Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Fayose Says Ex Gov Fayemi Spent N50m On Two Beds...

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Gov Fayose Says Ex Gov Fayemi Spent N50m On Two Beds...

Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, has accused his predecessor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, of spending N50m on beds in his and his wife’s bedrooms in the newly built Ekiti State Government House.
He claimed in a statement made available to journalists in Ado-Ekiti on Tuesday that what was spent on the two bedrooms, their toilets and bathrooms was in the region of N100m.

One of the beds in Fayemi and his wife Bisi's bedroom
| credits: Government House

The second bedroom

The statement titled “N3.3bn new Government House Is Fayemi’s Show of Wickedness To Ekiti People,” was signed by his Special Assistant on Information and Social Media, Mr. Lere Olayinka.

But Fayemi, through his media aide, Olayinka Oyebode, said the allegation was more about The Comedy of Errors. He advised Fayose to stop the theatre of absurd.The statement by Olayinka described the new government house as an act of insensitivity to the plight of Ekiti people, many of whom, could not afford to feed once in a day.

According to the statement, no progressive-minded Ekiti person would see the “out-of-this-world luxury” provided with over N3.3bn borrowed funds for Fayemi,his wife and children and will not weep for the state and its people.

It claimed that the bed on which Fayemi slept before he left government was   N30m while that of his wife was over N20m.

The statement read in part, “Between Fayemi and his wife, what was spent on their bedrooms, toilets and bathrooms will be in the region of N100m.
“How can a responsible government use borrowed funds to provide this kind of luxury for the governor and his family alone in a state where a lot of people cannot afford to feed more than once in a day?

“People should ask the former governor what was really wrong with the abandoned governor’s lodge used by his (Fayemi) predecessors?

“Shouldn’t such funds expended on the hilltop edifice have been used to resuscitate the moribund textile factory in Ado-Ekiti that was turned to lock-up shops to provide employment for our teeming youths?

“Also, was Fayemi living in that manner of opulence before he became governor? Was he sleeping on a body-massaging bed and bathing in an electric-controlled Jacuzzi?

“Here is Fayemi, who could not pay workers salaries, owing them two-month   salaries before he left. A Fayemi, who out of sheer wickedness refused to pay pensioners N2.4bn pension and gratuities; N400m workers leave bonus, N700m subventions to parastatals and tertiary institutions and remit N2.4bn four months’ cooperative society’s deductions from workers salaries preferring to use N3.3bn borrowed funds to provide luxury for himself, his wife and children alone.

“This is wickedness!’’
The statement quoted Fayose as being alarmed at the waste of Ekiti resources to provide comfort for a single family out of the thousands of households in the state.
It added, “The governor would have preferred to sell out the property and use the fund to provide basic amenities and employment opportunities for the people.”

The statement also alleged that Fayemi was planning to buy a helicopter if he had returned to office for a second term because the plan was for him “to run government from the comfort of Oke-Ayoba Government House and move from there to anywhere he wanted without the people seeing him.”

It added, “That’s also the reason he (Fayemi) refused to renovate the Governor’s Office, leaving it in a state of disrepair because he knew that he was not going to use the office during his second term.

“Also, contract for the maintenance of the property was already awarded for N150m per annum.
“When we visited the Government House for the first time yesterday, Mr Governor was like; how I wish I can sell off this place or turn it to commercial use? It is simply wicked for a governor to be more interested in this manner of ostentatious comfort at the expense of the people.”

Fayose, according to the statement, wondered “if the late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo, whom Fayemi and his so-called progressives claimed as their role-model, lived in any government house, much less of building an Emperor-like house for himself.”

“Did the late Adekunle Ajasin build a monarchical government house for himself? Did Baba Lateef Jakande live in any government house? These are great Yoruba sons, who recorded landmark achievements as premier of the old Western Region and governors of Lagos State and the old Ondo State respectively.

