Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Kemi Omotoyinbo: Popular Dancer Dies During Child Birth 20 Days After Wedding

Friday, October 03, 2014

Kemi Omotoyinbo: Popular Dancer Dies During Child Birth 20 Days After Wedding

Kemi Omotoyibo, popular Nigerian dancer, choreographer and actress has died precisely 20 days after her wedding while trying to put to bed in a private hospital.

While Nigerians celebrated Independence Day, Kemi, who has danced for several known artistes Shina Peters, Kwam 1 and Pasuma died during child birth while her husband, Godwin Eloanyi watched helplessly.

According to her sources close to the deceased, the actress Kemi was in and out of labour for several days in a private hospital and when she couldn't give birth the natural way, doctors suggested a C&S, which would cost N450,000 and demanded an initial deposit of N300k before they could proceed.

One of Kemi's friends explained how her husband was unable to raise the money and begged the hospital to proceed with a promise to pay the following day (October 1) but the doctors refused and she gave up the ghost that night..

"Kemi's husband said he would pay the money the next day but the doctor refused and stated categorically that he would not move an inch else he pays 300,000. It was at that point Kemi decided to forward messages to people she knows so she could get help. She got responses that money would be made available to her the next day. On hearing that the husband went to beg the doctors again, still they refused. No bank was opened and nothing could be done until Thursday October 2nd but unfortunately she gave up the ghost that night. My point is, the doctors knew she had to go through emergency C&S. they could have saved her life and get the money later. Nigeria is a very bad country I must confess," her friend said.

Does the Hippocratic Oath (which described the basic ethics of medical practice and laid down a moral code of conduct for doctors) apply in all hospitals?culled

*The Doctors refused??????????????This is soooo sad!That Hospital was so wrong if this is actually what happened!

What ever happened to saving humans lives?Is money so important?Didnt they consider the fact that she might not survive if they let her labour for long?OMG.

147 comments:

1. May her soul rest in peace. If I am the husband, I will sue that hospital.

1. Stella when it was georges hospital u boldly stated their name, so why wont u do the same for this case? Why cant u state the hospitals name? Na wa for blog journalism. How incompetent

2. See wickedness.so they can't save her life bcos of money? They can decide not to discharge her till she pays. But not wen her life is at stake. Haba

3. See wickedness.so they can't save her life bcos of money? They can decide not to discharge her till she pays. But not wen her life is at stake. Haba

4. It's so sad. If it were to be a govt hospital, dey wuld av carried out d CS without any payment. Na wa o

5. OMG! Am so bitter now..WTF! What's wrong with all these private hospital...so inhuman of them.Why? Just why?God help Us.

6. The hospital should be sued!
      That's just wickedness!
      Kai!
      May her soul rest in peace.

7. Unbelievable!

I am highly disturbed and pained by this news.

8. This is very sad and painful. God pls comfort her hus and family and let her rest in your bossom.
      it is not fair at all, very beautiful woman. This is double homicide as far as im concerned, the mother n child could have survived and it was forseeable that she could die if the cs was not done
      This is not the 1st time sm1 money is prioritised over the human life in Nigerian hosp. This is not fair at all.

I thank u o NHS for the free major surgery i had during pregnancy while i studied there because they said they cant do such a delicate surgery while i am preg in Nigeria, yet the midwife in UK said i may lose my baby if i dont do it.
      In essence we are really lagging behind in our health sector.

Also in usa, u will virtually beg them to give u your bill after delivery, they wont send u the bill until 2weeks after delivery bcos they believe you will be tensed, stressed and dont want you develope bp immediately after delivery
      So painful

9. OMG. I stopped reading when I read the docs refused and she died that night. OMG OMG OMG?!!!! They have her blood in their hands and I don't care what the ethics of the hospital stands for. What fuckery? This is the same thing they do with accident victims and victims of gun wounds, which made Fashola stipulate a law that even if a thief is taken to the hospital they MUST first treat them before getting police reports. These wicked hospitals have increased the mortality rate in Nigeria. This is sad. Very sad. And it shouldn't end here. They should name the hospital and sue their rotten asses.

10. @Stella Asemota same here! How can because of money..it a sad tale. Nigeria can we ever take human life a valuable resource? Rip lady.
      May God grant your family the fortitude to bear this loss

2. so sad...that hospital shuld b sued

visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

1. My dear they should ve used a cheaper one.Rip . It is well with her soul.450k? Hospitals that can get 50k . 60.70k are every where. It is well.

2. So he lost both mother and child. What wickedness...this is very sad. If this kind of thing happened in America, the husband will be made for life. But no amount of money can replace human life. God please help this family bear this painful loss.

3. OMG......just like that??? dis can't b true naaaa,they let her die just bcos of money!!!! 9ja system just tire me....RIP beautiful one....POTABLE VIV

1. Its very possible honey boo boo. I have visited some hospitals and seen the way the doctors refused to attend to patient xos they couldn't come up with the medical fee. I even got to paid for some of these people because it was a natter of life and death. Some doctors are mean.

