Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Angolan Deportee Jimmy Mubenga Shouted 'You're Killing Me'

Wednesday, November 05, 2014

Angolan Deportee Jimmy Mubenga Shouted 'You're Killing Me'

An Angolan deportee was heard by air passengers to cry out "you're killing me" as he was pinned down in his seat by G4S security guards, a jury heard.

Three G4S guards killed Jimmy Mubenga, 46, as they restrained him on a flight from the UK, the Old Bailey was told.
Colin Kaler, 51, from Bedfordshire, Terrence Hughes, 53, from Hampshire, and Stuart Tribelnig, 38, from Surrey, deny the manslaughter of Mr Mubenga.

Angolan national Jimmy Mubenga had been living in the UK for a
 number of years with his wife and children, the youngest of which was a few months old.

He died as a flight prepared to leave Heathrow for Angola in October 2010.

In an unprecedented move, a section of the Boeing 777 with three rows of three seats has been specially constructed inside Court 16 of the Old Bailey to demonstrate to the jury how Mr Mubenga died.

The security guards ignored his desperate pleas and "disregarded their duty of care" by assuming that the married father was "feigning" illness as the British Airways flight prepared to take off, jurors were told.

Prosecutor Mark Dennis QC told the court: "As the man boarded the plane, accompanied by the three Group 4 Securicor (G4S) guards, Mr Mubenga, who left his family and children in the UK, had been "fit and healthy" and "thoroughly co-operative", Mr Dennis told the court.

He said that a few minutes after boarding, Mr Mubenga was returning from the lavatory,still accompanied by the three officers, when all four became "embroiled in a commotion which quickly escalated into a physical struggle" as the officers tried to force him to sit down.

Colin Kaler and Terence Hughes (right) deny manslaughter

"He was then further restrained by the application of rigid handcuffs with his arms, hands bound in that way behind his back and his seat belt being applied around his waist thereby holding him into the seat," he said.
He said such physical restraint should have been enough to hold Mr Mubenga in his seat and make him realise there was no point in struggling further.

Stuart Tribelnig also denies manslaughter

One officer sat either side of Mr Mubenga, with the other leaning over from the seat ahead, and between them pinned him into his seat, Mr Dennis said.
"In doing so, they held Mubenga in such a position bent forward that his ability to breathe properly was inevitable impaired," he said.

"Each officer would have known from their training and from common sense that keeping someone in such a position was likely to cause a person harm yet they did so over a prolonged period and did so ignoring shouts from Mubenga that he was in trouble - 'I can't breathe' shouts that were heard by many a passenger seated further away.

"His shouts that he was unable to breathe were disregarded."

Mr Mubenga shouted out: "Please let me go, I want to see my family... you're killing me. Please help," the court heard.

Mr Dennis said while Mr Mubenga was seated motionless and "simply staring open-eyed ahead of him", the officers appeared to have "disregarded their duty of care" and assumed he was feigning his condition.

He said it was only when one officer realised Mr Mubenga was in a critical state that the "medical emergency" was reported to the control tower.
"By then, however, Mubenga had almost certainly already suffered a cardiac arrest and was, in all likelihood, beyond recovery as sadly proved to be the case."

The whole incident lasted 35 minutes, the court heard.

Mr Mubenga was an Angolan national who had been living in the UK for a number of years with his wife and children, the youngest of which was a few months old, the court heard.

The trial continues......BBC reportage.

OMG OMG OMG!!!....This story just broke my heart!

81 comments:

1. Hahahahahahaha...as in...very funny

1. Wat is funny? Did u read d story?

2. What is funny about this? Your ignorance I suppose? TC

3. What is funny in this story? You are unbelievable!

4. What is funny Ma? Pray U don't see urself in this situation ode!

5. Is it ignorance or stupidity that's worrying u? Someone died coz of negligence and here u are laughing, I pray nothing happens to u that's out of your control, that's how another idiot will sit where u are seated now n laugh at u. Moron

6. Do you realize that you are a full blown idiot???this story as heartbreaking as it is,is what is making you laugh. Senseless human being

7. Laughing? What's very funny about this? God have mercy on you.

8. You are so insensitive! How can the details surrounding the death of a fellow human being be funny to you

9. Funny?
      Ur sense of humor mussta lost a screw o

10. OMG!!! How did this fool get here? Please what's funny in this? I guess you probably didn't read the story, you just wanted to be the first to comment.