“The duo of Ajasin and Jakande were able to impact tremendously on their states because they did not like to waste public funds on the provision of luxury for themselves.”
The statement said that “left for Governor Fayose, he won’t use that aristocratic government house because it is a symbol of oppression in itself.”
The statement added, “He(Fayose) will prefer to live where Ekiti people can easily see him, touch him, eat with him and discuss the progress of the state together.

“But abandoning it would amount to colossal waste of public funds; but Governor Fayose will not hide himself from the masses.”
Fayemi’s media aide, however dismissed the allegation by Fayose, saying “I have taken a guided tour of that place and I don’t think I have seen such an outcry.

“I don’t know where they got their figure from; it sounds absurd. I ‘ll advise them to stop this theatre of absurd. Governance is a serious business and I am appealing to them not to reduce it to a joke.
“They are turning Ekiti into a circus show and they should stop it. It is childish and puerile for them to have come up with that figure. There is nothing ostentatious about Dr. Fayemi’s lifestyle: the lodge is there as a property of the state.

“Whether Fayose stays there or not is his cup of tea. The new government house is a legacy building. Dr. Fayemi did not go with it to Isan-Ekiti; it is for the state. It is not about personal aggrandisement; it is a befitting edifice for the state. Go to other states of the federation and see their government houses. Ekiti state deserves the best.”...culled from punch.

*Wow!....could this be true or a set up to rubbish the ex governor?I just find it hard to believe that they would document a bed as costing so much,haba!!

62 comments:

1. What an outrageous sum to spend on a bedroom. But at least he didn't go with any of the items in the bedroom they are government properties so Mr Fayose should please face his business and start working.

1. Ok, Fayose, you have a lot to tell us. Can you be done with it already and get to your job as the governor of Ekiti! Thank u Sir! You're beginning to sound like all you're going to do in four yrs is tell us what Fayemi did or didn't do.

2. This is absolute fuckery. I don't even know what to say. With that his tight fisted face like say he no sabi embezzle. Am not taking sides with either of these governors, it would be foolish to do so.... but why steal the treasury to the point of bankruptcy when the entire ekiti is one of the states that is generally low in generating money across the country????

So every little cash counts for them, why all these extravagance in Ekiti when it's not PH where enough oil money is generated and they have surplus to waste? This is my grievance with Fayemi, nothing more.

3. Did he leave with them? No? The face your work fayose..

4. Did Fayemi steal the treasury to bankruptcy..... Assumptions assumptions assumptions. Fayose please dont bring ridicule to yourself. Face your workoooo. Who will benefit from the new state house is it not Fayose and Governors to come.

5. @MzAnon. With due respect as u are entitled your opinion, let's stop the habit of shoving aside whatever these people do just because it's a bad trend in Nigeria, unfortunately. Whether he left with these items or not isn't the contention, but for the fact that they hid under the guise of furnishing and building a state house to syphon monies in that state. This is bad and should not be shoved aside. When Fayose, or if Fayose is caught doing same he should also be chastised for it. Haba!! Can they possibly sleep in more than one room at a time? And would they have spent their personal monies in such a wasteful manner? Common now this is absurd.

Everyone is talking about how Mrs Fayemi was wasteful in that state and how she ensured that no one but herself was in charge and did all the contracts in that state. Including this house we are talking here, so she should produce her source from where she bought these items as proof that they are worth the quotes tendered in paper. Of course who doesn't know what the deal is? I hear that the federal government is taking up a special probe on Fayemi and his wife and the APC chieftains who are aware are not even bothered to stop them because they agree that he was too greedy, and on top of it bloody arrogant. We are watching!!

