Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Falana Says Fayose's Return As Ekiti Govenor Will Send Many People To Exile

Tuesday, October 07, 2014

Falana Says Fayose's Return As Ekiti Govenor Will Send Many People To Exile

Human rights lawyer and activist, Femi Falana, SAN, has stated that several citizens of Ekiti State will be forced to go on exile as soon as the governor-elect, Ayodele Fayose, takes the oath of office on October 16.

Falana, a native of Ekiti State noted that the return of Fayose would bring back the era of terrorrism in the state.

The lawyer, who was fielding questions from newsmen recently said, “It is clear that the people have been taken back to the era of state-sponsored terrorism. Already, rival drivers’ unions and urchins are unleashing mayhem on innocent people, including judges and judiciary workers.

“Fayose should be advised not to frustrate his own inauguration. With the ongoing political crisis, some development agencies have decided to pull out of the state.
“I know industrialists who have decided to relocate to neighbouring states. I have some friends who have resolved to go on exile from Ekiti State for the next four years.

“The exodus of business and the elite will have adverse effect on the fragile economy of the state because no investor takes funds to any place where the rule of law is in abeyance.”
Asked if the people of the state had made a mistake in electing Fayose as their governor, Falana said the wishes of the people must be respected.

“The Ekiti people are perfectly entitled to elect whoever they like to govern them. That is what bourgeois democracy is all about. Up till now, the world is still paying for the decision of the American people to elect George Bush Jr. I believe that the wishes of the Ekiti electorate should be respected”, he said.

“However, Fayose owes himself a duty to turn away from violence because no leader can govern in an atmosphere of anarchy and chaos. He has to embrace the rule of law”, Falana added.
In a quick reaction to Falana’s claims, a media aide to the governor-elect, Lere Olayinka, said the Ekiti people had made their choice and that “Falana, as a lawyer, should know that he does not have more stake in Ekiti than the over 200,000 Ekiti people, who expressed their preference for Fayose with their votes on June 21.”

Olayinka said, “Ekiti people have spoken loudly with their votes and if the likes of Falana does not like the decision the people have made, they can relocate to wherever they so desire.

“As for Fayose, he will remain committed to the welfare of the teachers, local government workers, civil servants, health workers, okada riders, artisans, market men and women, students and others who gave him their votes on June 21, not minding the anger of the likes of Falana, who believe that Ekiti people cannot choose their own governor”.

*I still don't get why Fayose is called a terror,how?why exactly did the people file out to collect rice and ororo and then vote him in? were the votes tampered with?why didn't the people demonstrate after he won?
Fayose is an alleged known womaniser but i cannot say he is a terror,or he terrorises hearts into loving him?lol

14 comments:

1. Seems everybody don't like fayose. Who then voted for him?

1. Taaa, it's only the elite that doesn't like him cos he refused to share state wealth with them, not dat he is a saint but d masses love him bcos he is down to earth and carers for their wellbeing. Thank me later for the info

2. I agree with him 100%. Because a tyrant has become the governor of the state, a terrorist and a tout who has no regard and respect for law, who beat up a judge that represent the law has become the governor of the state.

3. Hmmmm
    I sha know he is use to be a terror in his house.
    He use to beat the hell out of his wife then. He once beat her to the extent she had a miscarriage. I don't know if he has changed tho.
    He is also a chronic womaniser. That I'm very sure of. He was my neighbour.

4. Exile ke?is it dat crious?So wasn't it d pple dat voted him in or was he elected by ghosts?hmmm!nigerian politics,smh*infact am tired of making comments!*

5. hmmmmmm...
    ekiti people...might b in for a long...tin..
    God help dem

6. With all due respect to you Mr Falana, you and APC should step aside and let Fayose rule in peace. Ekiti people have spoken!!! if you can't stay in that state while he rules then go away and come back after his tenor. THIS IS DEMOCRACY AND EKITI PEOPLE HAVE SPOKEN!!!!!

7. He said somtin dat he is more matured & changed person & I heard d people of Ekiti loves him much bcs he is in touch wt his grassroot, so y not we give him a benefit of d doubt & dis 2nd chance since d Ekiti People has decided?

8. All this cul be true
    But its none of my biz
    Am so indiferent abt Ayo Fayose
    Good luck to him and his state

9. If the story of him hiring touts to beat up a judge is true then he is indeed a terror and the clueless people of Ekiti that voted him in office should already have a glimpse of what his administration will be like. Initimidation and oppression of the helpless

10. PD Young Billionaire7 October 2014 at 16:52

Ekiti people have spoken,rice has spoken!!Fayose,carry go.Na una sabi!

11. I weep for my Ekiti people in Arabic ~~~~€~£~~

12. Fayose is not a fit and proper person to govern Ekiti State. However the citizens of the state deserve to be governed by who they voted for. The state house of assembly who are APC members are next in line for beating by Fayose's thugs. They would soon to be sent into exile. Remember during his first reign of terror how he fought his late sister. It was really disgraceful. They were both revealing dirty family secrets in the media. He only made up with her shortly before she died. Is this the type of person suitable to preside over people's lives? At least Fayose knows now that violence begets violence. No one has monopoly over violence. I feel sorry for those that voted for him. They would soon learn that Peace is more important than bags of rice, ororo and kerosene. I wish my fellow odua brothers and sisters all the best.l shall remember them in prayers.
    nd kero
    sene