Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Billionaire's Ex Wife To Pay His Lawyer's £100k Fees.

Friday, October 31, 2014

Nigerian Billionaire's Ex Wife To Pay His Lawyer's £100k Fees.

Why do things like this happen?

Scorned: Mercy Ogbedo, 45, outside London's High Court, who has been told to pay her billionaire ex-husband's £100,000 legal costs even though he was already married when they wed.

Dailymail reports that a woman who claims she was duped into a wedding with a billionaire who was already married has been ordered to pay him £100,000, a court heard 
Mercy Ogbedo believed she married shipping magnate Moses Taiga in an elaborate ceremony in Nigeria where her feet were washed by village elders and a dowry was paid for her as a ‘bride price’.

The couple had twins together, but Mrs Ogbedo then spent a decade pursuing the tycoon for financial support through the British courts – only to be told she would not get a penny because their wedding ceremony was invalid.

Instead, the 45-year-old of Finchley, North London, was ordered to pay 80 per cent of Mr Taiga’s legal costs for a series of complex court hearings, leaving her with an estimated £100,000 bill for lawyers’ fees.

Mrs Ogbedo went to the Court of Appeal yesterday in a bid to get the order overturned. The court heard she had ‘limited means’ while her ‘husband’ owned a string of London properties.

The pair ‘married’ in 2002 and had twins, but Mrs Ogbedo discovered soon afterwards that Mr Taiga had already married a woman in Benin, West Africa. 
The court heard that having more than one wife is allowed under Nigerian law, but Mrs Ogbedo applied to the British courts in 2003 to have her marriage dissolved because of her husband’s behaviour, and to force Mr Taiga to pay maintenance for their children.

Mr Taiga

The High Court ordered she should be given £300,000 a year – but Mr Taiga went to the Nigerian courts and successfully argued that their wedding was invalid, because of his church marriage in Benin. 

The court ruled that Mrs Ogbedo’s was a ‘non-marriage’, which meant precisely nothing in the eyes of the law.
The High Court then ruled it could not hand over any of Mr Taiga’s fortune because he was never legally married to Mrs Ogbedo, and that she should pay most of his legal costs. Her lawyers branded that decision ‘incomprehensible’ and said she should be entitled to a payout.

Barrister Timothy Scott QC, for Mrs Ogbedo, said: ‘The wife says she was duped. She should be permitted to apply for financial relief in England by virtue of that marriage ceremony.’

Since his split from Mrs Ogbedo, Mr Taiga has ended his 1974 Benin marriage and wed another woman, Yinka, with whom he has quadruplets.

Yinka
Ruling on Mrs Ogbedo’s case, Appeal Court judge Lord Justice McFarlane said he had ‘real sympathy’ for her position, adding: ‘All the time the wife considered that she was married to her husband he was in fact married to another lady.’
However, he said he could not allow her to appeal over a divorce payout because ‘there was no marriage on which English law could bite’.
He said he would allow her to appeal against the order that she should pay Mr Taiga’s costs. 
Lord Justice McFarlane said it was arguable that the sum was unfair, adding: ‘She has the sole care of the parties’ children and is a lady of limited means.’

*Please I need a lawyer in the house to educate me more on this Law regarding Nigerian men being eligible to more than one wife.I thought it was a religion thing.Please what section of the Nigerian Law?

59 comments:

1. She go pay am na, na small money 4 her side...shey na billionaire former wife....mtcheeew..., #alinko

1. Ehn ehn. This story has landed here. The man sure has a thing going for him. More like the Staten Island Italian mafias who send their monies on errands. If it was Nigeria they would have said he bribed the judge for favour. However I think the lady didn't get good counsel, or perhaps was overwhelmed that the society she lives in favours women, hence. This is utterly shameful. And the man got himself another prettier wife, this kind thing can like to pain person o. I am sure she's regretting now, he's just a morally bankrupt old man who just happens to be financially fortunate.
      That is if he's not a true polygamist...but who's just cheating the women. The aunty sef na thievery she find go meet the man in the first instance jare

2. Good for her. She doesn't want to work, stylishly looking for child support because he's a billionaire.
    Mtcheeeew!!!

1. What exactly did you just say! I'm sure u are a man! Please always make it a point of duty to think well before you talk. Pscheeew

3. They all got "played " Look at that smile on the man's picture! Even though it's from a totally unrelated picture, it just fits into the story. By the way, he has magic Spermatozoa, twins, triplets, quadruplets. What next for him? Octomom?

Let this be a lesson to women abroad, open your eyes... Money talks, B.S takes a flight!

1. I need triplets please....This man seems to to be the perfect donatus. ....lol. Tc

4. It happened because she did not know her place. Probably she took the wrong advise being in UK. Instead of her to abide by the man'a rules and enjoy his millions. Now she lost everything, I respect my man despite the fact that he cheats because if he sent me out now where will I start from .