6. Lovelace putting sisieko in her since 1901.lol

7. I beg to differ Mrs Zulu. Fayemi that was accused of being shrewed with the allocation of the state. so tey the people working with him come dey vex say cowries no dey flow from him side. They almost nicknamed him Ebenezer Scrooge. Federal government is not wasting its time on probing Fayemi and the wife was not in charge of most construction works or contracts in the state. One thing you should know mrs zulu, people cook up stories with no evidence to substantiate their claims. if Fayemi is guilty of what you just typed then all APC state also should not be exempted and probed by the Federal government. Who is not greedy in govt when someone carries himself well he is termed arrogant. Am not an APC member never believed in the party.

2. Too fucking long epistle. cant deal. not a politician though.#okbye.

1. Hian ask them o. They should probe the bastard jorrrr!!!

2. 50m to buy bed or start bed factory? I don't understand o.
      Pls explain

4. Fayose should just shut up as if he won't do worse..
    Kettle calling pot black..

1. First time am impressed with Linda's comment. Do you also knw that Fayose bought a N43m Range Rover shortly before taking his oath?.

5. Fayose is beginning to talk too much. Govern for a while then people will take you serious, when they see the evidence of good governance

6. hmnnn...what I know is that so many government officials are scammers.

shebi Fayose paraded that old benz as his his official car? so who is the Black RR HSE 2014 Ed. meant for? his ghost?

issorait!

7. With all that money spent, the room still looks empty and in work. He should go get his money back.

1. Ur head dey dia. Me sef notice cos I no see wetin worth all the money here o. No wonder he was shamefully evicted from office and he couldn't even hand over to Fayose properly. Ole buruku...with that his oyiboyi wife. I served in Ekiti and d civil servants der are cursing them like kilode. Every money they stole will not be used well IJN. Nonsense

8. Hmmmmm !
    Politicians and lies.
    Politicians and drama.

*Catwalks away from post*

9. I love men who love luxury.
    Fayemi is a man with high taste!
    Y is Fayose making noise??????
    How much is this bed in pounds????
    Next!!

1. So u call these high taste kwa?? Please look again. See bed and the veil they used to cover it like asawo curtain that we used in boarding house. All looking like guru maraji's bedroom. High taste kwa? Ezenwanyi take ya time o iya mi. U know when u don't work for money u will spend it anyhow. U think they don't know what they are doing ni? They didn't envisage they would lose, else they would have saved this one for their personal use. Ontop of it na cheap China tinz full here na. Oshisko

10. They are all thieves.

11. Look who is talking...can this man just face the task ahead????

12. Wetin concern us?
    If he likes let him buy flying bed!
    All these shepherd feeding on their sheep's meadow! Harvest day awaits you!
    Continue!

Pepper ose oku

13. Fayose shld save the entire Yoruba race this embarrassment. Kindly inform us the brand of the mattresses, their purchase receipt and the contractor that built, furnished & maintain the Ekiti State govt house.
    I recall sir that in your 1st administration, you were flying everywhere in an helicopter. Pls face ur job & stop all this bolekaja politics. Oodua a gbe wa o.

1. See ur mouth. So did the helicopter belong to him or he chartered it to go wherever he wanted as with all govt officials? What about state govs who own private jets like Amechi? So flying common helicopter that was chartered means what? See ur mentality ehn. Abuse with facts this one no enter at all

14. Fayose shld save the entire Yoruba race this embarrassment. Kindly inform us the brand of the mattresses, their purchase receipt and the contractor that built, furnished & maintain the Ekiti State govt house.
    I recall sir that in your 1st administration, you were flying everywhere in an helicopter. Pls face ur job & stop all this bolekaja politics. Oodua a gbe wa o.

15. You go fear luxury na....face your work fayose onise

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    N50m On Two Beds only... *faint*

17. Yet nigeria have no steady power supply or even good road ,see the way they call money like moi moi , I weep for nigeria my country

18. The money is too outragous to be spend on 2 rooms n I wonder what d one he has in his house looks like. Fayose u aint a saint either. Abeg do d one u can leave jare. U guys r d same.

