Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Desmond Elliott Says He is Not Going Into Politics To Compete

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Desmond Elliott Says He is Not Going Into Politics To Compete

Over five thousand youths on Sunday gathered at the Eagles square, Surulere to interact with actor Desmond Elliot and to endorse his candidature for the All Progressive Congress (APC) constituency ticket at the Lagos State House of Assembly Representing Surulere constituency one.

The interactive session started with questions and answers with lots of youth from Surulere and its environ asking questions bothering on his success, political aspirations and challenges. 

Desmond who was ably supported by some Nollywood practitioners and political gladiators in Surulere answered each question calmly and didnt fail to remind the audience that it wasn't yet time for political campaigns. 

See Matthew dey interview.LOL
One of the youths from Masha, Aabu Hawawu who spoke of Desmond's candidacy said “the actors should not be discouraged by those who said actors have no business in politics, if Doctors, Engineers and Lawyers can contest for elective posts,why can’t actors?people in other professions have promised people nothing but lies, we need a new set of people with new ideas and if there’s anyone that can do that, Mr. Desmond is it”. 

His resourcefulness over the years has made him one of the top actors in the industry and across Africa. He will bring resourcefulness and new level of thinking to governance and development to Surulere'' she concluded.

Another youth, Michael Omorogbu from Lagos State University (LASU) asked if Desmond is ready to compete with political heavyweights in Surulere constituency.

Desmond replied, “I am not in the race to compete but to offer qualitative and superior ideas, my people,I didn’t get to be a top actor by competing with anybody, the only competitor I have is myself, I try to get better at my work, I try to improve without getting the other man down, I’m bringing the same into politics. We are offering qualitative ideas, proffering solutions and we seek only to promote the lives of the people by bringing government and its dividends to the doorsteps of our people especially in Surulere”.

Desmond Olushola Elliot said to Journalists “I have plans of taking this above legislative work, I believe 80 per cent of the youths should have access to tertiary education and still earn a living, so we have a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the National Open University on admissions and to grant the students work permit. There is also an empowerment program for the youths which will come up soon; we also have plans for the elderly ones with an insurance scheme”.

The actor who graduated from LASU promised a wave of change and said he is assured of winning Surulere for APC as soon as he gets the ticket to run.

The interactive session came to an end with Desmond appreciating the political leaders,members and Directors Guild of Nigeria (DGN), actors, actresses and over 5000 youths in attendance...courtsey BIGSamMedia

*With this approaching-the-youth-format,I see him winning already!

24 comments:

1. Wish him all the best in his ambition.

2. ANGELRAY SAID
    Well, i can't wish him nothing less, good luck desmond fine boi.

3. no problem I am tired of seeing all those old pot bellies winning ...good or bad we need young fresh faces. ....Welcome mr Desmond.

4. Yea he chose a nice format *addressing the youths* but we all know the youths have no hands in the ruling of nigeria..Its the old Men *that have refused to die* that decide in their mansions..

5. He's talking like a politician already.
    Good luck to him

6. Sola, we dey your back gidigba.

Nice strategy. These students will worry their parents, uncle and aunts to vote for him.

7. Arianna loves Wide Eyed!22 October 2014 at 12:32

Actor or Dancer, if you have what it takes to be there by all means put yourself in.
    Don't understand what Clarion is yabbing about Actors going into politics just for money. If you work you must eat of course. Just don't forget your zeal when you get there Mr Des

8. I read some were many years ago when Desmond Elliot said he would go into politics in future. I think it is a dream come true for him

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    He has really gathered for himself alot of supporters... I pray he won though....

10. Good. Pikin.weldone Desmond ,I wish you luck

11. Nice one.I wish him well....

12. Nice strategy desmond
    Wish you luck

13. With him being under apc, I see him winning.

14. May the best man win. Mr Elliot all the best. Just record all these your promises in case you suddenly develop 'politicians' amnesia when you get there.

15. Good for him. He should have started gathering the youths 4 years ago. Hope his kids are eligible to vote because their vote will matter too. Let wait for the outcome of the primaries.

16. I SEE MY BROTHER IN LAW IN THAT PIX, This can not be a serious venture.

17. If he's not going there to compete, then Wats he looking for,act movie abi