Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BURGER KING CLOSES 89 GERMAN RESTAURANTS

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

BURGER KING CLOSES 89 GERMAN RESTAURANTS

TV documentary alleges poor hygiene and labor conditions at the fast food franchise.
US fast food chain Burger King has ended a contract with its top franchise partner in Germany after a scandal over food safety and labor standards.

Burger King Europe said it had terminated its agreements with Yi-Ko Holding, which operates 89 Burger King restaurants in Germany with a total of some 3,000 staff. Yi-Ko had been the subject of an investigative TV documentary early this year alleging poor hygiene and labor conditions.

Specifically the fast food restaurants reportedly held back benefits for staff, and did not provide them with adequate equipment to carry out their jobs.

Burger King's Germany chief Andreas Bork told Bild daily that after the scandal "there were a lot of improvements at first. But since summer, there have been repeated breaches of the agreements made."

Burger King has about 690 restaurants in Germany against more than 1,400 branches for its competitor, McDonald's. - culled i24news.tv

*Hmm my experience with Burger king in 2005 was so bad that i never went back in there since then...When i was heavily pregnant in 05,i went into burger kings with my persian friend to eat and i ordered for chicken wings,When they served the steaming hot wings....I ate the first one and it was ok but as i bit into the second one,it was frozen inside but fired on the outter part!

Really dangerous kinda food for someone preggy to eat.I was so shocked that all i could do was leave and pray nothing happened.Nothing did but i never returned so aint sad if they go...lol

28 comments:

1. Next stop will be Uk. Dunno y I get sick after eating it.

Click Here
      to visit my page

2. Way to go. Don't ever compromise standard.

3. God save us oh, sometimes you cant help but eat out.

4. Oriegwu
    Stella your chicken wings was frozen inside bt fired out and that's an ish....
    Hmmm, when we dig out big toilet flies and cockroach legs in Mr Biggs.

1. Ewwww do people still eat Mr Biggs? Chai gone are those days o. Their meat pie that's always stone hard....i wonder what it's like now

5. That's gross. .. Hot outside, frozen inside!!!
    Then they'll say Iya Basira canteen is not nice to eat..#Mtchewww

6. Someone please get me iya ibeji Amala with ogufe.. kilokanmi pelu burger king....

1. How many agberos have u kissed since dat post lastweek

7. Joblessness for some people be that o

8. I wish this happened before I submitted my assignment on the merits and demerits of international businesses' modes of entry like franchising. I would have quoted you, Stella.

(Heheheheh.. That's me showing off)

9. There is nothing like home made food in your very clean kitchen.

1. U bet. Reminds me of Taco bell. I can't touch it because I got paranoid, as they would use one dog like that as TV commercial. So for my mind I feel it's dog food...anytime I drive pass taco bell all I remember is that dog. lol

10. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I knw aunty stella go dey boil with anger nw bcos na her second country bdat.....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

11. I cul care less about burger king and the rest!
    Am not a fast food person
    Home made all the way
    Except Amala and ogufe
    Then chinese cuisine sometimes

12. Shocked @ frozen inside but fried @ d outer part

13. Mrs Dimoko thats soo gross.KFC should take note too.their burger is HORRIBLE!!I hate eating out.I love to cook my own meal.the only thing i cant do is pastries.i guess that's not my calling.
    the day I tried frying ordinary buns n puff puff,I ended up throwing them away.
    It was painful though.Cynhams cakes,I need u to teach me oo.

14. @bitchplis is your agbero comment directed @ me? i see you are a guy use to think you are a girl oo.

15. Am sure the franchise owners are Asians..... Always wanting cheap labour and taking the cheap way out....ave always preferred McDonald's and KFC sha don't know why.

16. i made up my mind never to eat at Burger king. I bought chicken burger for my nephew ( he was the only one the had chicken burger, every other person had something else) here in the U.S. The next thing, started vomiting about 6 hours later till day break.

Apparently it was food poisoning.

17. What is it about fast food that keeps (many) people coming back?

What is so hard with buying ground beef to make your own burgers? Cutting up potatoes to make your own fries? Abi tossing seasoning on chicken before frying em up hard? I know it's convenient for busy days but there are lots of alternatives.

If you no sabi cook, abeg go to Youtube and watch videos or copy recipes. Fast food is poison! Only God, fast food business owners and the scientists way dey concoct the ingredients sabi wetin dem they package inside fast "food".

The look of several fast food meals and the smell are quite repulsive, so I dey hail those of you way get liver to demolish the food. Stella, I thank God for your life ooo. I've heard several horror stories about fast food and all I can say is, people abeg make una be careful with what you put into your body in the name of food!!!

18. Burger Kings is just like a treat to German Restaurants.. This is way too interesting.