They should have attended to her and refused her from leaving the hospital with her baby until money is paid up. This shit is only done in Nigeria where you put money over the life of a patient. They should sue that hospital for everything its worth

2. I doubt it happened like this. But if it did, they should sue the hospital.

3. It's very sad and painful but the hospital can't be sued. It's a private hospital and it has its policies. It's a different matter if they had paid but no doctor was available to attend to the patient, like the Abuja case. As mean as it may seem, a better option would have been to go to another hospital since they couldn't afford the bill. A lot of patients have absconded from private hospitals after treatment without paying, some hospitals have even been shut down because they could no longer afford to run them due to insufficient funds. My heart bleeds for this young and beautiful lady cut off at the prime of her life. May she rest in peace and may God grant her family and friends the fortitude to bear this tragedy.

4. Argghhh am so angry ryt now!!!!!! How can a humaan being be so mean??? May her soul RIP

1. This is so sad...dat hospital should be sued...must everything be all about money...

5. Oh my, what a sad loss. May her soul find rest.

6. Oh my, what a sad loss. May her soul find rest.

7. Ihekire Tony

So unfortunate, such a sad way to leave this world.
    One thing is sure, we don't know when and how we will leave this world, so the best thing is to be prepared always.

8. Oh no,dis is so sad,she culd have been saved,so no human feelings again in this world?may her soul rest in peace.Nigeria my country wot is going on?

1. Human feelings when you wanted people born of women to die miserably in a fire?? Wow. I was expecting your bday picture to show you carrying a huge bible across your breast. Is a pity

9. Sad gist!
    Dunno y 1st time mothers don't like to use govt hosp. I feel 1. Dey are cheaper.
    2. Dere is expertise, most of the docs in GH are exposed to complicated health case.

@ the ish of money, stella it is very easy so say so, wen u r nt the one running the hosp.
    I wld love to narrate 1st hand experience, but no be 2day.
    If u run a biz wit dat mind set, ppl wldd wreck it, my father dd, and dey wrecked his clinic, and dis ddnt stop our neibos frm coming to the house to seek consultatn.

1. @Pink Shell I agree with u, govt hospitals are the best and u will get the best and cheapest treatment. This year I had a CS which cost me only 10 thousand naira in a government hospital. And doctors where available. Immediately they decided I should have an emergency CS 2 doctors appeared within 30 seconds and I had a successful CS in less than 30 minutes. I stayed in a side room which cost me only N500 a day, I spent 3 days. Total of N1500. Tests, CS, drugs, admission fees everything less than N50k and I can tell u I got the best treatment.

2. Are you Tryna justify why a doctor should let his Patient die? Oh please!

3. A thousand likes! My hubby does and they almost wrecked him.and to d family...how does 1 labour 4 1wk and u dnt opt 4 c.s? Dts insane,I labored for 18hrs and i was shoutin 4 cs like my life depended on it..who does dt? Must u also born in a private hospital? As u tek ur leg waka come d hospital,u no fit tek ur leg waka go anoda? Private hospitals are not any better dan govt mayb apart from d enviroment n amenities but d same drs in govt hospitals are d ones in private on private practise for extra cash.In teachin hospitals they do weekly reviews on new medications and all.Though the Doctor shld hav had mercy seeing dia state(I wonder how he feels now) but d husband too shld hav been proactive and taken her out of der 4 heavens sake! Teaching hospital will save ur lives 1st and keep u der as long as it teks u to raise d cash.R.I.P beautiful woman!

4. Are govt hospitals not on strike? Perhaps this is the reason they opted for a private clinic.

5. Pink shell no excuse for letting a patient with prolonged labour die.... That is an emergency.... U can do that for non life threatening cases....yes govt hospitals r cheap but have the worst services.... Just did some months antenatal in Luth and it was hell...i was referred to see a consultant cos of high risk pregnancy but I was only enduring cos I knew I was gonna travel and thank God am currently in the uk.... People die everywhere but in naija it's mostly preventable..... During my antenatal visits in Luth some women where still complaining of the fees.... Card was 1,500, antenatal fee was 10k and CS was like 100k something...to get letter headed paper for my medical report was like digging for gold.... Gosh I will never go back there God willing.....

6. I thnk in this stance, the doctor should ve advised the husband to take her to a govt hosp immediately they complained of funds.
      That's what a good doc should ve done. And I'm sure he did bt they won't say that here. Aw on earth can u charge almost half a mil on cs wey u no go do for 15mins self?
      They should ve stayed on there lane finance wise I'm sorry to ve to say this but it's the truth.

May her soul rest in peace n pls let's all be careful n less careless when it comes to our health n lives. E no get duplicate o!

10. What a loss! Such a pretty lady. May God comfort d husband and her family on all sides.

11. Replies
    1. Jayem u will be the next victim of s doctors wickedness bloody goat..... Always coming here to vomit rubbish..... Ur parents are stupid for not using a condom

2. you keep cursing n she keeps ignoring you. I hope it makes u feel great about yourself

12. Rip lady.they should have gone to a government hospital.cs cost less than 50k there.it might sound callous but maybe they should have spent less on the wedding.no private hospital will operate without a substantial downpayment.

1. I disagree.
      I had an emergency CS at RJolad to save my life, placenta detached from my womb last month and had massive bleeding, they didn't demand a dime from me until I had stabilised 5 days and 4 pints of blood later.
      We were even the ones that demanded for the bill to start gathering the money.
      It was later that I found out that if they didn't operate within the hour, they would have lost me!
      Not a single kobo was demanded for, it was my life first.