1. Let ur man no dat u are notin witout him nd see wat happens nxt.u depend solely on him witout tinking about tomoro....i pity u sha

2. Taaaaa! Which one is where will you start from? Are you handicapped? Your husband is cheating and feeling cool because he knows exactly what you think, you can't survive without him. My dear better help yourself

3. You should start milking him now, God forbid the dreaded happens...what will you do? Start planning now!

4. Oh really. Ok. If that works for you, do nothing so your master doesn't kick you out.

5. Bimpe...i feel sorry for your situation. Why not try empowering yourself abit like getting an education or a job...because when your husband cheats with one craze girl who is not smiling and gets hooked on her jazz..you wont be left with nothing. On a serious note try and be wise. Respect him but be wise

6. Bimpe you will start by coming home, to your country nigeria!!Its not that hard, so you will catch HIV because you don't want to return home?Na wa

7. Bimpe it's good you love and respect your man, but you need to look for something to do. You can't be totally dependent on your man. This is 2014 not 1900.

8. Bimpe another girl with a fish brain mentality.....mscchewww

9. Bimpe, u made me comment on dis blog cos I'm new here. I desperately feel like crying for u. Either of 2 things, u do never loved ur man and married him for money in whc case it wud b easy to execute ur stance, or u are totally subdued and have very little self esteem if u have any. In any case I hope ur daughter turns out better than u.

5. Dis one na gobe original gobe.

6. Chaii...water don pass Garri...which kind law be ds?...well dey said d Law is blind..it needs contact lenses

7. Ouch, that must hurt real bad but the law is the law. Some men are heartless sha.
    3 ways to rock that acid-wash jeans

8. Ds man dick na blessing ooo....from twins to quadruplet....Chaii

9. Chaii...water don pass Garri...which kind law be ds?...well dey said d Law is blind..it needs contact lenses

10. Its so not fair.
    At least she can still appeal the ruling.

11. ANGELRAY SAID
    Some men are so irresponsible, now he knows dat they are not legally married, and to even think dat they ve children, he may be a billionaire but he's very poor at heart.

12. Nigerian men are the worst! It's bad enough you married the poor woman illegally & impregnanted Her he doesn't even have the decency to do what is morally right & support her & their 2 kids ,and another woman knew all this & went ahead to marry him & have quads for him?!!
    Our moral compass in this nation is non existent I pray the man grows a conscience

13. Don't mind this woman .....moses tiga is a popular rich man and everyone knw he has wives. He even told one of his friend wife so how can she who married only in 2002 nit knw uncle moses was married

Na runs girl when become wife by paying bride price and after some years when d relationship ended decided to divorce in London so she can claim half but it backfied.

The first wife head dey very strong jare. .....and na her prayers that all those who came to reap now he has money will find no rest

14. see the way they are ruling off marriages.

sometimes ehnn...court rulings can be so annoying.

this man is nothing other than insensitive and wicked.

using and dumping women after tricking them into marriage that could be rendered null and void.

women shine your eyes. don't let love becloud your thinking. Know the law and what applies.

namsense!

1. Trick into marriage ke ......The man had wives and women since the 80 s. Is like Abiola new wife coming to say she was tricked and mko didn't have other wives

2. The man trail of wives is as long as Solomon .......forget story she was tricked nothing. She is not the second wife self, more like just anoda wife

15. Wait o! Dis man get gift of twins nd quadruplets o. I think barren women should go nd see him LOL. I pity dat Mrs ogbedo, dat man looks heartless

1. About barren women....that is a sick comment not funny at all

2. Anon 11:18 you need to lighten up..it's a simple joke and i Lol.

16. Lmao,God catch d greedy fuck. Can she swear that she didn't know that d dude was married before. She knew but was gonna feign ignorance to get a lot of money for herself. Abeg dem hold am wella, she must pay

17. Lol ! He'll definitely has no fury like a woman scorned.
    When she took over from wife number one, she felt on top the game , now she gets the same treatment with emergence of wife number 3 , she is protesting !
    Women , we are our own enemies
    Olorogun Taiga has outsmarted her .
    She sure deserved what she got

18. The man na grand master for free mason
    That's what I read somewhere
    Do u expect them to jugde otherwise
    Na so!

19. Yeye Jayem .is it wrong for a non resident parent to support his kids financially ? And how will she work when there's no one but herself to look after her kids . Fuu.

1. What's fuu? The parents that brought forth an idiot like you are the 'yeye' ones. They must have been too broke to afford a condom the day you were conceived.

20. Too bad for her,Now she has to pay huge sums when shes suppose to be the one to get upkeep for their children, that man may be rich but hes very poor @ heart.May God help that woman and mk him grow a conscience someday. Plz lawyers in d house make una come enlighten us on this case. Does this untra/intra vires?
    On a lighter mood, dat man carry twins magnet o! Twins to quad!

