Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section- Its Friday Again!

Friday, November 28, 2014

Doctors In House Section- Its Friday Again!

HELP!!!

PROBLEM NUMERO UNO
EXCESSIVE FACIAL HAIR AS A RESULT OF PCOS

Hello Stella,

Please I need blog visitors to help with advice or referrals  on how I can manage this excessive (male pattern) facial hair caused by Polycysctic Ovarian Syndrome, PCOS.

I am more bothered on how to manage the hair because I have a sensitive skin.
I have tried clipper, razor, shaving cream and even waxing and  my face is now filled with painful bumps and discolouration. Going out now is a nightmare as my self esteem is zero

Someone recommended  laser hair removal which is quite expensive as I will have to do about 8sessions at least. It is N25,000per session from my findings. I can't afford this at the moment and I need to have a good way of managing the hair(bumps n skin discolouration) before I get suicidal please.

I reside in Nigeria, Lagos Island please.

77 comments:

1. Any time you shave, apply original honey on you face or your body, it works great for people with sensitive skin. It is like a miracle, it saved me from after shave rash/bumps.

2. Hello,you have ingrown hair and you need to have laser removal then bleach the dark spots away,there's this singer who has that bleaching cream I saw someone with same issue on their Instagram page.They advised the person to do later then bleach it with their product and the results looked nice.Save up and try the laser that might be your only option.

3. Hello poster, we sell home laser hair removal kits for personal use. It's very affordable at N90,000 and all you need is once a week use for 7 weeks. By then hair regrowth ll be greatly reduced or non existent. U need abt 30 mins to treat the whole body. If you are interested, please drop your email address under this comment so we can reach you. We are based in Lagos. Thanks.

4. Me I tink God created u like dat for a reason. Why not let d beards grow nd fulfil God's purpose for ur destiny??? Why do ppl underestimate God's plans??? U dnt knw if dat beard is d key to ur greatness,nd u keep shavin it.

5. Me I tink God created u like dat for a reason. Why not let d beards grow nd fulfil God's purpose for ur destiny??? Why do ppl underestimate God's plans??? U dnt knw if dat beard is d key to ur greatness,nd u keep shavin it.

6. Me I tink God created u like dat for a reason. Why not let d beards grow nd fulfil God's purpose for ur destiny??? Why do ppl underestimate God's plans??? U dnt knw if dat beard is d key to ur greatness,nd u keep shavin it.

2. TGIF! Good morning to you all. Mr Ake i dey greet o, hope you are good. E be like say i never see your comment for some days now?:)

1. BV. I was in ur shoes but here is what I did
      I used to have a lot of facial hair with bumps, I still do though
      I use gilette and shave every 3days
      After shaving I use demallis cleanser! (Cheap but very effective, abt 500h)
      Then I rub "carotone black spot corrector" in the night on my face!
      Both from cote d'ivoire
      U won't believe this but finally I can go out now without make up!
      Just within a week
      Unlike wen my face had lots of spots
      I even had to sleep with make up wen am with boo cos am so ashamed

Try it and let us know it works like magic compare to tens of thousands I've spent on expensive facial stuff

3. Chizoba, sorry o. Facia hair plus yam leg. Ibo problems.

1. Shut up. Did she tell you she was ibo? Somebody mentioned her issue that needs revolving and you're turning it into tribalistic issue. I'm sure you're an ugly, slippers breasted and razz Yoruba girl.

2. @list Dts better, yoruba ugly bitches, wey dey blech deir future away, idiot,

4. So sorry..... Have you tried Veet? Or you can see a Dermatologist

1. Veet in this case would make matters worse.
      Meanwhile, I think you should try applying bio oil to stop the discolouration.... and then anytime you shave, apply methylated spirit or this green liquid balm in tiny bottle they're selling around Lagos now.

5. Hi darling, I sympathize with you. Well from the picture , I can see you have like black scars looking like bumps obviously from the shaving and the use of razor blades,
    I can reiterate this enough, stay away from hair e
    Removal creams, they are not to be used on facial hair and since you have sensitive skin.

Why don't you visit a dermatologist, since you have PCOS. The dermatologist would suggest. What you can use to manage the facial hair, that would also not interfere with your condition
    All the best.

1. Best advice so far. There are dermatologists in Luth and lasuth and doctors are working. All the best dear.

6. Hi darling, I sympathize with you. Well from the picture , I can see you have like black scars looking like bumps obviously from the shaving and the use of razor blades,
    I can't reiterate this enough, stay away from hair e
    Removal creams, they are not to be used on facial hair and since you have sensitive skin.