2. U and Jayem are bastards.... Where u there for their wedding? Do u know y they where in that hospital?

3. Don't mind some stupid bloggers who just type rubbish..... U can imagine if they damamded money first, placenta previa kills quickly..... That doctor had no excuse and God will surely punish him for his wickedness

4. Anony, kip advertising ur hubby's hosp. *long hiss*

13. This is soo sad!When will our doctors stop doing this?Let us all know that there is nothing in this life o,if i am to b a doctor,i ll do my best to save lives. Money or no money,i will leave whoever chooses to cheat me,abscond without paying etc to God.afterall,i am doing it for God to bless me,not man.RIP lady.Pray for strength for those u left behind..soo unfair.

1. Akwaudene, easier said dan done.

14. *tearing seriously. *wickedness in high places. This is so so unfair. Pls if you know and understand your financial status, go register yourself in central hospital. Asap! They have better doctors there anyways!

15. Sad much, only in Nigeria...

1. What a sad way to go! RIP ma

16. So so sad, may her soul RIP, beautiful lady.
    Unfortunately, this happens a lot in third world countries.
    On the other hand, one cannot really blame the doctors or medical directors; they are only trying to run a profitable business. Sorry yo say this, but a lot of patients would have absconded without paying up; no be the nigerians i know?

17. This is really sad, if it is true the doctor was wrong. Is it that they didn't have even small to deposit? I know this is not the time, but they should have gone to a gov't hospital. If you register in private hospital just keep emergency money. Stella sometimes patients promise to pay after operation or treatment as the case may be, but don't usually keep their promises hence the hospital's insistence on initial deposit. RIP young lady and comfort to her family. Chai! just 20 days

18. Did is very painful,my hospital is very good and cs is highest 150k. Ole and murderer doctor. Rip

19. Please doctors in the house should explain to us further cos I do not understand!! Whatttt???????
    This woman should not have even experienced that labour for several days leading to the recommended emergency C-section! A life wasted! Gosh,child bearing should not be made this tough now,alot of countries have gone past this point! She didn't even get to enjoy her married life.

1. Thank you o. When a woman is in labour for more than 24hrs hours,you should check to know what the problem is. Maybe her pelvic no wide enough or baby been held by unblical cord or something... You don't allow her labour for a week. Prepare for surgery after 24-48 hours and not leave it at the dying minute.. This life could have been saved. She could have walked out of that hospital with her baby sound and healthy.. A lot of countries have gone past this.... But in Nigeria,people keep dying all the time. Went to a hospital one time and they said the woman does after operation of bp and am like why will you send a woman who had operation to another ward without someone checking her bp every interval. Its just so sad.

20. I find this v hard to believe, but it it is true,why didn't he take her to general hospital.But like i said i don't believe any doctor will watch a patient die cos of financial constrain.

21. OMG! Why???? The hospital killed her. This is too sad. May her gentle soul rest in peace. *teary eyes*

22. It is definitely wrong
    The doctor shud be arrested n d hospital closed down
    They shud av gone ahead with the CS after all if they dnt pay she wont be released its so sad I feel for the hubby
    Those that breeze in nd out of labour room
    Easily
    Na God o

23. Nigerian doctors are so desperate 4 money that human lives mean nothing to them! No be person wey dey alive dey pay money? Now she is dead, hope d doctor is satisfied now? Meanwhile N450k for CS? Way too much na, RIP beautiful lady.

24. We can't say much yet, let's hear from d doctors.

1. God bless you Dear! It's a one-sided story,so sad she lost her life and may her soul RIP! Easy with the bashing...there are unanswered questions: Was any provision for a deposit made,however little(no doc,save the one from hell would watch helplessly while life ebbs out),when the minimum deposit couldn't be provided,while wasn't she taken away to a much cheaper hospital and the CS done?? We have had CS done for as low as 35k before.Like I said,too bad it ended this way!

2. Thank you jare

25. Na wa ooo.... so they couldn't attend to her cos of money? what kind of CS is #450,000? It's too sad that they couldn't save her life... damn Nigerian Doctors. That Lady doctor on this blog will come and start spewing thrash now...naija I hail oo.

1. Orela is a nurse, not a doctor. She usually says she's a health practitioner, I guess we just assumed she's a doctor.

2. TRASH not thrash. May her soul RIP.

3. Chineke jayem... Na my matter you carry for head... Check my profile ehn...@debby...how market?
      The trash I av to spew...is people should cut their clothes to available material... She should have gone to a public hospital services are cheaper...even in Govt hospitals e.g AKTH services are terminated when patients can't foot bills,social services are involved, then in cases like this where they promise to pay the.next day...a consultant has to sign that if they default he will pay the money....but who wants to sign for this huge amount of money?I don't know what's obtainable in other GH

26. This is so SAD... why couldn't de doctor carry out d CS on her n then keep her in hospital till d last dime is paid?? very wicked of d doc if this is truthfully what happened...

27. Dear Lord!
    I hate to hear a woman died while giving birth. It pains me a lot.
    Rest in peace ma'am.
    So sad.

Stella that's what they do oh. It's terrible.
    I have been in this situation of emergency CS after prolonged labour. My hospital demanded 200k deposit and it must be paid before they start. I had just 15k and a few change in my purse, hubby had 20 something k in his wallet and 40k in the car. We gathered the money and offered them as deposit, but they refused, insisting the money wasn't enough.

