Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Forbes Lists Tony Elumelu,Orji Uzor Kalu Amongst Richest Africans

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Forbes Lists Tony Elumelu,Orji Uzor Kalu Amongst Richest Africans

For the first time in the four years that FORBES has been tracking Africa’s richest, Nigeria bests South Africa. At the top yet again is cement tycoon Aliko Dangote of Nigeria, joined on the list of Africa’s 50 Richest by 12 other countrymen.  

In comparison South Africa claims 11 spots, down from 14 a year ago. Nigeria is showing its strength, having earned commendations for its efforts to snuff out Ebola in the country, which Dangote helped fund — and despite a recent drop in oil prices.

There are three new billionaires on the list: Orji Uzor Kalu of Nigeria, Tony
Elumelu of Nigeria and King Mohammed VI of Morocco.  Three billionaires on last year’s list are no longer members of the 10-figure club: Vimal Shah of Kenya is off the list, replaced by his father Bhimji Depar Shah at a lower net worth. Abdulsamad Rabiu of Nigeria dropped below $1 billion due to ceased operations at his floating cement terminal in Nigeria. 

And South African mining mogul Desmond Sacco dropped to a net worth of $680 million, down from $1.4 billion last year, because of a sharp decline in the share price of his mining firm Assore Group. The net result: the number of billionaires on the list stayed steady with 2013 at 27.

Africa’s 50 richest are, as a whole, wealthier than a year ago. Their combined net worth of $110.7 billion is 6.7% more than in November 2013. The minimum net worth needed to join this elite group rose to $510 million, up from $400 million a year ago.

Behind Aliko Dangote at number one with a fortune of $21.6 billion, comes South African luxury goods magnate Johann Rupert, number two for the second year in a row, worth an estimated $7.3 billion. His Compagnie Financiere Richemont has a stable of luxury brands including Cartier, Montblanc and fashion house Azzedine Alaia.

Six newcomers join the list of richest Africans, including the above mentioned new billionaires, as well as Ali Wakrim of Morocco and Ahmed Ezz of Egypt. Mohamed Bensalah of Morocco rejoins the list after dropping off in 2013. Seven members of the 2013 list fell off: Vimal Shah of Kenya (as mentioned earlier, his father Bhimji replaced him), Cyril Ramaphosa of South Africa, Raymond Ackerman of South Africa, Sani Bello of Nigeria, Adrian Gore of South Africa, Shafik Gabr of Egypt, and Alami Lazraq of Morocco.

The oldest person on the list is 85 – both Miloud Chaabi of Morocco and Onsi Sawiris of Egypt share that age. The youngest is Mohammed “Mo” Dewji of Tanzania, age 39. The number of women on the list is two, unchanged from a year ago. Thirty-five of the fortunes were self made; two were inherited and the remaining 13 were inherited but are being expanded. The average net worth of each list member is $2.2 billion, compared to $2.1 billion a year ago.--FORBES

31 comments:

1. Yeah yeah, from the poorest continent in the world.
    Every man for himself.

1. JayEm are you back from your Australia trip? Hope you came back with enough GOODIES FOR SDKERS???
      I have being reading all your updates about all ur enjoyment during your trip. How was your flight? Learnt you're the only Black in the flight you took , how was the experience?
      If you are finally back, WELCOME TO THE POOREST CONTINENT AND THE LAND OF PLENTY MOSQUITOES!!!

2. Orji uzor kalu!! Jesus christ of nazareth...and Abia state was the way it was when his tenure expired...and even now self shame just dey catch me for the present governor T.A orji!! cunny man die,na still cunny man go bury am...orji uzor chop finish clean mouth remain for T.A orji..God knows i once loved T.A orji's administration at the first time but madam stellz;i travel enter Aba this week eeehhh;i just no fit shout...no single good road(mark the word single)..everywhere is just polluted with dirty water,refuse dumps even on the road...make i just leave gist till ranting post comes up cos e too plenty...God help this state oooo!!!

@MARTINS ABOY

3. Ada Jesus i'm not back yet, I travelled to another state. I'll be back soon. No worry, goodies go follow me come.

2. There something about this Tony Elumelu, even since rhe days of hia Standard trust bank. He just has this thing I can't place

3. I wz scared that forbes would put my name here despite my warnings...

4. I won't rest until my name enters this list oo.

1. As in.... choi! see money
      Will my name ever be on dis list someday? God Pls begin to uplift my financial status nyafunyafu.
      #upwardever

5. STILL LOOKING FOR MY NAME THERE!

6. Stelz where is the like button for me to press

7. I just dont wanna believe Forbes any more ! Kalu the 419er since age 18 in Maiduguri who also stole his state dry during his tenure as governor

1. My sentiments. This forbes list don dey get as e be. Too crowded.

8. I just dont wanna believe Forbes any more ! Kalu the 419er since age 18 in Maiduguri who also stole his state dry during his tenure as governor

9. I just dont wanna believe Forbes any more ! Kalu the 419er since age 18 in Maiduguri who also stole his state dry during his tenure as governor

10. The silent ones are the richest ones. but i no see my ova name for here nah. lol

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    And we are still suffering.....

12. Is nt complet cos ma name is nt dia....wait fr me pple

~@iamjbankz SA to President Jonathan 2015~

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    All this and we are still suffering... Lord help us shah....

14. U can bet ur last kobo dat tony n orji paid 2've their names listed

15. orji uzor kalu stole abias money to death for eight yrs and brought in his cohort orji to continue. God is watching them all. im not suprised at all.

16. Okwa unu ahula, or no uzoh kalu? Shuuu, I can only say 'There is God ooo'

17. Tony Elumelu bought an oil block with all that five five naira they deduct from peoples account. Na wa!

18. Watch the video that revealed the deal behind the Money of Tony Elumelu here

http://youtu.be/wyTZyI3a8qY

19. Watch the video that revealed the deal behind the Money of Tony Elumelu here

http://youtu.be/wyTZyI3a8qY