Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Dies In Phoenix After US Police Allegedly Rough Handle Him

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Nigerian Man Dies In Phoenix After US Police Allegedly Rough Handle Him

A 65-year-old Nigerian man Chief Balentine Mbegbu died in Phoenix Police Custody on Oct. 6 2014.
The Phoenix police claimed that late Chief Balentine attacked the officers who responded to a 911 call,however the entire family of late Chief Balentine Mbegu  told NigerianFM, that the police lied.

Police Account of what happened

Phoenix police said Wednesday they were conducting an internal investigation following the death of Balantine Mbegbu.
“Police responded to a 911 call at 9 p.m. about a fight in a home in the area of Glendale and 27th avenues.When police arrived,things quickly escalated and by the end of the night, Mbegbu was in a hospital morgue.
Mr Mbegbu became physical with responding officers and forced them to react.
Mbegbu fought with officers,spilled hot liquid on them and kicked an officer in the groin,according to investigators.

“Mbegbu backed the officer across the room and assaulted him,” a police statement said. Sgt. Jonathan Howard declined to be interviewed about the incident.
“Shortly after being detained, Mr. Mbegbu showed signs of medical distress,” according to a Phoenix police statement. “Officers immediately recognized this, removed the handcuffs, began first aid, and called for Phoenix Fire to assist.”
Paramedics took Mbegbu to a hospital,where he died.

Police said they were “committed to ensuring a complete and thorough investigation into this incident to determine the circumstances of Mr. Mbegbu’s death.”
The Rev. Oscar Tillman, president of the Phoenix NAACAP, said he’s not suspicious that the officers did anything wrong.
“The reason I don’t think it’s suspicious … is that the wife is the one who opened the door and let them (the officers) in,” he said.
But critics of the department, including the Rev. Jarrett Maupin, a Phoenix activist and unsuccessful candidate for Congress, were planning a protest at 2 p.m. today at City Hall.

Chief, with his wife and 2 teenage kids

Maupin said Mbegbu’s wife simply answered the door when they knocked, and then the police barged in.
“He became both angry and inquisitive about why the police were there, as any normal person would,” he said.
Maupin said that according to the family, the officers were the first to get physical.
“They handcuffed him face-down, and he began to foam at the mouth,” he said. “At this point, 911 hadn’t been called yet. They roll him over and attempt several times to sit him up.”
Maupin said the police had not been forthcoming with details since the incident.

NGr, has contacted the Nigerian Consulate in New York and in Washington DC and are expecting an official statement from the government.  

*I wonder what happened that they barged into his home..He must have had a cardiac arrest during the altercation.The black community in Phoenix has expressed outrage over the manner in which he died and are calling for Justice.

40 comments:

1. I think it's a coicidence...they can't just handcuff him and foam will start to gush outta his mouth...

1. BLOG ANALYSER: Very sad development. They should invite competent lawyers to examine if they can sue them

2. Call Nigerian embassy for what???? They will do nothing joo. Na today

2. Oh no!
    Poor man
    May God rest his soul

It Angers me wen dese peeps do dese dreadful things and den liƩ on d head of d poor deceased victim

God of Justice....

3. ** minimise d post to check time*
    Aunty Stels na Tuesday we still dey for naija o
    Hmmm...R.I.P Sir!

4. Too sad ...... giants of Africa are now treated like a slave in another man's country. ..shame to our leaders. .....RiP to d dead.

5. Police won't go into the house without a reason......laid he have any underlying sickness like epilepsy or mental problem? Some people are just a walking disaster waiting to happen...let thorough investigation be carried out and if indeed the police is guilty let God take control and justice served.......RIP to the dead.....

6. Replies
    1. Investigation is ongoing, so who do we believe now should wait.

7. When will this madness of police brutality stop?.

8. I never sleep ooooooooo no MtN recharge card tonit? As fever no let me sleep

9. Another nigerian wasted all because the nation has failed. #Buhari/Fashola Change 2015

1. Where u see dat one?...Fashola has denied being Buhari's running mate

2. Fashola can't b "TRUSTED"
      Shebi him say na olodo dey repeat class wen asked abt his 2nd tenure?
      **flips hair & strolls out

10. Why are Nigerian citizens getting rough handled and killed abroad? Dubai, USA etc.This is so sad. RIP sir

11. Tragic!!!! Pls bvz I want to start commenting with a name but it doesn't Work on my phone.....any help pls?

12. So, a 65 year old man did all that? Haba....una no Sabi lie......a 65 year old man is a senior citizen for Christ sake....una don kill am na.....why can't all these elderly people come back to Nigeria?