In his confusion, hubby ran out of the hospital to the nearest ATM without taking his car only to get there, the ATM wasn't dispensing!
    It was already late and my area is not so busy in the night. You can hardly see any means of public transportation that time of the night. And at that point coming back to the hospital to take his car wasn't an option for hubby cos of his state of mind.
    Meanwhile as all this was happening, I was in serious pains oh, had been in labour for hours, I was already so weak and breathless and the worst was that my baby's heart beat was already fluctuating drastically.

Hubby said he felt like his world was crashing when he got to that ATM and it wasn't working. He had to take a drastic measure by running into the road to stand in front of a moving car and desperately begged the driver to please give him a lift to the next ATM which was like 7 minutes drive from where he was.
    The kind man drove him to the ATM and also brought him back, (luckily that one was working).
    It is well oh.
    That's one delivery I don't like remembering at all .
    It was a near death experience.
    Thank God I and my baby survived it.

RIP Kemi.
    May God console your loved ones.

1. Thank God for your life. Please tell us you never went to that hospital again!

2. Oh! This is sad! Hmm.

3. You see and people are saying doctors can't put money over someone's life. They don't care at all. They make you pay up before any thing starts.

4. Wow Thank God u survived it, my Edd is getting closer and am serzly scared,

5. Genny baby please don't ever use that hospital again! I thank God for your life and that of your baby.

Yes we know hospitals should not be run as a charity organisation but I seriously have to reason like a human being here..it hurts! Now won't that doctor wish he had at least done something???? Rip Kemi

6. Hmmmm
      So it's true they can watch a patient die cos of lack of money!

I feel for the husband.
      If only he knew they would have gone to a general hospital
      May her soul rest in peace!

28. Negligence ! Breach of a duty's all I see!!
    Chai! I weep for dis woman, my Naija 'll never fail to amaze me. So they intentionally left her to die bcos d husband couldnt raise 300k? N to hear she has been in n outta labor for about a week....may God give d husband n oda family members d strength to bear dis irreplaceable lost.

Rest in peace ma'am

29. The hospital should be burnt down and the doctor should be arrested for murder! How wicked can people be?! Couldn't they have done the C.S. and detained mother and child until they've paid? Or made the husband sign an undertaking to pay the money? What has this country turned into?

1. Stella one good way to punish the doctor is to publish the name of the hospital and location. Give the publicity they need for their deeds. Didn't the doctor know that yesterday was pub holiday and bank don't work? That shoud have atleast been understandable.

30. My good God!!....I pray this haunts the doctor for a looking time! How inhumane. African presidents need to look into setting up an emergency medical fund sort of policy....almost like the NHS we have here.

1. Out of curiosity I clicked on your name, cos you kind of looked like someone I used to know in Uni days Don't worry you are not :)

Anyho! I then read a few of your posts, nice and witty. Please don't stop!

31. This country is so fcuk..dont know why im still here.RIP.#sipsMoetnChandon#

1. Na because you never get visa...lol

2. JayEm...this is supposed to be serious...u just cracked me. True talk

3. Biko dis criminal o si na ds country is so fcuk? Onye nga (prison)

32. This is soo sad how can someone be thus callous pls tell us the name of the hospital and the killer doctor.He must not go scot free.RIP

33. of cos money is important. dis is not d first time dis is happening.. doctors of private hospitals want their money sharperly unless you are on ur own...may her soul rest in peace abeg dis world has really gone mad

34. The so called doctor should lose his license right away and be charged with murder. Nigeria is such an evil country and the greed is unimaginable.

35. May her soul RIP. It's alarming that her husband, family and friends could not raise 300K! What a false life! Why blame the hospital? Nigerians have been known to flee and abandon medical bills. If they couldn't afford private care, why not go to a government hospital? Still related to the false life. May her soul RIP and I pray that the baby survived.

1. Did you read where they said they would give them the next day? Or how were they supposed to get the money when banks are closed

2. A Private hospital demanding 300k deposit for CS is a big hospital......I'm assuming the hospital has a POS machine...go figure. Govt hospitals are a lot cheaper,people should begin to make use of that alternative. If u are pregnant please plan ,always have some amount of money readily available TRY.....This is so sad

36. Her husband should sue them for wot their lives are worth! I'm disgusted! Rest in peace dear

37. if truly this happened just this way then d hospital and d doctor should be sued. now I wont blame any celebrity that travels out to birth her child becos some of our hospitals are done for here. RIP TO KEMI

38. Rip, may she rest in the bosom of the lord...dah doctor is living for hell cus I dnt see how's going to make heaven again...he knws he owns 3bedroom flat in hell.

39. Death!!! u are so cruel, Rip pretty lady.

40. Stella don't be shocked,we have lost our moral and social values to the extent that we do not care about human lives in this country. The day i knew this country has totally lost it was the day those aluu boys were murdered and everyone around them watched and recorded the act.compounded by this is the pardon granted onto alamaisegha by our almighty presido,can you imagine?? Someone who is wanted in UAE and Britain for financial crime.Nigeria has lost it believe me Stella.

I dont blame the hospital,i blame the system,Nigeria system does not favour a honest business enterprise,you pay for your risks,generators,security,road,water and Tax.that hospital must have done some other minor stuffs for her free of charge and they only asked for payment to carry out the operation.
    The victim has no blame at all,she went for a private hospital cos government ones are nothing to write home about.she is unfortunate to have get stucked.her government failed her.may her soul rip

Believe me y'all you are on your own in this country and god help you if you are poor or dont have any1 to help you out when you are in trouble. This county is so messed up a corpse could lie for days on the road without the relevant authorities come pick it away!!! Everyone just walk pass and spit on it.human lives has no value in Nigeria.