I wish I could slap your Destiny now, so you can realize this isn't a funny story.

That's how they will be clicking like on obituary post on Facebook without reading the contents.

11. Now I believe not everyone who comments on blog read b4 commenting!

12. I believe the so called security guards manhandled him. I watch it on UK border force almost everyday, nd how they drag deportees on the plane. Hmmmnnnn

13. Who is this senselessly heartless being called Trish?
      I pray u experience same so u feel how funny it is!
      Ode olodo!
      See ur stupid mouth like is funny!
      Mshewwwwwwww

14. What class re you, are U̶̲̥̅̊ sure ur subscription for brain has not expire? News that almost makes me shed tears is what U̶̲̥̅̊ re laughing at. Oponu

2. What is it with security operatives and excessive force towards black men especially?
    Someone they had already handcuffed, why further restrain him? Was he so huge that these 3 hefty men had to apply such force? He was probably being deported.
    It's a pity the man has died but I hope these 3 lose their jobs and serve prison terms.

1. I really wonder,even if he was so difficult,would he have been able to jump out of d plane?why d excessive force!these pple treat black pple animals,dats y I am almost a racist too.

3. So that's how they killed the guy simply because they want to deport him,this white people are specially wicked,hanhan ontop their country which feeds on others,God will judge all of them even if the court can't ,morning sdkers,raining love in lagos nigeria.

4. Sad story.
    I don't blame d officers they propbably thot he was lying, but then again they should have least check him out.

May justice prevail

5. He was already in the plane, where would he run to again? Bloody racists! They would never treat a white man that way.

That being said, Goldscent please contact me before I go vex drop my phone number here.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    They should sentence all this fools in prison for christ sake.... Rip man...

7. Ihekire Tony

This is a case of murder. They killed him intentionally, maybe to take over his wife or other things.

1. I don't give a fcuk(idgaf)5 November 2014 at 09:59

Tony! To take over his wife bawo? That igbo wey you smoke today no be am o. No follow that your customer buy again

2. Lolz at "That igbo wey you smoke today no be am o."

Tony are you for real? Take his wife is such a funny statement

8. Replies
    1. Happy birthday. Have fun.

2. Happy birthday

3. Happy birthday dearie, May God bless your new age. Have fun

4. Queen Amy happy birthday

5. Aww, Hbd hun.... But y no pinchurs?

9. Oh no. This is tragic. Na their ways oo. Couldn't start to count how many of such dramas I have seen on board. So tey one time I was flirting with one of the officers on this same BA heading to Lagos. Out of amebo I started to ask questions about the guy they were deporting that day. That one too was dramatic, so much the flight was delayed o. The officer said the funny thing is that we know he'll still return to the UK, they always do. That one was screaming "help me help me, I have a court case next week and they are deporting me today. Why won't they give me a chance to state my case? What will I go and do in Nigeria? I am finished, I am finished. Shame on my mother she didn't pray for me very well'    and he bursted out crying. I was so sad. But this one now they have entered yawa. They killed the young man out of negligence Abeg. 

1. This sisi eko can lie for africa.living out your fantasy on blogs.

2. Always have a related story to every post.

3. *burst out...

4. Hahaha...lol@"Shame on my mother, she didn't pray for me very well"....reminds me of one Mr Ibu's movie where he wanted to kill his mum and kept shouting "mama, you tie my progress"...

5. I don't give a fcuk(idgaf)5 November 2014 at 10:01

Story teller! Shior.

