Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Akinwunmi Ambode's La Roche Refurbishes Alma Mater

Sunday, November 09, 2014

Akinwunmi Ambode's La Roche Refurbishes Alma Mater

As part of its effort to boost the process of teaching and learning in Lagos School, La Roche leadership foundation, a non for profit organisation founded by Akinwunmi Ambode, Lagos State All Progressives Congress, APC, Governorship aspirant has refurbished St Jude’s primary School, Ebute Metta Lagos.

Marina Osoba, administrator, La Roche leadership foundation while speaking at
the presentation of the refurbished school said the foundation which was set up two years ago have mapped out strategies to ensure that it assist Lagos State government in the quest to provide free and compulsory education for students.

According to her, “I believe that if we make a statement with this school, we will be able to get the private sector to really come on board to support schools knowing that private organisations are the employer who will be the final beneficiary of graduates who come out from this school”

Mrs. Osoba disclosed that the need for well-equipped school became necessary after a needs assessment survey by the foundation revealed that the structure and facilities in the school were dilapidated. She also noted that while the schools did not have befitting facilities and sufficient furniture for pupils, she however added that the process of turning around the facilities in the school would be done in phases.

“Developing facilities in primary school in the state will improve the nation’s human resources, thus supporting the leaders of tomorrow. This project is a demonstration of how La Roche Foundation is dedicated to the enhancement of education in the lives of the children who are the future of tomorrow”, she said. 

Mrs. Osoba further said the project was a clear demonstration of the willingness of the foundation to support development and initiatives in education. She said the foundation is out to improve the learning environment of pupils and enhance their overall academic performance.

Augustina Nwaezeapu, head mistress of St Jude’s Primary School while speaking at the event described the facilities as very useful in providing a conducive learning environment for students to learn and inspire young minds. 

While praising the foundation for coming to the rescue of the school, Nwaezeapu promised to ensure good use of the facility. She said this gesture would go a long way in allowing pupils enough time space to learn and achieve their future dreams.

*Hmmm......well done!

34 comments:

1. Well done!!!

Make I go refurbish my Pri School.

1. BLOG ANALYSER: This is great and I admire it

2. Why now when he's running for office. I feel greatly slighted. Ok, all these BH conspiracy theorists, please read ThisDay's backpage. Who knows, it just might jump start your brains.

3. See wetin election dey cause, a vote for ambode is another 8 years of tinubu's terrorist rule, say no to APC, Jimi Agbaje, no matter his party, is the FUTURE

2. Hmmmm...so he had to wait till wen he wants to be governor...God dey

1. Amazing how this isn't so glaring. No be only God, even We we dey. We no go vote for am. Ashiwaju better know how to run that meeting tonight.

3. He try, same thing fashola did to birchfreeman

4. Wonderful. Hope they maintain the building.

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Al thisl bcos of 2015. Is all gud....

6. He's picked up kids from the streets n trained them as his way before he got to this level. I am gonna cast my vote for the 1st time because of him. Though I've never met him but people he's helped to achieve their dreams. He's a good man,truth be told.

7. So it is now that his NGO is coming out to do things because of election,more of such projects before election or primaries

8. well done.
    If he wins the money will come back in ten folds.politics

9. ANGELRAY SAID
    Big big talk.

10. This NGO has been doing a lot of good things since, I didn't even know it was for Ambode.

11. Thank you Sir, my nephew goes to that school and the condition was so terrible before . I will surely vote for you, you have a kind heart

12. Story for the Gods...cos at the end of the day he won't send his children to school there...they will go to the U.S. or the UK...so who is fooling who...

13. This man helped my mum when he was her boss in civil service. Very kind hearted man so I am not surprised, he has been helping people in different ways even before he wanted to run. I pray he will win

14. God bless his Good Tots@least his empowering the future Leaders to Tomoro,change starts from Within.Unlike some wey dey share rice and Semo.[Nigerians eating away dia future since 1824]

15. Even if it's for election I don't mind, this is a good project. Ambode you have my vote

16. I wish more people can help to renovate schools , we can't leave everything to the government alone

17. Ambode has always been a great boss and leader. I think what La Roche (His NGO) has done since it was founded 2 years ago is worth commending. I pray God gives him the strength to do better. I and my family will vote him in the next Lagos state gubernatorial election.

18. Commendable effort that connotes commitment to social responsibility.
    Kudos to LaRoche and Mr.Ambode.
    I hope, or rather, I'm sure they'd do more of this on a larger scale anytime soon.
    Once again, kudos!

19. Commendable effort that connotes commitment to social responsibility.
    Kudos to LaRoche and Mr.Ambode.
    I hope, or rather, I'm sure they'd do more of this on a larger scale anytime soon.
    Once again, kudos!

20. This guy must be rolling in dough. 27 years in Civil Service and he's so wealthy he's been spending money like it's going out of fashion!
    Omo, I am resigning from this bank! Civil service, here I come!

21. There's something about thud man that makes me think he is sincere. Good of him to help the many children that will go through that school