I watched and read as you all celebrate the last independence and i shake my head.suffering and smiling and pretending all is well.unfortunately no one can change this and division isnt the answer. The nigerian rot is present in every home either nuclear or extended

41. Ancient of days!!! My Lord my God.

42. May she rest in peace. This story is indeed sad. I wonder why she wasn't taken to a government hospital, it's cheaper.
    Expectant mothers please, I know a lot of people are hopeful that they will have normal delivery, but at times, it does not work that way, so always be prepared, make sure u r registered in hospitals where you can afford their bills.

43. The husband should have bundled her out of that hospital immediately. This is really sad as her death could have been averted. May her soul rest in peace

44. So so sad. May her soul rest in peace

45. ANGELRAY SAYS
    God will punish that hospital, what kind of wickedness is this. But how come they were not prepared for the arrival of the baby, why didn't the husband look for money by all means to save the wife's life, don't want to believed he's a lazy man, maybe she was the one paying the bills . RIP

46. This wickedness happens in most hospitals in Nigeria! Government must do something about it! This one is N450 with a deposit of N300.

NISA PREMIER HOSPITAL 15 - 17 Alex Ekwueme Way. Jabi, Abuja demands 1.5 million Naira deposited in their account before they do emergency C.S. or else they discharge you and send you somewhere! How cruel is that? If NISA PREMIER denies this, Stella I will send you proof!

Hospital can demand for millions but least save a life first! I also know that some patients do not pay after treatment but why punish others for that? Things have to change!

1. Nisa Premier is not the only hospital in Abuja!! I had my baby in Garki hospital and I loved my experience there...there are other nice hospitals too...we must not all troop to that place. dem no bury our umbilical cord for there na(Ibo saying).. Emergency case of twins that needed the incubator,they had hitches and delays,one twin died,by the time they hurriedly went to a govt hospital...the other one gave up! Couple waited for over 10years for this miracle..all they got was sorry and excuses..after millions they paid!

2. Nisa premier is just useless. My cousin just lost her 7months old pregnancy there because of lack of attention to detail. It's crazy. Garki hospital and federal staff hospital anyday!

3. Nisa premier is good though expensive. They saved my life n dat of my daughter when I was 32wks preggy. D female Indian doc Ati observed me n booked 4 emergency Cs. If she had waited for anoda 30mins hmm! Na another story oh. Rip to d dead. So so sad! #dat Udi chic

47. This is unfortunate but why were they in a private hospital if they could not afford it? Dats the problem with expensive weddings and not planning what to do after the wedding. I don't condone what was done but like some people rightly say... some naija's are always trying to get one over on somenoe, there was no guarantee that this family would have paid afterwards. A naija man's word of bond means shit to him. its just something he says to get out of a situation. I do feel for the family but always cut your coat according to your side. you no get 500k, you go private hospital. In saying that, my sister had a c-section in a very good private hospital in Lagos there, na 181k everything total o. So that means they must have really tried to live way above their level. So so sad though.

48. I guess peoples life mean so little to some individual.Why do people have to die? My friend and his family had a fatal accident on their way from a burial ceremony in the village and he died instantly with his wife but the two little kids survived. Can't stop looking at their pictures.What is really going to become of those lil ones is the question have been asking myself since lastnight? RIP to the dead.

49. It's so sad!but dats y govt hospitals are d best no matter how crowded and not so posh' as they are,this can never happen in a govt hospital bcos no one will tell u to pay such bizarre amount for CS!u can never be sure what will happen at point of giving birth,u can be as strong as d Hebrew woman,but during d process things might go wrong and d only option will be a CS!
    A short story:some family friends of mine,d wife bragged how she can never have a CS,how she's a superwoman(my words),shes dis and dat,have seen her mum give birth at home blah blah blah!and I kept telling her no be soo oo,dis thing is not by power.well,so they registered in one of dose abj madt' hospitals dat ordinary delivery fee is 150k while CS is 600k,(very dirty hospital btw,when I went dia I was disappointed),well abj na name dey reign#rolls eyes#ok so,on d d-day,madam mouth' suddenly could not push and baby was getting weak,so an emergency CS was scheduled for her!....600k?d husband nearly fainted but we had to wake him up oo,cos he needed to be wide awake' to get dat money, 600k is not beans!he had to run helter skelter borrowing from friends and family,(hes still owing us sef,he never still pay back o,almost a year now,hmm)they were lucky they could raise d money!imagine if he couldn't raise it?trust d docs there too,they were not ready to raise a finger without money being paid!the risk in these private hospitals is too much,and it's not like they even know d job like dat,only one Professional will be in a whole hospital!mtceew
    May her soul RIP!smh

1. Lol@had to wake him up to go get that money...
      My colleague said her mother,sisters,used to give birth at d door of the house before even getting to the hospital,she bragged so much kai! Little me was pregnant then too..fear no gree me..she will haunt me down and regal me with stories of her family vaginal birth prowess ...eventually hers ended in CS! no one is saying don't "faith" your delivery..but focus more on your personal prayers than telling friends how you will never have a CS...like is not elective these days..women even love opting for it sef. talk less,pray more .Either way,it is a wonderful thing..as long as baby and momma are healthy..it don mara if is vag or cs..no one cares!