19. ANGELRAY SAID
    I don't believe abeg, 3.3b just to furnish bedroom, haba, even uncle Jonah's bedroom furniture is not upto that, plz Fayose is too early to start a war with the ex governor, does he ve an evidence to back up he's accusations.

20. Stella, don't be naïve! All the governors & even senators in this nation live on such opulence & luxuries!!!...ghanaman signing out!

21. The most important thing is that Fayemi did not leave with those things. If he took them away, I would have felt differently. If I were Gov. Fayose, I would just face my work for now. Rose

1. U get point. But the one wey he carry for account pass this one ooo. Wait make dem open him yansh finish una go see kasala.

22. Jeez!!! And they will be dragging to pay the minimum wage of the masses. Thank God for death sha. 6\3feet grave naim sure pass for us all. Mtschewwww. #Senepiayeye

23. Lol! the second bed be like "Manger" stable where Jesus was born! all these low classe beds for N100m??? too small for me to sleep on sha, because I dey sabi roll for bed while sleeping...any attempt to roll on this one na floor i go land! LOBATAN!!!!

24. @ Odogwu Ezewanyi, now i know you are seriously razz, if you think this kind of furniture is classy. Silly twat! If i hear fem from that your mouth again......bush girl

1. TT,wetin u wan do if u hear fem from my mouth???oya were ni??????
      U are poor,very poor,infact u are d poor of poorest.
      Oniranu!
      Ato le oshi!
      Arindi!

2. How does high taste and luxury mean classy,you peeps just like to look for trouble.

3. Lwkmd @oya were ni?

25. My own be say this Fayemi man impoverished us in Ekiti and we can never forgive him for this. Go and see how civil servants are living in penury. This son of a gun was too arrogant to heed to the cries of the people. Thank God he was rubbished in his home town ishan when he shamefully arrived after office last week. He entered town in the dead of the night like a thief that he is. His wife bisi Fayemi became a goddess of the gods because she was making life unbearable for everyone including those in the private sector.
    >>I sure have a lot of expose to do on these two that I am thinking of writing a book on them. Yes a book wouldn't even suffice it. A lot of skeleton in their cupboards.
    >>This man would afford the extravagant lives of his mistresses who flew in from all over the world. Many of whom are not even Ekiti indigenes o. Mostly Ibo and benian mistresses ( not insulting any tribe just trying to make my point pls). While his wife whom I am sure is a witch, would chase after any lady she sees near the state house as though they came for her husband.
    >> I know how many females where embarrassed out of that building on several occasions. Even a journalist who came from a reputable news house that was sent there was insulted in the course of carrying out her duties. The lady was so enraged and gave it back to bisi nicely, upon realising that she was a journalist, Bisi quickly made amends and started pleading that she was sorry. She even offered so many juicy stuff as compensation but was blatantly refused by the journalist out of principle.
    >>>Who is the journalist, you may ask, ME. YES ME. So I speak on good authority. I didn't leave without telling her what would become of her attitude after office. I spoke rather too soon. If she ever gets to read this she knows who I am.

Her husband was warned that his wife would mark his downfall in Ekiti but he never listened. Anyone who has the ears of Mr Fayemi, ( see life? I can't even refer to him as an ex gov because he wasn't) should tell him to re appraise his life away from that his wife.
    >> He should stop sharing his capacity as a politician with her lest he keeps falling. He should confine her to their kitchen and allow her be a homemaker and not his career maker. I do not see him go far as a politician after this ekiti saga. >>Fayemi was not only boot out of office, he was disgraced gallantly out of office and that would take him time to recuperate, if at all.

You are not the only man, sir, who is educated, but you seem to be the only man who despite being educated, gets rubbish because he is educated. What a predicament. Pride goes before a huge fall. Bisi Fayemi is your wife...BUT she however remains a Cain to your Abel.

26. Abegiii its not wicked anything joor, Opportunity comes but once biko. Any day I find my way to d top, I will spend 100million on my bathroom & anoda 100million on bed. No need cos Nigeria can neva get better so if I get there I misuse d money too. SHEKINA!!!

