Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: AFCON: Nigeria Brightens Qualification hopes By Beating Congo 2-0

Sunday, November 16, 2014

AFCON: Nigeria Brightens Qualification hopes By Beating Congo 2-0

African champions Nigeria brightened their chances of qualifying for the 2015 African Cup of Nations courtesy of a 2-0 win over Congo in Pointe-Noire on Saturday.

Returnee striker, Ike Uche, converted a second half penalty before China-based Aaron Samuel added a second late on to the dismay of the Congolese fans, who threw missiles into the pitch afterwards in anger.

With the victory, Nigeria are now in second position in Group A of the qualifiers, with seven points from five games, and stand a chance of defending their title, won last year in South Africa, at Africa’s top football showpiece next year.

Congo, who defeated the Eagles 3-2 in the earlier phase of the qualifiers, also have seven points but are behind the Nigerians on the head-to-head to rule.
Group leaders South Africa had earlier defeated bottom-placed Sudan 2-1 at home to secure their place for the competition next year.

If the Super Eagles beat South Africa on Wednesday at the new Uyo Stadium, qualification would be secured by the Eagles.
Chelsea midfielder Mikel Obi should have put Nigeria ahead after 20 minutes, when he headed wide from a corner kick.

But Nigeria was more businesslike after the break. Goal-bound Emmanuel Emenike was fouled by goalkeeper Massa but it was Villareal forward Uche, who converted the resultant spot kick in the 59th minute to the joy of Nigerian fans at the stadium.

But six minutes later, man of the match, Vincent Enyeama, saved a penalty after centre-back Godfrey Oboabona, handled the ball inside the area.
Samuel then sealed the win for Nigeria in the 89th minute, when he scored from inside the box. It’s the ex-3SC’s striker’s second goal in two games, having also scored in the 3-1 defeat of Sudan in Abuja.

Angry Congolese fans then threw missiles into the pitch, which could earn their team a ban, after crowd incidents in their earlier game against Sudan.

A win over the Bafana Bafana on Wednesday will secure a place for the Eagles in the continental event next year but Congo could still qualify as best third-placed team if they beat Sudan away same day...Punch reportage

23 comments:

1. Congrats to our very own super eagles.

2. I love Enyeama.
    I really do.
    Infact he is good in what he does.
    For the avoidance of doubt,these are my boos,in no particular order:

Enyeama
    Peter Okoye
    Tayo(BBA)
    Inyanya
    Prez's ADC
    Mr Ibu
    Kehinde Ake

1. Renee what about Amaechi? Hian!!! This list is not complete ooh..except he is the one after Mr ibu

3. yes we win, them don try buh make them quarantine the first before they allow them into the country to avoid stories that touch

4. Really happy they won, good job guys.

5. ALL HAILS TO OUR AMIABLE AND VERSATILE GOAL STOPPER VINCENT ENYEMA. GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

6. Good luck to the Super Eagles. Stopped watching their games since 1914; mi o le wa ku tori bollu.

7. Haa Stella this match was not a small something ooh!!
    After the ist half,our guys entered with agility! 2goals gbam

The Congolese fans started throwing stuff into the field ooh..they used military men to escort our boys off ooh

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Keshi will definately take us to the promise land once again.....

9. And my boo Enyeama saved a penalty.

10. I dont know why a major part of me wants to see The Big Boss succeed!

Chai....how i love this Enyema ooo

There are 7 Men in dis WWW that if they as much as say "Hi Baby" i will Port.....hahahahahha (just kidding)

Buh the following guys Make me wanna(In Usher's voice) hahahahahahaha

*Enyema

*Drogba Didier

*Barack Obama

*Tyler Perry

*IBB(Hahahahahahaha)

*Jason Statham

And My one and only Fashola.....In no particular order.

Buh My General Rocks!!!

It's Gonna Go Down Tonight! Whoop! Whoop!! Whoop!!!

1. Bia TGW Nawa ooo. No be small thing this nite for ya hs o,looolz. Hope ur kids wouldn't interrupt. Enjoy nne.

2. She's horny!

11. Nice one guys. Congratulation.

12. stella,you are too much. I love the way you analyse the match,once a journalist always a journalist.