Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria May Seek Death Penalty Against Child Bride

Friday, October 31, 2014

Nigeria May Seek Death Penalty Against Child Bride

A 14-year-old Nigerian girl accused of murdering her 35-year-old husband by putting rat poison in his food could face the death penalty, Nigerian prosecutors said Thursday.

The trial of Wasila Tasi'u, from a poor northern Nigeria family, has sparked a heated debate on the role of underage marriage in the conservative Muslim region, especially whether an adolescent girl can consent to be a bride.

Prosecutors at the High Court in Gezawa, outside Nigeria's second city of Kano, filed an amended complaint that charged Tasi'u with one count of murder over the killing of Umar Sani two weeks after their April wedding in the village of Unguwar Yansoro.

Lead prosecutor Lamido Abba Soron-Dinki said that if convicted, the charge is "punishable with death" and indicated the state would seek the maximum penalty.

Nigeria is not known to have executed a juvenile offender since 1997, when the country was ruled by military dictator Sani Abacha, according to Human Rights Watch.Tasi'u entered the court wearing a cream-coloured hijab and was escorted by two policemen.

Brides attend a wedding feast at the Kano state governor's office after taking part in a mass weddin …
Her parents, who have condemned their daughter's alleged act, were in the public gallery -- the first time the three were in the same room since Tasi'u's arrest in April,her legal representatives said.

The English-language charge sheet was translated into Hausa for the accused by the court clerk.

Tasi'u refused to answer when asked if she understood the charges.

The case was adjourned for 30 minutes so the charges could be better explained to the defendant, but when the alleged offences were read again Tasi'u stayed silent, turned her head to the wall and broke down in tears.

"The court records (that) she pleads not guilty," Judge Mohammed Yahaya said, apparently regarding her silence as equal to a denial of the charges and adjourned the case until November 26.

Sani Garba, 55, stands in the abandonned bedroom of his 14-year-old daughter-in-law Wasila Tasi' …
Activists, including in Nigeria's mainly Christian south, have called for Tasi'u's immediate release, saying she should be rehabilitated as a victim and noting the prospect that she was raped by the man she married.

But in the north, Islamic law operates alongside the secular criminal code, a hybrid system that has complicated the question of marital consent.
The affected families have denied that Tasi'u was forced into marriage, arguing that girls across the impoverished region marry at 14 and that Tasi'u and Sani followed the traditional system of courtship.

According to Nigeria's marriage act, anyone under 21 can marry provided they have parental consent and so evidence of an agreement between Tasi'u and her father Tasiu Mohammed could undermine claims of a forced union.
But defence lawyer Hussaina Aliyu has insisted the case is not a debate about the role of youth marriage in a Muslim society.

Instead, she has argued that under criminal law a 14-year-old cannot be charged with murder in a high court and has demanded that the case be moved to the juvenile system.

Nigeria defines the age of adulthood as 17 but the situation is less clear in the 12 northern states under Islamic law, where courts theoretically have the right to consider people under 17 as legally responsible.

Guidelines for how courts should blend Islamic and secular legal codes have not been well defined....culled

*Hmm,they should try her in a juvenile court for crying out loud!....this is really sad!.This was all over the news worldwide yesterday and today ....Nigeria and making headline news for the wrong reasons

60 comments:

1. Really sad. I sha don't blame her completely for dat act.

1. Absolute thrash. I would free her in my court room. Nonsense.

2. Very Funny!..They should stop this useless child bride of a thing first before talking about death penalty. Who knws wat d innocent girl was passing thru mentally.

3. OMG!!! She's too young, too young to be sentenced to death. She felt abused, deprived, caged and anger took over her. Maybe if she had killed her husband alone, maybe she could have accepted her fate, maybe her parents shouldn't have married her off, i dont even know what to say

4. I have a 15yr old sister who knows nothing about life, talk more of marriage, intimacy and child birth. I can't imagine what would happen, were she forced into marriage. She may probably do worse.

As a matter of fact, that poor child (Wasila)was to be raped for all the days of her life, her parents and aunties, whose primary responsibility it is to protect her failed, forcing her to take the laws into her own hands. What does a 14yr old know???? Wasila is not a murderer, she is a victim of circumstance.

Kano state government should please look into this, Kwankwaso can't say he doesn't have a niece or daughter who is 14yr old and above. If he can't marry them off, he should not support child marriage.

Child marriage is evil!
    Child marriage is rape!
    Child marriage is the height of inhumanity to women!
    #SayNoToChildMarriage
    #freeWasila

@skinny_mido

5. ANGELRAY SAID
    Her parents should be jailed, don't understand Muslim law abeg, evil religion.

1. You sound more like the evil one! Did you read that she was tried in an Islamic court? Or did you not read the part where it stated that she is from an impoverished background??? Meaning her parents forced her for the money involved! Fool!

2. Fuck you 10:37 pm! Devil go baptise your mama, your papa and that your brainwashed religion!
      Child molester motherfucker!

6. Another MADE IN NIGERIA!!
    Who does this!
    Married a child out
    She can't opposed, yes!
    So she did what she need to do cos to her that's the only way she could protest
    Am not supporting muder
    But dis is a child for christ sake
    If she need be tried at all it should be in juvenile court
    Heartless bunch of BHs

1. Goddess of gbagaun!

2. Anon 6:12 lmao, u r wicked o

3. I pity her dou, but for a 14yr old to think of murder:dats deep mehn!

7. Any man who marries or sleeps with a girl below the age of 18 (with or without her consent) should be castrated and amputated!