Why don't you visit a dermatologist, since you have PCOS. The dermatologist would suggest. What you can use to manage the facial hair, that would also not interfere with your condition
    All the best.

7. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Am just seeing this for the first tym though....
    *GLO BRING 3G TO KONTAGORA*

8. I can only imagine....i think if you want to use anything like shaving cream/powder, be consistent...dont use cream today tomorrow you use powder, and the next you use shaving stick...just stick to the shaving powder, It kinda worked for me(underarm region)...although mine is not complete;y cleared

9. That facial hair is a big problem with millions of men, me included. And I really hate it because of the bumps it and spots which are very visible since I am a fair person.

So how I manage it is using gillete shaving stick because its mild to the skin and I don't scrub hard while shaving, I try to shave lightly such that it will not even cut any bump or rashes it comes in contact with and I always wash my face with soap and water Then allow to dry before shaving. After shaving I make sure I use face cleanser to clean and scrub my face very well preferable I use baby face cleanser. Than aside from baby face cleanser I have another special cleanser I use at night before going to bed, it gets the face ready for shaving the next day, the cleanser is skin success cleanser or Mary Kay blemish cnotrol formula 3 or vovi, the blue one any cleanser that have salicylic acid btw 0.5% to 2% in it.

I hope this has been helpful. God help you bro.

1. Bro ke? .na woman o

2. Anon 3:57
      You got me laughing ooo

3. Bwahahahaha...Men ke? I am sure you lost the poster after "men"! Poster dear,one word,LAZER!!!

10. Oh no. Doctors please come to her aid o. i feel for you (touched by that self esteem part)

11. wonder shall never end!

12. OMG!I can imagine how yu feel right now,i pray u get a good advice/referral that will bring lasting solution.It is well with you

13. OMG this is serious I can feel what you are passing through,
    Have never seen this before

14. Laser is your best option. But I doubt the blackness will fade. Get loads of foundation and concealer and get use to it.
    NOTE FOR LADIES WITH FACIAL HAIR
    do not shave, pluck one hair at a time. Once u start to shave with whatever it is, they mutate. Ndo!

1. Plucking ke!
      Is worse abeg!
      U also get addicted to the pluckin which causes spot too!

15. Hi dear, i feel your pain, am not a doctor, but i have three friends with the same problem and they all had it lasered. Then they did chemical peels to fade out the discolouration..

*am out*

16. You can use baking soda dissolved in some water. Dip in cotton ball and dab on affected areas. Alternatively, buy a hydrocortisone cream and use. You may wanna try hair removal creams or use tweezers.

17. Go see a dermatologist. But don't shave again. Only wax or thread your chin hair. Laser doesn't work well with dark skin tone. You may end up with scarring. Don't do it in this country. In the meantime, use foundation and concealer to cover up when you want to go out. There's a dermatologist on Raymond Njoku street Ikoyi. The clinic is called Kyutis. It's the first right on Awolowo road Ikoyi from Falomo roundabout. His clinic is in an office block by the corner of Balarabe Musa street. Google it. It will come up on Vconnect with a phone number and map. The first step with dealing with PCOS is to lose some weight.

1. see as u take style advertisevur business. but a man has to do what he has to do

18. Use neomedrol dear, just 1000 naira, it works like magic... U can get it in a pharmacy

19. Doctors oya o. Poster , I feel your pain.

20. It's well poster, suicide should never be an option no matter what you are going through.
    Try change your shaving stick too, dia's one that goes for 1600 and there about coz av got someone that uses it.

1. Commit suucide on top pcos? If she try an dat means say she no well

21. This is one situation where I would recommend bleaching. After finding a solution, these discolourations need serious bleaching

1. Bleaching ke? Hmm! Bleaching wey dey produce more hair. Most of the girls that have facials hairs na bleaching action don produce that hair

22. Sister with PCOS. Is it not better to solve the problem from the root than trying to look beautiful by removing just the hair. What if it regrows. I advice you visit a gynecologist. There are so many drugs for PCOS. just solve the problem once and for all. I don't know your marital status because I heard PCOS can cause infertility.

23. Please, don't even think of suicide. Help is coming your way soonest. E-hugs

24. chai.. na wa ooooo.. dunno wat to say

25. laser hair removal is the best.i had a little issue also last month and I saw an advert on dealdey.i was directed 2a clinic in surulere. its nt dat expensive.u can contact Stella so I can drop d address of d place. its not compulsory u do all d session now.u can jst do d first one and I tell u I will feel much better after d first.