About those hospitals wen full Abuja..my dear it is disheartening ooh..and once some people hear a hospital is expensive,they will like to give birth there forgetting to get facts like..how neat the place is,the kind of doctors and nurses they have and how big their pockets are!
      It is well

50. This brought tears to my eyes may her soul rest in peacce.

51. This is Man's inhumanity to Man. Rest in peace Kemi.

52. Name the hospital and its location...

The doctor must be arrested and charged with man-slaughter...

That hospital can no longer remain private because they are inhuman and heartless...

53. Sometimes the ignorance people display never ceases to amaze me...sorry to sound callous but this death could have been averted...1.A lady is in prolonged labour for days ...I assume she may have been counselled for a C/S if indicated...knowing the hospital fees what prevented the husband from taking her to a got hospital 2.Sue the doctor....on what basis???medicine is a service. ..He offered you his service for money,you couldn't pay. ..why not go somewhere else?how does that make him a killer?3.Every Tom,Dick and Harry claims to know what hippocratic oath is...Medicine is guided by ethics.who has ever bothered to read the ethics guiding the profession? This is a sad situation but find out facts first. ..How do you even know with or without the c/s she would have made it?those that are singing 450k is too much,do you know the case details or the complications the doctor envisaged? Every story has several dimensions but the way some people comment here I am truly beginning to believe all men weren't created equal

1. My dear in as,much as her death is painful it actually could have been prevented... There are cheaper hospitals.....with as low as 35k naira...you can have a c section at my,Centre....below is a copy of the original oath...most people don't know the oath...and no way is it humanitarian This is the original version of the Oath:

I swear by Apollo the physician, and Aesculapius the surgeon, likewise Hygeia and Panacea, and call all the gods and goddesses to witness, that I will observe and keep this underwritten oath, to the utmost of my power and judgement.

I will reverence my master who taught me the art. Equally with my parents, will I allow him things necessary for his support, and will consider his sons as brothers. I will teach them my art without reward or agreement; and I will impart all my acquirements, instructions, and whatever I know, to my master's children, as to my own; and likewise to all my pupils, who shall bind and tie themselves by a professional oath, but to none else.

With regard to healing the sick, I will devise and order for them the best diet, according to my judgement and means; and I will take care that they suffer no hurt or damage.

Nor shall any man's entreaty prevail upon me to administer poison to anyone; neither will I counsel any man to do so. Moreover, I will get no sort of medicine to any pregnant woman, with a view to destroy the child.

Further, I will comport myself and use my knowledge in a godly manner.

I will not cut for the stone, but will commit that affair entirely to the surgeons.

Whatsoever house I may enter, my visit shall be for the convenience and advantage of the patient; and I will willingly refrain from doing any injury or wrong from falsehood, and (in an especial manner) from acts of an amorous nature, whatever may be the rank of those who it may be my duty to cure, whether mistress or servant, bond or free.

Whatever, in the course of my practice, I may see or hear (even when not invited), whatever I may happen to obtain knowledge of, if it be not proper to repeat it, I will keep sacred and secret within my own breast.

If I faithfully observe this oath, may I thrive and prosper in my fortune and profession, and live in the estimation of posterity; or on breach thereof, may the reverse be my fate![4

2. Shut your stupid ugly mouth why will u not fight for the stupid doctor to be sued? A patient with u am sure for some months then u say they must pay all before CS.....no excuse at all... We don't know their financial struggles n y she was there all that while but that hospital should be named and shamed

3. Anon 11:12 you are one of the few with brain
      Like you said, there are several dimensions to a story

54. Why is everybody sounding like this is a strange news in LIEgeria (Nigeria)? Its a daily thing here. I lost My Mum on my Laps at the age of 16 because of this Deposit or no deposit things. Being the head of the house and daddy is late, I had to watch my Mum die because I can't afford the Deposit amount requested before She will be attended to. Doctors Kill more than Ebola,SARS,Malaria & AIDs joined together in Nigeria.

55. We need the name of that hospital. That hospital must trend so that rubbish will not repeat itself. So money before your fucking oath? Just can't deal! Stella please publish the name of the hospital. Private hospital my foot!

56. hmmm dat doctor and d hospital should be sued.....for d first tym m teary and angry at dsam tym...doctor is wicked..buh wot cn i say.......as for d couple.y did dey put dia hands whr dey cnt afford..hw cn u b almst due and daz wen u decided to wed knwing dat child birth is money consuming?.......and d ppl dat wantd to hlp.y didnt dey strt d donatn early sinc she had prolonged labour......dis life jst dey tire me somtimes............JENNY

57. If this is true then that hospital is most certainly a coven! Choi! Money for life? I think say na home video this sort of nonsense dey happen! My lord!!!

58. I'm sadden&tearful reading this,what an infamous health workers,does it mean there's no more human sympathy anymore in our hospital?rest in peace kemi,she was a wonderful dancer on stage

lanrewajupeters

59. It just breaks my heart to read things like this.
    It's bad enough that she had been in labour for days but worse that she passed away after going through so much pain. The doctor could have at least reconsidered his stand. Hippocractic oath is about saving lives first but for some Nigerian doctors its money first other things can follow. It's easy to say he's probably had a bad experience in the past with patients absconding without paying after receiving payment BUT there is absolutely no excuse to watch a woman in so much pains pass away without battling an eyelid. That is so inhuman. Bless your soul.

