIS BEHALF OF HIS ORGANISATION AND A MISLEADING REPORT PUBLISHED ON IT,SO I WILL NOT DO EH?

WHEN DINO MELAYE DID A TWITTER REPORT RUBBISHING ME,DIDNT THE BLOGGER POST IT AND LEAVE THE ONE THAT HAD MY NAME?

THIS REPORT HAD HER NAME AND I WAS NICE ENOUGH TO TAKE IT OUT.

WHOEVER YOU ARE PLS REMOVE THE WOOLS FROM YOUR EYES AND READ THE NEWS.

BLODDY MYOPIC HATING WONT GET U NOWHERE.

1. Tell am ooo..

2. Don't mind them fools. Awon oloshi. Jagbajantis. Stelalicious muah to u jor

3. Don't mind them fools. Awon oloshi. Jagbajantis. Stelalicious muah to u jor

4. Am not surprised u replied mkt woman oshi be fighting up and down like a headless chicken..

5. Stella shut up and get some class ..... All this isoko market woman rubbish is enough abeg.....

30. ANON 10:22AM

THATS HOW THE BUSINESS IS,YOU CAN SAY WHATEVER YOU WANNA SAY.MY COLLEAGUE SENT ME A REPORT TO POST FOR HIM ON HIS BEHALF OF HIS ORGANISATION AND A MISLEADING REPORT PUBLISHED ON IT,SO I WILL NOT DO EH?

WHEN DINO MELAYE DID A TWITTER REPORT RUBBISHING ME,DIDNT THE BLOGGER POST IT AND LEAVE THE ONE THAT HAD MY NAME?

THIS REPORT HAD HER NAME AND I WAS NICE ENOUGH TO TAKE IT OUT.

WHOEVER YOU ARE PLS REMOVE THE WOOLS FROM YOUR EYES AND READ THE NEWS.

BLODDY MYOPIC HATING WONT GET U NOWHERE.

1. Please pay no mind to that individual. Voltrons will always believe the said blogger has exclusive rights to the art of gossip and knocking hustle. BTW, if I see the word "ARDENT" with reader following again, I'll scream. WTF! Is there no other word for ardent?

2. Stella...its not true...I read both your blog and Linda's..Nd havnt come across your name...or her dissing you..

3. Stella you are doing a great job no doubt but you to just chill @ times.. your reply even shows that you have a lot bottled up against her

31. Stella the picture is everywhere like since yesterday how come it is exclusive to you this morning? lol

32. oh dey shud spare me.knwing amaechi he cn say it 100percent..it cnt b total lies nw.naija celebs r d worst liars...n we also knw dat videos cn b edited or doctored.so mak dem leav matter.......culled by JENNY

33. Honestly i read both blogs buh the issue of going on n on abt lib is becoming irritating the sky is big enuff for all birds to fly....u will never c a comment wit sdk's name approved on lib i luv healthy rivalry but when it bcmes malicious den it nt nice.Lets live in peace everyone cnt b ur cup of tea buh we need 2b civil n professional abt it,stella u dnt need to publish comments wit lib/linda on ur blog to gain traffic n wen we BV knws dt we will stop making such comments

1. Thank u. That's the only reason I respect linda. Her maturity is commendable. She never approves any comment dissing any blog or blogger. But all other blogs will post comments that cuss linda out. Anyway thats why she is number 1.

2. Ys...true...

34. oh plz u guys shud nt strt..dis is a report,ithas to b posted.as many sides as there are to it has to b posted..it is business..i cn remember d report whr dino blasted stella.she posted it on her blog buh inked stellas name out..dat aint d first.most tyms she will nt post a story buh wen d pesn cums for stella she ll post it buh ink out stellas name...in all i biliv amaechi said it n plz if we cannot broker peace btw dis two bloggers.let us allow dem be.....culled by JENNY

35. Stella I love u n d work u do but b4 u posted dis, u wld have confirm. I was right there @ d BON awards. The governor even said more than d other blogger wrote. Don't b decieved. We lie too much in nollywood. The governor called a lot of actresses out and lashed out insults. Pls I love u but always confirm ur stories b4 u start making enemies. Pls.....