6. Hmmm, I wish I believe this story. But will pass.

7. There's 2 more stories I'll narrate sef. But would come back to type that one. So am coming back again.

8. Epic @ I'm coming back to type again... Lmao

9. Sisi Eko don't mind these people, because they are living in slums and have never crossed 3rd mainland bridge they always feel everyone in the world is probably that way.
      Poor/broke/hopeless people keep jumping on comments and screaming liar!!! Come on! We are all not poor/broke/limited here you know...

10. I dont understand. Why was he held back? May he RIP sha

11. WHAT WAS HIS OFFENCE

12. Hmmm.... I wonder why d good ones find themselves in bad situations.... This was a loving father and husband,not one of the callous evil minded who kill children and beat woman,all he wanted was to be with his family.
    His hrt must have broken heavily for leaving then and it finally stopped....
    May God rest his soul and give his family fortitude to bear the loss....

Good morning Y'all

13. What people go through overeas.

14. This is sad....he cried for help, why didn't the G4s listen to him....in that kind of state he cant possibly breathe properly...rip mubenga...
    #okbye
    #OKBYE

15. Oh what a careless and wicked way of killing somebody....chaiiii oyibo people.

16. This is really very painful, his death would ve being avoided if they had listened to his cry to stop the manhandling. Indeed a very pathetic way to die . May those who did this pay for this evil they committed, denying his children and wife the care and love of a father/husband.

17. British people are so wicked..Evil bunch. .I don't want to even recall what they did to me in London en route America. ..beasts! All of una wey dey hide for uk, cameron is coming for all of u....find ur way o, b4 sorry becomes ur name....TC

18. This is Soo sad! So heart-breaking!

He was handcuffed behind his back
    Was restrained with a seat belt
    And two officers on both sides

Then WHY did dey have to bend him forward???? Why,Why??

What Manslaughter?
    They should already change d case to MURDER abeg!
    How some peeps totally lack compassion beats me...Mshewww

19. Sometimes I wonder the hearts these british have in them. In their mind, it will be good riddance to bad rubbish. I just wish some passengers will come forward to testify to what happened. The had better be ready to provide for the family for the rest of their days. Idiots.

20. Why would they think he was faking it ? Did they think he would jump out of the plane's window ? Were they so blinded with racism that they couldn't see he had difficulty with breathing ?

Such a fine man wasted.

Mrs. BitchBiko.

21. They are pleading not guilty to manslaughter- rightfully so, because they should be pleading guilty to murder.

They killed that man in an act of wickedness- excessive force and deliberate inattention to his cries. I'm sorry, but negligence doesn't cut it. I wont be surprised if they walk free- after all, he was just another black man

22. It totally breaks my heart....i pray they all face firing squad... pity!

23. Pls keep us informed on this story!

24. ANGELRAY SAID
    Now I understand why nijja babes bleach cos, black skin is a taboo outside the shores of this country.

1. Nah! They bleach because they have no self value/esteem/worth. The oyinbos love the black skin, ever wonder why they tan?

25. Chai...dis is heartbreaking

Chinwenmeri.blogspot.com

26. Oya Let d dead bury d dead...RIP Oga

27. So sad,the way these people manhandled black ehe

28. This might come across as heartless but was living in the UK worth him dying?

I know a few successful Angolans, the country is doing very well-on par with Nigeria even, why didn't he just go back and make himself succeed there? Lots of people go back home and do well.

Instead they would rather sit abroad, collect 20pounds a month, live in a council flat (like Mamie) and be uploading pictures to Facebook. Theresa May should send all of them home o jare.

29. Afta all d long story wats d way 4ward

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

30. This is so so sad, may the good Lord accept his soul

31. @ trish, so what's funny? mtsheeeeewwww......

32. I dont understand how or why this is funny to Trish and Jayhem..smh. this is tragic, what a way to die.

33. Thought all G4S men were as lazy and frail as Gambian G4S guys. Utterly useless set of guards

34. This is so sad. A callous and unnecessary waste of human life. What will happen to his family now? o ma se o.