21. See gobe! I pity her o. Take it to God in prayers.

22. @ Bimpe. poor you! I actually feel sorry for you. Not because your husband cheats. No because you accept it. Not even because you respect him.
    But! because you have no self worth. so without him you can not live? without him you can not achieve anything in life?
    So you lay on the ground and let him walk over you, whilst you still respect him....so that he wont kick you out.
    poor you!!
    I suggest you get something of your own. Will you be happy for the remaining years of your life doing nothing, merely existing for another human being.
    exist for yourself! we were born alone. will die alone....so make something out of it whilst you are alive.

23. Hi Stella, before the 'white man' came into Nigeria we had our own laws which now is referred to as 'customary laws, naïve laws, traditional laws' etc. The white mans law did not completely abolish our native laws and customs but instead created a window of opportunity for those who understand it, in this case the man did and used it to its advantage. Under all customary laws in Nigeria man is permitted to have more than one wife,(traditionally)only. however if he marries any of the other wives under English law which is court marriage, that traditional marriage becomes null and void, which in this case he is arguing. so in other words for her to be able to make a case for herself against him in court, she should have been married in court, or can prove he has only traditional marriages with the other ladies, because she wasn't married in court, and he his other marriage in in court, even if its a latter marriage that marriage supersedes the one she has, and she cant bring a case for dissolution of the marriage because there is already an existing legal marriage in place which nullifies the one she has.

as a lawyer my advise to her is to file for child support, upkeep and allowances for her kids, as long as she can prove that those are the legitimate kids of the man, then he is entitled to pay for their upkeep and education.

she has to file for it the court will not grant a remedy for an application which was not sought for.

Cynthia.

24. Greedy woman. You married him traditionally as a second wife then started listening to the useless Nigerian U.K-based wives that are always plotting on how to fleece their husbands so that they can enjoy the loot with small boys. You lost the case you pay his legal fees that is the law for everyone-rich or poor and Stella you live in Germany so you should know that anyone who loses the lawsuit they initiated pays the other person's cost instead of asking why such happens and people who do not know start speaking ignorantly.

25. She is a liar. Tomorrow Sade Okoya will run to U.K and say I did not know my husband was married, I thought the other wives were his sisters now I want his London mansions. She wanted to play the court system there claiming bigamy. Well she has the kids to use as bargaining and blackmail tools to seek maintenance which is what her mates do. Many of them have kids as future insurance and poison them against their fathers till the kids grow up and realise they just had bitter lazy mothers.

26. @Bimpe,may God have mercy on ur soul!!!!!!No go look 4 work,dey there dey chop shit!!! POTABLE VIV

1. Omg! Is there anything wrong in respecting someone that pays most of the bills. Anyways I love my comfort zone, I will rather be saying "yes sir" at home rather than being a single mother relying dole...and messing myself up with other dirty men out there.

2. Bimpe? Bimpe? How many times did I call your name? When you want to insult yourself, leave us single mother's out of it and focus on eating your shit complete with fork and knfie. Yep, I'm single, bloody damn rich and my child will lack NOTHING! I work hard for my pay!!! Silly...

27. Obviously this guy a likes big(in size)pretty ladies.word of advise:never try to mess with an Edo guy.im married to one so I know.kindly leave if u are tired.shikena.edo no dey carry last.

28. Shame!!!shame!!!shame!!! On this man. Knowing he has kids with her, he still wants to punish her. When a man sells his soul, how can he have a heart. He must pay for child support else God will visit him. Wife with Quadruplets your turn soon. Unless u too have joined d freemason cult. Diaries God in all we do

29. Nah the first wife head catch you. ole. You have just started. Useless 2nd fiddles. All for money. Hoes. 3rd wife, your own is in the cooler waiting for you.Bet you too have a nice story for us. Idiots.

30. Hmmm, Aunty Yinkus funrara e wey City People Magazine dey carry up and down dat year, dat year.

She said she was pregnant, disappeared without seeing........and came back with quadruplets. We wey follow stay for No. 30 A.......Street, Still remember ya jist oo U hear. Enuf said. *sips #1759

31. This is an eye opener
    For u women
    Pls drag/pull ur husbands/fiance to court/police station for proper marriage so you will hv enough evidence in future

I don't winch any BV this chaaa

32. The truth behind the many wives and children of Moses Taiga is well known. His first wife only had girls for him and he was looking for a boy. So he had many different women on the go at the same time, all doing IVF oh. And this Mercy woman unfortunately had twin girls but Madam Yinka had quadruplets, 3 boys and a girl. Rumour has it that she did not have the babies herself but had a surrogate but who knows. Any way it's Yinka's good luck and Mercy's bad luck.

33. SomeboDy should hv advised her dt his brothers in freemason will frustrate her becos they own the whole of britain. So sorry for her.

34. I like it when two smart people like these two hook up. Rose