60. So the husband can not take her away from there since he doesn't have the money.

61. Once Bitten, Now Wise!3 October 2014 at 12:39

Yes doctors are bad I hate them too with a passion if I can do without them I will Nigerian doctors are one of the worst set of human beings I've come across that's why I'm prepared in whatever I do. I blame the doctors coz no matter what you should have saved her life but I blame this couple...

1) you were due less than 20 days after your wedding and you knew your due date why did you do a wedding? If you must be married why didn't you do a court wedding first? It's saves you money (Babies are expensive) and saves you the stress as a pregnant woman.

2) why didn't you go to a government hospital? I'm sure what ever your hubby deposited at that private hospital was enough for the full operation at GH. You begged your friends for money? My dear it is stupidity for anyone to ask for money for delivery of Baby that's why God gave you 9MONTHS! To plan ahead! The baby didn't just happen God gave you time to plan, God knows ATM, Banks, and friends will fail you that's why He gave you sufficient time to plan for that baby (advise to all expecting couples once you're 8months pregnant always make sure 1) your hubby is never far away or if he is there is always present capable help with you. 2) you have the COMPLETE delivery money in your purse CASH! (start saving from the day that stick says positive) 3) Your Baby things are ready.

Private hospitals don't know it all, an example is the idiot one this couple went to that allowed her stay in labour for a week before CS and I'm sure they were charging you for that week they were attending to you. My people first of all we need to spot hospitals and differentiate them from business centres (that's the aim of antenatal use it to scout good hospitals, ask questions!) because that's what most PHs are, your money is more important than your life to them, secondly let's learn to cut our coat according to the material what I suggest for people most times is to do Antenatal in a PH and go deliver in a GH (according to your pocket) It's the same PH doctors that consult in GH don't do above yourself and loose it all at the end because lemme tell you if a doctor in a PH could remove a premature baby from incubator because the parents had owed them for two days (mind you at that hospital it cost 24k/day for incubator while in GH it costs 5k/day) and watched that baby die amidst begging tears from father and "not fully recovered" mother even fellow patients begged on their behalf they let that baby die I gave up on the humanity of doctors. So pls prepare yourself do things within your limit to avoid stories that touch like this one.

1. I love the advice you gave mothers.

2. Nice advice my dear.
      It's good to be 100% prepared to avoid stories that touch.

3. I totally agree with you. When my pregnancy got to six months, we kept our emergency money intact in the house.no matter of rushing to atm. Plus,most hospitals request for delivery fees before your due date, so you should always be prepaid. 9months is enough time to put yourself together. Go to a hospital u can afford!

4. Give up on the humanity of some doctors not ALL doctors

62. What a useless hospital, useless doctor and pathetic country!
    Being a doctor is a like humanitarian job, if you focus so much on profit making then woe betide you.If you see your profession as a money spinner that means your conscience is dead, 450k for what?

Yes, we know they need to pay bills, staff salary , diesel, electricitity, drugs etc but how do you watch a human being die?

Are we saying it is all the patients that are rushed to the hospital who have emergencies that are unable to pay?

Her husband and those who were to help raise funds said they will provide the cash the next day, and the doctors still didn't bother,wickedness in high places.

63. omg this is so sad......crying.May her soul rest in peace

64. Nigeria and the stupid mentality of our doctors....why not help her and refuse to discharge her till she pay? That's how lagoon hospital in apapa demanded 1.5 million from my friend before her husband could be admitted into intensive care.......imagine....of course the man died.......for all those doctors who have killed people prematurely your end shall not be good....your families shall continue to pay generations to come....it's so unfair....I had another friend who was in LUTH 2 years ago and watched a young girl go into preterm labour....cos strike had been declared a day before doctors refused to attend to her and she lost her twins.....how heartless can people get?

May your soul rest in peace darling and God give your husband the fortitude to bear this painful loss....

65. Cant they sue that fucking hospital??? What the hell is going on in that country???!!! Haba! Why is life so cheap in Nigeria??!! I am so angry right now!!!

66. That hospital shld be sued, maka ego chai. RIP

67. Rip to the beautiful lady. Honestly her husband should be held for her death. They had over 7 whole months to prepare for this birth and that's if they found out about the pregnancy at the normal stage some women find out earlier. They could have made enquires on the costs and fees of the birth so as to make a deposit before the date of the labour or better still changed to a cheaper hospital if their pockets couldn't reach. They could have kept W.C.S(worst case scenario )money at home or with a trusted friend or family member . But they didn't. They waited until the day of the labour and started running helter skelter as it was the first day they realised they would need to pay some money. Assuming the guy didn't know it would be that expensive he would have still made some allowances for J.I.C (just in case) money. This wasn't a supermarket trip or a stop over at Mr biggs that was unplanned. This was one of the most important days of their lives. If they planned the wedding they just had 20 days before the way they planned the birth of their first child together would there have been any wedding for anybody to attend. Prioritise people. Planning is not just for when you want to make merry and show your enemies and friends how amazing you wedding can be. Planning is for behind closed doors also. Lack of planning and consideration in private and more delicate matters will always come to the attention of the public one way or another. And unfortunately this came to the attention of the public in the most tragic way. Princess Esther

1. Princess Esther u are a bastard and sn idiot..... Are they fools? How dare u judge people? Do u know what hard times they r going thru? Bloody fool, if life is rosy for u dont think it's very rosy for others..... U don't know their struggles so shut up..... No where in the world do they demand money for emergencies....