1. I'm not the poster but I need the address. Can't u just drop it here or something,Stella pls post when she does. Pretty please.

2. grandville medical and laser.36 ogunlana drive , surulere. they are affordable. ..I told u I had a similar problem, though mine was nt as bad as this.i only went 4 just a session and I feel better.though d doc told me I av 2do several sessions.

26. Gaddammit!!!
    Kee ya sef naa!

27. Madam, sorry but ure not the only suffering from facial hair but I don't have Pcos.
    Try not to use clipper it spreads the hair, next time use tweezers I know its slow but it makes the hair grow slowly and in bits, when they're alot, go to the salon let them wax it will last for 2-3weeks. Then buy OXY pad triple action cos those scars are caused by in growth, the pad will clean d pores and reduce in growth. Finally to boost ur self esteem when u go out, look for illamasqua skin foundation or any skin foundation. It covers acne and doesnt look like u rubbed anything, dont apply pan cake powder lol. Ur skin needs to breathe most times. All these will reduce it but not heal it. Thank me later

28. Get the cream vaniqa, it inhibits hair growth. Then just use hydroquinone short term to lighten the discolored area. Goodluck

29. Don't know what to say honestly.

30. Oh gosh m so sorry sweetheart. No advise 2give tho. Damn!

31. For the lady with the stubborn bumps and spot I do a very effective fruit scrub that can help with the bumps...its 100%fruit n it will help greatly...she can contact me through email....joystunty_173@yahoo.com

32. Wow, waiting to read comments as I nor be doctor

33. Everything still boils down to laser my dear.
    Aside dat, I don't know anyother thg da can help u.
    Laser treatment is a neccesity.
    Well just try n see a good Dermatologist in town.
    N plz don't feel any less attractive cos God made u beautiful.

34. Strolling by....
    Poster I pray u find help here.
    #Okbye

35. hmmmm i don't think there will be any solution for this oh becos its ur nature. i knw of one soldier guy who normally have this same issue with u infact ur own small o compare with this ur pix up there, and u knw how soldiers use to shave na without any single hair remaining, the guy has been to different hospital without any solution the only thing the doctor did was to give him excuses shave to present in his office becos they don't allow hairs. their office now advice him to make sure he always shave it very low (that's laser hair)if u see him u will not beliv that he is a military personnel becos of his shave. so my dear i think is ur nature. but still wait for advice shaa.

36. What a pity..I feel sorry for the poster.U can cover it with a good concealer and foundation before leaving the house till you are able to afford laser treatment.

37. @ lisa, pls were cn one see the vaniqa cream and hw much. Tnks

1. You have to check your local pharmacy. I have a lot of people who swear by it.

38. Apply a good skin lightening body wash to baby wipes. Wipe your face and under chin very well. Then use ambi fade complexion cream. The scar will fade off! As for the hair. Wax often.

39. See a gynae... there r meds for it.

40. Please where can i get laser treatment in abuja? Any ideas anyone???

41. Vaniqa cream cost 100dollars and its on special order b4 any big pharmacy wud sell it 2 u dts like 24k.its rare 2 find dear.so jst go 4 laser its permanent.tho u wud av 2 do it more than 1ce.vaniqa jst slows it down

42. Follow my advice and read carefully,firstly check out this product at nonopro.co.uk or start saving money for the laser treatment abroad it is the ultimate solution as a lady u don't need any hair on your face but for the now only use hair clipper to shave I think razor blades have a way of darkening your skin.Razor blades also cause bumps a lot I also suspect shaving creams for bumps too.Bumps can be reduced by a cream called Neo-medrol its about #1000 naira it really works but it makes that area dry and it doesn't stop what I call ingrown-hair which I'm about to explain below.Bumps result when the hair is shaved too deeply into the skin (clippers don't shave down too deeply)So when the hair is growing out it kind of bend immediately and start growing back into your skin instead of growing straight up.Now when the hair is growing out of your body that is from the root,your body sees it as its own but when the tip bends and start growing back into the body your body sees it as a foreign thing like germs, so at that spot the hair tip grows back into the skin your body sends antibody which releases some chemicals (called Histamine)to fight that hair tip mistaken for germs which makes that place swollen causing a bump.So the solution is to always watch for hairs that are growing back into the skin like 24hrs after shaving then with an office pin or a needle slide it at d middle, that is in between the root and tip of the hair and pull the tip of the hair out of your body and the swelling will go down within 24hrs which to your body means the germ is gone so everything normalizes.Then u can now shave everything at your next shave.The burden is u have to do it for everyone of the bump.If u don't do it on time it will get too swollen for u to see the root and tip of the hair but when the swell reduces a bit u can see them to take out.Trust me it's my secret I have operated a male hair saloon before getting into university and I shave my self also.Look carefully with a mirror you will see the ingrown-hairs.Most importantly don't cut those bumps or even pimples down with your nails that is what leaves the black spot behind.For the already present discolourations use a mild facial cleanser to remove or try rubbing lime except for your sensitive skin. You have to learn pulling the hair out for a smooth face or neck. This process becomes easy with time trust me. Pls I'll like a feedback.Good luck!
    Romeo