13. It's complicated. May his soul rest where the creator wills...

14. ITS A COMPLICATED CASE, WE CANT MAKE ANY CONCLUSIONS UNTIL THE FULL DETAILS ARE OUT. WHO CALLED THE POLICE AND WHY? MAYBE THE GUY WAS HAVING PROBS WITH THE WIFE OR KIDS. JUST UNFORTUNATE THAT THE POLICE WAS CALLED AND THINGS ESCALATED, HE'S AN OLD MAN THOUGH. AND BLACK PEOPLE JUST BE CAREFUL WITH THE POLICE. THOUGH IN THIS CASE, POLICE WERE JUST DOING THEIR JOB-RESPONDING TO A CALL.
    AND FOR YOUR HEALTH, ANYBODY ABOVE 50,60 IN USA- JUST LET UR KIDS BE-FIGHTING THEM WILL DO YOU NO GOOD AT ALL, ESP WHEN THEY ARE TEENAGERS. THEY WILL GROW UP AND REASON BETTER SOMEDAY, BUH YOU CANT FORCE THEM INTO ANYTHING, THAT S THE CULTURE THEY GREW UP WITH.
    RIP SIR. SAD.

1. chikito we no blind na please take off the caps...biko

2. Ezenwanyi was right about you being a caplock bully.enough already.

15. What would make them just handcuff an old man like this. So sad... RIP sir

16. Olohun a maa sannu waa,it is well,may God give the family the fortitude to bear the loss.morning sdkers,I enjoyed the married women post & their lifestyle,omo I don dey fear as I neva marry,but I know after dis my 2nd degree,husband's house straight,there's pressure already.Allahu Allam,it is well.

17. chaii..another Nigerian living in diaspora murdered.. wat a pity..
    all dese oyibo people dem nor sabi lie ooh..how can a 65yr old man do all dese things? mtcheeew

18. The way blacks are being treated abroad is so demeaning. Nigeria needs serious rebranding, until our government stand up for her citizens we'll still be treated like dung.

19. How can a 65 years old man attack the police for no just course in his home?

1. So sad
      I know american police can be very rough and brutal wen it comes to non whites though all in the name of arrest
      Then claim the suspect asault them
      I hope that's not the case here
      And our government must do something abeg
      Abi we don become roaches that any body cul just kill anyhow in their country anytime and nothing happens ni, abi?
      Haaaaaa!!! Daris God ooh, "in mama Peace's voice"
      RIP chief
      May God grant ur family the fortitude to bear the lost

2. Exactly, the police never talk true yet. #OneLove#

20. ANGELRAY SAID
    But they said he resisted police arrest and he hit one of the officers first, na wa. RIP.

21. Am sure dis case wont make any headway cos a black man is involved.RIP Sir

22. R.I.P to the dead man. It was just coincidence. The Police did nothing wrong. Who invited the Police? His wife? Why?..R.I.P

23. R.I.P to the dead man. It was just coincidence. The Police did nothing wrong. Who invited the Police? His wife? Why?..R.I.P

24. R.I.P to the dead man. It was just coincidence. The Police did nothing wrong. Who invited the Police? His wife? Why?..R.I.P

25. When we learn to demand our rights from our government and stay put to make our motherland work...we will always be treated like the stray monkey in a foreign bush .keep running abroad!
    May he be remembered in the resurrection.

Tailor

26. When we learn to demand our rights from our government and stay put to make our motherland work...we will always be treated like the stray monkey in a foreign bush .keep running abroad!
    May he be remembered in the resurrection.

Tailor

27. Given the way American police treat black people I do not believe their claims. Every other day there's a story about police brutality against blacks in America. Na wa.

28. People need to realize that when they invite or cause the police to come to their household or to help them, they also need to do everything in their power to cooperate, assist them in their investigation or to carry out their duties. Don't get aggressive or physical with them, anything can occur when that happens. If you have teenagers who are giving you hell, advise them of consequences that may arise as a result of their stupidity, always tell them to obey the authorities at first and deal with any concerns after police action. Do not prove how tough or smart you for it may become costly.