I wish all men who defile underage girls in the name of marriage will be served a plate of poisoned food.
    Nonsense!
    Destiny killers!!!

1. Ur baby is super cute
      Like OMG
      Can't stop staring
      Wow
      N she can sabi pose
      Lucky u gal

2. LOL @ sabi pose.
      Thanks Mrs CJ.
      It's not pose per say oh.
      Just one of the many random shots I snap her in the middle of the while waiting for her to sleep off.

3. She's pretttty! Make she stay away from my handsome three years old son oooo.

8. Mmmmm eeeehhhhhh I won't say what she did is good but eeemmmmm is not her fault, a 14yr old that has not even start life,she is just too young na for christ sake dis our mallam brothers and sisters should be resonable,she has her life to live, one drum belly man go just bgin front dis small girl bele anyhow in the name of marriage,haba me don't blame her o cus I might have done mmmmm

9. They shld leave the gal alone joo, since her parents nd the govt can't protect her. She decides to protect herself.

10. they should kill her now! useless people. that's how they will be encouraging paedophiles, craddle snatchers.
    confused lot!
    namsense!

11. The justice system in this country is so bad,why death penalty? Please something should be done fast. Human right organisation please act fast.cyndyk

12. Child marriage is very bad n shldn't be tolerated. The girl shld be freed jare. Stellz I schooled in a University in d north n u nid to see hw 10-11 yrs olds r given as brides to their father's age mates. Its pathetic

13. Justice should be done,although I understand her plight.

14. The northerners are the major problems of Nigeria.

1. Just like you are the major problem in your lineage!

15. Really sad,she should be trail in the juvenile court,muslim and child bride hope she comes out of this alive

1. Tried not trail abeg! Gbagaun of life...xtians and prostitution in Italy!

16. Parental consent indeed. Did they ask her if she was ready for marriage. Poverty the bane of our society.

17. Mtcheeew
    Nigeria is a secular state. What's up with all this Islamic laws causing confusion here and there.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

1. See your life??? What's up with all this Islamic laws! No be the Nigerian secular court dey talk death penalty??? Abi na ya nipple u takr read the tory?

2. Just shut up anon 10:45.
      What's ur problem.
      You're beginning to sound inane. Shusshh
      I'm sure u were a child bride.
      Drop your fone and go and enjoy the shrunk penis of your wrinkled grandfather. Greet his other 3 wives and 9 concubines for us. Ewu ohia!

18. I will never understand this muslims!!! Why can't adults marry adults??? Please leave this girl alone! She is just a child!

1. Try to understand your confused and confounded self first! Shogbon?

19. What she did was bad but her actions were carried out of fear, pain, tears. She wasn't thinking right.
    I expected the Muslim community to see this as a message, a silent cry for help by all the hundreds of underaged girls being married off against their own will to men twice or thrice their ages. These girl, their dreams and hopes of being educated are shattered, their freedom and innocence are taken away from them.

Let the human rights organizations continue to fight for her freedom.

I know the case is twisted by the death of the other men who also ate the poisoned food and died.

I pray Nigeria listens to the unspoken words and message in this case.

20. The girl did a good job they please free her,marriage? 14?

21. She's a kid please, married by force or willingly....The prosecutors of this case how do y'all sleep at night?

22. This is sad and will further increase this babaric act.
    Haba!

23. The only judgement under Qisa for murder is death . We can only plead with d judge to temper justice with mercy.

The lady had plunged families into grieve and sorrow by her unlawful act which was brought about by d unfortunate act of her being married off against her wishes.

24. Stella thanks for putting this up.

25. They should let the girl go, biko. See the reason why muslims are hated all over. Even though, there are good Muslims, these kind of situation makes them appear as wicked. The old idiot married a baby, the baby acted like a child, now u want to treat the baby like an adult. Abeg, go dig ground, pull the dead asshole out, kill him again and throw his corpse inside shalanga. #Free Wasila# # Free Wasila#. Wetin GEJ dey do sef wey senseless, abominable stories like these dey go on wey e no fit intervene. He no fit veto the ruling? Take her to juvenile court if they must, but to kill her, for what? Today na Friday, this just ruined my day. Very stupid people.

26. She is the victim in this situation and a teenager for crying out loud! The judge should please temper justice with Mercy. #sad#

27. Thank you jare 5:51pm. your comment on point.

El Haj, abeg abeg abeg!!!!

small girl you call 'the lady'? when they married a child off to a man old enough to be her father, they didn't know they killed the girl's spirit? she has killed the man now, they are screaming for justice.

pls ds news annoys me.
    I berra gerrout of here.
    namsense!

28. They shld let the girl be joor
    Mtchwwwwwwww what's all this

29. Am teln u northerns won't just do d right thing!always causing problems anyways they shld free d girl abeg she was probably in bondage!!!sdk princess

30. Child abuse,,what nonsense marriage is dis..

31. The girl should not be killed please

32. Stella help this girl, it would be so sad if she's allowed to die.u know d right buttons to press to avert this impending disaster. swing into action now.

33. I hope she has an exceptional lawyer and not just a legal aid one. She needs a good lawyer to work pro bono on her case stat!

34. I feel for her. This is not fair, but when some of this little girls start suffering from VVF their husbands will abandon them and they won't be held responsible for it.

Visit my blog **www.EllasHaven.blogspot.com**