43. Hello poster, u r not alone in this matter. I have PCOS as well. I'm gaining weight and I have alot of facial hair too. I never shave. I only tweeze (which is time consuming) and it gets thicker unfortunately. I have ingrown hair and I use a pin to take it out then pluck with tweezers. Pls dont be suicidal. Just do what u have to do to manage the facial hair. I watch embarrasing bodies on bbc learning every weeknights and lots of women with PCOS have d same hairy problem. D solution is always laser treatments. Even gor dia nyash dem deu use laser bcos of d same problem. I want to tey waxing to save time but I'm scared of more bumps.

44. Philips laser hair removal. Buy yours rather than go for laser sessions. It is £400 in boots in the uk. You can ask a friend to help you get one. Don't use shaving stick. It only makes it worse. Good luck

45. My Dearest,Laser Hair removal would stimulate hairgrowth another parts of your face because of male hormones in our faces. If you have money Try out Electrolysis which is something i am thinking of bringing to Nigeria. I am a victim of execssive female hair growth on my face due to laser hair treatment. PLS DO NOT DO NOT WORSEN YOUR SITUATION WITH LASER ON YOUR FACE PLEASE!

46. Laser is the best solution,waxing is temporary,laser even lightens the dark areas wit time as well as a mild hydroquinone cream not steriods cream like all dem fifi cream etc stick to like fair and white gold or obagii,,,ndo and shave instead of veet or waxing

47. in the meantime, please use concealer whenever you want to go out. classic is a very good product. find it in ur main skin color.

48. i dont ve pcos but i have facial hair which i tried to resolve with lazer but now as money no dey i use facial shaving cream and apply a bump removal liquid and also scrub my face with apricot scrub and apply concealer and foundation at least this is my temporary solution for now until i get back on my feet financially to afford my lazer.. God help us all

49. I had this problem and know exactly how you feel. Mine was on my chest and neck and the heat in nija makes it worse. I moved abroad and had laser treatment. It’s also expensive here to get treatment but it’s more affordable than at home. If you can try to have laser treatment it will help and solve this problem. First the hair will stop growing as fast, then the bumps and irritation will reduce as what is causing these bumps are in-grown hair plus the hair growing fast as a result of your continuous shaving.
    Once you start the laser treatment, you can treat the spots and blemish with a good cream like Bio oil. Now the hair won’t stop growing completely after the laser treatment but subsequent growth will be fine hair and next to your skin , making it almost invisible to the eye. If you can try to get this treatment your skin will be better.
    For now avoid using shaving sticks and creams better to wax or tweeze- even though this will be a long process its cleaner and will prevent the bumps from spreading. Also wash your face with plain soap and water avoid using various products as this makes it worse.
    Don’t worry too much lots of us have gone through this the right treatment will bring you back on board.
    All the best.

50. My facial hair was exactly like yours until I had laser hair removal. Over 8 sessions in 2008 and my face is completely smooth and the black spots are completely gone too. Laser clears both the hair and the discoloration. Hope you find succor soon.

51. Never, ever shave your face ladies. Use a tweezer, it pulls the hair from the root. It will grow back but it will take about a week or more. Neo-medrol as one of the commenters said is fantastic. Shaving is what has given you all that discolouration/bumps. Try exfoliating as well. I swear by it>

52. Gaddammit!!!
    This is the 2nd copy & paste oooh
    Chai!
    What I won't do for oshoo free sha
    ~AbadaBeeDee~

AbadaBeeDee!!!November 28, 2014 at 1:00 PM
    Gaddammit!!!
    Kee ya sef naa!