27. Billionaires wife my foot, someone that is living from hand to mouth in Aj city, you call this taste and class? smh, asiere oponu agba.

1. Ko ni ra gba fun e..Y are u sounding so subdued??????line too long for una latrine????no worry e go soon reach ur turn shogbo.i hope u carry water for tamba.
      Bwahahahaha......

2. Hohohohohoho
      Emo wolu, ebora Ezenwanyi
      Olobo 1 cowry
      Digbolugi
      Alaye baje
      Asiere
      Inoki
      Elese Osi
      Oma gbina ni, o ti sofo laye e
      Onidokudo
      Asinwin
      Asiere
      Egbere
      Omo ale, eranko jati jati ikeji aja,
      Ebora Ezenwanyi, what is tamba? You sure live in a face me i slap you house, elebi!
      Have you seen Omonighos photo? what did you contribute? abi that one na scam too? Common gerroutttttttttttttttttttttttttt * twerks away *

3. Ezenwa forgive my manners, i forgot to sing and dance for you my bestest best friend before leaving-
      Ezenwanyi peperenpe peperenpe
      Eze sugar sugar sugar sugar
      Odogwu honey honey honey honey
      Eze lori gangan, asinwin to n juru, ewele lomo, asinwin lomo, obuko lomo, egbere lomo, ode lomo, omugo lomo, alagidi lomo, arindin lomo,
      * shakes bumbum and holds Eze bla bla bla ugly hands*

Long fucking hiss!

4. Bwahahahaha!!!!!!
      For ur mind now u don abuse Ezenwanyi??????
      Trying to provoke me?????Bwahahahaha!!!!!U dont get it,I only get provoked when I choose to and not by d choosing of others and that's what it means to master Ur emotions,so dont bother,otherwise na U go get headache,while I will still be laughing.

5. Bwahahahaha. ......that cracked me up.
      I will keep U miming till Ur hormones balance itself out.

6. Eeyah!!!
      U must hate Ezenwanyi with such a passion,yet,U dont ve d guts to fight her one on one.
      Umask Urself jhor!!!
      Ole oshi!!
      Bloody coward!!!
      Bwahahahaha...........
      Aye nse iru e.....
      Omo irankiran oshi!!!
      Arindi oshi!!!
      Asewo oniranu!!!!
      Ore mi ore mi shalanga lo ma ku si amen...shalanga lo ma ku si...amen.

28. @Odogwu Ezewanyi, choi e pepper ya body kwa? Auofia, Onye beribe. Akunakuna, Aba express, Ewu Gambia. You be local champion now. Wo i no get your time. Werey alasho

1. Erin ti fe se mi lese oooo.......
      Bwahahahaha. .........
      Getting tired already when we ve barely begun????
      Oloshi!
      Ole!!
      Apoda!!
      Elebi jatijati!!
      Omo oju otolari!!
      Sior!!

29. But the beds so damn ugly, why are they worth that much? See when money come free ppl will even spend any which way they want even on ugly crap. Poor ppl money keeping them in a lifestyle they would not have had otherwise. Poor ppl tears, suffering, hunger and thirst are on their shoulder. Snatching food out of hungry children mouths so they can live it up, hope they ready to reap in harvest time.

30. Stella why are u selective in posting comments? I posted here but uv refused to post it.

31. So his governing strategy is just to keep running down the previous governor. Ekiti people, this is a red flag oh. This Fayose is not going to do jack for your state. He is laying down excuses on time for work he will not do in future.

32. Fayose pls don't sleep on dat bed, I'll buy vita foam for u and ur wife and carry d oda bed. If u lay on dat bed it means u r supporting corruption

33. Fayose should just shut up !!! Even if Fayemi spent that amount on it, did he take it away now that he is no longer the governor... wont he and his wife stay there. Brother Karimu Jay