2. You can't talk about anywhere in the world when you are in Nigeria. You can't come to Nigeria and be expecting it to be London or America. You must adhere to the practices of the country you are in.Not the one you wish it was. That's like going to London and wishing it could be hot like Nigeria so you dress in summer clothes. You will surely die of cold. We can pray and wish for a change in a Nigeria but until that change comes you must take as many precautions as possible with your life or the lives of your loved ones. Because life is too precious for you to leave it in the hands of lack of preparation. Princess Esther

3. Anon 5:46 ur insults will go right back to ur head, are u d husband or his sister? She spoke the truth. The husband was very careless. Before u give woman belle be sure you can pay for d delivery process. Very shameful to say she died carelessly because of money

68. Stella, I have never commented on blogs but i just had to say something on this sad news. This is so inhuman of the doctor and the administration in that particular hospital.

To place a value of 450K on a person life which could have be save is just dishearten. I feel the medical field is not meant for that particular doctor because he/she is a wicked person, he practically killed that woman if the reason above is true .

Stella, to help make Nigeria a better place, we need to bring such doctor and hospital to question.

Please could you find out the hospital and the doctor in particular. The lagos state government need to look into it.

Thanks

69. So sad life savers placing money @ d expense of mother n a new born. Wen will our health care system eva get beta.

70. I weak 4ds nigerian doctors way, I had cs july26th cus my edd was 25th and my baby was pretty big 4.2kg, on top that my cervix had not dilated to 10mm, I was induced buh normal contractions no serious pain whatsoever.no family, no friends, no hubby just me, I didn't call anyone to inform dem dat am in labour, well 18hrs later still no contraction, I opted 4 CS, being dat dey are familiar wit me at d hospital, dey prepped me up 4d CS, I had a beautiful baby girl; dey used a wheelchair and took me to my ward; infact apart from d pains from d epidural, pains from d operation which I felt d nxt day and d anaesthetic, I knew I was in good hands.15minslater I called my mum and friends to inform dem I had given birth everyone was elated infact my mum practically dropped d fone and was screamin praises.my CS cost 400kcfa (about 120knaira) hospital bed (3kcfa about 1knaira) and I stayed for 7day, antibiotics, painkillers and dicloberl which makes u to be able to walk by d nxt day all cost less dan 10knaira, I paid my bills wit my mastercard bought d nurses drinks and foodies cus 2nurses attend to me morning till d nxt shift, dashed d doctor some small money cus I was very very grateful cus his stitching was an artwork ,u can't tell I had surgery.ds are services u can neva gt in nigeria and dey will charge u silly.well am back and I decided to go for removal of my sutures,can u imagine just to remove stitch and clean d area I was charged 25knaira at d marvel hospital 7th avenue festac town, a procedure dat didn't last 4mins, I was dazed; I asked d doctor why such amount, he said cus I didn't do it in deir hospital and if I can afford cs why can't I pay d 25k.as in I looked at him, no be u do surgery ooo, u cum dey collect dat kain money.well I paid den dey gave me counting medicines in white sachets for 3k totalling 28knaira, I can't even recall wen last I saw medicine dat is counted only in fs useless country.well as for me anyday anytime I choose cotonou healthcare over ds dirty nigerian hospitals where dey clean 2ce a week.irresponsible myopia centered individuals.Rip dear.God knows best.

71. =LINDA,PLZ POST D NAME OF THAT DR & HOSPITAL MAKE WE KW. OW CN SM1 BE DT HEARTLESS?

72. That Doctor is just plain wicked and heartless. He could have just gone ahead with the surgery at least to save this woman's life and then refuse her discharge until she pays to the last kobo. Now that the woman died,what does he stand to gain?

It so bad when a woman loses her life while trying to bring another life into this world. such a painful way to die.....the kinda death that could be averted.

May her soul RIP.

73. Stella, we can do our only little bit here. Please publish the name of the hospital so we can lambast them! The money they are looking for will varnish when nobody goes there for treatment. This might serve as a deterrent to others!

74. I wonder what is happening in that country. Why can't they introduce a medical aid system or moreover why can't they make people pay in advance knowing that u will come and give birth in that hospital. In developed countries u only enter a private hospital if u have medical aid or u put down the whole deposit before u are 30 weeks. U even know ur bed number by then either u want a private room or normal ward. If u can't afford by 30 weeks u start facing government hospital. I had my kids in a government hospital knowing that I didn't have that n450 000 equivalent as that is my salary monthly and I knew government hospitals provide the same delivery process. In private hospitals they tell u to push gently and encourage u and rub ur back for N450k. I told my DH to give me that money I will manage as the country am in it all leads to friends status to ask u which hospital u gave birth in. Hmmm. If u say Government hospital they look at u as cheap. Anyway my children are growing if I tell u private lie will u know. Guam gbam

75. OMG....this is too bad!..plain wickedness...., chai

76. #ANGRY! Sad....her soul rest in peace, and GOD give the family the strength to bear the loss :(