Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gunmen Kill German National And Abduct The Other In Nigeria

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Gunmen Kill German National And Abduct The Other In Nigeria

Gunmen in southwestern Nigeria have shot dead a German man and abducted another. The German citizens were in the area working for the construction company Julius Berger when their vehicles came under fire.

The two men were ambushed on Friday morning while they were driving in separate cars without security escorts near the town of Sagamu in Ogun state.

"About four armed men emerged from the bush…and attacked," police spokesman Abimbola Oyeyemi told news agency AFP on Monday. "A bullet hit one German and he was confirmed dead on arrival at the hospital, while the hoodlums abducted another German."

The construction company confirmed the incident. A spokeswoman for Julius Berger said the two men - an employee and a sub-contractor - were working for the firm in Nigeria, adding that the company was working with local authorities to find the hostage.

"Julius Berger is currently working in close cooperation with the Nigerian authorities to make certain the safe and prompt release of the person abducted ... (and) believes this to be an isolated criminal incident," she said.

Julius Berger International has around 600 employees in Nigeria, and is i
nvolved in several construction, gas, oil and infrastructure projects in the country.

No one has yet claimed responsibility for Friday's shooting.
The German Foreign Office said in a statement it was "dealing with the case," without providing further details.

Abductions targeting foreigners, who are often released after a ransom payment, are common in the prosperous southern part of Nigeria. Kidnappings also occur in the north, home to the militant Islamist group Boko Haram which kidnapped more than 200 schoolgirls in April.
In July, a German national was kidnapped in the northeastern state of Adamawa. His whereabouts remain unknown.culled

35 comments:

1. I guess this is another means of income since christmas is almost here.

2. This is really so sad and is capable of painting Nigeria black in the eyes of the Germany. RIP to the dead.

1. Yes in the eyes of the Germans. But i think Nigeria has already painted herself black to the whole of Europe. This is a disgrace!! I hope the idiots get caught and punished accordingly!!

3. Calling my bf right away to stay away from that sagamu project, any project outside Lagos Island is a no-go-area. December is fast approaching and these criminals must hammer. In fact, weekend outings are hereby cancelled! I must meet him in one piece by december.

1. We hear ur bf na expatriate.....Jayem 1love!!

2. Madam Boyfriend hian. We no go hear.

3. Ha,abeg o!
      Pls call am o
      We dont want any story Oooo
      Dis wedding,we Must attend am next year o...

4. Phhheeeewww! I don call!
      Yay!!! Company has cancelled sagamu project until next year.
      Yay!!! GW, that wedding must hold next year oh...lol

5. Yesterday, ur bf lives outside d country, today he is in nigeria, this ashi, ur matter don tire us. I'm sure u don't have a bf, men don't like liars

4. When I hear this "no one has claimed responsibility" I begin to wonder how Nigeria got here! This was what I used to hear on CNN those days about other countries! Nawaooh..God save us!

5. How could Julius berger send out these foreigners to work without any sort of protection? Na dem suppose answer case. Or if they assigned escorts to them, why did they go out alone?? Na arrangee killing.

6. Replies
    1. Security in naija is zero. Thats why most of her citizens in diaspora dont even want to return. Unfortunately!

7. *in Stella's voice* ..oriegwu ...
    https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1497468100509751

8. Awwwww what did they shoot for now?why abduct one when the other is already killed?God save us in this country!!!!

9. And I was almost thinking Dat abductions of foreigners has stopped.
    Soo Sad!
    RIP dear!

10. I dunno why som pple are bent on frustrating the effort of our leaders..pple wey dey help us build road una don kidnap them..i just tire..enter governor's office and kidnap nau if u are hungry

11. crime rate on the increase..
    everyone be careful.

12. ANGELRAY SAID
    Lazy men who don't want to work to earn a decent living take to crime claiming that there's no work cos they need quick money.

13. R.I.P to the dead. That is sad.

14. oh spare us @ Jayem . u lie too much. must u comment all the time. whats your problem? who dash you bf thats working at a construction site? or if hes kidnapped? we know you would be the one to set him up. and have you ever been to lagos island befor? claiming butty girl. pls go and sit down somewhere quietly abe. shiioooooorrrrrr

15. Your mode of describing the whole thing in this article
    is genuinely good, all can simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

16. Often, this is because the card itself isn't seated properly
    or perhaps the card is corrupted. One of the services provided computer
    expertise includes electronic discovery.

Robotics are often used for repetitive tasks, monotonous jobs or those parts of the manufacturing process that
    are physically difficult or take place in environmentally unpleasant conditions.

17. They mainly put their efforts in making space at the page by designing locations of everything, including navigation bars,
    search box and all. Each of the images on your web site should really have
    proper detailed titles and alt tags too. This means that all of the content that your users
    can see, including buttons, menus and clickable links will be index-able.

18. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog
    and wanted to mention that I have really loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I'll be subscribing to your rss feed and I'm hoping you write again very soon!

19. But unlike other SEO companies London or elsewhere, we forge long term
    partnerships for long-lasting success. It provides flexible operating here we are at the employees and one can have pretty large wage along with the appropriate
    spare time. Whether you promote yourself as a solo or business brand (< learn 10 ways to improve your SEO with Google+) Google+ is now a necessity.

20. all the time i used to read smaller posts which also clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with this paragraph which I am
    reading here.

21. Wow, this article is good, my sister is analyzing such
    things, therefore I am going to inform her.

22. I am sure this article has touched all the internet viewers, its really really nice piece
    of writing on building up new weblog.