1. I was there as well anon11:08 and I dint find anything the Gov said offensive, you don't have to lie to make a point

36. sorry oh i didnt go checking around to see who has it,the pics were sent to me first yesterday but i was too busy.exclusive is when you get it directly from source.abi?if not please educate me so i can learn.

37. i read bth blogs and madam stell,u r confrontational while linda is sneaky..u spk up while she gts anoda to do d job..dis bad blood btw u two hurts cuz i luv u bth to pieces for diff reasons..av learnt diff tins frm bth of u.forgv woteva it is plzzz..until u guys rch out to ich oda,ppl ll tak advantage.somtyms u also post stories whch r denyd by d concrnd party.wot dey do is come bak to u n state dis side,in a situatn whr d pesn dosnt go off ranting..so y didnt dis colleague air his syd to linda.y did it hav to b thru u.cnt u see?dey r takn advantag of d bad blood percievd to b btw u two..anithn to pitch u two against ich oda..it hurts cuz i cn smell wot ll go dwn here today.it has alredy strtd.plz i beg u unda God.somone shud tak d first step.u dnt av to b frnds buh let go of any ills..linda i knw u read dis blog too.b a plain sheet for once n stp being a schemer.loosen ur sleeve totally n stp avn somtn rolled in it..let peace reign so dat ppl ll nt use u guys..dis hurts.

1. Let them fight. They are not complaining, don't complain or feel sorry on their behalf.

38. Linda Ikeji will never learn her lessons. She has come again with a blatant lie against the person of Gov. Rotimi Amaechi. The gentleman never insulted Nollywood. I was at the event live inside Government house and had the governor on tape. He never insulted the industry as she erroneously blogged. Elvis Chuks is one of those peddling this fake rumour as I heard him reporting the falsehood to someone on phone while we were aboard an Aero flight from Port Harcourt back to Lagos. I overheard him talking about this and just shook my head over his lies. I overheard him talking about himself who studied a sociology related course in a US institution being insulted. For God sake, this is crass irresponsibility. May be few others like him who misinterpret Amaechi's 'product of necessity' description lack comprehension. On Joke Silva, he never mentioned given the woman any money but said the state has only commissioned her to handle a creative project. Elvis Chuks and his lieing gang should stop this nonsense.
    Funsho Arogundade Pmnews

1. The elvis guy is obviously suffering inferiority complex...

39. and plz.madam.stp replying.let dem say.when they are tired,dey will kip shut while you make your money.thanks

40. Everyone wan use Linda shine. abeg Bon should go and sit down I heard the governor made statements he doesn't even regard that award

41. Because of what they will eat they must shut down the rumour. *long hiss *

42. hahahhaha..nw evryone will b claiming i was dere..evn celebs will cum unda anon to say dia own......culled by JENNY

43. I'm glad SDK posted it. It was sent to her and yes, she posted it. Anyone that does not like it should find one of her seats. We all saw when Dino Bingo Maleye tried to come back at Stella on Instagram about writing an incorrect story about him. Who was the first blogger to lift Dino's response from Instagram and post it on her site in an effort to discredit SDK??????
    All you mofos did not say anything then. Stella didn't even fish this response out from anyone's Instagram page. It was SENT to her. So she shouldn't post it out of loyalty to a snake that silently bites her in the ass???
    I dont hate any blogger. I personally think the sky is big enough for 10,000 birds to soar without clashing into each other. But please, LET'S CALL A SPADE A SPADE.

1. Jasmine u and Stella are obviously immature..... So u are confirming what we are saying, it's childish and immature to keep grudges..... Stella pls grow up and move on, if u are truly bigger u will do the right thing always..... Stop replying like a market woman abeg e tire person....

2. I was at the event and I can tell anyone who care to listen that Gov Rotimi Neva insulted anyone. Linda is not a professional in her field cz she doesn't verify news, she sit in her house and post jagons on that thing she call blog.. She like to bring people down... I'm sure u will learn another lesson soon... Jes watchout for the return of Ayedee ... Useless blogger , journalist wanna be

3. Madam Edun get a tan and a dictionary before you insult people

44. annonymous 8:42, get an identity. "Ardent" reader still commenting under anonymous. Can't deal.